DeBary, FL 
River City Nature Park - Barwick Share
Uploaded By: br2526 Hole #18 (Taken 12/2015)
-- / --   3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Jurassic Park.

1    5/29/2017   7/27/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 200  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.154 Rating) A good compliment to Alpha with its own unique style.
- SHOT SHAPING - I very much preferred the shooting lines on Barwick over Alpha. I was up fairway, although for other reasons, (see cons - hole location pegs) only to pause for a moment and brainstorm on how I was going to attack it. Discs will need to be on a precise line to make the basket in many instances. A bunch of tight fairways, but I think every hole had a discernible angle to the basket. My favorite was hole (6), which in addition to the 10 foot wide fairway, it paralleled a dry creek bed, adding a bit of an elevated putt depending on the lie.
- ART WORK - Huh? Whomever the artist is that painted a 10 x15 mystical wood signs to direct traffic for each hole did an amazing job. Definitely added to the course's character.
- CHARACTER - Not as much coddling as Alpha, but still some niceties of note. At the parking area there's a community board and two practice baskets. There is seating at just less than half the tees and most are shaded as well. Many of the holes have multiple basket placements indicated but I'm unsure if they are used. (see other notes) Nice tee signs at every pad, and more accurate than the ones on the Alpha course. However, I do have a grievance with the tee pads (see cons)
- CHALLENGING - If you like courses that test your accuracy, you'll probably love this course. However, IMO it's not quite as difficult as the DGCR rating indicates as the course falls right in the middle between heavily and moderately wooded. Thus its current listing under the heavily wooded moniker will inflate its difficulty rating a little. Intermediate players should finish around par.
- CHILL AREAS - Lots of secluded areas along the layout. Not as much seating as Alpha, but still a few nice pit stops along the way.
- UNIQUENESS - A touch above average in general but below average for courses I've scored this high. Tree coverage on a hole to hole basis varies quite a bit, open thru heavily wooded. Lots of tunnel shots thru palm lines, a few pockets to hit and a bunch of blind baskets. Some holes are super tough, but there are an equal amount or gimme shots as well. The hole distance variety is nice for the par 3's (190-450) and there are a couple pars 4s depending on basket placement. A nice improv island hole on (15) as well. Unfortunately no dog legs, no par 5s, no water shots and no elevation (see cons).
- RAW BEAUTY - I scored Alpha a touch more beautiful over Barwick but this course is also a natural wonder, but in a different style. The best way to describe the course is Jurassic Park. The southern part of this layout is littered with sabal palms, palmetto bushes and other miscellaneous tropical plants. The holes (15-17) however, looks more like the Alpha course.
Cons: Solid with just a couple minor issues and a few ticky tack comments of note.
- TEE SURFACE - Very subpar for courses I've rated 3.0 or higher. A couple are concrete, but the rest are a mixture of carpet, rubber mats and natural surfaces.
- NAVIGATION - Be sure and download the course map online as the course jogs around a bit. There is a community board on site but no course map was observed. There are some directional arrows along the course, but it's not enough for this type of course.
- DISCONTINUITY - Lots of walking between a few holes. The walk between (17) to (18) is the longest at over 600 feet, but there are also a 3 or 4 other walks over 200 feet. In addition, basket (18) and tee (1) are both about 400 feet from the parking. So again, please download the course map.
- HOLE LOCATION PEGS - This course has drill holes on the sign to locate pin placements. However, more than half had the tee marker removed and another 3 or 4 were slotted wrong. After a couple holes with bad tee info, I decided to run up the fairway on EVERY basket (most holes are blind) to determine the location. It was that bad.
- FORGIVENESS - Like most wooded courses, Barwick will generally not be to kind to misguided shots. I think I hit a tree on more than half of the holes. Being a good mid range thrower, to scramble for par, will be key to shoot low.
- TIME PLAY - Considering that you're going to hit trees on this course and be on the hunt to find a disc on a few holes, you can an expect a longer round than normal when looking solely at the course length. It took me about 80 minutes solo. I think a group of 4 will spend at least 2 1/2 hours here maybe 3 here.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - This is really not a beginners course despite low odds to lose a disc. The course requires the skills of an accurate shot possessed by seasoned players.
- TERRAIN - Not beat in enough. If you have bad knees or ankles stay clear of this course. Lots of roots to stub a toe or twist an ankle on. Probably also not the best course for the disc golf bag stroller. You'd need some big wheels to not stop at every little root.
- POISON IVY - I spotted a few small patches of poison ivy, so be aware when looking for your disc.
- ELEVATION - Zippo, which is typical for this part of Florida. No more than 10 feet of change on any hole.
Other Thoughts: I hit seven courses over memorial weekend. This was my 3rd highest rated of the seven. No question a 3.5 rating with fixed tees and a few more duel tees. I preferred Alpha, but I liked this one enough that I'd play both on a return visit.
- MULTI BASKETS LOCATIONS - The signs indicate multiple baskets locations, the old pictures versus what I played indicate they've moved. However, I spoke with a local and he told me there are not multiple locations yet, but there's a plan to add sleeves in the future with funding. In addition, I never saw another sleeve or plate in the ground signaling extra locations. I'm dumfounded whether they exist or not.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

great wooded course

5+    5/29/2017   5/29/2017
Review By: pickupman92
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: tight wooded fairways, , good tunnels, but enough room to hit different lines. Canopy is really high up, so kudus to the club for keeping the fairways trimmed.

Benches to rest on almost every hole, GREAT!
good mix of woods and a couple bomber holes as well.
Cons: Unfortunately, there are no bathrooms, but they recently buil a nice pavilion and I think the city/county are showing interest, so they might be on there way.

Mosquitoes can be bad sometimes, so bring brugspray, but I've heard they have treated some of the water at the park with something that kills the mosquitoes and it seemed to have worked in 2016
Other Thoughts: Great course to play and it compliments the alpha course really well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Nature Hike With A Disc Golf Course In It

1    10/30/2016   10/30/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 150  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 42.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The "new" course here, and it still shows. Only one set of mostly carpet tees and way fewer pin placements than the original course here. I believe that it will have two sets of concrete tees eventually. Nice tee signs and a good start on the next tee signs. Hole 1 lets you know right out of the gate that this course means business! Some long holes here for sure, but mostly there are technical heavily wooded holes. The course has a lot of nature hikes in between the holes which adds a lot of extra steps to the round. Feel the burn!
Cons: Even with all of the signage, navigation can be somewhat tricky in spots. Thankfully, the course is heavily played and the very friendly locals were more than happy to keep us on the right path.

BRING BUG SPRAY!!! Mosquitos can be brutal at times.
Other Thoughts: I get the feeling that this course isn't quite done yet. It is quite playable and pairs well with the other 18 hole course on site here. It's really tight and longish though, so I wouldn't recommend it to beginners.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    12/18/2015   12/19/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Barwick is very much a companion to the original course on site. It features a decent variety of holes or rather a few types. There are open mostly open holes that feature a lot of distance, typically maximizing the use of open space by placing the basket just inside the trees on the opposite side of a field from the tee. There are extremely tight, very short holes through palm forest. And there are some inbetween holes, medium distance and with what I would call typical wooded fairway width. It isn't so much a spectrum of fairways width as it is a mix of those three. As such, it forces a lot of different shots. Carefully placed drives that are practically approaches and places to air out a disc.
Still, the majority of holes are within the heavily wooded section of the park and a ton of the holes can boast an impressively tight flight path. These thick palm trees salivate at the chance to knock your disc down. Whereas the original course here probably tests disc golf abilities better, this one is a bit more on the fun side. You are going to get unlucky and you are going to get a bad kick at some point during a round here.
Signage is the same quality stuff used in the original course and navigation aids are plentiful, although as a new course, there are still some places where additional arrows would be helpful. With the variety and the different holes here, it makes a great companion piece to the original.
Cons: A few of the holes do border on plink and while fun could be frustrating to both beginners and advanced players that are concerned with fairness and true ability tests. The later will also find that a lot of holes won't provide much scoring separation. But truly, there isn't much to dislike here. It isn't a destination course by any means. It's a fun, but not terribly interesting course. No water, no elevation, no signature holes of any kind. An everyday course that I wouldn't typically go out of my way for.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/3/2015   12/11/2015
Review By: JLethal2
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
Pros: The second 18 hole course at Debary...an idea that was a long time coming and finally complete. This course is a nice compliment to the original 18 holes as it kicks up the degree of difficulty a few notches and puts your accuracy to the test. A majority of the course features narrow flight paths requiring pin point precision which makes it a competitive challenge. It appeared that all of the concrete pads have now been laid which is nice since the first time I played the course was logistically confusing. Also brand new signage is on each hole as well as "next tee" signage...great for easy navigation.
Cons: Missing elevation changes as usual in the state of Florida (Can't really blame the course for this though). Due to the enclosed nature of some of the holes with narrow paths to throw down there are quite a bit of woods to trek through which will bring out bugs of many kinds (I pulled 2 ticks off myself once done playing the course)
Other Thoughts: Overall, it is nice to have a close by course now featuring 36 fun holes of Disc Golf to play. Definately one of my favorite places to play in the area.

 A worthy sequel to an almost perfect original!

2-4    12/11/2015   12/11/2015
Review By: xGIRTHx
Played: 28  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7 Years
Pros: This course is every bit as challenging as the original if not more difficult. Its got a great variety of holes and is quite challenging especially if you are having an off day. Hole 1 and 2 are basically open shot sans a bit of brush/trees on the last 100 feet of hole 2. Hole 3 is short but has a narrow corridor. Hole 4 can be played many ways as the trees on the fairway leave room for options. Hole 5 is a short dogleg right but still requires some accuracy. Hole 6 is about as difficult as they come because its impossible to get anywhere near the basket on your first throw without divine intervention. Hole 7 and 8 are still in the woods but with a well placed shot a birdie isn't too difficult. Hole 9 is a straight shot with brush on the left and treeline in the right with an over hanging branch before the pin positions. I leave the rest a mystery but I assure you no two holes feel the same. Giggity! All in all you can have a great day of golf playing both courses and each present a variety of challenges as well as grip and rip holes.
Cons: Same gripes as the other 18. No bathrooms or elevation. It can become pretty muddy after heavy rain and the mosquitos can be a pain in the summer.
Other Thoughts: If you've never been here play both courses. If you have, play both courses. If you live within an hour or so its definitely worth the drive.

  Debary Barwick

5+    12/5/2015   12/10/2015
Review By: Jmilsom
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 26.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of tight and open holes. Most holes favor accuracy and shot selection over distance and power. Long tee pads are permanent with either concrete or rubber. New signage makes finding your way around the course easier. Shorter distance makes it novice friendly, but the technical nature of the course is still very challenging.
Cons: Only one tee pad per hole is marked at this time. Bug spray is a must with many of the holes in a heavily wooded section. Losing a disc is a possibility on many holes.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. Multiple basket locations on each hole keep it fresh and fun to play. Has some open fairways where you can let it rip and several tight ones. Water can be in play on 6, 8, and 17. 15 features an island green that makes throwing over the open field more challenging. Make sure to bring water and bug spray. There are no bathrooms at this park. This is a must play if you are in Central Florida.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.