Ocala, FL 
Sawmill DGC Share
Uploaded By: mjudy Hole #2 (Taken 12/2016)
4 / 471ft.   4 / 643ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Unpolished Gem

1    7/14/2017   9/14/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 201  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.342 Rating) As Sawmill develops, it will start to challenge Greenway as the best course in the area.
- CHALLENGING - The two sets of tees will offer a good challenge to a wide swath of skill levels. The back tees are great for advanced players and the front tees are great for rec and intermediate level players. Risk reward lines are present on several holes. Not as much as the shot shaping at Ocala Greenway, but close. A few holes will also require a nice bomb down the fairway. I want to say that I used every disc in my bag for this one.
- UNIQUENESS - Overall the hole type variety is a bit above average. Several nice tunnel plays with some movement. Two hole have a low bridge (downed tree) optional mando (8 and 11). Holes bend in both directional in what seemed to me to be an equal amount. In addition there are a couple double bender lines. There's an improv island hole on (13), which will tick you off when you land within the ropes only to see it trickle out and draw a penalty. My favorite hole personally was hole (2), which had a nice sized limestone outcrop sitting in the middle of the fairway. As for missing items, no elevation, no water and no par 5.
- CHARACTER - Several disc golf extras already for its young age. Benches already at a majority of the holes. Adequate signage and numerous directional cues along the layout. There are multiple tees and basket locations. There is a picnic table nearby after finishing up your round as well. The next step for sawmill will be pouring concrete tees
- NAVIGATION - Surprisingly really good. As stated above, directional arrows all over the place between holes. Holes signage indicates next tee direction and baskets for other holes are generally not in view from tee. If I could add one thing, I'd professionally update the signage beyond black and white letter sized paper sheets and add a course map.
- CHILL AREAS - They are everywhere. A fully secluded layout with numerous benches along the layout. I kind of wish I was in a group and could have relaxed at a few tees on this one.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Above average but not blow me away looks. Mostly a fully wooded layout with several well done fairway designs. The lack of water and elevation features very much impacted my personal beauty rating for Sawmill. I scored it a 3.5 out of 5.
Cons: No issues of substance, Sawmill is a well done course.
- FORGIVENESS - Not as demanding as nearby Ocala Greenway but close. Several tight but fair lanes to the basket. Ricochets in the wrong direction will be quite punishing in many instances. I had a couple occurrences where my second throw had no angle anywhere near the basket. Having no water in play helps a bit but leaving a disc behind is still a real possibility due to the overgrowth.
- TEES - Less than ideal carpet tees. That stated, for what they are currently, among the most level and intact set of carpet tees I've ever played on. So not a total loss.
- ELEVATION - The least amount of elevation changes of the three courses in the Ocala area. I think only one hole approaches 10 feet in elevation change.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Not very kind for beginners. I could also see newer recreational players also not liking this course as well if they don't like heavy to moderately wooded technical courses. Beginners are best served to stick with the Preserve on the north side of town.
- TIME PLAY - Even though I was the only sole throwing upon arrival, Sawmill still took me over an hour to play. Plus I ran between many throws. Figure a group of four skilled players will spend over 2 1/2 hours to complete this one.
- PARKING - Sandy and pitted everywhere. They really don't get much worse. This stated, it makes just about no impact on my rating for a course, but I wouldn't bring a low riding car out here.
Other Thoughts: Has the potential to climb to its current rating, but I feel its current rating number is a bit generous for its young state. I currently have Sawmill ranked at number 20 out of my 101 played Florida courses as of this review. (Note I have Ocala Greenway at 16th) Concrete tees would be big boost to Sawmill's rating.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sawmill

1    7/29/2017   7/29/2017
Review By: Kattrax
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging course. Well laid out fairways. And very easy to navigate
Cons: Just like anywhere in Florida bugs can be a problem not not enuff to make in unenjouyable
Other Thoughts: Was completly enjoyable day of Disc golf with my son and we look forward to next week

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

New course that plays like an established one

2-4    3/5/2017   3/8/2017
Review By: Kill Face
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out fairways,
-Great use of property
-Lots of shade
-20 holes with long pads on most
-The Sawmill DGC is dedicated to updating and improving the course with minimal man power and are putting in a tremendous amount of time and energy to adding/improving the course hats
-Only about 15 min away from another great course (Greenway)
-Good distinction between the short and long pads although there are not long pads on every hole.
Cons: -Tee pads are carpet but usable,
-Some tee pad locations may have you scratching your head,
-Its basically the Ocala National Forest so tics and other critters are present,
-No bathrooms or water on site but stores are near by just not within walking distance
-Some of the holes utilize "dry ponds" which are ponds that mainly stay dry but in the event of heavy rain they handle the overflow from other ponds in the area which means navigating some of the holes can be tricky after nasty rain events. The Sawmill DGC is working on getting some pedestrian bridges put in to accommodate for when we get into the rainy season in Florida.

Other Thoughts: Lemme just say that this course is more like a 3.85 but I rounded down to 3.5 because I dont want to be misleading in any way.

This a great course that you should check out if your within an hour or so of Ocala. It requires the use of most shots in your bag and can punish you for errant drives or ups but not to point of it feeling unfair. There are not too many tee shots where you can rip it 450' which is fine by me as I max out at about 350'. There are certainly some long holes but you might not want to risk a crush from the tee for fear of having a bad placement for an upshot. Playing a round from the shorts and a round from the longs makes for a fun and interesting day of golf if you decide to play all day at Sawmill. The course doesnt feel redundant so you kind of just wiz through it and ask for more once youve completed the round. I look forward to seeing how this course will continue to grow in the future.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The makings of an amazing course

5+    1/10/2017   1/11/2017
Review By: kevindonn1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Diversity!
This course forces/allows you to use every shot in the bag. With holes that are long, short, tight, open, technical and bombers! The course flows nicely in and out of pine forest, open fields and back into giant shade tree wooded areas. Each hole has its own personality and challenge. And each hole gives you an opportunity to play smart or to go for the bird! Multiple basket locations allow the holes to come to new life when they are switched out.
Cons: This is a new course and has been in development for just a couple of years. The course had only 11 holes until recently when the course was opened up using the vast wooded property in the park to make it a solid 20 holes. Those new holes are amazing but they are still being cleared and worked on. It won't be long until this becomes one of the absolute best courses in Central Florida!
The course will be upgrading from the basic carpet tee pads that are there now, which will improve things a lot. As more and more people are hearing about this course and coming out to play it, the underbrush that is native to the park is slowly getting cleared out, which is good because there are tons of vines and prickers off the fairways that make poor shots a bit sketchy to get to at times. This should be a non-issue as time passes. At this point, there is no bathroom or running water at the park, but I believe there are fundraisers and county parks and rec plans to get those in place in the future.
Other Thoughts: The first hole which is located right near the large parking lot is a nice par 3 that can give you a nice start to the round. There is a practice basket just off to the left of hole one for warm ups.
Hole 2 is an awesome par 4 challenge. Tight and long with your first and second shots requiring clean and accurate throws. Long arms can get you close for a bird, but the average player will be more than happy with a par on this one.
Hole 3 gives forehand throwers an advantage on a really cool dogleg right that makes its way into the pine forest. Holes 4 and 5 challenge your line selection through the pines for easy birdies or painful bogeys depending on your shot selection. Hole 6 opens things up again with a nice healthy par 4 that rewards the big arms. 7 takes us back to one of the original par 4s on the course. This hole is beautiful off the tee pad, through the woods with several options on where you need to land for your second shot to give yourself a look at birdie from across a large retention area, up to a protected basket. Hole 8 is another beautiful short par 3 with your tee shot going under a a scenic fallen tree that crosses the fairway creating a unique challenge. Hole 9 takes us back to what was originally the first hole with two pin locations that offer different options for a nice scoring hole. Hole 10 is an open fairway with a few large trees to keep you honest. The fairway doglegs to the left giving a healthy drive a chance at another good score. Hole 11 is another beautiful use of this parks scenic natural layout. Another large fallen oak 100 feet in front of the tee pad forces player to decide wisely on their shot selection. A well placed bomb off to the right will sail nicely back around the trees and onto the fairway where your have a good look at the basket, or you can brave the tighter left line and rip one straight toward the pin for a shorter, but tighter opportunity at the basket. Hole 12 is short, but don't let that fool you! Those harmless looking Magnolia trees force you to make a smart decision and a well placed shot to a basket that is snuggled in nicely in the back right corner of this hole. Hole 13 looks like a piece of cake with an unimpeded straight shot across a water retention pond that is almost always dry for an easy birdie. But beware! This hole plays as an island green with OB all around the green. Shots that don't land on the green are considered in the hazard. You play from that spot but with a one stroke penalty, so you better hit that green! The winds tend to swirl on this open field as well which adds a nice challenge as the weather plays a factor on this hole. 14 takes us back over the retention area to a basket that is tucked into the woods on the left. A healthy drive that is long enough can give a nice look at the basket. But if you end up left, look out. And if there has been rain, shots that go right over the retention area can be wet, so play smart! Those retention areas are pumped out so even when if there has been a ton of rain the retention areas drain out withing a day or so. Hole 15 is a challenging par 4 with 2 pin locations, both requiring a healthy tee shot and rewarding you for smart shot placement on your up shots. Hole 16 tucks us back into the woods for a tight drive to one of three basket locations that offer different challenges while still offering opportunities to score. Hole 17 plays tight though a wooded fairway that opens up to a dogleg left. The first basket location plays as a par 3 and a smart tee shot will get you in good scoring position. The longer basket position plays as a par 4 and requires two clean shots for any chance at birdie with the basket being protected by two large palms that act as sentries in front of the basket. Hole 18 tee pad stands in the shadow of a large water tower behind the tee pad that seems to lurk over your shoulder as you tee off down a fairway that seems clear enough. But beware again, those trees on either side of the fairway like to gobble up your shots if you don't hit your lines. Hole 19 forces players out of a tight shoot into an open field with two pin locations. Each is reachable with a decent arm and this hole rewards players who make it out of the tight fairway. And last is hole 20 which is another deceivingly short hole. But where is the basket? This hole forces players to find lines either left or right, out and around thick woods that stand in front of the basket that is also hidden behind a mound of large lime rock. This hole produces plenty of birdies for accurate shots and plenty of echoing sounds of discs smashing into the trees that work real hard to protect this basket.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Start

1    12/10/2016   12/10/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 150  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 42.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There were only 11 holes here when I played this course (up to 20 now) and I had already liked it quite well then. I can't wait to get back and play it again and update this review.

Some minor elevation changes add to the scenic beauty of the course. A good start to something that could be very nice in the future. Easy navigation with some nice tee and next tee signs.
Cons: The carpet tees are starting to show their age with several being lumpy, or uneven, or being reclaimed by nature. Concrete tees would be a very welcome addition.

There are a few long walks between a few holes, but they are clearly marked.

The course is new and not quite finished yet. Not too many amenities, but I appreciate the rustic nature of the course as it is now.
Other Thoughts: A fun, rustic, isolated, wooded, and dedicated course. Ocala has it going on!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ocala is great for disc golf!

1    11/20/2016   11/22/2016
Review By: xGIRTHx
Played: 28  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the courses in Ocala and this one is no exception. We drove to Ocala from the coast with a plan of playing this course followed by Greenway. Like greenway, I liked this course from the first hole. This course is every bit as scenic and dare I say professional feeling. It has minor elevation and a great variety in the shots. The routes aren't impossibly narrow and IMO walks the line perfectly for being equally rewarding and punishing which isn't an easy achievement in course design. On top of that, its only 10-15 minutes from Greenway which makes for a great day of disc golf.
Cons: As of right now its only 11 holes and doesn't have any facilities. I'm struggling to find any other complaints because there really aren't any. Due to a rookie mistake, hole number 2 will be the final resting place for a friend's first disc unless it blows down. If you close your eyes you can hear the faint choruses from Dancing in the Dark and Born to Run as the Boss watches over you.
Other Thoughts: Upon arrival to the parking area, you feel like you are about to play somewhere special and very few courses have given me that feeling from the get go. The use of the land is perfect and its isolation from the roads makes for a peaceful and tranquil round. Toward the end of the course you will tee off next to the Silver Springs water tower which is cool. There is also an abandoned building that is artfully decorated by some of Ocala's residents. If you're an 80's kid you'll appreciate what became known as the "Stussy S" painted on the building. All kidding aside I will give this course another half star once completed and I wouldn't hesitate to drive an hour to play this course again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Ocala Addition

1    11/20/2016   11/22/2016
Review By: JLethal2
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great little gem conveniently located right off State Rd 40 (Coming from the East), the parking area was nice and located close to hole 1. The Course itself in terms of design is nearly perfect, it really utilized the land well and makes for some very fun throwing. Surprising changes in elevation (if only minor) make for a nice change of scenery in a FL course. I thought the signage and presentation of each hole was great, there was a great sense of fluidity in the layout. I like the fact also that this course is not in any type of public park where you sometimes get unwanted moving targets (People) to avoid, this land is devoted to the Disc Golf course. I even liked the little benches installed at each tee, nice touch there.
Cons: I don't have many gripes about this course at all aside from the fact it is not more than just 11 holes. I know it is a work in progress and more are coming which will definately improve my overall rating of the course. I would like to see permanent tee pads eventually...but carpet pads are better than just sticking flags in the ground like some I've been to. There were no restrooms on site which wasn't an issue for us but could be for others (even a port o let would suffice) To no fault of the course, I lost the first disc I ever purchased nearly 6 years ago (Pro Boss) on hole 2..It now lays in eternal bliss 50 ft up in a tree overlooking the course. RIP Bruce
Other Thoughts: I love this course and can't wait until it becomes the 18-20 holes it is intended to be. We drove an hour from Daytona to play it and it would certainly be one we will frequent once the full construction is complete but for being so new...it is a beautiful, fun & challenging course to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cool Layout

1    4/16/2016   4/25/2016
Review By: Fletch50
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course, I really liked the layout and how it flowed. The tee signs were temporary but nice enough and instructed you on the direction. Sometimes it was hard to know which pin placement was used. On most holes you could figure it out but on a couple it was tough for a first timer. If the retention ponds would have been wet then the course would be super hard, with them dry, playing and navigating was much easier. I enjoyed the walk thru the woods to the next hole - it was easily worth the 2hr drive to play. The tree on #4 was fun to play around and added even more character to the course.
Cons: Carpet tee pads are not bad, properly sized - once permanent concrete is put in then +1/2
A few more holes would be great, but with multiple pin placements and 2 tee pads on all holes the current layout was tons of fun.
Other Thoughts: I tossed my favorite Orange Nate Doss 2X Surge about 50' up in a tree and couldn't get it out on hole #2, right side of the fairway. So sad... :(

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

New expanded course in Ocala

5+    1/1/2017   2/23/2016
Review By: Flicker55
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2017
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 10-15 minutes to Greenway,close to bars and restaurants and has expanded to 20 baskets.
Cons: When rains canals can fill with water and will need to walk around water which can add a lot more walking. Bridges will be put in eventually. Wooded areas full on thorny vines. Getting knocked down now that course is being used.
Other Thoughts: Will need a club house with toilets cold, water fountain and bar and restaurant.:) Great course with good signage. If you played here with the original 11 holes you need to try it out with 20. It was amazing what these guys have done in such a short time. This course will only improve with time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with room to improve

5+    2/18/2016   2/20/2016
Review By: mjudy
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *course flow- obvious flow mostly with "next tee" signs on nearly every hole, easy to navigate.
*good mixture of open and woods- demanding drives use mostly natural fairways in and out of trees
*scenic- nice views and informational signs tell you about the history of the property
*challenge/reward- drives down the fairway are rewarded and hitting trees is punished
*par 4s/long holes- play golf
*Informative signage
Cons: *carpet pads
*temp signs
*no bathrooms
*small parking lot
*thorns- just off the fairway many holes have tall rough and/or thorns
*retention area may flood during storms
Other Thoughts: New course with great potential. Adds something new to the area with par 4s and a great mix of shots. Parking lot to be expanded soon and plans to add 8-10 more holes and bridges to cross the areas that flood. Fun course that can be played in about an hour.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.