Grand Rapids, MI 
Cascade Township Park Share
Uploaded By: apdrvya Hole #1 (Taken 3/2016)
3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Needs TLC and a redesign.

5+    8/23/2018   9/1/2018
Review By: apparition
Played: 47  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + 18 holes
+ Open and wooded balance
+ Elevation
+ Nicer back nine
Cons: - Layout
- Horrible hole design
- Busy park
- Can be very windy
- Horrible dirt groove tee pads
- Not enough trash cans
- Walking paths through holes
- No direction signs
- Useless tee signs
Other Thoughts: It's convenient for me and a buddy, so we play here often. The township doesn't care about DG, but the rest of the Park is really nice and well appointed. It's always busy with tennis, pickle ball, basketball, dog walkers, runners, bikers, etc. DG runs through the whole thing and somehow became an afterthought. One of the worst course and hole designs I've ever played. It could really use a redesign and TLC. The walk between 3 and 4 is so annoying. Swap tee for pin on 6 and 7. Above all what this course needs is concrete tees. The grooves are horrible and the newer grooves right next to them are also bad now. New hole and direction signs would be really nice. A pragmatic course for just getting out and playing, but by no means is it one you should go out of your way to throw.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course With Some Design Flaws (Two Are Horiffic)!

1    8/24/2017   8/24/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2017
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cascade Township Park has a lot of activities going on with all it's athletic fields, playgrounds, dog park and picnic areas. There was lots going on when I played, walkers, joggers, cross country runners, some athletic team training. I did have to wait for some runners to cross in front of me.

As everyone has stated, the design is not great, the course just doesn't flow well. The first four holes are all over the place but # 5 is when it gets bizarre. After playing # 4, I walked to the top of this hill anticipating a juicy downhill toss. There seems to be a tee pad worn in the grass. But the basket is not at the bottom of the hill, the tee sign is. So someone expects you to walk down this neat little hill so you can throw back up it. They want you to throw up. I almost did throw up. I had to squeeze my lips together to keep it down. And I decided against playing # 5. As I was shaking my head in disbelief, I tried looking for # 6. The basket is up the hill and there way down the other side is the tee. The designers want you to walk down about 300' so you can throw this hill against. Imagine if all courses were designed like this? At Delaveaga, you could throw up that giant mountain. Par would be about 75.

Fast forward about two holes to # 8. It's about 270' playing across the lawn, an average, OK, typical, bland hole. But you could move this tee pad back to a number of higher spots, each of which would increase the fun factor. Has this course designer even thrown a frisbee? Does he realize that downhill throws are the most fun. With the excellent rolling terrain here, if designed well, this course would have about 6-7 really fun downhills, not epic, but great fun.

Speaking of those downhills, # 11 is cool 240' down a hill throw where the basket sits in a gap in the trees. It's hard to just throw one here. And # 15 could be the easiest Ace you'll ever get. It's 120' downhill, straight and not that tight. It's impossible not to keep throwing discs on this hole. You can empty your bag and all your misses should be close so you don't have to chase them all over the place. And I still couldn't get one to stick. 300 guys have signed the tee sign. They need a bigger sign!
Cons: Terrible overall design.

Bad flow.

Dirt tee pads. Fine in August, probably wet other times.

Lots of boring open throws.
Other Thoughts: This course could be so much better if they would fix 5, 6 and 8. The short wooded holes compliment the open holes nicely. 11 & 15 are holes that I would look forward to each round here. I don't know who has the final word here but someone needs to step up and rectify these design issues. I hate to see these delicious hills go to waste.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Decent Course

1    7/31/2016   8/4/2016
Review By: tbott91
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was recently redesigned due to a dog park and other additions. Course is well maintained as grass is cut regularly. Tees are well marked with wooden posts and now contain maps. Holes have a little bit more difficulty worked in as a few go into the woods. Hole 17 also has water at the edge making it a little more exciting.
Cons: Do NOT attempt the first four holes of this course without a map. It is ridiculously difficult to locate hole 2 after playing hole 1 and hole 4 after playing hole 3 without a map. The layout was poorly designed for these holes! Many of the holes are short distances with few obstacles which is also disappointing. Finally, the park can be quite busy, especially in evenings and weekends which can make disc throws hazardous to pedestrians and crowds.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 variety is the spice of life

1    3/9/2016   3/10/2016
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 320  Reviewed: 298  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- makes better use of the entire park and avoids heavier traffic areas. I found that the holes that bordered the roads and paths were a bit more dangerous than before as they are on the left of the fairway in the majority of cases. Be wary of walkers.

Baskets-- Mach 2's. great repair. could use a little more color in some areas to make them pop. streamers in the woods help with visibility

Teesigns-- Immediate improvement. The teesigns on the old layout were just tee# and distance. these add a map :)

Elevation-- this design makes great use of available topography. far far better than the old layout.

Variety-- OMG better. The woods holes alone (while wonky in their own right) are so welcome here. I was impressed with 16-18 in the corner of the park. the incorporation of water on 17 was nice.
Cons:
Layout/routing/nav-- You will never (I repeat NEVER) navigate this course without a map. 1-4 have to be the most assinine layout of holes I've ever seen. the walks from 1 to 2, 2 to 3 and 3 to 4 are massive and without the map, completely non-sensical. The fact you have to walk down to the bottom of the hill to get to the tee pad for 6 to throw back up the hill to throw down the hill on 7 is one of the dumbest design flaws ever. I think that with two simple simple changes this course shines. invert the pad and basket on 1 and 6 and life is good (great even) and the routing makes a TON more sense.

Teepads-- muddy but it's march. Not sure if cement is in the works or not but they would be nice here.

Other Thoughts: Overall a better course but still has some major flow issues that could be alleviated very quickly with the inversion of 1 and 6

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Updated, but Improved?

5+    12/6/2015   12/11/2015
Review By: Reniger
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 18 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
New layout offers new variety. Old course was quite stagnant and needed a change.
New layout much better avoids multi-use areas like Soccer/Lacross fields, Basball diamonds, kids playgrounds.
Better use of elevation - short holes shooting uphill to make them play longer, massive (I'd guess 70-80') elevation drop on hole 11.
Now offers four wooded holes - a much needed addition from the old course which was ENTIRELY open. The fairways are non-existent, but they are very challenging with interesting basket placement that I really enjoy.
Offers much more OB with parking lots and walking paths creating additional challenge.
Added water hole - again, needed from the old open course with little danger.
Layout starts and ends at the same parking lot and avoids most of the other park traffic.
Cons: VERY poor layout for flow of the course. You walk back across 1 to get to 2, then a long walk to 3, then another very long walk to get to 4, ect.
Holes get congested. 4, 5, 6, 7 all share a basket or teepad within about 50' of the center of the top of the hill. VERY close and dangerous for other players.
Still short. No real bomber holes.
Woods need maintenance. No fairways to speak of whatsoever. Not even walking paths yet. 2-3" deep leaves covering fallen branches and mole hills. Pay careful attention to footing.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think it's an improvement. But there is plenty of work to be done. Reassigning hole numbers to make a more consistent flow and possibly changing the pad/pin locations on a couple holes then clearing some in the woods would be great improvements.

It's nothing amazing, but it is a nice variety for the course and an improvement from the wide open original layout.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.