Woodsboro, MD 
Woodsboro Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: MikeK Hole #4 (Taken 10/2017)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Tough Course, but will be back

1    1/11/2019   6/25/2019
Review By: where'sfinn
Played: 25  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 0.7 Years
Pros: Great variety of holes and elevation change.
Good mix of open hills and wooded holes.
Very, very peaceful, especially in the back 9.
Gorgeous course.
Holes didn't cross nor run parallel, and it has a pretty cool layout from hole to hole.
Cons: Some holes are extremely tight and littered with trees, so it seemed like if you were not a pro, it was just "throw and hope you get lucky", but I was fairly new to disc golf so my opinion my change on this.
Might be too challenging for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I went on an extremely windy day in January, and was decently new to disc. So I had a tough time, but at the same time I could definitely understand that this course was really cool.

 Well-Maintained course with good challenges

2-4    3/19/2019   3/26/2019
Review By: AndrewMagnuson
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well-maintained course that appears to have a bunch of ongoing improvements (benches were being installed the last time i was there). Three tee boxes per hole provided good variety of challenges and interesting paths to the hole. The back 9 holes are particularly interesting, with lots of elevation changes. I'm not an expert thrower by any means, and this course was in the "goldilocks zone" of not being to easy or too ridiculously challenging.
Cons: The front 9, while perfectly serviceable, tends to be more wide open an less creative than the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Living in Frederick, this will probably be my go-to course. It's clear that the locals care deeply about this place and work hard to maintain it, and it's encouraging that incremental improvements continue to be taking place.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Woodsboro DGC is on the Rise

5+    2/18/2019   2/20/2019
Review By: Goat
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 6/14/2019
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1) Three tee pads per hole with different angles and some have completely different fairways.
(2) Two baskets per hole except for holes 1, 9 and 18.
(3) Lots of elevation change, sometimes 60 to 100 feet on some holes.
(4) Secluded course with front and back 9 returning to the parking lot.
(5) Park closes at 10:00pm with no gate. Glow league once a week throughout the winter
(6) 95% of the toe breaking stumps have been removed.
(7) Benches on many tee pads with more on the way. 40 out of 54 tee pads have benches
(8) Course drains extremely well.
(9) No gnats during the summer

Cons: (1) Holes 1 and 2 have grass tee pads, but the club has been given permission to put in concrete pads when funds/donations are in hand.
(2) All improvements/maintenance are handled/funded by the local club and supporters only.
(3) A few fairways are challenging due to the number of trees but the town has put restrictions on what can be cut. Some trees have fallen on their own.
(4) Course has changed so much in the past few years the tee pad signs are not completely accurate.


Other Thoughts: Woodsboro is a unique course with elevation changes on almost every hole. Three (3) tee pads on every hole boxed in by railroad ties with crush (except for holes 1 and 2. Concrete pads for these two holes are in the plans for the future) give it an old western feel on each hole with good grip. All tee pads drain extremely well unless you are in a down pour and almost dry immediately. In the winter months with freeze and thaw during the day it may take a little longer to become dry but that should be expected. This course was redesigned in 2015 when 9 additional holes were added to complete the 18. (Two) Disc Catcher baskets on 15 of the 20 holes at this time. Yellow is short and white is long. Currently we have 3 alternate pin placements on 15 holes and 2 on holes 1 and 18, Hole #9 has 1 pin placement however you can use the practice basket near the parking lot as a longer alternative. We will keep installing a few at a time as we can. Fairways are well defined however there are many trees to give you hesitation and really make you think of what line you will take. Creativity is a must when playing this course as you will need a multitude of shots to score well. Several holes have 2 to 3 differing fairways when standing on different tee pads on the same hole. There are possible roll-a-ways at many of the baskets, so be advised to think twice before you putt, as a birdie may turn into a bogey in a heartbeat. Speaking of heartbeats, this course will be an up and down hill hike so be prepared. Beautiful overlooks on a few of the holes will make you pause for a group photo. This park is open until 10:00 pm with no gate to enter or exit. If you are into some "Glow" rounds, this is the perfect place. This course is constantly evolving and has really become a must see in the State of Maryland. The course was created and is maintained by local players with a passion for the game. Our club has some strict restrictions from the town as to what trees can be removed so keep this in mind when you come visit. The course is funded by players and friends only at this time so we can only move so fast. We are currently installing benches on tee pads and plan to continue as we get funds. Just this past year we have added holes 19 and 20 with one basket each, which are located around the skating pond. Please take a look at the videos on YouTube to get a good idea of what to expect. I love many courses but this one is special.

Please come visit, all welcome
The Goat

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Locals Going to Local

1    1/10/2018   1/11/2018
Review By: listentomorejazz
Played: 50  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Largely Secluded, Disc Golf Only
-Multiple Tee Off (3)/Pin Locations, some tee positions did drastically change the hole
-Convenient Access/Parking
-Fairly well marked with next tee locations, navigation was relatively easy
- Beautiful trees and woodlands, I love seeing big conifers on a course
- Tee signs at every box
Cons: - Largest con is the unfairways. Too many holes had only one possibly way to get the disc to the basket, which allows for little creativity. Some of the tee locations (specifically green) were so limited that there was not a true line to the basket
-The tee pads were often too small, and the shale/crushed gravel, while grippy, was extremely messy in the wet winter
- Lack of par 4's and 5s
- Lack of Benches
- While there were tee signs at ever box, the pins were often in "B" positions, which were not on the tee signs. Additionally, the scale was not ideal on a number of the signs
- Too many blind shots for a visitor. If one knows the course well, this is not a con, but as a traveling disc golfer, I end up spending half the round looking for a basket
Other Thoughts: I made this my first review because I was psyched to play this course due to its rating. I left...disappointed.

This is not a bad course by any means, but the locals had inflated the reviews to make it seem much greater than it was, which negatively impacted my round.

Will likely play again, hopefully during nicer weather, and enjoy myself more because of revised expectations.

You can also tell the locals care very much about this course, but there is still a lot more work to be done. A chainsaw would make a big difference on this course. It does not have the length to be an Iron Hill or Muddy Run, but difficult does not necessarily mean better.

I did not play them, but it looked to me as thought the reds (shortest) were likely the most enjoyable. Carving putters through woods instead of trying to luck a fairway through multiple five foot gaps.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    10/22/2017   10/29/2017
Review By: Von.bake
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Woodsboro offers something for everyone, from the seasoned pro to the average Joe.

- multiple tee pad and pin locations
- innova disc catcher baskets
- helpful and active club
-park always open until 10 for glow
- elevation
-
-
Cons: - big hill
Other Thoughts: Play this course

0 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful countryside

5+    10/28/2017   10/28/2017
Review By: Geremy
Played: 53  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2017
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 3 tees per hole that are completely different shots

Crush on the tee pads offer great grip

Lots of variety, this isn't a course where half way through you're thinking to yourself, 'didn't I already throw a shot like this?'
Cons: -Some railroad ties need to be flush to the ground. At this point some good roller shots could be blocked when throwing from the longer tees
Other Thoughts: With the 3 different tees it can really play as 3, totally different, courses. Worth the drive if your from out of town. If you're in need of a meal, (from the good hole you just took), there's a great deli at Trout's market in Woodsboro, the club sandwich is to die for!

Every hole has a fairway, locals actually complain about them being wide open. But, as you can see from other reviews, out of towners think it's too narrow on some holes. Our club has been weeding out some trees, but there IS a line on every hole. If you miss it then that's your own bad! I'm sure hole 16 is one of the holes people complain about. But, believe it or not, a lefty aced it from the red tee. The line is there, you just have to hit it

Also, multiple tee positions are coming! Stay tuned....

New pin positions throughout, tee signs will be updated sooner or later. So far holes 4, 6, 7, 11, 12, and 13 are in longer positions

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

5+    10/23/2017   10/28/2017
Review By: discgolf247
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Every hole is a different challenge. And with 3 sets of tees to pick from!! You have ace runs from the reds and bombers from the greens. And the blues are a great mix. The course is very well kept and not alot of people traffic. A++
Cons: I can't play here every day
Other Thoughts: The course is growing!! And the players do all the up keep

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    10/27/2017   10/28/2017
Review By: Treeclimber420
Played: 59  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14 Years
0 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: 3 tee pads per hole. Makes for a fun course for every skill level. Everything is well marked. Great workout walking these trails.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: The local club is always expanding the hole. With new PIN positions.

0 of 18 people found this review helpful.

This course kicked my tail but I loved it

1    10/24/2017   10/24/2017
Review By: MikeK
Played: 283  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 24.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Three sets of tees, phenomenal variety of shot shapes required with 54 different routes
+Tees are now all packed gravel & sand and are very grippy. I played the morning after a hard rain and had no problems with tee traction
+Extra basket slipped in for the long (green) tee on hole 8. The green tee plays uphill on this hole while the red/blue plays downhill using the same fairway. Pretty ingenious design feature if you ask me
+Very hilly. I like courses that are physically demanding and this one really gets your heart pumping in a few places with its steep climbs. Some fun downhill bombs and downhill finesse shots too
+Gorgeous woods, isolated from the rest of the park, nice views of the valley on holes 1, 9 and a couple others
+Practice basket
+Port-o-potty in parking lot
+Double loop design, holes 1 & 10 tee off near the parking lot, so it's convenient to grab a mid-round beverage out of your vehicle
+A few trash cans here and there
+Several benches
+Good Innova baskets
+Navigation is superb. With the exception of hole 1 (where you can see at least two baskets from the tee-- throw at the one to the left with the big drop off on its left) and hole 10 (took a couple minutes to find it), there are next tee arrows on the baskets that point to the trail to find the way. I only had to look at the map on 1 & 10
Cons: -Biggest con, which really makes me consider dropping the rating on this course to a 4, is that on some holes, the fairway is just too tight, in some places as little as 5 or 6 feet wide. So, the luck factor is in play here on these holes and it's awfully frustrating
-Teepads are sometimes only 8 feet long, or ten feet long, but I didn't actually ever feel that my run-up was affected
Other Thoughts: Wow, this course is great. Only thing missing is a water-feature hole, or a par 5, but other than that, it's got so much to offer. The tee signs aren't the prettiest, but there's 54 of them out there and they give both distance and the change in elevation which is most informative. Not sure if the local club is allowed to chop down any trees, but if just a couple small trees here and there were removed, the frustrating luck shots could be eliminated and then this course would shine even more brightly. It's an awesome workout; by the time I stood on 18's tee I was whooped. This course is not for the faint of heart. The rough really isn't bad though, there's not too many thorns to deal with. Worth the drive!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

It's got potential

5+    8/26/2017   8/27/2017
Review By: thirtydirtybirds
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice park, and the course is not nearby to, or overlapping any other park features, except a soccer field that runs adjacent to 1,2, and 9.

There are 2 loops, front and back nine that both end at the parking lot, which is always nice.

The local club has improved this course quite a bit over the last year or so, adding in framed teepads with crushed stone on almost all the holes. Signage and arrows make navigation easier than ever. They have also removed A LOT of brush and the fairways are really starting to come in as nice grassy alleys through the trees.

This is a very challenging course with lots of elevation change, sometimes drastic. Dispatchers in a single pin position on each hole are pretty new and catch well.

There are a variety of distances here, as well as a few open holes in an otherwise heavily wooded course.

This course is usually not very crowded, so pace of play is a rare issue.
Cons: This course is HEAVILY wooded. I'm a fan of playing in the woods, but on several holes the trees are just too numerous and tight, leaving no real line to the basket and making some holes feel just daunting. Poke and hope is not my preference, and here you have more than a few holes where you just throw at the trees and hope it sneaks through. There are a few green tee pads with clusters of trees within 20' that block your line.

As stated above, some holes are very uphill. This is t necessarily bad on its own, but combined with the thick trees makes for really nasty tee shots, and is quite fatiguing, even for a guy who hikes regularly.

A few of the holes on the back nine are pretty far apart, and the walk crosses over other hiking trails which I could see confusing someone unfamiliar with the course, but it's not so bad as to be unnavigable.

Grass height is hit or miss. When it's mowed it's perfectly fine, but a few of the holes get pretty tall after a week or two of no mowing. I've played there and had to look for my disc for a few minutes in the fairway because the grass is thigh high.
Other Thoughts: This course is a work in progress still. The progress made so far is impressive, but there are still some edits that I think can be made.

There are some really fun holes, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 12, 17, 18, and blue tee 8 come to mind as being scenic, fair, and fun. But some of the holes are just not fun or fair to me, 14-16, 5 green, 11. With some tree removal to make them just a little less hope and prayer oriented though, most of those holes could be good as well. A couple hole shapes are strange as well, making for tough choices off the pad, and rendering a par every bit as good as a birdie, but on a couple birdie just isn't realistic.

Overall I like this course OK. It frustrates me to be playing well and hit a wall of trees that is borderline impenetrable and have my score suffer for it. On the fair holes success is measured by accuracy, and shot choices, which will test your mental game and course management.

If you go there to play, be prepared for a rollercoaster of emotions. You will feel great on some holes, and dejected on others. You will find yourself on tees and in lies without a feasible route to the basket, be prepared to take your medicine and pitch out or play it short. Bring good shoes, because it's a good hike, some of it is steep and offers a good workout.

I think the blue tees is the best layout, offering the cleanest lines, least amount of tree overcrowding, and best risk/reward gameplay. I look forward to seeing this course continue to improve.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.