Nashville, IN 
Brown County Country Club Share
Uploaded By: indydiscgolfer Hole #23 (Taken 4/2017)
-- / --   4 / 521ft.   5 / 745ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #23 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Not Worth the Trip

1    10/12/2017   10/12/2017
Review By: RayRay
Played: 118  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: - nice scenery
- gem stone markers showing next hole
Cons: - 3 hole locations 10 feet from water
- Despite a few interesting holes, most of the 24 are bland
- the price, the location
Other Thoughts: This course is fine/average but is not close to 'championship caliber'. It's not even that challenging. I feel it is falsely advertised as a destination course and would by no means recommend it unless you're already in the Nashville area.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great course for all skill levels.

1    9/23/2017   9/27/2017
Review By: hokey1
Played: 112  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 Tees per hole.
Green: (super short). 9 holes only but great for first time players.
Red: (medium length) 24 holes and a solid challenge.
Blue: (Looong) Champion level challenge. 24 holes

I have only played the the blues. From the blues this course has every shot. Long. Short. Over water. Up and down hills. Tight. Wooded.

Very scenic. It is great to play a course where all you see is the course..no playgrounds, basketball courses etc.

Great flow..start at the clubhouse and end at the clubhouse.

At every basket there are markers in the ground pointing to the next tee. You will not get lost.

Well manicured. It sits on a former ball golf course and it shows with mowed fairways and maybe 4" high rough. Innova baskets. Clubhouse. A great course worth the trip. Very close to Nashville.
Cons: Tees.....Gravel now...cement coming soon. So it is a con that will disappear soon.
Other Thoughts: This with Deer Run just down the road makes Nashville the home of 2 great courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best course in its surrounding area, and one of the best in southern Indiana

2-4    4/10/2017   4/14/2017
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 58  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros:
*Tons of available land here--there could probably be a couple of more courses put in if they wanted to do so--and it's well-maintained.
*Elevation change on most holes.
*Good, quality baskets.
*Three teepads on each basket to make the course fair for all skill levels, including beginners.
*Two basket placements available on each hole.
*Good usage of the wooded areas.
* Two of the ponds have a disc retriever made from a pool skimmer.
*An actual clubhouse. This used to be a golf course, and the clubhouse is still there. This course is a prime place for a tournament, especially with another pretty good course about 4 or 5 miles away.
*There are lots of rental cabins in the area, so if a group wanted to do so they could stay in the area and hit the course multiple times. It's also very close to Nashville, IN, which is a tourist town. I'm sure there will lots of players who would drop off the rest of the family in town and head out to the course to avoid a day of wandering through little shops.
Cons: Cons (some of these are things that just haven't been done yet. There really aren't any "cons" to this course other than just things that might not be to someone's preference):
*Some might not like that there's water. There are multiple water hazards where you can lose a disc--that being said, the alternate tees should keep this from being too much of a problem for beginners. There's also a pretty deep ravine next to the holes in the 15-17 span. (If anyone climbs down and finds my yellow TeeDevil I'd be very appreciative.)
*Tees are still just mulch or bare ground at this point.
*This course is long. Not just some of the holes, but between holes there are some walks that are a bit long. If you would be playing the greens (beginners pads,) there would be incredibly long hauls from baskets to the next tees.
*I will list that there will be a charge here, as some people can be put off by that, but this course IS worth a price of admission. This is as good a course as there is from the Indianapolis area to the entire southwestern part of the state.
Other Thoughts: #1-333' (all distances listed are in the "A" position) Pretty easy starting hole. Tee off up by the clubhouse across a pretty open field. There is a tree not too far in front of you that keeps you from going straight at the basket or playing a hyzer shot (for a righthanded player---I'll use descriptions for RHBH throwers, even though I'm a left-handed sidearmer.) It's downhill to the basket, which sits on the left edge of what was a teebox when the golf course was here.

#2-255' Walk into the woods. It's straight and narrow, and just a bit uphill. The fairway slopes from the left down towards the right, and a throw that bounces off a tree could put you in a terrible spot.

#3-298' Slightly uphill in the woods. Travel about 240 or so to get out and the basket is just a bit left of the clearing.

#4-370' Start in the woods. About halfway to the basket you come to the clearing. The basket is hidden under a tree that has a low canopy.

#5-285' Start in the open, throw downhill back into the woods--most of the fairway is in the clearing. The basket will force a shot that turns late to the left to get around the trees that protect that basket.

#6-376' Dogleg left to right. There's a narrow gap downhill into a bit of a ditch that crosses the fairway, at which point you exit the woods and then turn right along the tree line. Unless you clear the end of the woods by a pretty good distance you'll have to deal with a low canopy as you go uphill some more to get to the basket.

#7-251' Uphill out of the woods. The fairway turns left fairly soon and you exit the woods . The basket sits on top of an old teebox.

#8-415' Another dogleg right. Trees to the left lean out over the fairway so you have to stay low. The fairway turns right and goes downhill. There is a pond behind the basket but the basket is about halfway up the hill to the pond and shouldn't affect your throw. There are some large trees in the middle of the fairway, so your teeshot either needs to stay short of them or go past them, as a straight drive can have you behind them with no real second shot to approach.

#9-366 The first hole where the water really becomes an issue. You throw across the pond at an angle, but taking the shortest, safest route isn't totally there due to a tree in front of the tee that makes you stay farther left (keeping you from taking that safer route also keeps you from throwing back towards the #8 basket, so it's also a good thing.) Once you cross the pond the hill slopes steeply down from it to the woods. Don't throw your drive too far, though, or you'll be in the woods at the wrong spot and unable to make an approach, as the basket is hidden behind some trees in the woods.

#10-250' Come out of the woods (narrow exit, with a tree just in front of the left edge of the tee) just a little uphill. Just past the clearing you get to the corner of the pond and the basket is on the other side behind some trees. Be careful with your drive because if it hyzers its wet.

#11-231' Another water shot. You throw across the left edge of the pond, and there are trees along the edge of it so you have hit the gap in front of the basket or you run the risk of being knocked right down into the water. The basket is only about 20' uphill from the edge of the water. Your throw will go out over the water and cut back to the left to hit the gap.

#12-298' Open field with trees to the left. The basket is along the edge of the trees so you need to play a shot that goes a bit right to left.

#13-271' Downhill from the tee in an open field with the basket guarded behind a tree.

#14-931' The big dog. I think this hole will eventually have to be changed, as it appears you're teeing off down what are about five rows of newly planted saplings that won't be wide enough to be an actual fairway when they're fully grown. The fairway is mostly flat down those rows but slopes left to right when you get right of them. That also includes a row of more mature trees about 300-400' down the fairway. You'll need to play a bit to the right because the fairway enters a gap between wooded areas and the basket is tucked back in the right behind some trees in that gap. If you run past the basket you could drop off down a hill behind it.

#15-334' The fairway slopes from the right to the left, and if you let it get left you can be in the trees.

#16-201' Easy hole....unless you hit something. You're back in the woods, and it's a short poke through trees without much of a direct line. It's a little bit uphill and the fairway slopes from the right to the left with a huge ravine to the left should your disc riccochet that direction (mine was too far down there for my clumsy self to even attempt retrieving.)

#17-254' Walk back out of the woods uphill to the tee, which comes back downhill and back into the woods. The fairway is wide open until you hit the gap in the edge of the trees at about 180' or so.

#18-420' You're back out of the woods again, but you have to go around the perimeter of the woods. Your drive is uphill with some trees in front of you as well as the full woods to the left. There is a small gap between the woods and a few other trees that you should try to set your drive up to hit unless you can get beyond the trees in front of you. The fairway turns left and it's yet another left turn to get to the basket.

#19-174' In the woods, but it's a mostly straight shot--it will be a slight turnover shot, but mostly just a straight ace run.

#20-439' In the woods, uphill and the fairway turns left. Don't get your drive too far or you'll not have a second shot. The fairway then turns left down what was once a narrow golf fairway and the basket is a bit downhill tucked in the left edge of the trees.

#21-284' Mostly open shot with the basket guarded by a few mature trees.

#22-373' Almost wide open with the exception of a big tree on the right edge of the fairway and another large tree that guards the basket.

#23-745' Your drive is mostly wide open but there are woods to the left. If you don't get your drive far enough you'll need to lay up with your second shot, as the basket is behind a pond.

#24-577' Mostly wide open but the right side of the fairway is lined with trees (and a road beside the trees.) The basket is up near the building and sits under a couple of trees.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

BC3 on the RISE

2-4    3/18/2017   4/7/2017
Review By: spcrosbie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: BC3 (Brown County Country Club)

I'll try my best to keep the review brief, but WOW there's a lot of great things about this course! You have to start with the landscape and location. Designed around an old ball golf course with amazing views of Brown County, its a beautiful property. I would recommend bringing friends and family (even if they don't play disc golf). Although, its a great place to introduce the game to someone new or younger children because they offer a cool beginner 9 hole layout. With that said, the course will challenge players of any skill level.

Here's a quick list of the Pros:
* Beautiful Property with plenty of scenic views
* Great elevation changes on almost every hole
* Amazing greens: basket locations that will challenge your accuracy off the tee and offer many risk / reward putts
* Legitimate par 4's and par 5's on the course
* Multiple tee's (green= beginner, red = intermediate and advanced, blue= advanced and pro )
* multiple pin locations on every hole (A & B)
* DISCatcher Baskets look great and catch well
* Balanced course design that offers a mix of short and long holes, wooded and open fairways
*practice basket and plenty of room to warm up
* 24 fun and challenging holes!
*hard to pick a favorite hole... 24 different players could have a different favorite hole and it would be hard to argue against any of them!
Cons: This is a very young course, so I believe many of the Cons will disappear over time. By adding certain amenities, BC3 has the potential to be one of the top courses throughout the Midwest!

*concrete tee pads would be a nice upgrade from natural tee's. Some tee pads now are a little uneven and short.
* tee signs (although they currently have markers with the hole measurements). Some shots are blind, so nice signs would help players navigate
*its always nice to see benches and trash cans spread throughout the course, they do have some already
* A couple of the wooded holes could open up a bit more in my opinion. Most of the holes have very nice lines and clear fairways, but its difficult to see the correct flight path on a few tee shots. (for example # 6 Blue tee to A pin, #16 Blue tee)
* Some underbrush and stumps still remain in the fairways

Again, its a very young course. A large property takes time to develop. BC3 is definitely headed in the right direction, and I'm confident the course rating will continue to rise.
Other Thoughts: It can be difficult to find a course that both new players and pros love to play. I highly recommend playing BC3 to anyone! It's a next generation type course that beautifully combines length and tightly wooden holes. The owners of the property are awesome, so help spread the word and play this course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Young Course

2-4    10/23/2016   10/29/2016
Review By: Showboarder
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the layout. Great use of elevation, woods, and water. Baskets were in good condition. 2 tee locations per hole and 2 pin locations per hole.
Cons: Only 12 holes. Teepads were marked by old golf course tee markers. Hole distances were written by a permanent marker on a stick post pounded into the ground. Navigation between a few holes were semi difficult.
Other Thoughts: This is a very young course, but has potential to be one of the best in the state. I spend some time talking to the property owner, Steve, and learned he lives on the property. I briefly spoke with his dad, who also lives on the property, and learned the current course is played on 20 acres. There are an additional 80 acres and might be utilized for future holes. While we were there, Steve had a course designer come out to review the property. I can only imagine where it will go from here.

Like I said, this is a very young course. The property is beautiful and some of the holes were absolutely world class. Hole 10 was my absolute favorite. From both tee pads you throw out of the woods and the basket is left and dangerously close to water. From the red tees you can throw a semi stable mid range and try to foat it over the waters edge and hope to miss 4 trees to the right of the water. If you're a lefty or have a forehand, you can dare to fly over the water to avoid the trees, but the basket landing zone is more narrow if you want your bird. From the longs you don't have a choice for a forehand, but I threw my most stable Firebird and got a great skip to park it. It was the only hole on the course I got a birdie from the shorts and longs (we played the course twice in a row as we came from Indianapolis). This is should be the hype hole for the course in my opinion. If you play it safe you have a death putt back towards the basket with water behind. Dang - so cool.

While this is a young course and still developing, I truly do believe it will be the premier course in the state once more work is put into it. Steve is obviously doing what he can and everybody who plays here should appreciate him and the course. Do some course maintenance while you're playing and toss a few $ his way if you can afford it. I think rubber tee pads would be the best option for this course because there's lots of trees around, so grip matters. Marking the next tee location will help navigation. And clearing out the fairways on the wooded holes just a little bit more will truly make a huge difference. I love this course and plan on making the hour or so drive several times next year. Maybe 1-2 more trips this year, just depends on the weather.

Add this course to your wish list. You MUST play this course if you're driving within 45 minutes of it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

fun course

1    7/16/2016   7/17/2016
Review By: bradtollefson
Played: 92  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 42.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: well maintained. Wooded fairways are tight but have been cleared and there's not a much undergrowth so easy to find discs. quiet (you don't get the motorcycle noise that you do at deer run). We aren't long throwers so we found the course comfortable and fun.
Cons: fairways in woods are very tight and have some tight corners.
don't like hole few feet from water. hard to tell how deep the water is and who wants to lose a disc so we skipped this hole.
Other Thoughts: take course map or be willing to spend some time hunting for tees and baskets on a few holes. we replayed a few holes when we found the alternate tees or after initial throws when we found the baskets. we don't mind but a map would have saved some time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course! Tons of potential

1    5/13/2016   5/15/2016
Review By: ajbova
Played: 109  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course set at the site of a former brewery near Nashville, Indiana. It is extremely peaceful and scenic here. Course is aimed for intermediate level players but will challenge advanced players from the blue tees and would be beginner friendly from the green tees.

Baskets - 13 dispatchers on site. 12 holes and 1 practice basket. These caught great and were highly visible. There are two pin positions per hole although it was not listed on site which location was being used.

Tees - 2 tees per hole. Red and blue tee. There is also a 9 hole loop with green tees that spans across the course. Tee locations had significant changes to the hole for all of the wooded holes. The open holes were shorter versions. Hole 11's water red tee avoided throwing over water.

Signs - 2 signs per hole. One at red and one at green. These were printed from a computer and laminated. Shows map, hole location, distance, and hole number. There were a few next hole signs when needed.

Variety - Course has a wide variety of shots. Elevation change is a big factor at this course. Open and long, short and technical. Several thread the needly type of shots in the woods. Blind shots on a few holes due to trees.

Room to expand. There is a large chunk of woods which would be awesome to use in an expansion. There is also land behind hole 11. If this course was 18 holes and the new holes were just as good as the current hole, I would consider giving it a 4, maybe even a 4.5 (other changes needed to be a 4.5).

Corse flowed well and was easy to navigate.

There were benches near a few of the holes 1, 7, and 10.

Trans cans though out the course pretty; 2, 4, 8, 10, 12.

The drive from not only the highway, but from downtown to the course were very scenic.

Other courses nearby if you are looking to make a trip. Deer run is a 5 minute drive. Bloomington is about 20-25 minutes away.
Cons: Signs - Most of the signs got wet and were not able to be read. The ink from the printer bled through the paper. Other holes had missing signs. It is not always the cheapest option, but improved signage would drastically change this course, especially for first time players. 2 signs per hole, and a few more next hole signs.

I don't have a problem with natural tees but concrete or pavers would also take this course up a notch.

I played the day after a rain and the course was very soggy and muddy, especially in the woods.

Improved signs and tees would make this course a 4. Improved signs, tees, and added holes would make this course even better than a 4.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. It was a little bit of a journey off of the highway to get to but I would definitely come back if in the area. It was my 2nd course of the day. Although it was only 12 holes, I enjoyed this course more than Deer Run due to the elevation and wooded holes. Both courses compliment each other very nicely.

If this course gets expanded or if signs/tees are improved, I will update my review.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great course with endless potential

2-4    12/5/2015   12/7/2015
Review By: anhyzer
Played: 78  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This well-manicured course is on a beautiful piece of land with lakes, green grass, rolling hills, and deep ravines. The initial 12-hole layout sports new DisCatcher targets and a variety of shots: wooded/open. up/down hill, and left/right doglegs. The water comes into play on four of the holes. The alternate pin positions are well-thought-out and several provide unique challenges. The six temporary holes played at the 2015 Cabin Fever Reliever tournament complimented the original 12 wonderfully and gave a glimpse of the awesome potential for future growth on this property.

The Brown County CC owners are friendly and accommodating. The clubhouse promises to be a huge hit for large disc golf events. This BC3 disc golf experience is in its infancy but the potential has a very high ceiling.
Cons: The course is in its infancy so the tee boxes are a work in progress; for now they are natural (grass/dirt) and some are not level. This will likely be sorted out as the course continues to develop.
Other Thoughts: This has the potential to be one of the most beautiful and challenging courses in the area. Stay tuned as it develops. The 12-hole layout is already worth the trip to Brown County. With the addition of more holes and improved tee pads, you won't want to miss out on playing here. With the tourism attractions in Nashville, Indiana, you can bring the whole family.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 what an amazing piece of property

1    12/5/2015   12/5/2015
Review By: IndyTyler
Played: 125  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this as an 18 hole layout for a tournament. I loved the temp holes but I will stick to the regular 12 for this review.

The layout is very well done. No hole out here is an easy hole. They all require skill but the design takes out almost all of the luck factor. The course is extremely new and will continue improving. I cant wait to see this course progress over the next year. Fantastic club house, nice new Innova baskets. If you haven't played here yet you need to get out here. This will be a destination course in the midwest in a couple of years. This course is a top notch tournament course. Once all 24 holes are in I would say this will be a Gold level course that even the top pros will enjoy playing. Well done!
Cons: natural tee pads (will be concrete asap)
a little thick on the right of hole 2 if you get off the fairway.

these things are normal with new courses and shouldn't be counted against the course.

I will update the course review once it is complete.
I give the 18 hole tournament layout today a 4.8 star review.
Other Thoughts: Get out here and play this course and support the expansion of disc golf in Nashville Indiana.

Amazing property, amazing course and there will be more courses in the area soon and this course has room to hold 2-3 24 hole courses. Hopefully the home to a big A tier or NT in the next few years.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect "Getaway" Course

1    11/7/2015   11/16/2015
Review By: onthemile
Played: 78  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Super friendly caretaker (Steve) walked out to welcome us and update us on the pin locations. He then came around to check on us later in the round and made sure we could find our way around.
- Beautiful setting. One of the top three most attractive courses I've played. The property is very well maintained.
- On that note, this is also one of the more secluded courses I've played. I realize this may also be a "con" for some players. It's definitely a destination course that you set time aside for (not a great course for casual play after work, for example).
- Creative layout makes optimal use of elevation, water, and other hazards. The design incorporates a diversity of throws to keep things from getting repetitive. There's a hole for everyone here.
- Multiple tee placements provide something for everyone. I played this course with my sister and brother-in-law who had never played before. On each hole we could all pick the tee best suited for our skill and strength. This definitely helps make the course a family-friendly venue for casual players who may be visiting the park or attending an event at the lodge.
- Wonderful bathrooms - my sister wouldn't stop talking about them!
Cons: It sounds like all the negative aspects of the course derive from it being a work in progress. I really cannot wait to visit next year when it's complete. That being said:
- Natural tee boxes were a little rough/slippery in the Autumn, but I understand tee pads of some kind are on the way.
- Signage is somewhat lacking right now - think laminated printer paper tied to a tree. Have the course map saved on your phone before you head out and navigation should be no problem.
- 12 holes will leave you wanting more! I was sad to see this round come to an end so early.
- I also listed this as a "Pro" because I prefer the secluded setting, but the course is a little tough to get to. We thought we were lost for a few minutes until the course magically appeared as we crested the hill.
Other Thoughts: I haven't raved like this about a course since I first started playing. It's unique in many aspects including the setting, the "clubhouse" and on-site staff. The only thing keeping this course from getting a 4 out of 5 is the fact that it's only 12 holes right now, although the final layout has plans for 24 holes. If you're in the area and you have a couple hours to kill, I highly recommend trekking off the beaten path to play a round or two here. Be advised that a tee time is required while the course is under construction, but they're very prompt with communication (they answered my email within 30 minutes). It's a shame I live about two hours away, but I'll definitely play again the next time I pass through Nashville.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.