Dallas, TX 
Lawnview Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #1 (Taken 7/2017)
3 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 They tired their hardest to put in a good course!

1    7/9/2017   7/9/2017
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 164  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Each hole has a teesign just in case you need to know where your throwing to. Set on a nice open park with a creek that runs thru. The creek is a nice addition to make a couple of the holes more difficult. Course plays in a loop so you can park anywhere and pick up playing. Park is mostly clean of trash.
Cons: Not much difficulty. The big downfall for me was on bridge to get to Hole 6's basket. I had to back track past Hole 5 to be able to cross the creek. Not sure how often the Park and Rec mows there but it could use a little more attention. Many of the holes had standing water from the night before, so the course doesn't drain well.
Other Thoughts: Good course to practice big throws and field work. Would be a great course to practice driving with a putter. They did the best they could with what that had. They tired their hardest to put in a good course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/5/2016   10/5/2016
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 193  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The designers didn't have much to work with in this park. I like how the course has tee signs and natural tees for solid footing. The course is also one big loop so it is easy to pick up and play at any point. The designer makes good use of the creek that comes into play on holes 5 and 6. Hole 7 there are two rows of trees to try and add to the challenge.
Cons: This course is flat and open. When I played it was pretty windy and with the lack of challenge I wouldn't come back and play it. The parking lot is on the opposite side of the park so I parked in the neighborhood and started on hole 4. The baskets are old and only single chained.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go to far out of my way to play this place. If you want to do a "field session' this is the course for you.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not much to work with

1    2/16/2016   2/16/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 993  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are tee signs and baskets

Some of the holes are designed quite well.

Some of the holes are wide open, but are the longest holes on the course.
Cons: No distance on the tee signs.

This course will have very muddy spots most of the year. Do not try to play after a rain.

Other Thoughts: The course is in a flood plain, it is very flat. The wind was ripping today making for added difficulty.

For me, there were enough good holes to excuse the long open holes. The holes meander along a ditch with very large trees sprinkled around.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/11/2016   2/12/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -signs and baskets for each hole
-natural tees are level
-trees, ponds, and seasonal water are used well on several holes
-layout makes an easy to follow loop that avoids the playground, soccer fields, etc.
-bridge for crossing the creek on hole 6
Cons: -signs only have the hole number, no distances or map
-most of the holes are pretty wide open (1, 2, 5, 8, 9), the most trees are on holes 3 & 4
Other Thoughts: Lawnview Park has a simple 9 hole layout with mostly longer holes to compensate for the relative lack of obstacles. The available clusters of trees are used well: on the green of hole 1, on the fairways of holes 3 & 4, off the tee on hole 6. There is a line of trees on hole 7 which are still pretty young and small but will one day be a good obstacle.

A small creek runs along the south border of the park and lines the right side of hole 7 (beyond the creek safe or OB?). This creek runs into a small pond near the basket for hole 6. You don't want to throw deep or especially deep right on that hole. Another creek extends north from that pond and you have to cross this creek off the tee on hole 6. It then connects to another small pond that separates the fairways of holes 2 and 5. The pond is not in play so much on hole 2 but definitely in play along the left side of hole 5, the longest on the course where your big drive could definitely fade out. Finally, another creek extends out of that pond and separates fairways 3 and 4. This creek as well as some of the other water connecting the two ponds looks seasonal and is probably dried up in the summer.

The patches of trees and water in play definitely spice up what is otherwise a pretty boring open course. It's a good option for catching a quick round if you're in Dallas but not a place where you would go out of your way to play.

This park is directly across the street from Lawnview Station on the DART green line. That makes it a great option for those without a car using public transit, along with the new course at Founder's Park in Oak Cliff, which is on a stop for the Dallas Streetcar.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.