Aurora, CO 
The Dock Share
Uploaded By: markjfun Hole #2 (Taken 12/2015)
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Underestimated this little course

2-4    9/11/2018   9/12/2018
Review By: bkern2449
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2018
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Cool nautical theme to go with the brewery
+ Pretty well marked for the most part
+ A few challenging holes (4-6 and 13-15)
+ The gully adds some fun elevation challenge
+ Multiple pin placements
+ Best beer in the state on site (Thurs-Sat)
Cons: - A few signs seem to be missing to point you where the next hole is (Use the map provided here)
- If it rains at all or snow melts. This course could be almost unplayable
- If it was busy could be chaotic as the back 9 overlap the front 9 and use the same pins, just different tee's.
Other Thoughts: The first hole is very short making it seem like this course will be a joke but as you go the holes become a little more technical. I went into the course expecting very little and was pleasantly surprised by the end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable short course with some challenges

1    6/23/2018   6/24/2018
Review By: onenearby
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -All baskets intact and in excellent condition
-Couple of blind baskets add to the challenge
-Drainage trench can create some low-to-high putts
-Newbie and casual friendly
-No water hazards in normal dry conditions
-Not busy on a Saturday evening
Cons: -Some of the signage is faded
-First time through might make you pause to figure out the next tee pad/basket due to the congested layout
-Prairie dog activity and feces
Other Thoughts: -First disc golf course I have ever played
-You do have to traverse the drainage ditch at least once to get from one basket to the next tee pad. The ditch was approximately 8' deep x 20' wide at that part with gradually sloped walls for anyone expecting completely flat terrain. You could back-track and walk around it if needed
-Another reviewer mentioned having a donation bucket for funding toward upgraded tee pads, etc. I was told that approximately half of the land in use by the course is city-owned and it complicates adding much to the course
-I'll be back to play again and enjoy a beer

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    4/17/2018   4/17/2018
Review By: thaboss44
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really like this course. Especially on a Saturday when you can go in the tasting room afterwards for a cold beer and a fun game of cornhole in the warehouse.
Cons: Would like to see more obstacles (i.e. trees, more boats/barrels etc.). Actual tee pads would be nice. Just marked/stamped dirt at the moment.
Other Thoughts: There are maps right at hole 1 showing the hole pattern. Some holes use the same tee pad, some use a different pad.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Short 9

5+    4/23/2017   4/26/2017
Review By: trenken0103
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a nice short 9 with additional Tee Boxes to call it 18. But it's 9 Baskets with 18 Tee Boxes. The baskets are brand new Prodigy, they are solid. I don't think you would need more than a mid-range or a putter. A creative set-up. I think this is a fun course and a good time killer.
Cons: The 18 Tee Boxes make this a real cluster-fuck on a busy day. It should be just 9. The zig-zagging around will make this dangerous.On a flat piece of property. zero elevation changes. I'm not a fan of the gimmicks, just use the land to the best of your abilities. This place is a muddy mess after any sort of weather. Next to busy roads. Trash.
Other Thoughts: I left the course hoping for more. It's nice if you need to squeeze a quick round. I wouldn't travel much for this course. On a flat piece of property. zero elevation changes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Unique course

1    3/30/2017   4/6/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Thought this was a really cool course, with nautical themed boat and barrels
Pretty easy to follow hole flow
Cons: It is really a 9 hole course
Could be risky if busy, with holes pretty tight
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun and hope to play it again
Pretty short holes, allow for possible aces

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A tad messy and disorganized

1    5/27/2016   6/6/2016
Review By: UHATEIT
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located north of Aurora area and is on the way back from the airport and was worth a stop in
-Located at the actual Dry Dock North Dock location so you can grab a beer before or after playing!
-Dry Dock location also sold discs inside for purchase to play with as well.
-Cool theme with a boat in the middle, ropes, barrels
Cons: -Layout was very zig zag which would make it hard to play if others are on the course and not hit them.
-Land was ungroomed and very weeded and muddy with lots of puddles (probably a bad time to go after the rain)
-Many of the signs are faded or broken making it hard to navigate to the next hole
-Really only a 9 hole course but there are additional hole pegs to make it an 18-hole course
Other Thoughts: Dry Dock is my favorite brewery and had to stop by on the way back from the airport and check out the brewery and this location. Was hoping for more but perhaps since it was still the end of winter and it had recently rained a lot, the course was muddle with a lot of puddles and was heavily weeded and ungroomed. I got lost trying to get to a few of the holes and the signs were faded and some were knocked off and broken. I wouldn't drive all the way up there to specifically play there again, but if coming home from the airport would be worth a stop by to grab a beer and then throw around. It was very cool that they had discs for sale at the brewery as well!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/19/2016   2/20/2016
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 151  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great new Prodigy Baskets, bright blue
- Good tee signs with distances
- good navigation signage, always knew where I was going
- variety of distances from around 150 to around 400 feet
-multiple basket placements
-this course makes great use of what would be just an empty lot next to a brewery
-the nautical theme is very interesting and unique, hole 9 is pretty neat
Cons: -if this course were actually ever busy it could be pretty dangerous, as the back 9 kind of zig zags through the front
- multiple holes you are throwing along a road or at the road, the road seems to be relatively busy for a side road
- quite a bit of trash on the course
Other Thoughts: Unique little course that makes great use of what otherwise would be an ugly lot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cool course even when the bar is closed

1    1/16/2016   1/17/2016
Review By: Rowick
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -its the only course in the area that has an Island green
-Also the only one that has established marked Mandos.
-The irrigation ditch made for a fun accuracy challenge on drives and it was also fun to putt at a basket above my head if I ended up in the ditch. I had never done that before.
-On weekends (Thus-Sat) you can drink some of the best beer in Colorado as you play
-not very crowed when the taproom is closed
1 and 10 are in the same place making half rounds very practical
Cons: -you're pretty close to a busy road in a couple spots,

-will be a mud pit when wet

-lay not super intuitive
-indicating the deference between 9/18 would be both easy and helpful
Other Thoughts: Hopefully the ready supply of labor and/or money from Dry Dock will keep this place nice they guys at fly green had crap to work with, but that turd polished up surprisingly well

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Pretty poor overall

1    11/22/2015   11/22/2015
Review By: Jonsiwel
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The nautical is something I had never seen, and I believe it has a ton of potential. I could see the course being a great place for beginners to learn the game.
Cons: Course doesn't have any real challenges. Doesn't take much moisture to make the course almost unplayable. Dirt tee boxes are incredibly unappealing.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty solid course

1    11/14/2015   11/14/2015
Review By: H.E. Pennypacker
Played: 124  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Good pin placement, lots of challenging shots to be had.
Cons: Back "9" was really hard to follow. Unclear (or missing) tee markers that didn't necessarily flow in a logical manner.
Other Thoughts: Cool course, was a little muddy due to the melted snow. Highly recommend marking the alternate/back 9 hole numbers on the baskets.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.