Lawrenceburg, TN 
Scout & Hope Springs Park Share
Uploaded By: bjreagh Hole #2 (Taken 6/2016)
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Easy Like Sunday Morning

1    7/14/2018   9/26/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.432 Rating) A lightly wooded park style utility course with a nice creek coming into play on a couple shots.
- CHARACTER - The basics are great. Great baskets, DISCatchers. Great tees as well that are 5 feet by 12 feet and nice tee signage and course map. The extras beyond the basics are nice too. There are a few seating areas, some improv spindle tables and picnic tables along the layout. I think 11 holes now have alternate basket placements and there's a practice basket. Scorecards are in a mailbox next to (1). Missing items include a shelter, restrooms and multi-tees.
- NAVIGATION - Adequate. Both nine hole loop maps are posted at the community board. Hole signage indicates next tee direction. Although I don't recall any navigational cues, the course is open enough that players will often easily see the next tee sign after finishing a hole. I peaked at my map a couple times and also went back to the community board after (9) to try and figure out where (10) was. (10) is across the street.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Due to little overgrowth, shorter hole lengths and manageable water hazards, this would be an ideal course to bring beginners to. The course is also great for novice and recreational players and perhaps beyond depending on personal tastes.
- ACEABILITY - Several holes are great ace runs when in the short position. I personally, constantly had a mid in my hand on the tee and buzzed a few baskets.
- QUICK PLAY - I completed my early morning solo round on an empty course in about 50 minutes. Groups of 4 should probably finish in about 100 minutes in normal conditions.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be constantly mowed, trimmed and manicured and there are a couple garbage cans. Trash in the park was almost non-existent.

Cons: A nice course that will appease the locals but it lacks the defining characteristics like just about every other small town Recreational course.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Players looking for the next exotic challenge won't find it here. I would define vast majority of the holes here as either open or lightly wooded. There is a 40 foot wide creek in play on a few shots, but there's always ample bail out room for those not willing to run at the basket. The challenges seem to be aligned closest to lower Recreational level when the baskets are located in what is likely the shorter position. Of the 11 multi-basket location holes out here, I showed up when the baskets were all in the short position except on hole (8). If the baskets are in the back placements, the course can probably deliver upper Recreational challenges.
- OB PATHS - I completely understand the use of OB for roads as a safety issue. However what I don't get at Scout and Hope, or any other course for that matter, is the use of OB on small walking paths that cut threw fairways or run along them. I have never heard of paved paths on ball courses being OB so why on a disc golf course? It's fake difficulty and I do not award courses for a higher difficulty factor for using such features in a lame attempt to toughen up the course.
- UNIQUENESS - This is a par 54 course with far too many lightly wooded fairways. Really the only nice feature that brought my variety rating up was the use of the creek. Three holes have water on the right and two holes have it on the left. There are also a few nice mild elevation changes. I actually enjoyed the open 25 foot down shot on (9) as normally I can't back hand it 367 feet. I was able to hit the basket length on this hole with a fairway driver, unfortunately just 80 feet left. Other than the above noted features, there isn't much else. No tunnel shots and only one well defined pockets to hit. There are a couple mandos including a triple mando on (1), but like my OB path comment, these are fake difficulty and I despise it when they are used unnecessarily. I've played a dozen Houck courses and he rightfully only uses mandos in safety situations. The triple mando on (1) and double mando on (6) are utter ridiculousness.
- WATER HAZARDS - Putting a disc into Shoal Creek when the creek is up, is an unforgivable error. I'd suggest that players should keep a couple waste-able discs with them after a heavy rain. I played after a few days without rain and I felt confident that if I found the creek, the disc would have been retrievable.
- POISON IVY - My disc strayed into a few patches of this awful plant on my round. Thankfully the park is well maintained and only errant throws will find the stuff.
- DISCONTINUITY - The front nine and back nine are separated by an 800 foot walk with the back nine being on the north side of the road and across the creek. In addition, hole (18) finishes 1/4 mile from the parking lot. I don't see any way to remedy this, it is what it is.
- SPACING - Slightly below average. I'd keep my head on a swivel. A several fairways are abutted next to each other.
- TIME WAITING - A bunch of walking paths and roads in play on this course. There were no walkers present the morning I showed up, but I have to believe that this is not normally the case.

Other Thoughts: Scout and Hope clearly reads as an excellent league course where Novice level players thru Intermediates level players can have a nice relaxing time with a few drinks and a few friends. If I lived in town, I happily call this course my own. The course will probably also get some play from those in Pulaski, Loretto and St. Joseph, but beyond that there really isn't enough here to draw in the travelers looking for a high caliber course. As for the baggers in Nashville or North Alabama, this is a must play course ;)
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Average. There are no doubt some wonderful looks from the course with the creek. However a player would have to have tunnel vision the entire time to not see all the man-made features in view. Roads and building are in view almost the entire time. All called it a wash and scored the course a 2.625/5 for beauty.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Permanent Signs In = Course Complete

2-4    5/1/2018   5/2/2018
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 303  Reviewed: 293  Exp: 22.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely manicured city park course containing 18 holes (2 separate 9's on each side of the highway) . Now has all the basics- 18 yellow numbered Discatchers with practice basket, good concrete tees, and the final piece of essentials is now here with excellent tee signs/hole maps. There is large course map/kiosk (take note of this if playing here the first time) and the mailbox by hole 1 was loaded with paper scorecards.

Challenges consist of large isolated trees (some mandos), roads/paths as o.b., some elevation, well-protected baskets, and a medium sized creek is in play on several holes with some steep banks and deep pools in spots. Fairways are large, grassy and mowed often.

The overall design here is solid and really makes the maximum use of the available land and features available- which is about all you can ask for. The level of difficulty is just right for a course in this sized town- easy enough for newer players but plenty of challenges for the experienced. There is also a nice variety in holes as no two holes are the same- again compliments to the designers. Many holes also offer some level of risk/reward providing chances to get stroke separation form your opponents. I think there is a nice balance of mostly fun/relaxing holes with a few moderately intimidating water shots mixed in (though there is always a play-it-safe option).

Most of this park is just the disc golf course. The only other things here that may interfere are the walking trail and people fishing the creek, but for the most part every time I have played here (always a week day) I have had the course totally to myself.

Literally about a minute away from the entrance of David Crockett State Park, but note this course is NOT in the state park.
Cons: If I had to pick on something, navigation for first timers would be it, now helped greatly by the posted course map, however. On the mostly open front it is not always completely obvious where the next tee is (just not like mindlessly walking a dirt path in the woods). Getting to the back 9 is the toughest since it is completely out of sight from hole 9 (There is a paved walking trail that goes along side the creek under the bridge that takes you to tee #10. Though it is possible I suppose to drive across the highway to the other side.) On the back 9, you must walk down the road a ways to get to 14 and then back to 18. Then the longish (but nice) walk back to car if you left it across the road by hole 1.

The front 9 is much easier than the back with little penalty for errant shots. Small trees have recently been planted in an effort to separate holes and add a few more obstacles- too bad it will take 10-20 years for them to have any effect because they literally planted tiny baby stick trees (that may get destroyed )instead of springing for trees that were already 4-8' tall.

No restrooms or water on site.
Other Thoughts: I waited a couple years to review this course because I figured being a new course it would be improved (it has been) Plus I knew I would be back to play here multiple times. Since I first played, signage and navigation have been upgraded a couple of times already to what now should be final and permanent- always nice to see a course not get forgotten after its initial installation.

I have this course between a 2.5 and 3.0 or slightly above average, would go 2.75 if I could. It has all the essentials with good variety. If this was your home course it would be fine,but might get a bit boring after awhile as it is on the easier side, though I did notice some B pin placements. It is still a good course and I have played here more than once and would continue to play here again.

No big deal now with the kiosk map and info on this site, but the first time I played here I [accidentally, unintentionally] only played the front 9- due to the back 9 literally being across the road in what is technically another small park with a different name. Driving 2 hours down and 2 hours back with the intent to play 18, but only playing 9, then finding out there actually were 18 was a bit annoying- so don't be like me!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun beginner course with plenty of Ace runs!

1    11/27/2016   7/19/2017
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 447  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 9.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 Discatcher baskets
Concrete teepads
Lots of ace runs
Good course to introduce a beginner to disc golf
Easy walk
Good confidence builder course!
Cons: Poor design- mostly wide open hyzer holes.
Very few obstacles on the front 9.
Triple mando added - mando's not required to prevent safety issues are due to bad design.
Long walk from hole 9 to hole 10.
Other Thoughts: May be better to list each 9 hole as a separate 9-hole course since they are far apart and in different parks.

If concrete wasn't poured, there are several small tweaks that could have been done to make this a more challenging course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/1/2017   5/22/2017
Review By: wericsson
Played: 48  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic, especially the creek, and maintained very well. Concrete tees and new Discatchers, with nice tee signs (though some were MiA on account of flooding as of writing).

Nice length for a park-style course, and some interesting technical aspects: mandos, water/road OB, and some tighter half-woodsy thinking holes on the back; additionally, nearly every elevation change is being milked for max effect on an otherwise fairly flat property - several sloped greens, a downhill gripper-ripper, a sizable hill/embankment to play around, and then 17 long - a hole I would consider the course's signature. 225 feet (roughly) to the woody short green with an OB creek left, then up a steep slope to the right to a pin with an OB road right.

Practice basket and picnic table up by the parking lot; big wooden spools that work as benches in several holes.
Cons: The front nine plays relatively open, almost too much so, though this problem can be more or less pronounced based on pin positions. Not subpar for park golf generally, or for the land available, however.

While no fairways cross, there are a few spots where it's relatively easy to hit one tee from another by mistake, which can be a bit awkward if somebody is about to throw from it.

At present, has a few tee signs missing as a result of recent flooding (apparently the course floods occasionally).
Other Thoughts: Very little shade. Bring plenty of water.

To get to 10, go down past the basket for hole 2; the sidewalk runs under the highway. Walk down Old Waynesboro until you see the course on your right. Alternately, you could drive or jaywalk (though walking over the highway does not shorten your walk).

Swimming (i.e. after a missed drive on hole 14) past the signs signs posted near the dam is prohibited, so... don't put one in the creek there. However, if you go in the water somewhere else, it is nice and clear - a nice change for me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/12/2016   6/14/2016
Review By: ericraybrown
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The variety in holes was nice. The front nine are fairly open with some elevation change. The back nine are a little more technical with woods, elevation, and water coming into play. The pads and baskets are new.
Cons: There is a lack in signage that makes navigating the course slightly difficult. You must go under one bridge then over another to make it to the tenth tee pad. There is also a confusing gap between 13 and 14. The only other issue I had was litter. There was litter on almost every hole despite the fact that there are multiple trash cans on the course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great new course

1    1/13/2016   1/14/2016
Review By: KC4KAA
Played: 38  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes, mostly technical, several holes with water possibilities, one is an island type hole, many open areas as well as wooded holes. New concrete tee pads. New Innova baskets on a city maintained area, they actually were out doing work early in the AM, but didn't interrupt play.
Cons: No signage but I understand they are in the works. No real long holes but being over 60 that doesn't bother me much

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.