Rio Grande, NJ 
Ockie Wisting DGC Share
Uploaded By: eppenhawk Hole #3 (Taken 4/2018)
3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
A Good, Ongoing Effort

1    8/13/2019   8/13/2019
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 82  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 8.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Legitimate 18 hole course in the southernmost area of the state. Located in a very nice community park which has clean bathrooms and a pavilion on the premises. Practice basket located near the hole 1 path. The first 12-13 holes feature a wooded, technical layout while the latter holes open up a bit into an open field with mature trees spread about. Good tee signs, definitive fairways and intuitive, easy navigation from hole to hole. Log benches and trash cans at many holes are a plus. There is some water on two holes which adds challenge. Very manageable distances for all levels of play. Despite the lack of overall elevation, finishing hole 18 is a neat shot from an elevated perch to a basket placed strategically between two large areas of rough.
Cons: Holes 1 and 18 are considerable walks from the main lot. Natural tee pads with roots sticking up on most holes create uneasy tee offs. Oppressive rough which includes thorns and thick undergrowth surrounding many fairways. Bugs an issue as others have mentioned- bring spray. I am not a fan of hole 8, which I feel is poorly conceived and needs 2-3 trees removed to create a fair tee shot.. No true signature hole here.
Other Thoughts: Ockie Wisting, is a sorely needed venue which wasn't easy to get approved. The efforts of Jay, Herb and others who conceived, built and have doggedly tried to maintain this course deserve much respect. Players who were there from the beginning have lauded OW's improvement the last couple of years, and it is obvious a lot of work has been done here. That said, continued efforts must be made to widen some areas of terrible rough and overgrowth throughout the course and to tweak areas of need. Volunteers step up!

Priority number one is the installation of cement or paver tee pads- a must for any highly rated course or one where tournaments are run. Currently, the natural tee pads are showing many roots in spots which make for an uneasy tee off experience.

Hole #5 shows great promise, and I can envision a re-design in which players throw over the pond to the right of the current fairway, which would make it a signature hole.

Ockie Wisting has tremendous potential and is definitely worth your while if traveling in the Cape May area or other parts south. A good overall play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Recommended if in the area

1    4/30/2019   4/30/2019
Review By: angler082133
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tight technical holes - Couple holes to let a little loose on power - Very Quiet, sounds of nature - Pretty good signage to next hole - Great mini maps before each hole - Well maintained - Nice trash cans at most holes - Good mix of doglegs and minor turns
Cons: - Heavy brush in some of the rough - Lots of hidden water. Blends in well. - Lots of bugs (expected) - Some teepads have roots in them
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought the course was pretty nice. Very beautiful woods and water. Most holes are pretty low ceiling tunnel shots with a slight turn or a dogleg end. Some brush is very thick with lots or thorn bushes. Definitely will test your throwing putters and midranges. Not a birdie fest with the trees but plenty to be had. I recommend stopping in if your in the area. Also it seems to be the only one in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ockie Wisting: An Okay Listing!

1    4/28/2019   4/28/2019
Review By: Ryal
Played: 57  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 2.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Practice pin right next to the bathrooms.
+ First half plays deep in a quiet pine forest. Second half plays in lightly wooded fields. Good variety of holes here.
+ All 18 tee signs have diagrams of the hole, distance and par. The 'next tee' signs are plainly visible on almost all holes.
+ Most fairways here seem clean and fair.
+ All baskets are numbered and have eye-catching flags on top.
+ Friendly locals.
Cons: - I could see very many areas of almost impenetrable rough as I played. Some have thorn bushes. Some have very thick and impassable clusters of shrubs and vines. I could also see the beginnings of dense undergrowth in the rough areas.
- No lost disc box that I could see. I could be wrong about that. A course with rough like this could certainly use one.
- A few of the ideal lines are kind of ridiculous. Hole 12 jumps to mind as an example of that. (Or maybe I still have more to learn!)
- Tee areas are dirt or gravel marked by simple, though eye-catching, vertical stakes.
- Absolutely flat except for hole 18.
- Just one layout available.
- On the short side with only about six holes hovering around or exceeding 350 feet.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole at this course might be hole 4 because of its slightly risky finish nearby two bodies of water. Plus, it was one of the longer holes. As for a least favorite hole, I might say hole 9 because of how unconventional the lines are when contrasted to the other holes.

As for the course as a whole, Ockie Wisting was a nice surprise. I read most of the earlier reviews and drove down expecting something singularly strange. Mutant bugs? Waist-high grasses? Sentient thorn bushes? Well, either I played at the right time of year to avoid all of that or the course has a dedicated crew now because the course I played was clean and well-managed.

I wish I could have seen this park before it reached its current state. My only hints are the ghost story reviews below mine, the pile of discarded tee sign posts next to hole 5, and google maps. As of April 28, 2019, their satellite view doesn't show the new playground, amphitheater or pollination gardens. So I only know of it as the decently good course that it is right now.

Yes, the tee areas have much to be desired. Yes, a few of the fairways have some bewildering obstacles (What the hell, hole 5? A mando wasn't enough? You had to throw a zombie tree in the way, too?) Yes, the course's brevity and lack of elevation keep it from having any stunning and memorable holes. And yes, the rough areas outside of the fairways can be more than a little irritating in some spots. These are all things that we already see at other disc golf courses, which means that Ockie Wisting is on the level as other courses that are trying to get themselves established. During my session, I was invited to join with a pair of locals at hole 11 and finish out the session. They told me all about how bad the course used to be and what changes have been made over the past year or so. That sounds to me like this course has had a rebirth

And yes, there are bugs here. It's Cape May County, New Jersey in between the Atlantic Ocean and Delaware Bay. In related news, grass is green.

Bottom line: Ockie Wisting DGC might have been unfavorable in the past, according to legend, but those problems are being dealt with now. It's nothing awe-inspiring, but the course is perfectly playable. It is equal parts wooded and open, so players of all manner can find something to appreciate here. New players will find the distances to be reasonable and the woods to be fair. Come here with a few friends and just spend some time throwing and joking around.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/6/2017   8/24/2017
Review By: Hyzenberg
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
1) There is a disc golf course near the shore points other than the zoo.

2) Ran into some pretty cool wild life; saw this awesome fluorescent orange eastern box turtle, huge black snake and a few other critters along the way.

3) I really enjoyed hole 18, the signage from 17 to 18 was poor, but the hole made up for that!
Cons:
1) The park where the DG course resides is abandoned and gated off. We arrived and instantly questioned whether we should even enter as it felt like we were about to trespass.

2) No signage in the park to direct you to the course. We had to explore for about 20 mins before finding a single hole. I will say once you find the course, the signage is alright.

3) The DG course is barely maintained; I don't expect all courses to be groomed clear of poison, thicket, limbs etc. But some holes are grown over, ceilings have collapsed on some tunnel shots and the rough is extremely rough. I don't care about thorns etc, but be forewarned, the fairway on most holes turns immediately into thickets of thorns.

4) I thought people were exaggerating but the green heads were ridiculous. I walked out of there looking like I had the chickenpox. I rushed pretty much every shot because I felt like I was being eaten alive.

4) Another point I thought people were over exaggerating, TICKS! I ended the round with 9 ticks on me!



Other Thoughts:
If you've ever wondered what playing disc golf in a post apocalyptic world would be like, look no further, Ockie Wisting has you covered!

On a serious note, if I were to play this course again I would come back in the winter. The bugs should be a non issue and the foliage/brush should be dead or beat down some.

But to be honest this is a once and done course for me, don't think I care to mark this round let alone play here again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

2-4    8/13/2017   8/15/2017
Review By: bob s
Played: 45  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I may be repeating a few things said previously but here it goes: the biggest PRO of this course is that it exists at all, giving folks at/near the South Jersey beaches a real place to play. The designers made good use of the terrain provided, creating a fair combination of lefty and righty shots. There are not a lot of areas where overhand shots are possible and roller opportunities are few and far between. There is water in several areas but really only comes into play on hole # 3 on the left side. (It's sneaky - you might want to check it out before you throw at the basket...) Around hole # 9 and a few holes thereafter, the rough becomes really rough - you might want to send a spotter forward to save some time looking for errant/defected shots. Hole # 18 is a really cool elevated shot but there is rough on both sides that can easily rob you of your disc. (The right side rough is as rough as it gets...)

Newer signage throughout has made for easy navigation (save for getting to the first and last holes) and new yellow tees are well marked. More play on the course will help rectify the biggest CON but it is clear that this course is in its infancy and work is ongoing.

Don't be fooled by the par 54 layout and think it's a pitch and putt. This is a challenging course.
Cons: The course is still very raw, with brutal rough, some of which is within the putting circle. There are thorns in many spots oftentimes just off the fairways. (not my favorite thing.)The parking situation is currently unsettled - we pulled in and parked near the amphitheater and someone closed the gate on us. Directions to the 1st hole are non-existent and difficult to explain. Signs there are needed. We've played twice now and the first time, surprisingly, the bugs were not too bad. The second time, they were awful including a wasps nest on top of one of the baskets (hole 4?.) We did our best to knock it down. I would not step foot on this property without an ample supply of bug spray.
Other Thoughts: For years disc golfers have been hoping for a REAL course down here in southern Cape May County and we finally have one. Hats off to the folks responsible for making it happen. It is already a fine course and once this place gets broken in, it will be a gem. For now, it is imperative that folks stay in the fairways, else pay a steep price in lost discs or unplayable lies. If you are playing it for the first time, it is probably a good idea to walk the holes before throwing them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  A Real Course at the Shore!

2-4    4/22/2017   5/2/2017
Review By: discdodger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: I played this course the summer it first opened... and yes, the bugs were of the hook! There were few hole signs and no defined fairways. On 4/22/17 we played (before bug season) and thought the course was great... a real 18 hole course at the Jersey Shore! Great baskets, good tee signs that included arrows to the next tee, and a well thought out layout.
Cons: To get to the first tee you need to be a rocket scientist. It is a very long walk, and we found the first tee cause we heard voices through the trees. Lucky for us, it was a local group that plays the course often and they gave us a quick low-down. Also, there was no sign for the 18th tee, and it was the longest walk between holes... we got there because I remembered that the tee was on top of a hill/mound.
Other Thoughts: As far as the bugs go... I am hopeful that as the course gets broken in, the flies will stick more to the woods... as it was almost unplayable in the summer. An the pricker bushes... most all courses in PA and NJ have em. Keep it in the fairway! All in all... and great addition to the shore area... I can't wait to throw there again!

 lots of thorns

1    3/2/2017   3/14/2017
Review By: used disc seller
Played: 107  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun shots to be had.
Shorter holes.
Playground near by for kids.
Cons: Too many thorns everywhere. If your disc goes off course a little, good luck.
Do not play this course with beginners - go play the course at the zoo.
Other Thoughts: If you could irradiate most of the thorns it would be a great course but no one has perfect throws ever time, not even pros. So you will be in thorns some time during the game and they are not like anything I have played in on the West Coast.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stopped at 9

1    7/25/2016   8/1/2016
Review By: Abrigh1
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course layout provides varied shots to play
-Signage is good and I did not get lost at any point
-Teepads and baskets are descent
-Not crowded (for good reasons listed below)
-Challenging but fair course/distances/holes
Cons: This course could easily be an above average course but only during certain times of year and with some maintenance. When I went out this summer in July I was excited to try a new course in the area because of the only other option nearby being the Cape May zoo which is also unplayable but for different reasons in the summer (people parked on fairways). When we parked the park itself was completely empty (not good sign for a Saturday morning). We parked and followed the signs and after walking through weeds for 3/4 of a mile we got to the first tee.

Upon getting to first tee we noticed that the shortest grass on the hole was at least 3 feet high. So even a perfect shot to the middle of what they called a fairway landed in 3 feet of grass. No kidding. So when my buddy and I threw our drives we both made great shots (they were short but straight) we ended up looking for 20 minutes for shots on the fairway that went 175 feet... Not fun.

Every hole on this course was the same way. Sometimes throwing off the fairway was better because when it landed near trees there was less brush and easier to find.

The other negative were the bugs. And when I say bugs I mean not ticks (we both had multiple though by the end) but we mean horse flies. One previous reviewer made fun of other reviewers for complaining about bugs but this is completely unfair. At one point the horse flies were so bad that when I went to whack some of them I would hit 10 in one swipe. (we did have bug spray on too) By the time we got to hole 9 we had enough and stopped because it was unplayable. And this complaint is coming from a person who does not get easily bothered by bugs. Trust me when I say that you should skip this course in the summer.
Other Thoughts: This course would be fun if both criteria below are met:
a. go when the temperature is less than 45 degrees so the bugs are not out
b. they actually mow even some of the fairway.

If you are in the area in the summer I would not go. I get the feeling that the people taking care of this place do not maintain it in the summer because they know it is unplayable so they just let it go. The grass had not been mowed in months. I will go back to try this place come November.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Developing Course

1    7/15/2016   7/20/2016
Review By: Chaser90EK
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great little developing course in an area that needs it. Very technical layout with a punishing rough.
Cons: Still under the development so the course is subject to change. The bugs are pretty rough so be sure to wear appropriate clothing and repellent.
Other Thoughts: For anyone who has every worked on a course this one should excite you. Once the designers clear all the bureaucratic hurdles this course will shape up nicely. I strongly encourage everyone to get out to play the course and provide constructive feedback so this course can reach it's potential. Also, sadly, due to field expansion plans hole 18 may have to be moved in the future. The view from the elevated tee is absolutely gorgeous and the ace is there for the taking so get it out and play it while it's still there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  A work in progress

2-4    3/12/2016   7/10/2016
Review By: poolking8
Played: 30  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Another course in South Jersey.
Cons: Most courses have a bad hole or two. This course is no different but since this is still new, I can see the powers that be taking the constructive criticism and building a true gem in South Jersey.
Other Thoughts: Comments about bugs and ticks....really....maybe these guys should go back home to mommy's basement.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.