Pensacola, FL 
University of West Florida Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #8 (Taken 7/2017)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Good, Then Bad, Then Good Again

1    7/22/2017   9/29/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 200  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.234 Rating) A university course with a mix of great and awful holes.
- ELEVATION FOR FLORIDA - Compared to the 102 Florida course that I've played as of this review, UWF is well above average for Florida in elevation usage. Hole (1) right out of the gates is at least 30 feet up and the finishing hole is about 25 feet down. A good 3 or 4 more holes introduce as least a 15 feet grade difference. Still however, many parts of the country will consider this course flat.
- SHOT SHAPING - Several holes on the back offer some really challenging lines. The stretch of holes (13-17) is by far the best grouping in these terms. (15) is an up and down blind shot threw a fully wooded tunnel, twisting down and right at the end of the fairway.
- CHALLENGING - About average for what I've played thus far as the red tees on this course will very much challenge intermediate players to break par. So far, for this area, only Gator Links provides a greater challenge IMO. (Note, I haven't played any of the Blue Angel Park courses as of this review)
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Twelve holes have three sets of tees and it will very much allow beginners thru intermediate skill levels to enjoy a fair challenge.
- RAW BEAUTY - A touch above average. Several holes are duds out here but starting at about (13) there's a run a very appealing tee shots ending with a nice wooded down shot on (18)
- CHAINS - All the baskets are brand spanking new.
- PARKING - During the summer or weekends I'll suggest parking in lot 'Y'. Lot 'Y' is located right by tee (1) and basket (18).
Cons: In its young state, there are lots of issues with this course.
- SAFETY ISSUES - Several holes bring other university amenities, roads and paths into play. I'll mention (10) specifically with plays across a soccer field and has the basket adjacent to a stairway. In addition, lots of paths between buildings in play. This will make playing during school hours very difficult. Probably best played during winter or summer breaks, or on weekends.
- OVERGROWTH - Six or seven holes are pretty bad, especially (14-17). Coupled with uneven terrain on these holes making mowing difficult, you can also expect some tall grass in the fairways. The rest of the course is well cut with little overgrowth.
- BITTING FLYS - I must have showed up on the wrong day. Swarms of large biting flies made it unplayable for me on several of the woods holes. I would stand at the tee, disc in hand, swat the first couple, then give up and run down fairway. "S**t, I forgot my bag." This did not affect my score of the course, just don't show up in late July if that's when this awful bug swarms.
- NAVIGATION - Not good, but seriously what should I have really expected of a brand new course that just updated from 12 to 18 holes. It will get there. First, the tees need a post (with #) or something sticking out the ground as the tees were near impossible to find. Tees are marked only with a 6 inch high circular cast stone. Second, it will need more directional arrows from the basket to the next tee. I spotted a few at ground level, but why not some at eye level? Third, as funds become available, it will need course and hole signage. Baskets are thankfully numbered and correct.
- DISCONTINUITY - Major gaps along this layout. The walk between (5) and (6) is 850 feet and the pathway is far from straight. The walk between (11) and (12) is even longer at 1150 feet. Good luck, hopefully there will be an updated map soon.
- CHARACTER - Being a newer course, the course lacks most of the character items you'd find at an older established course. To start inadequate tees. Natural and uneven with roots in several instances. No community board, no trash cans, no alternate pin placements or practice basket. There are a couple of benches, and tees are generally shaded. Also, multiple tees at several holes if you can find them.
- TIME PLAY - Not a quick play as of July 2017, with the gaps in navigation and sizable hole separations as stated above, this will add at least a half hour or more in reconnaissance if you're playing without a guide. Add in searching for an errant throw or two, and it could be 3 to 3 1/2 hours for a four sum to complete a round here.
Other Thoughts: First thought, "Wow! what a great first hole." To only then see a slow deterioration in the quality of the holes. It finishes well in the end however. If your reading this a year from now, it's very likely this course will have improved a lot. The course has a bunch of stuff going well for it, but it still needs a lot of refinement before it will be sought after by the masses. Please PM me if this course gets upgraded tees or hole signage, either improvement alone would incline me to move it to a 2.5 rating.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times

1    5/28/2017   5/30/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 154  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 14.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- multiple tees
- bright numbered baskets
- plenty of elevation variations
- a healthy variety of distances throughout
- some benches
- recently upgraded to 18 holes
- ace runs
Cons:

- natural tees with unnumbered markers, no distances provided
- missing tees
- not playable when school is in session, too dangerous
- layout is hard to follow, segmented course that lacks directional signs between many holes
- no multiple pin placements
Other Thoughts:

UWF is a mixed bag of sorts. Let me first start off by saying I came here on Sunday of Memorial Day weekend. The campus was a ghost town, not even the visitor center was open. I parked my car at a soccer field parking lot behind and to the left if you're facing basket #1 from the first tee. This is probably a course best left unplayed on weekdays. There's far too much combining of campus pedestrians, buildings and parking lots for this place to be deemed safe if school is in session. Now that that is out of the way, I thought this was quite an interesting course.

Hole #1 starts at the bottom of a hill and has short concrete cylinders marking 3 different natural tee locations. Red tees are longest, then gold, and greens are the shortest. Sometimes green and red markings were missing as I made my way through the course, no colors were numbered and no distances were indicated. This, combined with an outdated map and poor directional signs between holes, made navigation tedious and time consuming. Navigating between #11 & #12 was where I almost gave up and left. Hole #12 is at least a quarter mile away from #11. After finishing hole #11, keep walking to the right, walk along the sidewalk of a major road (Campus Drive?) until you see a basket for #12 in the woods to your left. The rest should be fairly intuitive. The basket for hole #18 finishes near tee #1.

The course itself had a decent mix of distances, elevation, and fairways orientations. Tees were mostly configured in a linear pattern. The last 6 holes redeemed a forgettable safari feel of the middle holes. Luckily, all the baskets were easily visible from the tees and were numerically labeled. I couldn't find any tees for 9 through 11. It would appear that this part of the course is still in flux. Players visiting UWF DGC will defiantly need a lot of time to navigate between holes here. Bring lots of water.

Rating this course if difficult. There's a lot to like about UWF if you can overlook the obvious restrictions, hazards, and poor navigation. It starts off great, then turns into a turd, then got great again before finishing. Clearly, there's a lot more developement that needs to happen here. Players could easliy justify a rating anywhere from .5 to 3 depending on their grading criteria.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Busy busy busy

1    10/27/2016   10/29/2016
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 66  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - it's a course, of course!
- tees marked consistently
- fine variety of shots needed
- challenging holes, for a few reasons
Cons: - it's a college course, of course.
- no bathrooms for visitors that i know of
- no benches/trash cans/signage
- crammed into much of the area
- lots of traffic, be it vehicular or pedestrian.
Other Thoughts: UWF is a great introduction to the sport for students I suppose, but that being said, it's crammed into the campus in such a way that unless you have absolute control of your discs, one needs to be positive that there are no cars or pedestrians nearby for many holes. I'm sure that on certain days of the week/time of year it's a nice, quiet course ,however, on the random Thursday in October that I played it was BUSY.

PRINT THE MAP before you come. It proved critical to navigation.

There are a couple of holes out here that are sweet to look at, but even w/o the inherent hazards of cars/people, they would require surgical precision. My overall impression was that while there are a few holes here that are challenging as hell- maybe even fun- the course is crammed in here. This is especially apparent near Campus Dr. where an errant throw is doomed into potential traffic. On a few other holes the pedestrian traffic can be enough for a smoke break.

While challenging, I found UWF nerve-wracking, and I wouldn't call it a destination course while Gulf Breeze is relatively nearby. If you do come, make sure to find your way to the visitor center for a pass lest you get a ticket/towed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First time review from a newbie

1    1/24/2016   2/1/2016
Review By: ELAV8
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice and scenic course
Fun and easy for beginners
Few hazards and mostly clear fairways
Most holes had markers for 3 levels of difficulty
Cons: Some holes are close to the street
One hole (7 I think) was next a drainage ditch. May only be an issue after rain.
Other Thoughts: My first real attempt at a round of dg. My girlfriend, also a first timer, joined me to play. While the first hole or two seemed a bit of a challenge for newbies like us, we improved along the way and the nice weather and course made it feel like a fun hike around the campus while playing.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

2-4    1/27/2016   1/28/2016
Review By: skipace14
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good variety
Clean
Challenging but not too hard
Great course to learn the game in
Cons: Small concrete tee pads
Couple holes are a little close to the street
Other Thoughts: It's a short course with not too much length but a nice course to learn how to play or begin on. Still a fun course like most.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center