Burnettown, SC 
Langley Pond DiscGolfPark Share
Uploaded By: AikenCountyPRT Hole #1 (Taken 3/2016)
3 / 306ft.   3 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Gauntlet Of Paradise

1    7/22/2018   9/27/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (4.355 Rating) A medium length technical masterpiece where Beginners will be carved-up like the Thanksgiving Turkey at John Madden's house.
- CHALLENGING - This is no doubt a championship style course. I admittedly threw the shorts (Blues). As an Intermediate level player and I think it gave me all the challenge I needed. I only just cracked par from this layout, but I still made sure to take a look at all but one back (Gold) tee line. I skipped (14), which required an extra walk down towards the pond shore, and I was already tired by this point on this long beat down course. The tee shot demands from Gold tee (10) and (15) are absolutely spectacular! I recommend bringing a couple throw-away discs to the player that plans to throw the Gold layout. There's a big difference between the two tee layouts. The Golds are perhaps 8 throws or more difficult than the Blues. I looked up a recent professional tourney at Langley and even par from the Gold tees netted 990 rated rounds. I've played less than 10 courses that offer a more difficult layout than that.
- SIGNATURE HOLES - Some of the most fascinating holes I've ever seen. As mentioned under the challenging pro, holes (10) and (15) are sensational. (10) is a well defined 50 foot downhill tunnel shot par 4 with risk reward fairway options. The left fairway is definitely more open, it just requires putting the next shot over the lake blindly and bringing it back to the right. (15) is a monster par 5 starting with a big water clear and hitting one of two fairways across the lake inlet. After the tee shot, hole management takes center stage as one has to maneuver around trees and terrain changes for the next 500 feet. Holes (7), (12) and (14) are all awesome water plays as well, I just wish the water element was used more effectively on the right side.
- UNIQUENESS AND DESIGN - A 7,863 foot par 62 from the Gold tees. Two par 5s and four par 4s. Lots of water in play if Langley Pond is at a high bank level. Lots of elevation in play. No epic elevation above the 70 foot range, but lots fairways with 30 feet of grade change in them. I think (8) changes the most being a par 5 that runs up 60 to 70 feet. Hole (10) is the biggest down-shot here where the gold tee plays down about 50 feet to the landing area, and then rises back up a bit on the approach. The layout is mostly tunnel shots excluding (1) and (18). Holes twist both ways and some are gradual turns while others are 90 degree placement doglegs. Numerous holes have multiple well defined fairway options where hole management and risk reward analysis will tingle the brain. The only thing missing at Langley is the short featureless open hole.... oh darn.
- RAW BEAUTY - Langley's exotic looks stack up well compared to the best courses I've played. I graded the course a 4.625 out of 5 for beauty, which is roughly 10th on my list of 310 courses played. In addition to the noted holes above, the layout has a lot of eye-pleasing densely wooded holes.
- TEE EXPERIENCE - This is only the second time I haven't taken away rating points for not having concrete tees. (Perkerson in Atlanta is the other) The best built turf tees I've ever played on. It was a little wet, muddy and misty on the morning I arrived and the tees were in wonderful shape. Its remarkable for the course to have been in the ground for over 3 years now and the unevenness to be almost unnoticeable. The Gold tees are 6 feet by 12 feet and the Blue tees are 5 feet by 10 feet. Tee shading was excellent and there were benches on just about every tee.
- NAVIGATION - Unfortunately no course map on site during my visit. However, navigating this course is almost flawless. First off, sweet looking metal arrow plates apparently welded to the base of the baskets. Navigational cues between holes are everywhere. The only time I questioned my path between holes was after (15). This was the only gap where there were no signs for a good 500 feet. My guess is that a directional sign fell down just prior to my round. As for the tee signage, very good. They have all the info one would need, distance, par, obstacles and next tee directions. The aesthetics for them is nice too, but not extravagant enough to break into my top twenty.
- CHARACTER - In addition to the tees and navigation, the rest of the basics and extras are about average. For one thing, the perfect basket for a woods course with the yellow band peaking threw the trees. Thankfully on this long and hilly course there is seating on every hole. There's a nice mid-way point shelter at tee (10) with two picnic tables. Restrooms are near tee (1) but they were locked during my visit. See cons, Under Construction. There is one extra basket placement on (11), but I envision a lot more alternate placements as this course continues to evolve.

Cons: The issues are mainly limited to the effects delivering a championship style layout.
- DISCONTINUITY - I rarely take off rating points for this, but the gaps between holes on this layout are so over the top that it began to effect my experience. I understand wanting to deliver ideal tee shots and trying to eliminate filler holes, but then why do holes like (1), (2), (17) and (18) exist.
- UNDER CONSTRUCTION - Several prior park amenities are no longer present or available. The restrooms were locked due to vandalism, the drinking fountain was broke, the course map was pulled, the practice baskets were pulled and the driving range was all ripped up.
- SAFETY HAZARDS - I don't get (18). There's so much great land to use here, why end the layout with a hazardous open RHFH shot that goes down a park road and along the open practice fields.
- ANTI-CLIMATIC - In addition to (18), the last 3 holes feel anti climatic. (16) and (17) blue tees are just fairly straight and simple wooded par 3s. Walking up to (18) and looking down fairway was a let-down considering the epic holes earlier in the layout.
- LOOSE DISC OPPS - I feel blessed to not have lost one disc out here. There are a bunch of unforgivable hazards out here, as well as a few nasty impenetrable overgrowth areas. I spent 10 minutes searching for my driver, on just one hole. Playing the short tees only takes away a small fraction of the risk.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Way too difficult for beginners and novice players as well. If you haven't played over a hundred rounds of disc golf, this course will eat you alive. I could see a segment of Recreational population not enjoying this course as well.
- TERRAIN - If you have bad knees or ankles I'd stay clear of this course. There are lots of rocks and roots to stub a toe or twist an ankle on. Several fairways are littered with small branches which will take away the skip play. Players that like well groomed courses may not enjoy this course as much as others. Probably not the best course for the disc golf cart, you'd need some big wheels.
- PARKING - the original parking area is gone and all that remains is a small strip next to the trail heads. I could see some issues on a busy day.
- TIME PLAY - It took me a hair under two hours for a quick solo player in good shape. That's utter ridiculousness for the 5,800 foot blue tee layout. Figure 3 1/2 hours for a foursome. I bet if a league existed, it would take 4 hours. This really limits effective usage from the locals.

Other Thoughts: Any player looking for a beautiful diabolical challenge needs to plan a trip here. Players looking for a laid back round however won't find it here, even if playing the short layout. For me, it was an instant favorite and it holds up very well when comparing it to the IDGC courses. The layout delivered one memorable shot after another. As of this review, I have the course rated at my 7th position out of 310 courses played. Had all the missing items noted for my Under Construction con been here, Langley would likely nudge up into my top 5. Please PM me if you know that this construction is complete and that these amenities have returned. I will update my review and score.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Furrowed fairways

1    9/9/2018   9/15/2018
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 138  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 10.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're visiting the Greater Augusta area, then the Langley Pond DGP course is a comparable complement to the challenges offered at the three IDGC courses to the west.

Langley Pond can be difficult, especially from the long tees. Most of the course is in the woods and narrow fairways in spots. Wayward shots require demanding recoveries to avoid being punished with bogeys and worse. The par-4s and par-5s are fantastic, offering multiple lines and teasing you with possible redemption.

The first two holes are welcoming and fairly open, allowing time to physically warm up and mentally prepare for the impending forest-laden test.

The diversity of course design on the front nine is exceptional - each hole offers a dissimilar confrontation such as narrow lines or multiple paths or extreme doglegs; there's even a U-shaped hole that requires accurate drive placement to allow a chance for birdie. The beastly #8 might be the best hole: this wooded par-5 offers a wider fairway but concludes with a lovely uphill upshot to the basket.

The turf-covered tees are fantastic and the hole signage is top-notch. Navigation was fairly straight forward; even with some long walks between holes, the green-and-white arrow signs are easy to follow. (Though, the long walk between #15 and #16 could use a couple more signs.) The brooms and benches are nice, and some of those benches will get frequent use after a couple longer walks!
Cons: With suspicious smells and signs of nearby construction, the entrance to Langley Pond DGP is slightly daunting. Fortunately, the course is tucked away nicely in the surrounding wooded area.

The most influencing con is the fairways, which are heavily littered with wood chips, sticks and uneven ground on several of the holes. While acknowledging that this course is a recent creation, the rutted fairways and assorted debris demand more maintenance in order for Langley Pond DGP to be considered in the upper echelon of courses.

The course is truly a "nine out" and "nine in" design. Returning to your vehicle during the round is cumbersome, so bring lots of water.

A bit of redundancy exists on the back nine, as Holes #12, 14 and 15 have some similarity in their dogleg-right, over-the-water design.

Hole #16 has the potential to be one of the coolest holes on the course, but the blind uphill drive and the undefined fairway over the short teepad make it a "tweener" from the gold tees. As a previous user suggested, the teepad needs to be moved to the top of the hill or back further. With some adjustment, Hole #16 could qualify as an excellent finishing hole.

The course finishes with a slight letdown. Hole #17 is a mundane, straight fairway on a path. And Hole #18 - while giving the chance to air out your last drive - feels like the course designers ran out of room and created a "filler hole" to finish.
Other Thoughts: Plenty of excellent disc golf exists at Langley Pond. While the furrowed fairways are a concern, that's an issue that can be improved. Expect a grueling encounter that will challenge your stamina but leave you eagerly anticipating your next visit.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

If You Like Disc Golf And Hiking...

1    4/18/2018   4/18/2018
Review By: thrembo
Played: 180  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 43.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2018
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic rustic style course with plenty of elevation changes, beautiful forest, and the "pond". A good mix of hole lengths and types. Bridges and staircases to help in rough spots and steep climbs. Some of the best tee signs and next tee signs that I have ever seen. Very challenging, even from the short tees. Brutal, from the long tees. Two sets of really nice concrete tees covered in AstroTurf (Should become the new standard for tees, in my opinion, they really are very nice). Plenty of benches and brooms. Possibly the best chill spot on any disc golf course (a covered pavilion with picnic tables, isolated and with tees for hole ten on one side and the pond on the other). Friendly locals. Well maintained.
Cons: Not too many cons here. There are some long walks between a lot of the holes. At first, I was digging the nature hikes, but towards the end, it started wearing me down. This course is a long walk around! Probably not the best course for low-level rec or new players. I would also recommend wearing long pants and sturdy hiking boots.
Other Thoughts: There is still construction going on in the park, but it doesn't really affect disc play too much. Old hole three is now hole one. The greater Augusta area is home to several destination courses and makes for a fine road trip.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

You’ll never notice the CIA operatives hiding in the woods

1    12/30/2017   1/17/2018
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 286  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 14.5 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderfully executed, championship caliber course.

• Variety: Excellent. Nice mix short, long, and somewhere in between (especially if you're willing to jump between short/long tees). Wonderful collection of fairway shapes, with several interesting holes that play to legit landing zones. Particularly well-wooded, but still features some holes that offer a few lines off the tee, forcing you to choose one and strategy and commit. Balanced in that it requires BH/FH, hyzer/annie lines. Genuinely one of those "every shot in your bag" type of courses.

• Challenge: Excellent. Plenty of legit Par 4's and a couple of Par 5's. The holes may be long, but this course decidedly favors accuracy over distance. I only recall one hole (#18) where sheer distance without good placement is likely to go unpunished. If anything, this course is challenging to a point that might frustrate some players ...(PDGA# 7495 comes to mind).

• Elevation: Excellent. The varied topography is superbly exploited throughout the course to increase challenge, enhance fun, and keep you engaged the entire round. Uphills, downhills, rollaways, and more, including a few holes that basically play pretty flat.

• Equipment: Excellent. Concrete tees with artificial turf drain well and provide great footing. Baskets are actually DiscMania's version of Innova Discatchers, with a shallower tray than current Discatchers, but the same yellow band screaming "Hey, I'm over here!" ...even from a distance in the woods. Top notch tee markers and next tee indicators as needed. Benches, brooms, trashcans, well-constructed steps and bridges round things out to let you know they took things seriously.

• Aesthetics: Quite a picturesque course, with several holes featuring beautiful views of the retaining pond/lake. I wouldn't quite call it rugged, but the varied terrain makes for a scenic hike through the woods.

• Routing/Nav: Very Good. My guide was intimately familiar with the course and quite engaging, so all I can say is, nothing struck me as particularly difficult. There are some long walks between holes, but everything is well-marked, so if end up at the wrong tee, it's obvious immediately, rather than wondering if you've skipped some holes. If you're playing for the first time, print the map beforehand or snap a pic with your phone at the start.

• Memorable Holes.
I enjoyed 7's island green.
#15 has an epic feel to it.
#18 After playing lumberjack the previous 14 holes, letting one (or more) rip from an elevated tee is a very satisfying way to end your round.

• Bonus: Driving range and Practice baskets
Cons: admittedly nit-picky
• I like technical, woodsy, hilly courses, but the stretch from 3 -17 starts to feel a bit long on the tooth. One or two, somewhat open holes playing to a well-guarded pin toward the latter section of the course would provide a respite from the haunted forest, and provide a better sense of "pacing," while making the course a bit more complete.

• More a recommendation than a con: 1st timers might want to avoid solo rounds in late spring/summer. Well-defined fairways really tempt you to get down there, but with the twists, turns, and terrain, a bad kick could easily leave you with no clue where your disc ended up once everything's grown in.
Other Thoughts: Langley's long, very well-wooded, hilly holes reminded me a bit of Nevin, but maybe even nicer. The timing of my visit (late Dec) was a double-edged sword; no doubt I played a much more forgiving course in the winter, but I didn't get to appreciate how nice this course must surely be come spring/summer.

Several reviewers mentioned long walks as cons. Maybe I didn't mind because I had a guide, but I can say this course successfully avoids lame filler/connector holes. Sometimes, a few long walks between holes is the price you pay for that.

This course is a 4.25 that's so well-designed and executed, and so pretty, I can see my way to a 4.5.

Less than an hour from IDGC, and basically just outside of Augusta (with several other highly rated courses).

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

How's your accuracy?

1    10/6/2017   10/8/2017
Review By: JSDG
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2017
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Extremely challenging course
-Professional and amateur tees
-On site driving range
Cons: -Unforgiving terrain in rough
-Occasional rough terrain to traverse between tees
-Easy to lose discs if inaccurate
Other Thoughts: Wow. This course is amazing. If you're the type of player who feels you have a solid game, come here and find out. Langley Pond will not hesitate to humble. This is the sort of course that will tempt you to break out all your tricks, but be warned, the course is very unforgiving. My very 1st time playing this course I lost 2 of my favorite drivers. (orange Innova Shyrke, green Innova Beast). While looking for mine, I found 2 drivers belonging to others! The rough along the pond is riddled with mud pits, debris and saw grass. You do not want to deal with this. After 30 minutes of digging through the above mentioned conditions, I emerged covered in small cuts, blood, mud and plant debris.
If you're an accurate player with a lot of finesse, you will excel here. If you're working on becoming that sort of player though, expect this course to frustrate. In my opinion, this course is one of those 'if you can make it here, you'll make it anywhere' type courses. I left Langley Pond sore, tired, sweaty and full of smiles- something only a devoted disc golfer would understand. I don't care if it takes 1000 discs, I will tame this course!!! :)
Thanks to everyone who made this place a reality.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/4/2017   7/4/2017
Review By: natreyk
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 30 Not
Pros: Long, wooded, but fair. Staying on the fairway is a must, but can produce birdies
Cons: It can get hot in the summer, and there is no water on the course. But you can't really expect more from a free course
Other Thoughts: 5/5

3 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Pretty nearly perfect

5+    5/1/2017   7/4/2017
Review By: sjberry2017
Played: 51  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two tees per hole, except for the Top of the World shot on hole 18. Each tee offers a new way to approach the hole as well, for added variety.

Teepads are wonderful artificial turf; so much grippier than concrete, wear less on your shoes, and are so much nicer on the joints. I can't say enough good things about these tees. There are even brooms under the benches to sweep the tees off.

Tee signs are informative and show the required lines well. They are also easy to read. The course map by the driving range is well laid out, easy to read, and informative. Course navigation follows the green arrow signs, and while a couple more would certainly help, combining them with the course map makes navigation pretty straightforward.

Benches on nearly every hole, and plenty of stairs and other infrastructure to aid traversing the course.

18 Discgolfpark Discatchers in good shape. These are different from the Pro 28 discatchers in several ways and are slightly less forgiving of poor putts, but they're fair and catch the good putts very well.

Two practice baskets and four driving range teepads with 200, 300, and 400 foot markers.

Good use of elevation and woods; the big, old trees are featured prominently in the design to create lanes and what I like to call natural mandos. They are also used well on several of the greens. It's a very pretty course, and will be even more so when the lake is back to full height.

Most tee shots are demanding, but fair. Pretty much every hole is super fun to throw. Par 4's and 5's have well thought out landing zones which offer a good look at the second or third shot if you get the placement correct.

There are a few garbage cans throughout the course; they are in spots which you walk by a couple times in the round though and are empty pretty regularly so no issues though.

Nice picnic pavilion off of ten's tee to catch your breath; gorgeous view of the lake.

There are some seriously fun shots to throw out here. My favorites are the tee shots on hole 2 long and hole 15 long, as well as the second shot on hole 8 long (basically the tee shot for hole 8 short).

Overall a good flow and balance to the course. Pretty much every hole is demanding, but each in its own way. There are no deja vu sections where you basically throw the same hole twice in a row, and while a couple holes seem to have the same basic design idea (hole 13 and 16 spring to mind right away), they execute that idea in very different ways.
Cons: Langley Pond is currently down while the dam is being fixed. Once it's fixed, the water carries will have actual water in them. Of course, that then means there will be loads of plastic lost on hole 7.

County will occasionally close part or all of the course for events going on at the park, such as car shows and 5K runs. Pay attention to the Facebook page for both the park and the county parks system to be aware of these happenings.

With two practice baskets, they could have been spaced 100-200' apart to allow for upshot practice throwing from one to the other then back to the one.

Fairways are still rough; run ups are very difficult on the holes which have lots of the large woodchips scattered all over them (specifically hole 15).

Rough is still extremely rough; be aware of thorns.

A few holes (hole 5 long and hole 16 long) have somewhat ridiculous tee shots. I don't quite see how you can get in the right position off hole 5 to have a decent look down the fairway unless the throw is just PERFECT. Hole 16 is a throw and pray hole. The line is there, it's just one that's kind of ridiculous to ask a disc to fly because discs don't really fly like that. However, I could see someone being able to throw it.

There isn't much water available, and the course is a sort of out and back figure 8, so you need to pack out all the water you'll need. Hole 17's basket and hole 18's tee are right by a BiLo though (and there is an entrance not 100' from the park entrance), so water and Gatorade are very easily obtained before, during, or after the round.

A few of the transitions are moderately to extremely long (hole 2 to 3, hole 7 to 8, hole 12 to 13, and hole 15 to 16). Additionally, the signage can be somewhat confusing for 12 to 13.

On hole 10, you have to double back up the fairway to get to 11's tee. Admittedly, it's pretty obvious to see people doubling back, but there's always that one guy.

A few holes play close to the walking trail, so be aware of people walking. While they shouldn't be on the fairways, a bad kick could still be dangerous. I've also seen some horse manure on the fairways, and Aiken is a big horse area, so please be on the lookout for people riding horses.
Other Thoughts: I seriously, seriously wish I could give this course 4.75 discs (if I get exact, it's more like 4.825 discs). Give it another few years to really get played in, and it'll be just about perfect. However, given that the little issues are mostly part of the course and are things which other players may not mind or find challenging, I feel rounding up to 5 discs is more appropriate than rounding down to 4.5 discs. This championship caliber course was Aiken County Parks and Rec's first disc golf course (Odell Weeks and Perry Park fall under city jurisdiction, while USCA belongs to the university), and paired alongside Boyd Pond, provides a great resource for county residents to be introduced to and progress in the sport. I'm super lucky in that when I'm home from Clemson, Langley Pond and Boyd Pond are both about 15 minutes from my parents' house. Langley Pond itself has two sets of tees, and while the shorter tees are still demanding, they are slightly more accessible for the recreational and advancing player than the longs. The long tees are one of those humbling experiences which remind you just how hard this sport can be. The rough is pretty thick in places and the fairways are still being beaten in, so some shots can be tricky. However, overall this is a must play for the area and combined with the IDGC and all the other courses available in the area make the CSRA a great disc golf destination.

Favorite holes:

Hole 1 & 2 together are a great starting pair. Hole 1 plays down a hill from the long tee to a basket perched along a ridge above the lake, while hole 2 long is a straightforward straight to fade shot. Both are seriously fun shots and you'll want to get a bird on at least one of these, as birdies can be in short supply.

Hole 6 is a demanding but short par 3 after a couple very tough par 4's; it's a simple RHFH flick shot, but the trees are very tight and failing to hit the exact line will result in anything from absolute jail in the rough to a 85ish' upshot.

Hole 7 is another fun shot; a basic backhand hyzer, it's a good ace run hole.

Hole 8 is a monster par 5 that, while on the shorter side, is a true shot-shaping par 5. The tee shot is a placement forehand or turnover shot to a second fairway, which can be an opportunity to either play for placement or try to bite off a big chunk of distance, depending on how the tee shot goes. A short hyzer opens up a long third shot to try for a putt, while a pucker factor longer straight to fade shot will provide an easier third shot, provided you can navigate all the trees precisely. The basket is perched on a very steep slope with thick rough about 7 feet behind it on one side and several trees on the other. Blow by on a birdie bid or fourth upshot and you'll have a genuine death putt, while hitting cage or band usually means another long, if not longer, putt. Definitely my favorite hole on the course.

Hole 14 and 15 are also seriousy fun tee shots.

Good and bad hole: Hole 5's tee shots, from either pad, are somewhat iffy. I don't quite see how you can get into a good spot from the long pad unless you throw literally the perfect shot; just too stable and you're in the woods, just too flippy and you're long, and the same with the power levels. Like, I get it, but come on. And it's a shame, because the second shot from the right landing area is seriously fun. I would have moved the short pad into this LZ and called it a par 3, as you basically just throw a giant spike hyzer from the short to get a look. The green is probably the best on the course, with two giant trees flanking the basket (the course's logo). There's a ditch just in front and a drop off behind, so your upshot or layup needs to be perfect, and any birdie putts won't be like those in your backyard.

WTF hole: Hole 16 is a pretty ludicrous teepad. I mean, discs just don't really fly the type of line you're being asked to throw. If the hill were not as steep as it were, or the basket wasn't as long or as left as it is, it would be fine. But I just can't imagine any shot that will get your within the putting range that I think should be achievable for a par 3. I mean, there's a lay up zone to get a pretty decent 80-90 foot putt, but even that is a seriously precise shot and it should be rewarded as such. I guess I could see someone being able to throw the line to get inside the circle, but for most mortals, it seems pretty much impossible. The short pad, however, is a fair but demanding shot, so I guess that's ok.

Overall, if there had been some ongoing maintenance on the course since it had opened to thin out the first cut of rough from the fairway and the fairways, the actual course would be insanely perfect. This is about the only thing that can really be fixed from the cons, unless more tree thinning to open up hole 5's LZ and a redesign of hole 16. However, these little issues aside, you can really tell someone thought out all the extra little amenities at the course, the fairways are mostly fair, all of the greens are amazing and challenging, and the tee shots are fun at Langley Pond. It's DEFINITELY worth the trip to play.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

It's Almost There

1    6/24/2017   6/30/2017
Review By: bhadella
Played: 148  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Note: This review is for the long (Gold) teepads.

- This course has the most consistent level of challenge of any course I've played. No gimme birdie holes. No un-parable holes (well, 4 is really tough and 16 is just a poor hole). If you get a birdie, you earned it.
- Good use of shot shapes. Well balanced between left to right and right to left holes. Challenging but achievable distances on holes.
- These teepads rule. Very large and grippy. I never thought twice about them (and I generally think about even well installed concrete pads).
- Great tee signs and directional signs. The tee signs were accurate and informative. The directional signs were well placed and easy to see.
- Good use of elevation and water. I think that the water holes had both right turning and left turning shapes was brilliant as it challenges players to hit both types of shots.
Cons: The only poorly designed hole was 16, the teepad is tucked into the backside of a hill leaving a completely blind 376' teeshot down a tight gap to open area and then a tightening green. It's a tweener and it's a very easy two shot hole or a very flukey one shot hole. The teepad should either be pushed back 75' and turned into a par 4 or the teepad moved up 75' on top of hill.

And I think the first water hole with an island green (#7) should have a drop zone. If failing to hit island from longs, move to short teepad. If fail to hit from short teepad, move to drop zone.
Other Thoughts: If not for 16, this is a 5.0 course.

Although excellently installed, the course needs a club or group to handle the period maintenance. Several of the new fallen trees have not been maintained.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Difficult, But Fun

2-4    6/24/2017   6/26/2017
Review By: adamwn9
Played: 48  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2018
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Accurate and informative tee signs
-Well kept turf pads on each hole - there are even brooms on the backs of each bench
-Nice benches at every tee pad
-Navigation is not difficult, there is an arrow in each basket pointing you in the right direction - there are even painted roots to make sure you're walking the correct trail
-Natural OB and obstacles keep things interesting - marsh, pond, elevation, trees
Cons: -I can't think of anything that stuck out as a negative
-I read some people were confused with long walks between a few holes, but it was nothing that took away from how great the course was
-If you throw in the marshy area on a few holes it can be tough to traverse, but I didn't lose any discs
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've ever played. It is obviously very well maintained and taken care of. The driving range is pretty cool, we threw a few on our walk to the first teepad. I've played it twice now, shooting +17 and +10 from the long tees and enjoyed both rounds. This course is worth going out of your way for.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Challenging well-maintained interesting course

1    4/27/2017   4/27/2017
Review By: cgprush
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has every challenge and shot you could possibly want with the possible exception of a good roller hole. Tee pads and signage are excellent and the course is well-maintained with bridges, steps, and boardwalk paths where needed. A nice practice putting area and driving range (marked out to 400') are right next to the parking area. You can warm up with some putting then throw some drives before heading to the 1st tee past the far side of the driving range. All holes except 18 have separate short and long tees.
Cons: About the only thing I can come up with is that there are a few long walks that could have used one or two more directional signs along the path but this is more of a nitpick than an actual con.
Other Thoughts: A great addition to the course roster in the Aiken, SC, area. I'll play it every time I'm in town visiting the in-laws. Well worth your time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.