Manchester, United Kingdom 
Longford Park Share
Uploaded By: cheesey_toastie Hole #15 (Taken 3/2016)
3 / 197ft.   3 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 15 - stone circle (aligns with the Summer and Winter Solstice!).



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Excellent venue in the North West

1    8/20/2016   4/21/2017
Review By: rhatton1
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent concrete Tees
- Good Disccatchers throughout
- Great Signage
- Land specifically for Disc Golf
- Free to Play
- Cafe with disc hire on site
- Ample car parking
- Beginners and an advanced course
- Excellent local club - get in touch and get involved with this group of players.
- Very fun layout
- Easy flow
- Great signs/design and signposting
Cons: - A little bit pitch and putty in places even on the advanced course
- Wet underfoot in places with poor drainage
- Not the most challenging of courses in terms of layout.
- 1000 rating will be slightly sub 50 so running to the easy side for top level play.

Other Thoughts: I've only played once in a competition and loved it. With my usual competition and TDing mess ups I shot a couple of rounds just over par. On a good day I would expect to be able to play sub 50 round the course and that would be my one and only complaint about it. It is slightly limited by the size of the area and as a result a bit too easy. It has made excellent use of the area available though in the hole design.

It's beautifully looked after and has some lovely touches like the mini Stonehenge guarding hole 15 which would otherwise be an unremarkable hole.

So much work and love has been put into this course and it really shows.

Really enjoyed holes 9 and 18 and to be fair pretty much all of them apart from hole 10 which had no discernible line to the basket

It's a must play for anyone in the area and worth travelling for. The club have done incredible work there and continue to grow it.

I just wish they had a bit more space to play with to make a true championship level course,

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Superb course

1    2/12/2017   2/12/2017
Review By: lathama
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads - lots of grip, leaving you sure footed and confident in the throw (even if the result isn't what you planned)

Hole markers - each tee has a great hole marker and map. All mando areas and OB points are shown.

Benches - lots of places to sit whilst waiting for your nxt shot

Standout holes are hole 15 with its poured concrete neolithic stone circle and the hidden basket on hole 4.
Cons: Hole 7 - with the mandatory walking route through a small gap in the fence, the whole area has turned into a quagmire, even 15-20m from basket isn't pleasant.

Hole 8 - due to the proximity with other holes in was surprised that the gap between the front 2 trees wasn't a mando.
Other Thoughts: On the whole a really well laid out course and a pleasure to play.
Lots of volunteers seem to be working behind the scenes with different projects to improve the course and lots of tree planting is planned.
I shall definatly return when it is less windy to get a proper attempt at the course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course, getting better

5+    1/28/2017   1/28/2017
Review By: Mcgoo77
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, red and blue tees, varied shots, well maintained, great local community, free to play, well designed layout.
Cons: Wet in the winter (it's England after all)
Other Thoughts: I play here year round, and have gotten involved with some of the volunteer efforts to improve the course. It is built on an old pitch and putt course and is great as is, but will continue to get better as over 600 trees were planted last year, and another 400 are planned to go in this spring. I can't wait to play this course in one year, five years, ten years, and twenty years to see how it comes into its own. At the moment a strong arm will be an advantage on a couple of longer open holes, but that will be balanced out as the course becomes more wooded and accuracy will become more crucial.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Course with great Potential

1    5/16/2016   5/17/2016
Review By: Atvizory2000
Played: 50  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course really does have great potential. The designers of the course knew what they were doing when they designed each hole. Course will requires many different shots in your bag. Holes are a good mix short, medium, and long. Plenty of shots to air it out, but also some technical short shots.

One thing that really stuck out to me was the tee pads. They were nice and big. Extra large! Also most holes had 2 pads, one for beginners and one for pros.( Or guys like me who are intermediate lol)

The park that the course is in is very nice in itself. A nice getaway for a relaxing day of disc golf.

Cons: The main con that I see with this course is the flow. There were numerous times when you have to cross near another basket to get to the next tee box. A map is definitely needed. The baskets do not have numbers on them. This would help tremendously, since there are many times when you see 2 baskets from the tee. Hole 18 comes to mind with multiple baskets in sight .

The grass on the course was getting a little high in places. Also there were some some holes where it looked like some branches should be cut back some.
Other Thoughts: There were many trees that have been planted, shaping many of the fairways. Once these trees get big enough(7-10 years). This course will be amazing. When I played it was dry, but you could see where it can get pretty muddy. Being a new course though, this will only get better with time. They are doing an excellent job at planting seed and grass.

I don't like to review a course after one time playing, but I'm from the United States. I don't know when I'll get a chance to play it again. It may be next year, and this is a course I plan to come back to play. I will update my reveiw when that time comes. I fully expect it to move up to a 4 by next year.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.