Daphne, AL 
Daphne Central Park Share
Uploaded By: enragedmullet Hole #17 (Taken 12/2016)
3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
65 degrees

2-4    4/20/2018   2/13/2018
Review By: HumDyn
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 4/20/2018
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Concrete tee pads
2. Hilly
3. Well landscaped
4. Great basket placement
5. Layout signs at front and back nine
Cons: 1. No restrooms (therefore not female friendly)
2. No water coolers (Igloo or other portable)
Other Thoughts:
shifting winds made disc selection critical. Course was recently mowed. Overall, an excellent day of disc golf.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bombs Away

1    1/24/2018   1/24/2018
Review By: MikeK
Played: 276  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 23.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Prodigy baskets, my personal favorites
+nice concrete tees, flush to the ground
+good tee signs that were useful
+hills! lots of hiking, a great workout for the legs and arm
+easy to navigate
+very close to I-10. Can see the interstate from hole 7's tee in fact
+two 9-hole loops so you can take a break at your car mid-round
+benches on a lot of holes
Cons: -only one set of tees
-hole 18 is a dud. Would be so much better if the basket was way up the hill. Perhaps the neighbors disallowed the basket being placed up the hill on the low low chance a stray shot could hit the corner house?
-not much shade. This course has got to be a scorcher in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Daphne Central Park is a pleasant surprise and might just be the second best course around Mobile, after the Admiral. I thought to myself, usually you have to pay to play on a course as nice as this, which looks like a ball golf course. Just about every hole has a lot of elevation change, and the baskets are well-placed so that placement on the green requires some thought and skill.

Sure, there's not a whole lot of trees, but the elevation changes more than make up for that by forcing accuracy in a different way---got to land your disc correctly to score well here. Big arms will have an advantage on this course, no doubt, but if you can't throw too far, the downhill holes will give you a distance boost.

Really tempted to rate this 4.5, but I'll go with 4.0 for now due to only one set of tees, and one set of pin placements. This course could really benefit from extra pin placements that would boost the variety and fun factor even more.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Green Acres Is The Place For D

1    7/15/2017   7/17/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 180  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 15.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:

- free to play, plenty of parking
- concrete tees
- numbered tee signs with distances and fairway images
- forgiving fairways, beginner friendly course
- plenty of accenting and descending fairways
- a good mix of distances
- intuitive layout
- 9 and 18 end at the starting point
- quality baskets, numbered
- information kiosk at the start of the course
Cons:

- construction on the course, temp I assume
- hole 3 uses a house as a backstop
- the course lacks obstacles
- fairways lack definition, not very punitive
- course soggy in spots
Other Thoughts:
Daphne looks to be the remnant of a neighborhood golf course. The fairways are humongously gargantuan in their vastness. It's more green and lush than I am accustomed to seeing in this region. Many of the courses around these parts feature plain pitch and putts or longer technical fairways. Not Daphne Central Park. This was literally and figuratively a breath fresh air. The overall beauty of the Daphne course cannot be denied either. The course use variations in elevation to create a majority of its difficulty. Seriously, who doesn't watching slow glide filling downhill drives?

I think it's worth pointing out a few of the course flaws, even though I thoroughly enjoyed my visit. The course fairways lack definition and obstacles to shoot around. Overshooting a fairway could mean interfering with play in other fairways that run near each other. For example, a guy cutting through the course teed off on 8 and landed his disc right next to me on pad 9. The lack of "fairway identity" can also make 18 holes feel a little repetitive. Some homes come in close proximity to the course, as well. Walking a big open course like this in the summer can be taxing with the lack of shade. Bring plenty of water and sunscreen, even if it means leaving them in the car and restocking halfway through your round.


Normally, well maintained courses pair well with carts, however, I'm unsure whether or not carts work well with all the changes in elevation. I'm also uncertain how often the grass is cut and how well water normally drains on the course. My visit was a little soggy and the grass was starting to look long in spots. I could easily see wet overgrown grass bogging down your experience here.

It's easy to see the appeal of Daphne DGC. I liken it to eating just desserts for dinner. The drop shots and openness are deliciously satisfying at first, but after a while I wanted something more well rounded with substance. My experience lands this course somewhere between 2.5 and 3. Course beauty and the fact that they've got all the appropriate hardware (concrete tees, signs, nice baskets) helped push my rating up to a 3. I feel that it would be an outright 3 if there were multiple tees and pins

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

now 18

1    1/28/2017   1/28/2017
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 137  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 18.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great new baskets. Lots of elevation. Nice tee pads. Course flows well and is very easy to navigate. Nice mix of distances.
Cons: Not a lot of cons. Course does not have many trees so elevation is the only variety. no real amenities onsite.
Other Thoughts: Mainly reviewed this because the other reviews say there are only 9 holes. Course is now 18 with a road dividing the course into 2 9's. Definitely a course I would play again. Good design for the land there

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fresh air on top of the hill!

5+    4/10/2016   4/11/2016
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 82  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 6.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Elevation and location!
Cons: - no restrooms/amenities on-site
- on the short/small side
- proximity to residential areas
- enclosed by walking/jogging trail - potential for disc-to-bystander encounters
Other Thoughts: Daphne has up 'n' raised the average for DG in the AL bi-county/gulf coast arena. As mentioned before, there are brand-spankin' new baskets, concrete tees, great views and ELEVATION. Those familiar with the AL gulf coast know that for the most part we are FLAT. The Hobbit in Midtown has some elevation but compared to here it's 2-D. On these 9 short holes elevation plays in such a contrary way to the rest of the area that on that virtue alone it is catapulted to the upper echelon of courses in the area, despite it being 9 holes. Sick of the norm in Mobile? Jam on over to Daphne, go 25 mph in the neighborhood, and enjoy (currently) 9 holes of up/down fun. Plus, just down the road is Fairhope's course, and from there, Foley's just a hop skip and jump. Makes for a long fun day of DG.

To update one thing from the previous review, there is now total signage- distances, layouts, par, etc. Also, there are garbage cans everywhere. Only a jerk would litter here; it's obvious the community cares about their park and I hope golfers stopping-by treat it the same way because I can see it easily becoming a stopping-point and possibly even a signature course due to the elevation/scenic views. Also, there's the occasional bench. As for obstacles, while it certainly isn't as cramped as Cottage Hill or Fairhope or Chickasabogue, (aka, typical for the area), the trees nearby are used very effectively, coupled with the elevation, it's a fun toss.

From the small parking lot it is easy to navigate the course via signage. It's not a simple loop, but rather makes full usage of the acreage/elevation available. Hole 3 in particular stands out because, while it's not very long, it's downhill, so locals may find it easy to actually overshoot the basket and wind up OB. As a result, the course requires finesse on more than one hole in a way other courses in the area don't.


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Elevation Batman (My 100th Course Played)

1    11/28/2015   11/28/2015
Review By: The Drake
Played: 108  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 15.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to locate right basically right off the interstate.
-There are concrete tee pads on every hole which aren't the largest in the world but they are nice and flush to the ground making them easy to work with.
-The baskets are brand new Prodigy baskets which seem to catch pretty well.
-Despite lack of signage the course is very easy to navigate for the first timer.
-Great overall use of the land available to create a solid 9 holes of golf.
-Very nice view of downtown Daphne from the pins of holes 5 and 6
-Elevation, Elevation, Elevation. Something much needed in this city.
Cons: -There is absolutely no signage. The pins are easy enough to see so this isn't a total deal breaker but there's no indication to hole distances which on an open course can make it difficult to judge.
-A few of the pins are precariously close to houses or yards.
-No bathrooms
-Only 9 holes
-With the exception of hole 7 there isn't really a hole you get to bomb a shot on for such an open course
-Wide open with little in the way of hazards or obstacles (though I'll speak more to this below)
Other Thoughts: I don't know all the details of this course but saw it pop up on our local facebook page with people raving about it so even though its across the bay from where I live I decided to pop over and try it for officially my 100th course ever played. I was not disappointed. Reportedly there is another 18 holes scheduled to go in the ground in the not too distant future and I can't wait to see what they come up with.

The nicest thing about this course is its elevation change. Most courses here in Mobile are very flat and even for the few courses with any elevation change it's minimal at best. This is a completely different ball game and reminds me more of courses I've played in my previous home towns of Birmingham and Nashville.

Most of the knocks on this course I'm sure will be fixed with time. It would be nice to have tee signs with some distances and I'm sure they're on the way. Likewise there's only 9 holes now but I know for a fact they already have looked at designs just across the street for an additional full 18.

I would point out that one of the more unique qualities of this course is that it looks like it was designed on an old par 3 ball golf course and is set right in the middle of a neighborhood with houses flanking the fairways. The only concern I would have in this regards is stray discs going into yards but given the relatively short distances of most of the holes I don't see this being a major issue.

Finally in regards to the openness of the course there really isn't much in the way of obstacles but the few trees present have made for some nice fairway routes and pin placements forcing certain shot shapes. There is a walking trail around the outside you could play as OB but its relatively out of the way of most of the fairways. Still, it adds a nice challenge.

All and all this is a the beginning of what looks like will ultimately be a very nice course and I can't wait to see what they do with the rest of the land. In the meantime I think its a 9 holes worth stopping by and playing if that's all you have time for or if you want to play more than just the 20 holes at Foley down the street.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.