Gurnee, IL 
Warren Township Park Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #9
3 / 214ft.   3 / 214ft.   4 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Sign Sign , Neverwhere's A Sign

1    6/14/2020   6/29/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 605  Reviewed: 230  Exp: 27.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Warren Township Park 9 hole disc golf course is in a small multi use park that many locals seem to take advantage of . The course is at the back of the park . Plenty of parking in a lot that is a short walk to the course . There is a nice bathroom at the parking lot .
The Equipment . There are decent cement tee pads at all of the holes . Some are short and are unable to run up on a drive . The baskets are Mach 3's , some are numbered . There is a sign at hole #1 to start the course . No other signs .
The Landscape . Other than a real slight grade or 2 on a couple of holes , the only test of real elevation occurs at hole #8 , a top of the world shot off a sled hill . This is park style disc golf . There are some trees to negotiate on the first 7 holes . The park was clean and mowed . This park is one of the nicer ones , aesthetically , that I have visited .The only place that I considered underdone was hole #4 over the parking lot . It had some construction debris on the left of the fairway . There is a small lake / large pond that appears on the left side of #7's fairway , and is directly behind the #9 basket . There were 3 groups playing while I was there , all local . They seemed very friendly and to be having a good time .
The highlights : No great holes stood out to me , but really no bad holes worth mentioning , either . #8 top of the world shot was a putter flip over to the basket which was next to the volleyball court . #9's basket was perched on a rim of the pond . Overshoot and you will probably lose your disc . #5 was a slight rt to left in some woods with a tough time getting into the green .
Disc Risk . Very low here . The park is clean . Unless you jam it up in a tree , the only way you lose one will be to overthrow #9's basket .
Time : It took me at least 30 minutes to play here , but mostly because the signage was absent . I had to have locals that caught up to me to show where the tee was . A group of 4 that knew their way around the course will finish in about an hour .
The first 7 holes are either partially or fully shaded .

Cons: #1 Safety . Big concern . There are places to walk that are around the first 6 holes . #7 is a drive that could potentially hit someone at the bottom area of the park . When I was playing #9 , some newbies/locals were on the sled hill ready to tee off . There is a walking path at the bottom of this hill , and the volleyball court is literally just feet away from the #8 basket . If you were playing sand volleyball and had to dive to keep a ball in play , you could easily hit your head on the basket if you were running fast enough .
#2 Navigation/equipment . I wanted to combine these two because these cons are intertwined . There is zero signage on any pads , no next tee sign , nothing . I hope you printed a map or are patient enough to follow a 5 some around the course. #4 tee is across the parking lot . #5 tee is just above and backwards to the right of that basket . #7 is behind the #6 basket . #8 forces you to climb a hill to get to the tee box.
#3 Challenge . many of these holes could seem to run on . Straight throw , and just miss the many trees in some of the fairways ( #'s 3 5 & 6 ) This could be a birdie fest for intermediates and above .
Other Thoughts: If local , this park and it's course don't seem to be a bad hangout .The Sunday late morning that I was here , many people were in the park and no fewer that 12 people were playing disc golf . Could the design have been tweaked to make some of the holes more appealing ? I don't know . The course , for as old as it is ( 2004 ) has no excuse for not installing signs , unless they had them and were stolen/damaged previously . Even though I was lost on occasion , I did feel relaxed while playing here . Just a lot of activity at the park and there is NO rush to get from point A to point B .

My Recommendation : Way too easy for thing intermediate and above . unless they want to practice putter shots .This is great for newbies and 1 disc players to play , just because of not losing discs . Families and dates would enjoy it here . Great for locals . Another quick course for the Course Collector and a good leg stretch for the traveler . just make sure that you play at more peak times where someone can show you where to go from hole to hole .
Use your discretion . There are several options out there if an out of towner .

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Favorite Course So Far

2-4    8/24/2019   8/24/2019
Review By: DiscGolfer80
Played: 28  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not too technical for beginners
Holes 1 thru 7 are under shade
Well maintained
Very quiet and relaxing
Cons: Only one very minor con, large woodchip piles off to the left of fairway on hole #4.
Other Thoughts: Be nice to put hole layout maps near tee boxes and arrows to next hole on baskets.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

5+    8/8/2017   8/8/2017
Review By: KKennedy0909
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is beautiful and in a very family friendly environment.
The baskets, while fairly old, are in fantastic shape.
The park district is constantly up-keeping the course.
There are clear fairways and paths to the baskets.
Cement platforms.
Cons: There isn't any signage except for a sign at the beginning pointing out the first hole's platform.

That's the only con I have.
Other Thoughts: This is a park on the ground of Warren Township High School, therefore there aren't pets or smoking allowed. But the area has a huge playground, tennis and basketball courts, softball fields and bathrooms, plus scattered portapotty's as well.

This is my home course and I play it about a hundred times per summer. I have been to all of the surrounding courses in the area and would put it above every course besides Fairfield. This course is an absolute blast and really should be higher rated than it is.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Woe is warren

1    4/22/2017   4/22/2017
Review By: KptMkKamble
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 22.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: No one is using it so play is fast. Hole #8 off the sledhill will make even the worst player feel like a big gun.
Cons: Signage signage signs please.
Accept for the extremely well posted Hole 1 this place is barren.
Other Thoughts:
Plenty of garbage cans & I recommend using them As possible Tee markers as every Tee box has one.

Turn 90 degrees right & cross parking lot for Tee 4

Basket 5 is hard to see; throw straight Med Drive about 10 degrees left of center.
#8 will make small throwers feel as big as the Giants

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fancy shmancy.

1    3/27/2016   4/27/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 610  Reviewed: 213  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Warren Township Park is a 9 hole course set in a vast city park, with just about every other amenity you could ever think of available. Quite possibly the largest playground I've ever seen, multiple baseball diamonds, soccer fields, etc. Absolutely fantastic family spot.

Concrete tees, all in near perfect shape, and large. Very well done. Most holes have one tee, with 5 and 7 having multiples.

DGA baskets, all a bit worn, but caught well, and were mounted well. One pin position per hole. A couple fun pin placements done here, specifically 7 and 9.

Lots of mature hardwood trees are the main obstacles here. There's plenty of lanes, but there's also plenty of chances to get knocked down or kicked out.

The manicuring here was VERY nice. Lots of wood chips, well cut and landscaped everywhere, and plenty of garbage cans. Quite aesthetically pleasing.

What little bit of elevation there is here was used (namely the sledding hill). Also, there's a couple of holes where water could come into play, especially during the wet season, but always on hole 9.
Cons: There's not a lot to dislike here. It's not the toughest spot in the world, but it's pretty fun.

During the wetter seasons, there is some water collection around holes 1, 2, 3, and 7.

I have to imagine this place gets pretty busy on weekends with all the other activities onsite.

The walking paths that run through the course could be a potential safety hazard.

There were no tee signs up when we were there, which did cause some navigation problems between holes 4 and 5. I believe we saw posts, so maybe the signs are only out during the warmer months.
Other Thoughts: As far as city park 9 holers go, this is pretty nice. The golf isn't overly tough, but there's just about enough challenge for anybody to enjoy it at least once.

If you're close and trying to decide between the plethora of local 9's, choose this place. You'll be happy you did.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little community course

1    9/11/2015   9/14/2015
Review By: Badger45
Played: 129  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 19.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park has made good use of the land they have available to add this 9-hole course into an already very full park. The park itself shows a great city plan being played out, by having municipal buildings and park land all set aside on one large plot of land. We only stopped here, because we wanted some Giordanno's Pizza while we were in the area, and it was worth a play. The designer did a great job of using what he had available to him.

The course was a fun and quick play. There are well-maintained bathrooms and other sports fields all in this park. I'd be proud of it, if I lived in the community.

The teepads are in great condition and easy to find. The course is laid out in a logical enough manner that your not going to be looking for the next hole. The only one we didn't catch right away was 4, but that may be due to tree maintenance going on in the park.

The baskets are in great condition and the putting areas around them are well maintained.

Cons: Not many, really. Like I've been saying, the park usage and layout are done very well for the available space. Only a couple minor things come to mind:

- A couple holes play on walking paths or near other features. Use your brain and avoid potential conflicts, and this isn't an issue.

- Short teepads, which isn't a big deal, either, since you don't need a big runup on anything here.

- Woodchip fairways. This is good and bad. It's kind of rough to walk on a bunch of woodchips, but does keep undergrowth down a lot.
Other Thoughts: Holes 1-3 all play fairly similar, with a ~200' shot through some trees. It appears that they lanes have opened up considerably, due to ash tree removal happening recently.

Hole 4 - Around 300' shot. If the park had been busy, there's potential hold-ups, as this plays along a walking path. However, it's not blind, so if you pay attention, there should be no conflicts with other park users.

5-6 - play through more trees with some longer shots and challenges in picking the line you want to play.

7 - plays somewhat over the water, more next to the water. There's an alternate tee here, if that makes you nervous. Fun hole, though, but also plays along the walking path.

8 - Top of the world shot! I did not expect this in a community park. Well done! Tee is on top of the sledding hill and plays behind the volleyball courts. As long as games aren't going on, this is a good hole. I "doinked" the cage with my teeshot, so that was cool.

9- plays back to the water, so as long as you play short, your safe.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Course

2-4    8/7/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: kevinmeves
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 39.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Every hole presents a challenge, no "gimme" holes. Course uses a lot of trees as obstacles.
Cons: Walking paths run through course; pedestrians can interfere with play. Hole 8 can be dangerous for the volleyball players that you shoot over.
Other Thoughts: Nice course, can get busy on the weekends.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Signs? What signs?

2-4    7/27/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 88  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 15.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nicely groomed park. Very well kept up.
- Perfect concrete pads with excellent grip. Maybe a little small if anything but not small enough to affect my rating.
- Great baskets. Seemed well seasoned but still in very playable shape.
- Love number 8. This hole is a riot to play.
- Nine is a little harder that it first appears with the landing area behind the basket sloping to the water. Sort of makes the idea of an aggressive shot off the tee a little challenging.
- Variety in length. Some of these holes are fairly shot and some are a little long.
- Great place to learn disc golf and for the more experienced of us sharpen some skills.
- This is a well used park with a lot of other activities and a giant playground as well so bathrooms and porta johns are scattered throughout. Very nice plus after all the coffee I drank....
Cons: - Signs. Where are all the signs? There really is only one big ole blue sign indicating the first hole but then nothing after that. It appears all of them have been removed for some reason. Dang shame to because that is holding my score back from a 3.5 to a 2. No next tee signs or anything. With no next tee signs navigation is difficult especially from three to four where you have to cross the parking lot. I was fortunate enough to follow some locals from hole to hole.
- There are some safety issues here IMHO. Two of the holes have you teeing off over well used walking paths which are 4 and 7. So just be aware of where of where the walkers are on these holes. Also, some of these holes are a little too close to these walking paths that run parallel to the fairways. Good throws are not an issue but if there is a grip lock on a RHBH on 6 for example that could be an issue.
- It would be nice if there were more defined fairways here. Many of these holes are just tee off and pray that it doesn't hit a tree.
Other Thoughts: So if you are in the area for a trip to Six Flags or Gurnee Mills this is a great little course to hit up for a quick round. Not terribly challenging but it is certainly fun. The designers have done a good job fitting in nine holes in a limited anount of space without it feeling like it was just shoe-horned in there. Big arms will likely not find too many spots to just grip it and rip it other than maybe number five but considering the location that really isn't a con...ain't gonna lie, I would love to have a little course like this in my neighborhood. Get some signage here and this is quite the little nine holer.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Warren Township Park review

2-4    9/28/2012   4/5/2013
Review By: Burd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice, short course if you're in the Chicago area. Good tree obstacles in the course and one water hazard plus a couple fun downhill shots.
Cons: This is a short course and some shots not so challenging. I actually hit a basket from first drive on my first time playing this course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Warren twp park

1    7/28/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 116  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course with good signage. Variety in fairway in the woods. Hole variety. Hole 8 is fun and right off the topp of the sledding hill. Nice finishing hole. Fun deuce opportunities as well as some difficult 3s. Well maintained nice park

Cons: Tee pads. A lot of the land is not used. Can shoot -5 easily. Not very long. Hole 8 would be sweet if it was 400 ft
Other Thoughts: Nice beginner course. One of the better Chicagoland nines

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.