Williamson, NY 
Williamson Town Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 10/2015)
4 / 532ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Open Fairway in the front, Wooded Skill-shots in the rear

1    8/22/2020   8/31/2020
Review By: NoFoxDG
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Varied course tests all aspects of your game, from driving distance and accuracy, to tightness of your lines.
- Beautiful course with plenty of features and nature.
- Well laid out, front 9 and back 9 both loop you back to the parking lot.
- Upkeep is regular and quality.
- High skill ceiling, but accessible to new players.
- "Gimmick" holes add a unique flavor.
Cons: - Pond can be a disc eater on a couple of holes if you're not careful.
- Some of the rough can get REALLY rough if not recently maintained.
- "Gimmick" holes can be a bit frustrating if not playing at your best.
Other Thoughts: - There is a rec room nearby that may or may not be hosting an event when you play. This is really a pro and a con depending on the person.

Overall we had an absolute blast playing this course, and definitely plan to return to "grow into" the course, but it's not quite as newb friendly as some courses, and disc loss is a real threat here. Don't throw your best plastic near the pond.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course

1    1/19/2019   1/19/2019
Review By: gbbiv
Played: 327  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seems like the layout may have been updated since it he last slightly negative review. I thought the course had decent variety. Beautiful location. Looked like good amenities during the open season.
Cons: Tees could be improved but I didn't mind because I'm a stand still driver. Signage was good but a bit confusing here and there. Some old signs could probably be removed or updated. A bit more open than I normally prefer but that's a personal preference and still required some smart shots even with the "openness ".
Other Thoughts: I'm mostly writing this because my experience was different than the other most recent review that was a bit negative about the "back 9". Albeit it was winter and there was snow on the ground but I saw very well defined and appropriately sized mowed fairways on the field shots. I enjoyed the course and would probably play it often if local. It's a great compliment to the other local private course. Worth a trip to the area to play both.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Loved it then hated it!

1    7/4/2016   7/4/2016
Review By: Fcarbone
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 was great!
Wood holes.
Challenging layouts.
Good use of water hazard.
Cons: Back 9.
12-17 are miserable. Narrow path-like "fairways" mowed through impossibly thick weeds. Nothing but laser-straight throws will keep you out of the overgrown, unkempt meadows. A throw off the tunnle-like paths will land you searching for your disc for 15 minutes if you ever find it. We are +10 players and we lost 2 discs and wasted 30-45 minutes looking for others. I wish I could attach photos of my welt-covered legs and arms. After the front 9 we were loving this place. After the back 9 we left hating it.
Other Thoughts: To be fair, the folks who layed out the course did a terrific job. The area is beautiful and could be extremely enjoyable. The trouble is the lack of workable fairways on 12-17. The problem could be solved with much larger mowed areas on these holes. If this is taken care of this course could be a real gem!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Waiting

1    1/9/2016   1/11/2016
Review By: hisson
Played: 70  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Interesting layout.
Good flow.
Fun throws.
Water threat: risk reward.
Cons: A long drive from anywhere.
Needs tee pads of some sort.
I would like a paper map.
Other Thoughts: As everyone has noted, improvements are simple.
it sure is windy.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of space, land and obstacles

5+    12/20/2015   12/25/2015
Review By: illuminatefreak
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wide variety of shots allows you to use a wide variety of discs in your bag.
- Challenging enough for advanced players, but not frustrating for new/novice players.
- Great use of land, elevation, woods, obstacles and water hazards (small pond comes into play on two holes).
- Well laid out front & back nine. You could play the entire course, or pick the front or back only... either way you'll start and finish relatively close to where you parked.
- Parking for course is secluded from other lots in the park.
- While the park offers various activities for the community, the course is free from non-disc golfers. No playgrounds, parking areas, or walking trails (for the most part) to worry about.
- High level of replayability (if that's even a word).
- Park is open from dusk till dawn. As long as there's light enough to play, you can play.
- Only course in the surrounding area. Very thankful that a course was installed in this park.
- Course is well maintained and has a "woodsy" feel to it even though you're not really in the woods.
Cons: - Holes #14-16 feel repetitive throwing across a field a few times. Elevation is a factor for these, but they still feel very similar especially one right after another.
- Very windy on a consistent basis. No real fault of the course, it's just a very windy park. You'll be forced to change shots and/or disc selections on some holes because of the wind. It gets old quick, and makes putting kinda frustrating. I've played the course a dozen or so times, and it's been windy every time. Not enough to ruin the experience, but enough to add a slight to significant challenge.
- No practice basket (yet).
- Natural tees (for now... word is concrete tees are coming in 2016).
- Not much signage (for now... again, it's a new course so I'm sure signage is in the making).
- Stumps that were recently cut on the wooded holes are 6-12" inches high. Not very safe, especially when the leaves are on the ground keeping them hidden. Walk with caution.
Other Thoughts: At this point the course is new so I'm sure there will be tweaks as it evolves and matures. As it is, it's a fantastic course with great potential and huge fun factor. Some courses you're pretty much ready to head out once you finish it, but, for some reason, you want to play it again (especially after your first round) and try out some different lines and discs.

Once concrete pads are installed and better signage is put in I'll be bumping this up to a 4 disc rating.

Have fun and happy discing!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/12/2015   12/15/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 196  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You are out in the country. Next to the park entrance is a house with pigs in the front yard. A few chickens were strutting along the road, perhaps preparing to cross and continue a very tired joke. But with the country comes space, and there is plenty of room here.

The terrain is gently rolling, mostly open, but with a few holes in the woods.

Holes 1-6 are pretty open, 7-11 are in the woods, 12-16 are in a wide open back part of the park, and 17-18 are back in the woods.

Holes 5-7 have the most character, playing around the perimeter of the pond. Hole 5 requires a shot across with bailout options (I lost a disc on a truly poor throw). Hole 6 is a kind of ace run anny shot between two pines. Hole 7 is the most intriguing on the course. Straight ahead is a "safe" shot through the woods with a tricky approach to the basket after a good drive. But off the tee there is a risky but very doable path to the basket over the pond with a big forehand or anny. You could lay up before the pond and attempt an approach from there, or a huge arm could go for the very risky birdie. Great design.

Hole 17 is another good one, a wide open 530-foot downhill shot that requires you to hit a gap about 425 feet in. So you have to gauge how much you want to add distance at the risk of accuracy, possibly leaving yourself with an awkward angle into the gap. Adding to this is a natural hump in the ground where - if you end up behind it - will be very frustrated.

There are tee signs showing the distances but nothing else.
Cons: No tee pads. This should be fixed quickly if possible. Rubber mats are perfectly fine if you are tweaking the design, but the grass was in rough shape on a lot of tees and will only get worse, especially with the mud.

There were several fairways that hold a lot of water. Holes 4, 12, and 16 were really sloppy. I doubt this is a temporary issue. I wouldn't be very enthusiastic about tiptoeing through this muck frequently, and there is no way to avoid it.

The later holes are pretty wide open and a little underwhelming. I'd like to see more of these play into the woods, if possible.
Other Thoughts: I've spent more time in the boonies east of Rochester than probably most Rochester residents, so I'm glad to see a course out here. Put some tee pads in and I'll bump this up a notch. It's a young course but worth the drive to check it out.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Complements the area's courses nicely

1    12/6/2015   12/6/2015
Review By: fictionfree
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice mix of open/wooded/water hazard holes
-Nice mix of distances
-Challenging length - seems longer than most courses in the area
-Short grass in some spots = good roller potential on some holes
-Clean and well maintained
-Quiet location
-Good, convenient parking
Cons: -Soggy/muddy in areas
-Grass tees may start deteriorating quickly
-Some tees aren't level or even
-Some repetition of simple wide open holes
-Some holes some people might consider over-complicated (anhyzer and wooded and uphill, wooded and basket protected by brambles, etc.)
-When I played the markers were minimal - hole number, but little/no info about which direction the hole plays, how to get to the next hole, etc.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and I recognize that it is new, so some of my cons will be cleared up as the course matures and as folks have time to improve it. I think this is a great addition to the Greater Rochester Area - we are really lucky to have so many nice options for disc golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A really nice course

1    11/26/2015   11/26/2015
Review By: joenlinda
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good mix of open and wooded holes
A great course layout
Nice and quiet and peaceful
Nice baskets
Cons: It was pretty wet and muddy in places but to be fair what do you expect in November
I'm not a fan of water hazards (I threw in the water) but that's just me.
Other Thoughts: It was really windy so I didn't throw my best but on reflection I really enjoyed the course. It's good for newbies with lots of long open shots and the woods aren't too hard to negotiate. For more experienced players you can really wing it, which is fun. It's got a great layout with the next tee pretty close to the last basket . I would definately recommend checking it out. I came from 104 and 390 area in Greece and made it in 35 minutes. Worth the drive.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Drive

2-4    11/8/2015   11/8/2015
Review By: rb106098
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course well maintained, quiet, and refreshing with a lot of subtle elevation changes which help to keep each shot interesting. The variety of field vs wooded holes is nicely balance leaving you excited to play another round. Most holes offer a fair balance of risk to reward ratio.

This course is fun for any skill level. New players will enjoy the wide open areas to try out new shots and rip some drives. More experienced players will enjoy the technical aspect that some of the wooded shots require, as well as some great areas to grip and rip their discs.
Cons: The course is not really close to a whole lot, so it could seem out of the way for some people.

A few of the tee boxes could be better marked and thought out.
Other Thoughts: This course is actually more like a 3.85 - Up and Coming local favorite. Eastsiders rejoice.

Bathrooms are located near the playground near hole 1.

Since this is still a new course under development use the current course map to navigate. Without the map, some of the tee boxes would be difficult to find. With the future improvements, this course can only get better.

On my drive home, I reflected on my rounds, perhaps I could have flexed a few shots better through the woods, maybe I could have tossed the disc further but at the end of each round I left happy and excited to go back in the future. Check it out for yourself, its worth the drive.

BEWARE of the low cut tree stumps. These stumps are currently being hidden in the leaves so be careful.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.