Burnettown, SC 
Langley Pond DiscGolfPark Share
Uploaded By: Upshawt1979 Hole #13 (Taken 7/2016)
3 / 331ft.   3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Short Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 Next >
 This Course is Magical!

2-4    3/26/2016   3/29/2016
Review By: mheredia65
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are few words that can describe how I feel about this course, but I will do my best to try.

For starters, I played this course blind at the first ever Langley Pond Open. What I noticed instantly was the playability of this course. There are few courses that you go to where you can feel 100% certain of what each hole is like. LP is one of those courses. Tee signs are incredible and the transitions are well marked. This is not a course that a first timer to this course will get lost in.

As far as the actual course goes, I have a hard time describing it because it is so wonderful. This course will test all of your abilities, and force you to throw many different shots. There is a great mix of long and short holes, par 3s, 4s, and 5s, lefty and righty holes. Perhaps one of the greatest features is the two different layouts - the Pro and Am tees (although the Ams will still kick your butt). The two layouts provide a great experience from both, that will undoubtedly challenge anyone around.

The Pro layout is without a doubt a Gold level layout. Obtaining an even par on this course will definitely take some work (which was made apparent this past weekend when an incredible 1000+ rated player, Josh Childs, shot just -5 on the longs). The course is quite simple... You hit the line, you have a shot at a bird or a par. You miss the line, you better pitch out and suck up a bogey, because if you don't, you'll see your score rise in no time.

The Am layout, is more normal disc golfer friendly, but it will still challenge even the best discs golfers. With only one whole being a different par (hole 14 is a 3 from the shorts), any golfer will be challenged. The majority of the tee pads have much different looks, which I thought was pretty neat. It's rare to find two different layouts on the same course that play to the same basket.

All in all, this course is incredible. A lot of the threes will make you work, and the 5s will definitely test your abilities (especially 15! It is every bit of a par 5).

This "pros" lists hardly does the course justice (which btw, you better bag a Justice because you'll need it for hole 6 - RHFH or LHBH).
Cons: There aren't many things I'd change about this course. Of course being so new, the course is still very raw. The ground is spongy and there are a lot of roots and stumps. But of course with time this will all be worn in (and I presume, because of how amazing this course is, that will happen sooner rather than later).

My only quibble is that some of the transitions in the back nine are quite lengthly. I understand why it was done, but it does make for a long walk to the next hole. This course also requires that you have some level of physical fitness.
Other Thoughts: Favorite Hole(s)

#1 - I aced this hole from the shorts in the LP Open; therefore, it has to be one of my favorites.
#15 - This hole, in my opinion is the feature hole of this course. Two routes and throwing over the water help make this one of my favorite holes on any course (even though I took a 6 both times I played it).

Least Favorite Hole(s)

#4 - This hole is a mean par 4. That is all...
#17 - There's nothing super spectacular about this hole. It's a dead straight shot from the longs and a slight dogleg right from shorts. After Being one of the final holes, I expected just a little more out of it.

Overall, this course is now in my top 5 favorite courses of all time! I cannot wait to see the many A-Tiers to come to this place. I also can't wait to see what some of the world's best pros do on this course as word starts to spread. As one who grew up in Augusta, GA, this course adds such depth to the already great array of courses in the CSRA. It makes me sad that I live 2.5 hrs away from the course. If I could, I would play this every day.

I would say, this course is probably not the most beginner friendly, even from the shorts. But nonetheless, all disc golfers of all skill sets, MUST play this course.

If you haven't played it yet, you're missing out!

Excellent work to Alan, Mark, and all of the countless others who made this course a Pro Style course that will be the talk of disc golfers for years to come!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The future is here and it is Disc Golf Park

2-4    3/26/2016   3/28/2016
Review By: filobedo
Played: 262  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 13.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: CAW designed by Alan in Winnsboro has always been one of my favorites so I was really looking forward to this course and it surpassed expectations! Must play in Augusta area and not far from Hippodrome but be prepared to do some walking so being hydrated is a must! Practice baskets and driving range were fun for many of the young folks for sure prior to the Langley Pond Open and made good use of the area. The distance is at least four miles I would think around the course and plenty of elevation. There is also some substantial walks between targets and teepads (e.g., #14 -#16 is possibly mile of just walking). My condensed review of Langley Pond is a follows and I played both pads on each hole rhbh with 15mph winds by the water on 3/24/16 and no wind on 3/26/16.
A combination of Warner, Jackson and Steady Ed at the IDGC but tighter linesvlike Nevin and more elevation on many holes including a major fishhook on a 450' - 500' hole (#5 which is noted in the logo by the two trees). Lots of signature holes but my favorite was #10 as it seems the most picturesque from the target looking backward. Length, water holes (the carries are not bad, maybe 200' - 240' but if the pond is up this will definitely be more significant) and major elevation in spots for sure.

Favorite holes include the following from long tees,
#1 - straight forward downhill hyzer towards pond with target on mound
#2 - straight forward long hyzer to guarded green
#3 - Straight up and down hill
#4 - Two option fairway which allows a good hole to be great. Just when you are getting lulled into a great round, #4 hits you. Straight shot down the middle between trees to open fairway then another long straight shot or huge anhyzer to guarded green. A four is great.
#5 - Noted as the signature hole but huge fishhook dogleg left almost 600'. The tee shot is crucial if you want a 3.
#6 - Short tight downhill with basket to right, reminded me of a Russell Schwarz type hole but really liked it.
#7 - Awesome island hole with ob all around including a huge ditch beside the green not visible from tee.
#8 - Monster hole all the way up hill possibly 50' - 70' and measures 750' but plays like 900' - 950' where placement is a must for a 5 or great 4.
#9 - Fun downhill hole with target to left similar to a Schwarz hole.
#10 - Major tight downhill shot with 2 routes with pond next to fairway and behind green. Great hole! My favorite.
#11 - Tight short hole with 2 routes again but major penalty if you do not get around the magnolia on your drive on the right.
#12 - One of the best holes on the property. Anyhyzer from elevated teepad to guarded green across pond.
#13 - Awesome hole over hill with major drop to target.
#14 - Similar to #12 but longer and across pond again.
#15 - Signature hole in my opinion. Brutally long but fair par 5 across water with 2 routes then over hill to a fairway that slopes down to the pond. Lots of elevation on this hole and placement is key to get to target in the valley type green.
#16 - Fun hole up and over to an open fairway. You need to be left on the drive or will end up in small trees with a difficult chance to save par.
#17 - Wide straight tunnel uphill shot
#18 - Only hole with the same tee for Pro and Am. Downhill straighshot to target on edge of right woods.
Cons: I was a little disappointed by #17 and #18 as they are somewhat vanilla compared to the rest of this masterpiece and #18 does not really fit with the course but I still give it 5 stars.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first event, the Langley Pond Open 2016 and learned early on that the walk is brutal to hole #9 from the pavilion and from hole #8 back to the pavilion (first round I walked to #7 to start and back from #6 to finish so I walked close to 1.5 hours just to teepads and back to the pavilion). It took me 30 minutes each way for the walk to #9 and back and someone noted they walked 13-14 miles between the two rounds played that day and walking to and from starting holes. This is the first Disc Golf Park I have played and it was fantastic especially the astroturf type tee pads with sand, benches and signage. Jason and Alan definitely need to be doing more course not only in SC and GA but around the world has always I can see the World Championships coming back to Augusta in the next several years for sure with this course taking its toll on the worlds best.

After seeing some great designs in SC seem stagnant over the past few years, we have been fortunate enough to have some great new courses installed around the state and this is a gem in addition to Chester Advanced, Grand Central Station, Socastee Rec Park, Pipeline and Canaan Riverbend. The top three courses out of the 108 I have played in SC are now Pipeline, Canaan and Langley Pond with giving Pipeline a slight edge as the best course in the state for me personally. Once this course is broken in (and it will break in fast but currently reminds me of the IDGC courses in 2007 in terms of footing in some areas), I would think it could be tops in SC.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Drives!!!!

2-4    3/19/2016   3/23/2016
Review By: revbabb
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aiken County Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Department has "literally" shown other counties in our state how a championship gold level course can be placed strategically for recreation and tourism benefit to a county!!!
- Heavily wooded course for the technical player but definitely playable holes, I had a nice Ace run that ended up a bird on 16 (hit basket), we had several birdies made through the round and yes sadly a few bogeys and double bogeys......Of, course there are some great spacious holes for grip and rip fans too!!!
-Elevation is prominent to say the least and the course is a more like a gentle hike versus a stroll in the woods. Some hills are steeper than others.
-Modern design to pin placement makes you be creative with your approach shots.
-Great amenities (clean restrooms) playground, picnic tables and parking. The park is located behind a shopping center off the main highway, great for supplies.
-FORMAL DRIVING RANGE- 4 tees, and a practice area with 2 BASKETS is nice concept to see.
-2 sets of tee pads (Pro/Am) on every hole except 18, which you throw off an amazing hilltop toward driving range......MAJESTIC!!!!
-Great mix of excellently designed par 3's, par 4's, and 5's
-Benches at every tee pad are nice for busier days and for tourneys.
- Tees and signs are awesome weatherproof signage that will last through the change of seasons!
-I think the directional arrows in bottom of tray of basket are very contemporary feel.
Cons: The course does have stairs in most crucial areas of the course and I know the curators are still working but some of the transitions from basket to tee pad areas may need "step attention" if a sufficient path isn't worn in the hills over time.
If the fairways were possible "dragged" with a tractor clears all the collateral damage debris and bush hog shrapnel remains, walking the course would improve 100%.
Other Thoughts: I initially played the course on New Year's Day 2016 and it was an absolute war zone with all the fallen logs, branches and overturned shrubs still in place! I returned to play it this past Saturday (March 19, 2016) and the difference was unbelievable!!! I hated to have to put "cons" down but that's how we make improvements to the courses! Great job to the visionaries that wanted to bring a course to the "Pond" and to the ones who "dug" this course out of the woods!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The best place to play in the CSRA

5+    3/19/2016   3/22/2016
Review By: Atrain
Played: 125  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a DiscGolfPark (R).
Awesome DGP Turf TeePads
Driving Range with extra large TeePads and distance markers
Putting Green with two baskets
The county has definitely shown their support of Disc Golf in their park. They have installed a lot of fencing, stairways, retaining walls, and more amenities specific to the course.
Two TeePads on every hole except 18.
Directional signs in the tray of the baskets.
More directional signs on each transition.
Cool Terrain.
The Pond.
The pond dam is broken and water level is down making the course easier.
Cons: The pond dam is broken and water level is down making the course easier.
Some long transitions.
Some piles of downed branches in the roughs.
Other Thoughts: Langley Pond DiscGolfPark is definitely a must play when you're in the Augusta Area. The course features long and short tees on holes except for 18. 18 is a beautiful elevated tee with a great view of the main area of the Park, Including the driving range, putting green, Hole 1's TeePads, and of course the pond. The shot is a bag emptier. It's so hard not to throw "just one more" from the top.

The flow of the course may be the best part of the course. Holes 1 and 2 aren't very easy, but are definitely a good way to ease into the course. Hole 3 starts to introduce more challenging shots and hole 4 is the first par 4. Hole 5 is a much different par 4 than the previous hole and is one of the most unique holes in disc golf. It is also the green that is featured in the course logo. The enormous twin trees on either side of the basket definitely make for a picture worthy putt. After those par 4's, Hole 6 and 7 are a nice break, but again are no gimme's. When the water comes back up, hole 7 will be amazingly beautiful and terrifying. At 285', it's very reachable for even intermediate players, but what will be a 210' water carry, it will be quite intimidating and push any player's mental game. Hole 8 is the first of the two par 5's, and let me tell you, you'll feel real good about getting that 5. It's uphill finish makes the hole one of my favorites to stand in the middle of the fairway and take in the spectacular view. Hole 9 is gentle downhill par 3 that rounds out the front nicely. The back 9 has a little more sinister personality. Like the Sirens of Greek mythology, the beauty will astound you, but will lure you into wrecking your round. The pond comes into play on 10 - 16. Hole 10's split view of a big, over water shot, or skinny look all the way to the green is the epitome of shot choice o this course. Do you try to take advantage of this par 4 or just keep it in the fairway and survive to the next shot? Holes 11, 12, and 13 make up the second set of triplet par 3's and when you get to 14, you'll hope you birdied a couple of them. Hole 14 is a par 4 where you tee off over a cove of the pond. The carry is very fair, but the farther you try to make it up the fairway, the more dangerous the landing area gets. It features a cool, perfect circle green carved out of the woods. Then, there's hole 15; the monster. At 859' it feels like it plays over 1000. There's two great options off the tee and several decision challenges along the way. It takes excellent shot choice and execution to not bogey this beast. There's a long transition to the 16 tee which welcomes you with a landscaped retaining wall and well manicured area. The long par 3 is the beginning of the last triplet of par 3's. It is an extreme uphill tee shot over a "bunker" made of hawthorne trees. While easy to avoid, it's also easy to not quite get your shot and end up trying to recover for the par. Hole 17 is the straightest and most straight forward hole on the course. Somehow the basket feels closer than it is and deceives you into throwing short. As described earlier, hole 18 is an awesome way to end any round. The view, the air, only having a downhill walk left, and the relief of not having another wooded shot entices you to get that perfect flight to end the day.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Langley Pond will Take All Your Shots

2-4    3/6/2016   3/20/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 410  Reviewed: 291  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2016
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Langley Pond DGP has it all. There is a great area to practice those putts and a driving range with multiple pads right next to the parking lot. The tee pads are nice and level with green turf surface. All holes have alternate short tees (except maybe 18), but some are still pretty lengthy even from the short. All tees, signs and baskets are in new condition, very nice. The course is carved out of great wooded and hilly terrain along the side of a pond that comes into play occasionally. Opening hole plays toward the water, down a hill that is open most of the way to the basket. A good birdie opportunity at 300', with risk of going into woods if you miss left and water to the right. The second hole leads into the woods, and the fairway gives you a feel for much of the course. Well cut lanes, with plenty of trees that strategically remain to increase difficulty and make me crazy. Flat and still a little over 300', but with a tricky tree on the right of the fairway making it tougher. Hole 3 increases the distance to over 350', still par 3 in the woods. Holes 4 and 5 are both over 550' par 4's, still with fair but not easy lines through trees, and a little elevation change coming into play. Holes 6 and 7 are better birdie chances under 300'. 6 is thickly wooded but very reachable if you make the throw, I managed a birdie my first round here. 7 is mostly open over the edge of the pond, with one tree splitting your options into two gaps right in front of the tee, and a few small trees and shrubs around the basket. Hole 8 is where it begins to get really tough, a par 5 over 730'. The change in elevations begin to become more pronounced with the target atop a hill at the end. Two rounds for me so far, with a double bogey and a snowman, ouch. 9 is a shorter hole, under 270' and turning left and downhill through trees. I did birdie this one first time out. Since the grand opening of the course 9 also has a longer tee as well, at 348'. Hole 10 is probably my favorite one on the course, teeing off at the top of a long down hill run through mature trees, before reaching bottom and a small climb to a basket 567' away. It's a par 4, but I have only got a bogey and a double bogey so far. Holes 11-14 are all par 3 holes, giving you a slight break, and varying in interesting shapes and sizes. 12 is probably the easiest one on the course from the short, but the newer long tee is much tougher. 14 has also become more interesting since the newer long tee has been added, giving a par 4 option. Hole 15 is another monster I have yet to slay, 777'/par 5, scored a bogey and double bogey. It starts on the open edge of the pond but breaks into two lanes over the top of a large hill through mature woods, and back down to a well protected basket. Some might say it is epic. Holes 16 and 17 are both longish par 3 with woods and some elevation change factoring in. Hole 18 is a really nice finisher, that you can see from the parking lot. It tees on top of a hill overlooking the driving range, leading to a basket at the bottom over 400' away. Airspace is more open to the left, with trees coming into play as you approach the target. A tough par 3, but birdie or bogey is a possibility.
Cons: Not a great learning course for novice players, but an excellent challenge to more experienced players. Might be messy in areas after significant precipitation. Wouldn't hurt to have a few more trashcans available.
Other Thoughts: Langley DGP was masterfully conceived and executed in terms of design, layout, and equipment. Since the grand opening benches are at nearly every tee, and plenty of brooms. It is not an easy par 61, I scored 72 in each of my first two rounds there. Recently returned for a third round, to see the last few tee positions, and more clearing has been done as well. I did not fare any better on the scorecard though. There are some kind of long walks between holes, so keep your eyes open for the next hole arrows in the bottom of the basket and directional signs on the path pointing the way. I love the mix of elements that are utilized through the course, and the challenge provided. There are so many good courses in the area, but don't miss this one if you come around. I gave a 4.5 initially, but after a couple of more rounds still have not found a weak spot on the grounds. Have to go full on 5, I can't penalize for my inability to stay close to par. Every hole has a workable strategy, but every shot counts and placement is everything.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The CSRA's best new course

5+    3/18/2016   3/20/2016
Review By: IDGC_SUPER
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Wonderful championship gold level course in Aiken County, SC
-heavily wooded
-great use of elevation
-modern design
-great amenities and parking
-DRIVING RANGE- 4 tees, and a practice area with 2 BASKETS
-2 sets of tee pads on every hole except for 18(but who doesn't want to throw off that hill?)
-very balanced
-great mix of exellently designed par 3's, par 4's, and 5's
-Benches at every tee pad
-Plays through a park with a hiking trail, but the trail is never in play
-Discgolfpark tees and signs are awesome
-directional signage in all key spots
-directional arrows in bottom of tray of basket
-Fencing and stairs all throughout the course gives a finished look
-brooms hung on the back of benches is a nice touch
-garbage cans throughout the course and practice area
Cons: -Pond is low due to construction on the dam, once this is complete the water level will return. For this review i imagined what it would be like playing the course at that level.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the Augusta area playing disc golf this is a must play course. It was designed by the minds that manage the Hippodrome and International Disc Golf Center, it was a great collaboration/project.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.