New Berlin, WI 
Valley View Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #18
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Not sure if designed for experienced disc golfers looking for a fun relaxing round, or for 10 year olds

2-4    5/11/2013   5/12/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 135  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My buddy and I played this course after playing a tournament at a much more difficult course, and we had an absolute blast here! The views here were incredible and the holes offer a wide variety of shots, playing in and out of the woods.

It was a very relaxed round, and none of the holes were all that difficult and the course seemed to be pretty clean and well maintained.

Hole 1 is the obvious signature hole of the course... a 280ish ft drive down into the "valley." This is best use of elevation on the course, but there are a few other fun elevation features used in the design too!
Cons: If you are looking for an intense round of disc golf, Valley View is not the course for you at all. Every hole here is an ace run, which makes for fun, but not much challenge. most people will not need to take out their drivers for this course.

The teepads here were teeny tiny and some of the signs were missing. The flow was not all that great, and navigation between holes 15 and 16 was not obvious. After you finish 15, cross the parking lot to get to 16's teepad (there's a concrete slab that looks like a teepad near 15s basket but isn't one).
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course's claim to fame is that it's just plain fun. I think it's definitely worth checking out even if it's a bit out of your way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun short course

2-4    4/27/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: fritothedog
Played: 47  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course! Accessible to beginners due to its short holes but also technical enough to provide a challenge. Nice, well maintained park.

Being from Oklahoma where most things are fairly flat I enjoy the elevation changes that this course has to offer.

Went on the first nice weekend so it was packed but once we teed off on hole one everyone moved pretty quickly and everyone was friendly.
Cons: Could stand to have a bit more length to some holes.

There were holes, especially in the valley, that were quite wet and marshy.

It was fairly busy both times I have been.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Spring Fever!

5+    3/31/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: mwright57
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The snow around the course is melting fast. There was a lot of mud last week at the bottom of the baskets and some puddles on the tee boxes but since then it has started to dry up fast!
Cons: The baskets were not moved back to holes 1 and 18 yet so make sure you take your second shot off the tee pads of holes 4 and 10 to the additional basket.
Other Thoughts: Now is a great time to try new routes or techniques since the vegetation has not grown up and it is still easy to find a wayward disc!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/22/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 261  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are multiple pin positions on a number of the holes and concrete tee pads. There is a good mix of open, semi-wooded and wooded holes on the course and some fun elevation changes on part of the course. There can be a good shot selection here depending on what basket locations are used, with some good challenging RHBH turnover shots.

While the course is on the short side, the wooded holes have fair fairways, are technical enough to make you hit your line for a birdie and the open holes have hills or sloped putting greens to add to the challenge.
Cons: When I played here there was snow on the ground causing bad footing so I was looking for a shorter course. But this course is even short by those standards, a few of the wooded holes I felt like I was throwing an approach shot off the tee with no run up needed.

The tee signs are in a bit of disrepair but it sounds like the local guys have plans to fix that soon. I can't comment on navigation since I was with a group and there was snow covering many of the signs, it seemed pretty straight forward though.

Given the winter conditions when I was here, I didn't have any problems with rough, tall grass or a crowded course like others have mentioned.
Other Thoughts: When I played here there was snow on the ground and the holes on the sled hill had been moved. It's a shame these holes have to be moved because they looks like some of the coolest holes on the course, but it's much better to move them and keep the course open for the winter.

This is a fun little course and is great for locals, new and less experienced players, but I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to play here either.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Although small, great variety!

2-4    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: RowJimeye
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 28.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: IMO, so many fun holes! 1, all of the woods especially 10 and the chances to erase any previous bogies with birds on 16, 17 and 18!
easy to get to right off of HWY 43
can get 18 holes finished in 50 to 70 minutes easy
keeps you happy with lots 'o' bird opportunities around every corner
for the most part, concrete tees are well kept.
Cons: Crowded and busy, but never any negative unruly folks - just lots of nice people.

Tee signs are hard to find and those that are there are unfortunately abused.

Hole 3 needs a better defined tee
Other Thoughts: Not a long course to say the least but sure is fun and challenging to catch as many birds as possible - love the woods holes and the off center pin placements!
Great fun to pick up someone at the first tee and play a round - you learn so muchj from seasoned VVP veterans!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Valley View

2-4    5/16/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: hoyle7780
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 25.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Easy to find
2. Nice flow to the course
3. Nice elevation with a mix of wooded holes.
4. Very well maintained
5. Nice area
6. Easy access from interstate
Cons: 1. CROWDED- I was in town for work and played this course several times as it was 1 mile from my Hotel. This course gets used and then some. Saw groups on nearly every hole (this was at 3pm in the afternoon)

2. Holes 4-10 are extremely short and Basic hyser putter shots.

3. Can be confusing to find (if you dont read the clearly written directions like I didnt)
The park has 2 seperate accesses. Use the small road entrance and it's cake, go to sunnyside and your lost.
Mosquitos could be an issue (didnt bother me cuz my home course is a breeding ground for mosquito's) but bug spray wouldnt be a bad idea.
Other Thoughts: (Crowding) - The course was jam packed every time I went there, However the groups I encountered were super cool. Most offered to let me play through or join there group so the crowds didnt bother me. This course is more enjoyed in a group than if your by yourself.
(Hole difficulty) - The course is sweet dont get me wrong, it just seemed like when I got to hole 4 it was the same shot over & over. When you looked to your right there was some amazing woods with extreme elevation that wasnt being used. Not sure if the parks had an issue with using that land but would make for Championship caliber course.

(Summary) - This course was great! Check it out if your in the area. If you dont wanna wait get there early. I did manage to play the course after a quick thunderstorm that ran 70% of the players off and when your at this course with nearly noone else there it's very surreal.This area of the park is Disc Golf only so that was a bonus not worrying about watching out for non players.
Hole #1 you will unload your bag, Huge downhill, watch it glide forever (very cool)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/3/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 164  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1.During winter, not many people realize that this course still has its baskets up, so it's a nice little get away.
2. This course has really short holes, so I mainly bring mid range discs and putters. I usually play this course to test my mid range and putting game. Many of the holes can be finished in 2 if not an ace.
3. If it's slow and not packed full of people, this course is good to get a quick round in during your day.
4. Multiple pin locations which up until the last year or so has added some "new" excitement to those who've been playing this course for years.
5. Terry Miller designed it!
Cons: 1. Not the best choice for a course to unleash big throws/drives due to shorter course style.
2. Usually crowded with high school aged kids playing that don't quite understand proper ethic like letting smaller/faster paced groups play through.
3. Wooded holes usually pretty muddy during wet/winter seasons.
4. Summer = mosquitoes!! Be ready to be swatting them out of your face while you wait to throw.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for a non-competitive group/single players looking to enjoy a relaxed style disc golf game. The trees that play a role in shot choice are used well with pin locations and gaps to throw to. If you can birdie 2/3 of the holes, think about playing in the tournaments held there!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/17/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: VIRUS8
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course easy to follow except from hole 9 to 10 and 15 to 16.
Ample parking.
Nice little park.
Very easy par 3 course.
Baskets are moved around.
Cons: Alot of garbage around some tee pad's.
Need more blind holes.
Very busy.
Hole sign's all broke or missing.
Need longer holes.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Shake my head..

5+    8/20/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As you walk up to the first tee box you will immediately realize the reason for the name of the course.
The tee box is elavated 75 ft higher than the pin while overlooking a good 2/3 of the course.
Getting started: The first 3 holes are somewhat typical disc golf set ups. Good solid shots resulting in good scores.
Getting woody: The next 7 holes are in the woods with tricky routes and skinny lines to be hit.
Getting back out in the open: Some anny- BH/flick lines with slightly longer but less wooded holes, followed up by hole 15 that goes back up the hill leading you back to the parking lot.
The Final 3 holes are also somewhat typical. 16 is perched up on a big mound with 17 following that up, and then hole 18 letting you get one last "View" of the beautiful "Valley"-also leading you back to the parking lot.
If you can throw some solid approaches from out of trouble area's or just hit great lines with mid-ranges, there is no reason this course wouldn't be a good time for discer's of most ages and skill levels.
You might need to bust out the driver here and there, but not more than 2 or 3 times.
-Drive for show and putt for doe.
They also have two set ups as I have found out today.
Cons: A little on the easier side. Shouldn't have any issue saving par.
It gets packed! Way too many noobs, way too many punks that litter!
The signs for the holes are mostly written and tagged all over, finding any given distance on more than half the holes is pointless. Play it by eye, most holes are just a standstill off the teebox with a good solid mid or putter. Although the teepads could be a little bigger, you really only need enough room to do a standstill anyways.
The course also has some high brush in certain spots, making it extremely difficult to find an errant drive.
This course has turned into a pigstye! It's not even my home course, I only play it 2-5 times a year, but it's absolutely disgusting. It makes me sick. Trash is scattered by any given tee box, basket's are a little sketchy from vandals, the list goes on.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course to play on. It's a fun time and worth a little trip. It's very clear there is no regard for course upkeep by the grounds-crew, but (I don't blame them one bit). Mostly high-school kids go out there and just trash it. This puts a damper on the entire round. It's reasonable becuase it's alot of fun for alot of different level players. It's a decent lay-out as well. But no where near as enjoyable as it should be due to the trash. Shake my head...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Pitch and Putt

5+    4/10/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: widiscgolfguy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Helps you build on your technical shots. Without a crowd you can get a round done in a short about of time. There seems to be A lot of different types of shots needed to play the whole course well.
Cons: Being in a valley, it's wet most of the time, there tends to be a more rowdy younger crowd there, signs are all broke. Basically one tee pad with one pin. THere are a few exception where they have a second type of pads and some of the holes can be moved, but half of them can't. PLan to pack in pack out, not many places to get rid of garbage. Although you will see piles of it all over.
Other Thoughts: I think the course can be fun, love the wednesday night league there, easy course to get to, great for newcomers or people who want to work on the short game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.