Destin, FL 
Morgan Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #6 (Taken 10/2016)
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Interesting & unique

2-4    7/17/2016   8/19/2017
Review By: Buckwheat
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of birdie opportunities on the front side, great complex.
Cons: Can't play the back side if soccer or baseball games are being played. Slightly difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Play on weekday mornings, the complex is empty.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Morgan Sports Complex

1    7/22/2017   8/13/2017
Review By: rossthebossss
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -short holes/ace runs
-perfect for beginners (my girlfriend's 4-5 time out and she loved the shorter course)
-clean
-sand dune holes
-the only disc golfers out there
-bathrooms on sight
-easy to navigate once you find the first hole
Cons: -no dogs allowed
-if there is games/events going on it would shut down half of the holes
-some holes go right next to parking lot
Other Thoughts: It was a really nice and clean course but I think it all depends on when you go. If the baseball/soccer fields are full of games you won't be disc golfing much.

Go early & on week days and enjoy this easier course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tricked Twice, Shame On Me :(

2-4    6/26/2017   6/26/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 197  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 15.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:

- free to play, lots of free parking
- a mix of 18 concrete and asphalt pads
- quality, brightly colored baskets
- bathrooms on location
- ace runs galore
- long bomber holes
- a fair balance of RHBH & LHBH fairways
- numbered tee signs with distances, numbered baskets
- park grounds are immaculately maintained
Cons:

- no shade on course
- course is subject to partial or complete shutdown, other sports have priority
- grounds keepers are slow to update the course open/closed signs. I have been here 3 times, twice the course sign said closed when it it was actually open.
- narrow tees, some are shared with a asphalt walking path
- many fairways border baseball fields, high pedestrian traffic areas
- not playable during peak park hours, barely playable during non peak hours
- boring layout
- hard to follow, needs navigational signs between holes
- located off a busy roadway, traffic to course can be horrendous
Other Thoughts:

The first time I came here was on a weekend evening. I chose to skip a majority of the holes after #7 because of the various events going on in the park. Still, I walked the course to get a feel for the navigation. I thought if I came here on a weekday morning that the course would be more playable....wrong. Almost every hole after # 7, which are the holes that play around the ball fields, had something obstructing the basket. I had trucks parked next to baskets, lawn mowers driving everywhere, pedestrians walking down paths that I shared tees with, and the park staff even decided to store soccer nets in one of the fairways. The cherry on top was a mother with two kids picnicking halfway down fairway 18, which by the way uses a playground as a backstop. This course is pure Kafka. I'll never willingly come back to this course again. There's too much that can go wrong here and not enough right with it brave the horrendous traffic of Destin.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Worst Course I've Ever Played

1    6/10/2017   6/10/2017
Review By: RayRay
Played: 122  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - It has baskets so you could practice putting or do some safari
- If you have real little kids that might get overwhelmed by a normal course
Cons: The course has 3-4 holes over 300 and very few obstacles. The first 4 holes on the dunes require a jump putt from the tee. With any traffic from baseball or soccer, it will be unplayable. This course was clearly designed by someone that knew very little about the game.
Other Thoughts: Do not play this course. Drive north a little bit and play Boggy Bayou. "Worst course I've ever played" seems hyperbolic but its true. The rating is much too high and I got tricked. Don't get tricked.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

DUNE

1    10/23/2016   11/2/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2017
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (2.144 Rating) RE-EVALUATED - Perhaps the intro to a new sport, Beach disc golf.
- DUNE HOLES - As of this revision I've played 119 courses. None have played over such beautiful white sand dunes except this course. Holes (1), (2), (3) and (4), although very short, were definitely the ace run treat for this course. It's a good thing they came first too, as walking on sand is a major energy drainer.
- TEE PADS - They are all concrete or asphalt, with the asphalt paths being infinitely long. A touch above average in my opinion.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be mowed weekly. the park was very clean despite lack of garbage cans along the layout. Only a few areas had significant overgrowth.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is low with a few exceptions. Throwing long on (6) and over fence into a wet retention area and if the dry retention pond on (16) is full. In addition, due to the lack of trees, errant shots are not further punished
- SHELTER - There is a great shelter with picnic tables located right after (18). It's perfect for the end of round gathering point and perfect for the summer pop-up thunderstorm. Plus there are several other structures throughout for quick weather protection.
- QUICK PLAY - A single can easily complete a full 18 in under 45 minutes.
- ACEABILITY - Numerous holes are aceable, You will have great opportunities on holes (1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9 and10)
Cons: - NAVIGATION - With the lack of a course map on site, navigation can be tricky. For this reason I have added a crude course map to the DGCR links for this course. The trek from (7) to (8) is especially confusing. It's basically located at home plate from the adjacent baseball fence at basket (7).
- DUEL USE HAZARD - The park is home to more than disc golf. There are soccer and baseball fields that the course winds threw. Hole (8) needs to be removed as it splits the concourse of two baseball fields and aims over a concession building. In addition, several other holes have the potential to put others in harm's way of an errant disc.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves in terms variety are below average. Yes the dunes are unique, but after that, most shots are open with a spattering of trees. Hole (11) and (16) are somewhat interesting plays along the baseball field's homerun fence. It's a risk reward shot to cut the angle. However it can't be used during baseball games.
- SPACING - Below average, Several of the fairways feel partially shared. Disc will likely end in other fairways on several holes.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. No more than 15 feet throughout the entire course with most it being at the dune holes.
- DIFFICULTY - Not much of a challenge to advanced or even intermediate players as they should have no problem breaking par and being several shots down . Recreation players and vacationers may be delighted however as it can be a feel good round. It's a great opportunity for those players to finish under par.
- WIND - Due to the lack of trees wind will likely be a major issue. 20 mph gusts during my visit was not desirable.
Other Thoughts: A adequate course for those living within 5 miles. A good beginner course due to the low amount of hazards, overgrowth and very short length. Probably worth a look see if you've already hit a majority of the area courses or if you're like me and feel the need to play every course once. Not recommended to out of region players looking to play one or two area courses. In that scenario, consider these area courses instead, Anderson Pond in Niceville (5300 ft), Ferry in Fort Walton (4500 ft) or ChainDragon in Freeport (5200 ft). If you are strictly looking for longer courses, nearby Boggy Bayou is the longest at (5700 ft).

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Much Needed New Course

1    7/24/2016   7/28/2016
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 233  Reviewed: 173  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I get out to Fort Walton/Destin area once a year for vacation. I was pleased to see that this course had been installed in an area that lacked courses that were easy to access from the condos/beaches.

The first four holes were played on sand dunes, they were not long holes, but they were a few of the more unique holes I have played because they were played on sand.

I liked the mixture of longer holes and shorter holes. My one big issue with nearby Ferry Park is the lack of longer holes. This course had a few longer holes that made getting a driver out necessary.

There is a little bit of risk/reward here. On a few holes, the optimal shot is to throw over the baseball fields, you need to know how much to bite off to get to the basket or risk going OB.

The course has decent concrete tees, descriptive tee signs and brand new DisCatchers. I see in a previous review that this was done as an Eagle Scout project, so kudos to that individual for getting all of the necessary things to make a good course. They layout was good and it was easy to find the next hole from the previous basket.
Cons: The course would be nearly unplayable in the event of baseball or soccer games taking up the park. The majority of the holes wind through the many baseball and soccer fields on the property.

Although this course is longer than Ferry Park, I still found it to not have the same fun factor as Ferry Park. The holes seemed monotonous and there were very few obstacles to contend with.
Other Thoughts: Morgan Sports Complex is a decent course that I would play again. I still prefer Ferry Park over this course, but this has different holes to offer than Ferry. Like mentioned before, I am pleased to see another course in the area, and this was designed and done well for what they had to work with. I will be back next time I am in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Open flat course

1    3/7/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee box numbers are marked nicely. Variation of distances is nice. Baskets are in good shape. The dunes holes are neat but short.
Cons: All of the holes are very open, the only obstacles, other than the dunes holes, are soccer goals, baseball field fences, shelters, walkers/joggers and the greenskeeper. Not a very appealing course. Only the hole numbers were shown on the tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: It was rather windy when I was there, which seemed to be the most challenging aspect of all. Watch out for players returning from the #2 basket (to get to #3 tee) when teeing off on hole #2.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short dunes to longer drives

5+    2/23/2016   2/23/2016
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 36  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 9.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Starts with short holes in the dunes to loosen arms and get birdies. First long hole not until #8 and then has various long holes that become more challenging on the back nine. You can try various discs and approaches to get to each hole. 11 and 16 makes you think and can be rewarding or bite you really hard with bad throws.
Cons: Many holes are near softball/soccer fields and will not be playable when those functions are going on. Course might have to be moved around to make it more functional. Landing in bushes/thorns/thistles possible early and flying into sports fields on later holes. Wind will be a monster on early holes. Parked cars can be a problem on 9.
Other Thoughts: Scout earned his badge making this course and I thank him for his hard work. It is a work in progress. It is nice to have more options to play more courses in this area. Out of bounds can b a huge factor on this course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.