Panama City, FL 
Bay Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #13 (Taken 7/2017)
3 / 264ft.   3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Risky Business

1    6/11/2017   6/15/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 145  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 14.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- free to play, free to park
- newly upgraded to 18 holes
- some concrete pads, I assume they're all getting the concrete treatment soon
- solid tee sign posts, I assume numbers and other hole information is upcoming
- some fairway height variations
- lots of risk/reward
- outhouse at the beginning and middle of the course
- a small mix of open and tight holes, low and no ceilngs
- nice, crisp, new, numbered baskets
Cons:

- hole 1 had no fairway, a par 2?
- the jungle holes need to be better maintained, too overgrown
- tees were hard to find, directional signs between holes are needed.
- tee signs were blank
- wood chips within a wooden frame is less than ideal, some frames had no chips
- a lot of water risks
- buggy location that has a lot of standing water after rainfall
- not an abundance of distance variation
Other Thoughts:

Bay Memorial is a course that starts tight and technical, then eases you into a couple risky swap holes before settling into a maintained park style setting. A walking trail interferes with gameplay mid way through the course, but it's not too detrimental to the course flow. They've also managed to work in some subtle inclines and declines that add character. The hanging basket mid way through the course is a nice touch. The name of the game here is to stay dry. There's a lot of opportunity for scoring separation with all the risk/reward spread throughout the course. Players will be rewarded for taking risks, errant throws might send discs to a watery grave.

I believe the course has "good bones", but overall, Bay Memorial has an unfinished feel to it. Clearly, there is some redesign and or upgrading in the works. My biggest concern is the continued upkeep. Many of the trails between holes aren't worn enough for out of townies to transition from a basket to the next pad. The signage between tees and at tees was nonexistent. The only signage on the course was at hole 1 and at the beginning there was the original 9 hole course design sign. I consulted the online map, but I still couldn't find 17 & 18. Some tees appear to have been freshly poured concrete with the forms still attached. Other tees are still framed wood, with or without wood chips inside. I get that they recently added 9 holes, however, I confused why the first 9 holes still lacked signage.

Cons aside, I was strangely intrigued by this course. I think there's a lot of potential at Bay Memorial and I would come back if or when everything gets fleshed out to recalibrate my rating. This looks like type of place that likely needs a dedicated club effort keep the land from reclaiming the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Short and Technical

2-4    7/16/2017   12/1/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 185  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2017
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (2.657 Rating) **REEVALUATED** due to adding 9 additional holes. Now 18.
A beautiful city park course that's challenging in relation to course par.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - IMO, visually the most beautiful course in the PCB area. The collection of plant species to throw thru is among the most diverse I've ever played. Well framed windows using healthy and vibrate trees.
- DIFFICULTY - In terms of course par, a very challenging layout. Although the newer holes are not marked for par yet, the original nine has four par 2's amongst them. The par 2 holes are (1, 6, 16, 18). If the course par remains at 50 for 18 holes, I figure only advanced players and higher will crack par on a routine basis
- TEES - A major improvement when compared to my last visit. In my old review I had mentioned that they were wood chips. With the exception of 16 and 18 (and maybe one more), the tees are now concrete. Not the largest pads out there, but leap years better than before.
- SHOT SHAPING - For a city park, a surprising amount shot shaping is required. Several windows, tree splits and sweeping lines to master. By far the most shot thought demand that's required among the PCB area courses.
- UNIQUENESS - A step up being 18 holes. I now find the overall variety to be a touch above average. Several pocket shots and well guarded basket placements. A nice water clear on (11) and a nice parallel water play on (8). There's a hanging basket on (9), but it's so low that it didn't add to my putter thought process. All also mention that Bay Memorial has the most elevated shots in the Metro area, at a whopping 15 feet of change. See cons, elevation.
- QUICK PLAY - Obviously not as quick as the old 9 hole layout, but the course will play in about two hours per foursome.
- MAINTENANCE - The holes outside the wood appears to be constantly trimmed and manicured. There was very little trash spotted by me along the layout. However, when inside the woods, the overgrowth can get thick. see cons, overgrowth.
- CHAINS - All the baskets look nearly new and have heavy chains.
Cons: A few sizable issues with Bay Memorial as of my return visit, July 2017.
- NAVIGATION - Not in a good state as of this revision. The old hole signage on (16-18) will confuse players when they read (7-9) on them. The course map on site is outdated. No numbers on new tee posts and no tee signs as well . Your best bet will be to download the map on DGCR. I found everything with the map, but tee (15). The rainstorms were coming so I gave up after 2 minutes of looking and improvised in my rush to finish the new holes.
- FORGIVENESS - Several holes have very tight lines and good shots will still likely get picked off. Being off your mark on holes (3 and 4) will result in a struggle to make boggie. Hole (3) is a 300 foot poke and hope shot just to get to the landing area 75 feet short of the basket. The hole signage seems to think that there's a line to the right, but the vegetation has swallowed up most of the line. Also, on number (11), a miss right means you swimming for it, or a lost disc.
- OVERGROWTH - The overgrowth on several holes is pretty bad. (1-4), (14-15) and (17-18) No doubt you will spend some time looking for your disc, especially on (3) and (4). Enjoy the summer mud on these holes as well when searching.
- DISCONTINUITY - The walk between(15-16) is near impossible without a map. At least 600 feet separates basket and next tee. The walk from (3) to (4) is not marked, and the map is also required to make this connection.
- CHARACTER - Compared to established courses, Bay Memorial is missing a lot of your typical items. Just about no seating at the tees. As stated, Tee signs are only on the original 9 holes, with holes (16-18) sill showing the numbers (7-9). The course map is also outdated. Other missing items include no second set of tees, no multi pin placements and no practice area. There is however a drinking fountain and a potta-potty.
- ELEVATION - Really not that much unless you only play Florida courses. But for Florida, probably average and the most elevation for the PCB area. Hole (1), (8) and (17) slide down about 15 feet, and hole (18) probably goes up by 15 feet.
- SPACING - Below average. It's a tight fit, but there really is not much to work with in the space provided. There are numerous occurrences where the basket and next are perilously close. Baskets (5 and 17) are almost on top of each other. The group of holes (11-15) are stacked with just about no separation.
Other Thoughts: IMO, the best of the PCB courses. It has issues but a few of the sizable ones are correctable. With fixed navigation I would entertain updating Bay Memorial to a 3 rating.
- PAR 2's - I'm not sure what to make of the Par 2's. I'm typically not a fan of them as they feel out of place.
- TIME WAITING - Although I had no issue first two times, this course looks like a place that will attract an exorbitant amount of joggers and walkers.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/2/2016   6/2/2016
Review By: Chriscass123
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course had a few pros. The par 2's were still reasonably difficult in my opinion. Hole one is a difficult par 2 right into the woods. Holes 5-7 are nice and open with reasonable obstacles in the way. The park is very nice too and not too far away from the beach for people like myself just visiting.
Cons: The holes not out in the open (1-4 and 8-9) have very small gaps that you have to hit or else you'll hit a tree and possibly land in the marshy area that the course plays through. Be prepared to spend time looking for discs, too, because the overgrowth is good at hiding them.
Other Thoughts: Even though there are 3 par 2's on this course, it is still very difficult and is not one of those "morale booster" 9 hole courses. I still say it's worth the drive over.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.