Austin, TX 
Hill Country Bible Church Share
Uploaded By: TejasKajun Hole #1 (Taken 1/2016)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
What Out For The Sink Hole

1    4/7/2018   6/8/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.620 Rating) A passable 9 holer that could be more fun with some tweaks and some capital investments.
- CHAINS - Nice DISCatchers that will make spotting them down fairway on the few heavily wooded holes that much easier.
- QUICK PLAY - A single who knows the layout could easily complete a full 9 in under 30 minutes, my group of two completed the round in 50 minutes with about 5 minutes of hole scouting and a 5 minute walk back to (1). Groups of 4 should probably finish in about 60 minutes.
- GROW THE SPORT - No doubt will this course aid in growing the sport by offering easy access to learn the game at a community church.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Average, but since I was looking for nice things to say I included it up here. A nice water element on (1). A few eye appealing wooded holes with (5) and (6) being my favorites. (8) and (9) were a lackluster finishing pair of holes being lightly wooded and with lots of manmade structures in view.

Cons: Not a fully developed course.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Although I didn't play well on a cold windy day, the course presents recreational level challenges at best. 5 shots are under 250 feet in length. Hole (5) being labeled a par 4 at 260 feet is ridicules. I nearly aced the hole and wound up 40 feet past. I clanked my eagle putt off the chastity belt obviously. Hole (7) is also listed as a par 4 but it's going to play as a par 3 to those at the intermediate level and above. Again, I missed a 40 foot eagle try. I figure that if the course is maintained, 850 rated recreational players should average the course par of 28.
- NAVIGATION - Not the easiest but doable with an extra 5 to 10 minutes. No course map on site and none online. Finding (1) took my playing partner and I took several minutes. Once on the course it was all about spotting the next tee sign. Generally, it was quickly spotted but a couple times it took a few minutes. Be cautious of the sink hole short left of (4). The tall grass in the un-mowed sink concealed it a bit.
- DISCONTINUITY - The course ends more than 1,000 feet away from the start of the course.
- TEE AREA - Poor, basically dirt with no defined line.
- CHARACTER - In addition to subpar tees and navigation, the amenities are limited to baskets and simple tee signs. No benches or trash cans at the tees. No multi tees, practice basket or alternate pin placements. There is a rules of the game posting at tee (1) and there's shelter nearby as well.
- MAINTENANCE - A previous reviewer commented on horribly maintained conditions, and although my round's conditions didn't reach their awful description, it still wasn't the greatest. The portion of the layout in the open fields had 8 inch high grass. There were a bunch of larger fallen tree limbs on the course that appeared to have been there for awhile. All stated, it wasn't epic bad on my appearance.
- UNIQUENESS - About average for 9 hole course but well below average in general. Water makes a fringe appearance on the first hole and there's and ok mix of lightly wooded plays to heavily wooded tunnel shots. The holes distances are definitely on the short side and vary from 150 to 370. Elevation is limited to ten feet or less any one hole.

Other Thoughts: The first of three bagger 9 holers I played on a cold windy day before Roy G. I played horrible as I was saving my arm for what I knew was going to a taxing adventure later in the day. Is this course worth checking out? Not really, except for the most extreme baggers. I'm sure there are lots of players in the Austin area that don't even know about this course. Gary, my playing partner never played it. I also lived here for 2 years and never once considered playing it. Although in hindsight I wish I would have, cause it's a nice quiet unassuming round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Don't sell your disc just lose it here.

2-4    4/29/2017   4/29/2017
Review By: 70265
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nothing good to say. This course is abysmal and shouldn't be called anything other than a course where if you step off an ATV at any time you'll get poison ivy and chiggers and poison ok and maybe some aids.
Cons: This course is way over grown and anywhere you look you'll be sure to lose your most brightly colored disc.
Other Thoughts: This place needs a forest fire to make it mildly better.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 fun short course

1    11/25/2016   12/3/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 322  Reviewed: 258  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good signage, baskets in good condition
-variety of shots and distances
-brings interesting natural obstacles into play: pond, creek, elevation, trees
-good for a quick round
-easy navigation
Cons: -some of the natural tees are not so great
-a few overgrown places where disc retrieval can be tricky
-rotting brush piles and clusters of random junk in and around the fairways of holes 6 & 7
-hole 9 is a long ways from the start of the course
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course in a family oriented park on the church property. The holes make good use of the terrain and natural obstacles that are available.

The pond and OB parking lot comes into play on hole 1. You have to throw over a small creek/marshy area on hole 2. Hole 3 goes uphill off the tee into an open clearing. Hole 4 is short but the ground drops off on either side of the basket with lots of tall brush. There is a downhill shot through trees on hole 5's tee shot. Play through a number of trees on hole 6 and over a tree-guarded creek on hole 7. Hole 8 throws across a road into a cluster of trees and hole 9 plays slightly uphill with mature trees framing a wide fairway.

The tee on hole 2 is backed right up to the parking lot. It is short and uneven. The tee on hole 5 is unclear and partially blocked by very tall brush.

This course is a great option for anyone that lives in the area. It is an easy course for experienced players but I enjoyed the variety of holes and good use of the land. Would play again but probably not often with the other good courses that are not too far away.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hill Country Bible Church

1    7/1/2016   7/1/2016
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 36  Reviewed: 21
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice amount of shot variation for a 9 hole course, none of the holes felt repetitive or boring. Tee signs were clear and visible, navigation was pretty easy. Fun course for people who are just learning the game as most of the holes are under 300ft. Attractive property, well kept, very clean and beautiful.
Cons: First thing I noticed was most of the tees are placed right next to the previous holes basket. This makes navigation easy, but if the course is at all crowded then you might be throwing right on top of other people. Look before you throw! Also, this course isn't very good for experienced players. All of the holes are easily birdieable with solid tee shots. Hole 4s green was also incredibly overgrown and looked like a breeding ground for poison ivy (didn't see any but I'm guessing there was some in there).
Other Thoughts: All in all a good course. Really good for intermediate players looking to improve approaching consistency, and excellent for beginners just learning how to play. Also, really love the location of this course as its in an area of Austin with a relatively small number of disc golf courses.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a quick round

1    5/21/2016   5/23/2016
Review By: krhowton
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- The course is easy to navigate.
- Shorter holes can serve as a confidence booster for any skill level of player.
- Opportunities to practice tight approach shots.
Cons:
- Some holes are a bit overgrown at the time I played, prompting search and rescue missions for even well thrown discs.
- The course does not dry out well after a rain and many sections are muddy, including some tee boxes where it was difficult to get good footing to throw.
- The end of the final hole is pretty far from the start of the course, leaving you with a bit of a hike back to your car.
Other Thoughts: The course is short and quick and good for a variety of skill levels. It won't take you long to play and can be a pretty enjoyable round when the conditions are right.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Simple to play, Easy to Navigate

2-4    1/31/2016   2/5/2016
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Community friendly course with lots of potential to teach new players the sport of disc golf
- Easy to navigate
- Short enough to bring the littlest of disc golfers on it for a family round
- Quiet location nestled on church property and near the subdivision area
Cons: - No tee boxes or firm ground
- some tee boxes will need adjusting (like Hole 2 close to parking lot)
Other Thoughts: Overall a simple and fun course for the local community and the church property. It will be able to introduce new players to the sport and not give them causes or concerns about how good they may play; it simply allows players to have fun.

Experienced players can practice their approach game and long putts here to get your finesse down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.