Canaan, CT 
Camp Brook DGC Share
Uploaded By: KnickerbockerLAG Hole #1
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Good... Too Much Wood

1    8/13/2017   8/13/2017
Review By: gabereif
Played: 40  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After easily finding the parking lot and the sign to the first hole, I arrived at the first tee and thought, "Wow, this is a sweet course!" The signs are beautiful, the tees are clearly marked. The first hole is a 250' tight shot that forces you to throw a pure line around one tree and under another. The setting is beautiful, natural woods. I was feeling very optimistic about this course... (continues below)
Cons: ...But as the course went on, my disappointment began to settle in. "Another 200 foot heavily wooded hole???" "There isn't even a clear line to the basket on this one!" "This hole looks just like all the others: short and too many trees." My buddy, who loves his Beast, never threw anything but a putter the entire round. Although the course was beautiful and well taken care of, the golf was not inspiring due to the repetitive nature of the course and the fact that too many holes were too short and too wooded. The longest hole is 300 feet, but many holes are under 200 feet and several don't have a clear line to the basket.
Other Thoughts: This course has lots of things going for it, which are why I gave this course a 3.0 rating despite the fact that the golf is rather one-dimensional, a little repetitive, and a bit frustrating due to the lack of clear lines on some holes. The navigation was great, as my buddy and I wandered through the woods following signs and never getting lost. It's clear that people are taking care of this course and making improvements, so props to all of you! The setting is really nice. You walk through lots of beautiful woods and over a bunch of wooden platforms and small bridges.

Other thoughts:
-Tees are dirt, but totally fine, marked with flags and tee signs and are easy to see
-A small amount of broken glass
-A bit of poison ivy, but it's not that problematic if you wear sneakers.
-Baskets catch great
-Some nice benches
-The brush isn't bad, so it's easy to find a disc that ricochets into the woods.
-It looks like hole 3 is being updated, since there was no basket where the map indicated. Rather, the basket had been moved back about 100 feet.

If a handful of trees were taken out on several holes, I would bump this course up to a 3.5. And if there was a way to add 4 long, open holes, then I'd even consider a 4.0.

Thanks to the course locals for a great round and keep up the hard work. It's much appreciated!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Continues to Improve

2-4    7/15/2017   7/17/2017
Review By: Anfield Addict
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well manicured course, lots of work and attention goes into it and there is plenty to praise.
-There is signage up now and it is fairly accurate. Might need to scout out a blind hole or two but...
-Bright yellow Innova disc catchers are easy to find and make scouting easy. Many also had flags on them that came up above the crest of any hills they were set behind.
-Tight but reasonable fairways with multiple routes available on majority of holes and some room for creative license.
-Good mix of shots required to navigate the course. Opportunities to utilize skip shots, rollers, turnovers, forehands etc.
-Good mix of distances with a few 150 footer ace run style holes, some middle ground 150-250 holes that often required a technical line and a few 300+. Though even on the longer holes you will need to hit a good line to make significant progress down the fairway.
-Friendly locals
-The poison ivy mentioned in other posts seems to have been gotten under control. I played 3 rounds in 2 days, spent my fair share of time getting out of jail, and have come out unscathed. Regulars said they had sprayed for it as well.
-Practice basket at the entrance to the course. Get your putt dialed in.
-Mini Golf course snack shack sells great ice cream. Worth a stop to celebrate a great round or sooth the pain of getting your butt kicked.
Cons: -Lack of amenities. Even with the mini golf course present at the entrance, there is nothing on the course by way of trashcans or bathrooms. So be prepared to carry out anything that you bring in and to find a tree if you need to relieve yourself.
-Some dangerous debris off the fairways. I found myself having to avoid barbed wire, broken glass and rusted out metal. If you are careful it's no big deal but a small slip could result in some pretty unfortunate injuries.
-While many of the fairways have been improved upon with trees being cleared to give a legitimate line to try and follow, there was still an abundance of small stuff that was pretty much impossible to see of the tee but plenty strong enough to give your disc an almighty kick into jail. A lot of it was 1/2 and 1 inch diameter saplings that were tough or impossible to make out, on the back nine there was some pretty well hidden vines that could grab your disc and ruin your run.
-Fresh sand had been put down at the tee's. However it seemed very recent and hadn't had time to settle. I think I would have preferred to throw from packed dirt beneath. The sand seemed pretty shifty.
Other Thoughts: My first review here, I hope it is helpful.
I played 3 rounds over two days. 2 of them were tournament rounds in my first tournament ever and the first tournament ever hosted at the course. The local crew did a great job setting it up and running it.

There is a strong local DG presence and so the course has benefited from their commitment and love for the game. Many of the cons other reviewers addressed have been improved upon and I know they are going to be continuing to improve the course. I don't think that things will taper off now that the tournament is over.

For my level of play the course was tough, but also very good for me. Frustrations came at myself for poorly executing shots rather than the course, with an exception or two.

I griped about the sand that was laid down on the tee pads but I think that was a very minimal con. While it was a little frustrating to deal with shifty footing, I think it minimally impacted my game any way, and the fact locals care enough to make the effort is a good sign for further improvements.

Finally in talking to course locals it sounds like they are working on new holes for the course that are currently unmarked and impossible to play without local help. But I think it's safe to say this course will only continue to improve and get better. I'd say it is definitely worth a play or two, more if you are near by. It was definitely worth the hour drive for me and I'll probably make it again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better With Age

2-4    8/7/2016   8/7/2016
Review By: seedoubleyou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Continual improvements each time we play (about every two weeks). Lots of potential and the more we play the better it gets!
- Good variety of holes with lots of elevation changes.
- Ice Cream and Sports/ Innova Disc Golf shop right next door.
Cons: - POISON IVY. ITS EVERYWHERE *scratch*scratch*
- Some holes have a lack of any throw lines amidst persistent tree "jails." "Roller" it is!
- Back 9 seems to need more clean-up, but I know it will get there in time.
- Hole maps would be helpful and some natural tee-pads are rough. In some spots there are two pads which should be marked a bit better.
Other Thoughts: - We encountered a mama bear and 2 cubs today around the 16th hole, keep your ears open and respect their space!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Woodsy WIP

1    6/26/2016   6/29/2016
Review By: Leftist
Played: 147  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy access and entirely under the tree canopy, this is a welcome addition to an area with a dearth of courses. Navigation is mostly self-evident with nice discreet arrows which helped keep the focus on playing the course versus wondering whether I was throwing to the right basket. Interesting balance of similar 220-260 foot holes on the front nine stretching out to closer to 325-385 range (est.) for the majority of the holes on the back nine.
Lovely baskets that catch well and some abandoned truck parts add character.
Cons: The lack of a map / tee signs / distance markers made the latter half of the course more problematic with some blind holes that required various degrees of scouting to get a clue. At least one hole had a fairly ridiculous narrow causeway through a thicket of trees reducing risk/reward to curse/luck.
Tee pads are just dirt in a 3-sided log box for now. There is some old barbed wire in places that is hard to see and could be hazardous when retrieving an errant disc.
Other Thoughts: Rocky outcrops felt underutilized near holes 5 / 11. There were too many 'straight' shots, i.e. basket placed straight ahead with the variety provided by different lines through the trees. Would have preferred more dog-legs, downhills, etc., although there are some of these in the latter part of the course. Don't forget the bug spray!
Clearly a lot of work has been done and this will only get better - esp. with usage / participation.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.