St. Martinville, LA 
Magnolia Park Share
Uploaded By: weeman Hole #5 (Taken 10/2015)
3 / 290ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Decent Tucked Away Course

2-4    4/6/2018   4/16/2018
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 233  Reviewed: 174  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disclosure: I played the gold tees here twice in a tournament in early April 2018.
Magnolia Park in St. Martinville, Louisiana has a great variety of long and short holes on a pretty expansive piece of land. The course features two sets of tees, a shorter concrete tee and a longer gold tee. In some places the gold tees have quite a bit of extra distance from the concrete tees, which means that there is something out here for the best players in terms of difficulty. With the winding walking trail through the course, you can play with OB on every course, which makes it a much more difficult course if that is something that you may be interested in.

The course features scattered big oak trees that create both obstacles and shade on a warm summer day. Only a few of the holes really felt a lack of obstacles.

My favorite hole on the course was hole 14, as it has a little bit of elevation and you need two great shots to get a three. I also did not really find a hole that I disliked incredibly. I felt that all of them were fair and challenging in their own way.

As others have mentioned, I really thought the course sign was one of the best I have seen along with the practice baskets and its own sign.
Cons: This was my first time playing on Prodigy A1 baskets, and maybe it was just my own psyc and playing poorly all day, but I did not like them. I felt that they were unforgiving to putts that hit on either sides of the chains.

The course has concrete tees but they are painted with a orange paint that makes them slick especially in the rain.

Like I mentioned there are quite a lot of walking trails, playground equipment, workout equipment and other things that non disc golf patrons use scattered throughout the course. It probably goes without saying, but watch before you throw and if you are worried about hitting someone, then do not throw. It would be a shame for an incident to happen and the course be removed because of it.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is decent. It is not going to blow you away but it will provide a challenge for every skill level of player because of its OB and shorter and longer tees. St Martinville is a bit out of the way from I10 and the rest of the courses in Lafayette, but if you have time, I believe it is worth playing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Effort!

1    2/27/2018   2/27/2018
Review By: blake833
Played: 101  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 8.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Have you ever stopped in the middle of your round and thought, "I really wish there were some better signs here," or "I wish they had invested more in the accoutrements." If those were your thoughts, then you must not have been playing here. Magnolia Park boasts some of the best signs I have ever seen (including, as mentioned by other reviews, a sign for the practice basket, and if there was ever a time to italicize that would have been it), and full concrete tee pads on every hole.

This was my first time playing on a course with the Prodigy T1 targets. I thought they looked pretty fly, but I had some issues with them which I'll put in the cons section below.

I played this course solo with no guide, and had no real problem navigating it, or questioning which basket I was throwing to, even if there were a few clustered together.

I kind of liked the overall short length of the holes. There were some longer ones to stretch your arm out, but overall there are plenty of chances for an ace out there.
Cons: But I do think some of the distances are lying to you. There are a couple places where there's two tee positions, and even if they are only 5 steps apart, the distance on the map will report a 60' difference. Please excuse my skeptical side-eye.

The concrete tees were painted an intriguing burnt orangish color, which I liked, except even though the tees were dry, I was still slipping because of the wetness of my shoes. Just the damp grass made my shoes slick enough to slide on the paint. At that point you're getting more grip throwing on the grass.

The T1 baskets are beautiful. My only complaint was on my third hole it spit out a putt that was dead center high from 7' away. As soon as I saw that putt fall to the ground I stood there, mouth agape, my dad laughing at me, and couldn't believe it. I understood why I hadn't seen these targets around much. And since this review is about the course, not the targets, I'll just move on. Just wanted to tell that story.

My biggest complaint by far is the design. When you stand back and look at the park, it's wooded enough to where you feel like there's a good course out there. But these designers did not find it. Most of the park's trees are not used thoughtfully, or really involved on the majority of the holes. On the few where they are it is still not in a way that carves out challenging yet intentional fairways, it's just a "throw and pray" type of hole. One hole even has you throwing through some playground equipment, a HUGE "don't" in the tenets of course design. There were some good holes, but I really just walked away feeling like this park did not meet its potential in the course it could have offered.
Other Thoughts: If this course had invested as much in design as it had in tee pads and signs, it probably could have been a 4 disc course. Right now, it's probably just under a 3, but distracts you with flashy bells and whistles, hoping you don't realize the true substance of the course is rather monotonous and uninspiring. There are plenty of courses in Lafayette to keep you entertained enough to avoid driving down if you're passing through on i12, or to just play every once in a while if you're a local.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best Course Sign Ever And Best Practice Basket Sign Ever!

1    10/16/2017   10/16/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1313  Reviewed: 1262  Exp: 40.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Magnolia Park, in St. Martinville, is a very clean, large park which borders Bayou Teche. The park is amazingly clean and new. There is a walking path which circles the park. You may have to wait for walkers at times.

The course has the greatest, biggest course sign and map ever. It's two signs connected by an arch. The left sign lists all the course's sponsors and the right sign is the large, lovely course map. There is a practice basket here which HAS IT'S OWN TEE SIGN. I've played hundreds of courses which don't have any tee signs and these guys have a sign for their practice basket. The concrete tee pads are a lovely shade of brownish red. The tee signs are perfect and lovely and have lovely bagholders on the front 9. I believe they disappeared on the back 9. The basket's are lovely green Prodigy models. They're well made with the chains connected horizontally. It seems as though everything about this course is lovely.

The park is flat but has nice lovely, green grass throughout. There is a ditch which comes into play on 2-3 and 18. The lovely Bayou Teche could come into play on 7 and 15. Bayou Teche really is lovely, not skanky swampy at all, more like a pretty, moving river. A large covered pavilion or play area is in play on # 12, which I think is an interesting hole. The basket sits just past the corner of the play area. I think players could play a skip off the concrete floor or some players could launch their discs on the roof of the pavilion, too.

Magnolia plays at a recreational level. There is nothing too dramatic or challenging here. My favorite hole was the finishing hole, #18 and that's only because of the deep ditch sitting right in front of the basket. The hole is only about 200' from the Am tee but you don't want to be short and end up in the ditch. It could be pretty ugly when it has water.

There is a rest room after the 14th hole.

The basket on 7 sits close to Bayou Teche. It gives you a risk/reward choice here. # 18 also has that risk/reward option.
Cons: The park is flat.

Many holes are basically open. I do want to say that the designers did a great job here but there aren't a whole lot of trees and zero elevation.

The signs and concrete pads are at the AM tees. There is only a worn spot at the PRO tees.

There is a mando on # 4 that isn't really needed.

I thought he tee pads were long enough. They're longer (14') on the holes where a longer run-up is needed.
Other Thoughts: This is a great, fun recreational course. The park is lovely. The equipment is lovely. I was lovely. I played ugly. There are some longer holes like # 6 at 520' and # 14 at 460'. # 17 was a lovely hole playing 170-260' to a basket behind about six large trees. There is a straight route but it's tight. You could play it wide left or wide right. I love this hole with it's three route possibilities.

In conclusion, Lovely, just Lovely!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Really Awesome Course

5+    3/4/2017   3/28/2017
Review By: niklpenny
Played: 55  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: alternate teeboxes and alternate pin placements
marked Am and Pro tee pads
Island Hole Hanging basket
good mix of short and long holes.
Cons: lots of OB, has water collection spots
Other Thoughts: this iconic course is one the best courses in Louisiana, it's very scenic, and plays very well

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice place to play

1    7/16/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: Joshwest
Played: 84  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The first and most obvious is the course map sign. It is a massive, gorgeous sign with entire course laid out, with the alternate tees and baskets. You can somewhat see it in the 2nd picture the Media Section, but it is the best I have ever seen, and I can't imagine there being a better way to do it.

- The practice basket and sign (yes a practice basket sign) were a nice touch.

- The baskets were in excellent condition, I had never seen prodigy baskets before, and they seemed like very high quality baskets. They seemed to be made out of a thick gauge wire and the inner chains had a horizontal connection which looked weird, but seemed to work well. The tee boxes were a great dark burnt orange, which looked very nice. They were a touch too short, but still very nice. The teesigns were much like the course map, top quality. You can them in the uploaded pictures.

- I thought the Layout was pretty good. It started really short, so I got worried, but it lengthened out and certainly made for a fun round. It uses OB well, and even uses a random brick wall as an obstacle. #18 has a peninsula green. It's a little short, but it is a great finishing hole.

- The holes near the bayou are very good. A little short, but it's nice to have to worry about going into it. You will not find any disc you throw in there.
Cons: - I'm not sure if Prodigy baskets are just made taller than normal or if they were installed improperly, but the baskets sit higher than they should.

- Probably the biggest con is the pro tees. They are just random spots only pointed out by the tee sign at the normal box. Plus the tee signs mostly only show the pro box to an alternate basket location, so you can't get an accurate distance from the pro tee to the normal basket. They really should just not have done this. It would be better to just have the normal tee and have alternate basket locations. The pro tees need to be just forgotten about. It's a nice feature if done right, but it's not. Just play the normal boxes.
Other Thoughts: - If you are spending a few days in Lafayette, this course should be high on the list to play. It is not far from town, and it is a nice little gem. I can't ever foresee this course ever being crowded based on its location.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Short Course

1    2/6/2016   2/6/2016
Review By: bilen434
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee signs and baskets
-Good shot variety
-Hole 12 am hole has a random wall which turns out to be a really cool obstacle, and the pro hole involves throwing through a pavillion
-Practice basket
-Nice usage of Bayou Teche
-Bathroom on course
Cons: -tee pads are too small and do not have good grip when its wet
-excessive OB
Other Thoughts: worth the hour drive from Baton Rouge just to play something different

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course

2-4    12/31/2015   1/1/2016
Review By: MikeK
Played: 280  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 23.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Scenic views of Bayou Teche on a few holes
+Scenic huge ancient oaks to throw around on several holes
+Prodigy baskets that catch very well
+Two pin placements on a few holes
+Concrete tee pads
+Nice tee signs and easy to navigate
+Fairly open and short, good for newer players
+Bathroom on the course by hole 15/16
Cons: -Fairly open, not super challenging to experienced players
-Not an abundance of shade for the hot Louisiana summer
-Little elevation change, maybe a factor on about 4 holes
-Drainage is not the best
Other Thoughts: This course is off the beaten path in the charming town of St. Martinville. The course designers did a pretty good job utilizing the entire footprint of the land made available for disc golf, and the design incorporates a large ditch, the park's walking trail, and Bayou Teche as OB to spice up the action. The views of Bayou Teche along holes 7, 8 and 15 really appealed to me, and I also really enjoyed throwing around the huge live oak trees, especially on holes 2, 6, and 11. Hole 18 is a great finishing hole with a small green bordered on three sides with OB in the short position.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.