Dallas, TX 
Roger W. Lytle DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 162ft.   3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 Nice little course

2-4    6/23/2016   6/23/2016
Review By: schaalio
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most holes are less than 250 feet, with many between 180 and 230. There are a few up and downhill shots which are fun. A few chances at aces if you can work around some trees. Also, good signage on each hole and overall, pretty easy to navigate. The only tricky ones to find were hole #2 which is at the top of the hill behind the #1 basket, and #7, which is up behind a hill, and to the right after #6 basket.
Cons: Being in a park, there were a few shots where I had to wait for people to walk by. I went around 5:30 on a weekday though and wasn't too bad really. Most every hole has trees to navigate, but the short length helps to be able to get at least a 3 or less on every hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course and good for those of us who can't throw it 300+ feet. Even if you can though, there are a lot of touchy shots around trees, which keeps it fun for anyone. I ended up plyaing 3 rounds in a row as I am from Buffalo, NY and enjoyed the course. Only took me about 30 minutes per round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I don't care if it's only 11 holes

2-4    4/24/2016   4/24/2016
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 79  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very well thought out course. It uses the park extremely well. There is a lot of elevation change in this park. Throwing up, throwing down, throwing to a slope, it's all there. Lots of trees, and they are used well. It's a clean nice looking park. It's lit very well. We played it after crazy rains, and it seems to drain well. There are tee signs (corogated plastic, not sure if these are supposed to be permenant or not).

This really is a very good course. It's amazing to see old growth trees and elevation change in the middle of urban Dallas. Yes it's a pitch and putt, but you got to really shape the lines your discs takes to get birdies.
Cons: Walking paths are everywhere, you cross them a lot. The park is moderately busy.
Other Thoughts: It's really a very nice course. Shorter holes, but nice holes. We played it right at sundown, and it got dark while we were there. Oak Cliff is actually much less creepy at night than I imagined.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice after work course

2-4    3/29/2016   3/30/2016
Review By: Itstchalk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the small park
Room for expansion to the south across the street
Great use of trees hills and surroundings
Good lighting for night golf!
Cons: Lots of walking paths come into play
No signs(not really need because it's pretty easy to follow)
Other Thoughts: This is a great little course to play if you work somewhat close and want to get a round in after work. It may be 11 holes and could be played with only a putter but it's still fun! I would recommend this to somebody just getting into the sport due to most holes being pretty short. All in all fun course of almost nothing but ace runs! Hopefully it will expand across the street in the future. Also I second the other review about Roc's that and a putter will get you by just fine!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A fun walk in the park

1    2/16/2016   2/16/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 993  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun little 11 hole course. I like pitch and put courses and this is one of the better ones I have played.

New baskets, tee boxes coming soon (they are dug out, but not finished yet)

Pretty easy to follow even though there are no tee signs yet.
Cons: There are a few holes that will have issues. One or two that you may throw into the street. 2 that you might throw over an apartment complex fence. And more than one hole that you will eventually see a broken lamp fixture.
Other Thoughts: I found myself throwing only Roc's on every hole. Classic for the short and regular Roc for the longer holes. So I did not really need to carry my bag.

However, I really enjoyed playing the course. The holes were interesting and fun to throw. That is all you can ask for in a short course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun pitch & putt course

5+    2/4/2016   2/5/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2016
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -brand new discatchers
-good elevation changes, especially for such a small course
-trees are used well to require an accurate shot on most holes
-fun variety of shots, especially for only 11 short holes
-very close to downtown & bishop arts district
-DART blue line stops right next to the course, 100ft from tee 1
-new concrete tees, flush with the ground and textured, on the shorter side
-new tee signs, with distances for the new tee pads on 4 and 9, also show apparent mandos on holes 1 & 3 and a par 4 designation on holes 7-10
Cons: -very small area for this course and all but 1 or 2 holes are very short
-pedestrian paths are in play on pretty much every hole. you throw over them on 4 holes
-muddy area on the fairway of hole 10; not sure if it is seasonal or not
-supposedly a sketchy area but that's the goal of putting the course in: more eyes in the park, less undesirable activity
-some of the fairways have very uneven ground; beware of your footing, especially on the downhill fairway of hole 7 and the 'ravine' on hole 8
Other Thoughts: Founders Park is a fun pitch & putt course with some elevated shots, lots of uneven ground, and a fair amount of trees. Only 2 holes are over 225' and only one is over 300'.

The main strengths of this course are the elevation changes and the trees that require hitting your line. There are two downhill tee shots (2, 7) and two uphill tee shots (4, 10) as well as a few more with lots of uneven ground in the fairway (5, 6, 8). I wouldn't call it a wooded course but there are just enough trees that you have to throw an accurate line.

I was initially skeptical about a course fitting in this park but the design seems to work. There are obvious safety issues with so many pedestrian paths that wind throughout the park. They come into play on pretty much every hole, except maybe hole 5. With the course being so small, an errant shot can end up nearly anywhere. That said, the holes that throw over paths have pretty clear lines of sight from the tee, you ought to be able to see pedestrians coming long beforehand. It shouldn't be a problem so long as people use basic sense and stay alert & aware of their surroundings. That doesn't mean it won't be a problem.

Concrete tees were just recently added and a few tees were moved slightly. Hole 4 is about 100 longer, holes 2 and 6 share one pad, tee 7 is back to its original position closer to the sidewalk, and tee 9 is further back and slightly more left. Hole 9 is much harder now as the hyzer line on the right is partially obstructed. The tees are flush with the ground and textured. They are somewhat short but at least the shots are short so a big run up is not necessary.

New tees signs at each tee show par, distance, next tee, and a pretty decent hole layout map. Apparently there are double mandos on both hole 1 and hole 3. Didn't really see those coming, neither are there as a safety thing. I liked that hole 3 had a left, straight, and right routes. Also, for some reason, holes 7-10 are listed as par 4. I can see it on hole 9 for a rec par but not the others.

Overall, it's a fun course with a good variety of shots for such a short course. Great for beginners, putter practice for experienced players. It would be great to see some community events out here.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 simple urban golf

1    1/14/2016   1/14/2016
Review By: texhop58
Played: 102  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 19 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *nice baskets
*nice looking park
*great use of terrain/elevation
*many benches throughout park
*beginner friendly
*mutlipe parking lots- found at hole 1 and 7
*nicely wooded, should be nice during hot summer months
*may be only course reachable by mass transit in DFW (looks like DART-blue line stops right in front of park)
Cons: *short
*throwing over multiple walkways
* hole 5/6 same shot with same fence running along side..just turned 90 degrees
*hole 2/6 share teepad area
*hotel/apartment by 5/6 seem really sketchy
*(i find this as a pro, some may find it a con) course terrain may be hard to navigate for people with bad knees/backs. pretty steep hills
Other Thoughts: This course sits it what looks to be an old city part in a partially revitalized neighborhood. That being said, it looks like it still may have some sketchy parts. Overall the course is really nice. It is what it is. A short urban course, that will never be a tourney course, but may be great to introduce new players to the game. It has a great skyline view of dallas, The park is being cleaned up, so it will probably be better. This also would make for a good come get a disc and learn how to play event. Nothing is long but there is enough trees and elevation to make new players and lower end players have a good time. I enjoyed it. But i could see where pro style players would not like the shortness. LIke i mentioned in PROs, it has a light rail stop, so any traveling golfers without a car, this may be your course stop.
I get nervous with courses that throw over walkways this often, but you should be able to see most walkers except maybe hole 7. That being said, I only saw 2 walkers while i was out there, so it may not be a busy park, but it feels like it should be with the condo's around. So i may of been there on a not so busy morning

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty park, the most unique course i've played in DFW!

1    1/5/2016   1/5/2016
Review By: Jimbotten
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very hilly, lots of uniquely steep shots. Relaxing course to play, a stroll through the park kind of course.
Love the style of baskets. Seems like it will be a nice course even in the summer time and mosquito months.
Love the location with the skyline.
Cons: 11 holes...but, i see room for a full 18 eventually. O think this is just a start.
Natural tees
There was a odd smell throughout the park, like burnt plastic. Not sure what it was.
No long shots, kinda a bummer since i am a sidearm power thrower.
Other Thoughts: I see room for expansion and concrete tees eventually.
The second park on south side with the lake could also be included in a possible expansion.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great new course with a view

1    12/31/2015   12/31/2015
Review By: ericb45696
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 31.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: At the moment 11 holes, which is a pro for me because it is easily playable twice for 22.
Good up and downs and easily birdie-able shots.
" Confidence builder" course.

great views of downtown Dallas.
Cons: None really since it is so new, tee pads will be nice but very playable.
Other Thoughts: Short course but a lot of fun, especially if you play it at least 2 times in one outing. better dial in those short shots because if you can't hit those birdies ... your still gonna have fun :)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.