Lancaster, PA 
Herr Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: kurtdemarra Hole #14 (Taken 3/2016)
3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fine addition to the Lancaster scene

1    5/27/2017   5/29/2017
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 72  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: New 18 hole venue in a beautiful community park adjacent to a middle school. The grounds are plush and well-groomed. There is a very nice welcome board complete with lost disc box and a supply of scorecards at hole 1. Oversized cement tee pads are at every hole. There are good quality signs with professional graphics featuring hole #, par, distance and proposed flight path. Homemade baskets work well and have a deep catch. Small "next tee" arrows at most holes make navigation easy for first timers. Some good variety- woods, open holes and elevation are all featured here. The OB spots- the walking path and a couple of protected growth areas- are fair. The uphill 611 ft. shot on 11 and downhill hyzer to the basket on 14 stood out.
Cons: Parts of the course feel repetitive (holes 7-9 feature similar shots up and back between rows of pine trees, and going up, down, up and back down the hill on 11-14 can get tedious. Currently only 1 tee and basket position per hole. Many tees are within close proximity to one another, which could be a noise factor during heavy play. Benches and a practice basket would be a benefit. Didn't see any bathrooms, unless the Middle School is open for you. As this is a multi-use park, there is the possibility of walkers and other park patrons halting play on numerous holes.
Other Thoughts: Herr Park is the latest effort to come out of the Lancaster Area. While it does not have the overall difficulty of a Roland nor any real signature holes, it is a fun venue with some challenge to it. The grounds are immaculate and it is located in a nice neighborhood. There is a good view of the town below when standing by hole 12 basket/hole 13 tee. And the overall layout was well-conceived- Kudos to Bill, Kurt and the boys.

The one glaring beef I have with Herr Park is Hole 5, which I feel is unfair in its current state. Your reward for executing a great drive to avoid OB left AND right is to face a wall of pine trees with a small window to try and thread. And bombing a tomahawk or huge hyzer risks disc loss in the pine trees. The hole requires as much luck as skill- never a good thing.

That said, Herr Park is an enjoyable playing experience and will only get better. All skill levels will like it here, as much of the course is forgiving and of reasonable length. Worth the trip.

Great Course

5+    5/19/2017   5/19/2017
Review By: Barben07
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent course layout, well kept park, tee-pads and nicely marked course. Course offers shots of every variety, great course for players of every skill level. Newly added lost disc box makes this course a cant miss for central PA disc golf.
Cons: N/A

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

My Type of Course

1    6/18/2016   6/18/2016
Review By: GMarlin13
Played: 101  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout of this course was done perfectly, kudos to the people who designed it!! I really enjoyed the variety of holes, open, wooded, tunnel shots, shorter technical lines, open bombers, this course has them all!
Navigation was a breeze, tee signs clearly show where the basket and next tee are.
The park was freshly mowed and there isn't too much overgrowth off the fairways, so errant throws didn't turn into lost discs.
Cons: No tee pads or benches at any holes were the only cons I have. I would have to imagine that over time, this will change.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I had a great round today! It was about 85, sunny and hot, but almost every tee was either in, or very close to some shade. We were able to catch our breath when needed and cool off.
I was rly happy to see another course added to the Lancaster area. It has all the attributes I look for in a course. I'm already looking forward to my next trip to Lancaster to see the improvements and progress made here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Mixed Bag

1    6/1/2016   6/2/2016
Review By: Crooow
Played: 192  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 30.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a secluded beautiful park. There is a waking path but otherwise the disc golf is separate from other park activities. Baskets catch well. Navigation was very easy (I didn't have a map); most holes had next tees signs after them; most (if not all) tee signs had an arrow on them to direct you towards the next tee. A variety of shots (open/wooded; short/long) so you shouldn't be bored. Score cards at beginning of course with distances. Port-a-potty on path from parking lot to first tee.
Cons: No tee pads. One tee position; one basket position. A few of the holes seemed to be long for its own sake which I found to be tedious (see below). No amenities. Scorecards did not have course map (only important on first time).
Other Thoughts: I played in early morning right after (and a little during which) the course had been mowed. So the dewy grass cutting s got all over my discs (not the course's fault). Holes 1 and 2 are wide open. Then the fun begins. Hole 3 is a tunnel shot but wide enough to be fair. Holes 4 and 5 are longer with a few trees. Then 6 through 9 are in the woods - very nice evergreen forest where you have to hit your lines to score decently. Hole 10 is mostly open and not very interesting. Then comes 11 which is long and open and uphill (over 600 feet) to a protected basket; I didn't like it - just long for long's sake. Then you get a wide open long downhill (boring) which is an easy 3. Then another long uphill wide open hole (even more boring). Hole 14 skirts the edge of the woods (not a big improvement). Then back to fun for 15 and 16; 16 is very short but you have to shape the shot (still an easy 2 for most people). Hole 17 starts in the woods but then goes into the wide open after a short hard right dogleg - I didn't think much of it. Hole 18 is a long wide open shot where there are a few trees near the basket (still easy).
Overall not bad and I would/will play it again if in the area but mostly for the wooded shots. Plant a few trees on the wide open ones and it will be much better. Of course, tee pads will also help.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A course with all the shots

2-4    4/15/2016   5/5/2016
Review By: pwolfinger
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a beautiful park adjacent to school grounds. The park is secluded and relatively peaceful with a walking path around most of the holes.
This course has just about all the shots. You'll see a lot of technical holes with tight lines. There are a few bombers, and holes that require creativity with technical approaches. I really enjoy the layout and mix of shots. The pine trees offer challenge if you don't hold your line. You'll see some flat holes at the start and finish, but in the middle of the round a nice mix of uphill and downhill shots. Some holes are wide open and blind baskets, with tight green entries.
Cons: Some holes are very muddy, but this is likely to clear up over time, as the course is relatively new.
The course has a frequently traveled walking path around it, which can be problematic with pedestrians.
Parking isn't clear, but you'll want to be in the school lot and probably not the township parking area.
There is a slight walk to and from the lot as well as from 6 to 7, and back also tracking from 17 to 18. No big deal though.
I've come through the chains on a few baskets; baskets don't appear to be fully chained like a DISCatcher.
Other Thoughts: Newest course in Lancaster county, designed by locals of the LAFS club. The club has designed some staples in the county, and this course will likely enter into the mix for regular play. Currently, league tag nights are first Wednesday of the month. I'm excited to see how it matures with time.

Random thought: if you're like me with limited time or liking to play over lunch, the hole layout does offer the ability to modify a round to play 9. Tee boxes 2, 4, 11, and 13 are relatively close together.

Definitely a course to hit up if you're traveling through, in addition to Buchmiller, Ship Rock, and Akron.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Gold Standard for Recreational Courses

2-4    3/25/2016   3/31/2016
Review By: Airubus
Played: 43  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2016
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Do not judge a book by the cover. Upon entering the township park, you'll see a few baskets straight away. My initial impression was quite mediocre upon walking to the first tee. After 18 holes, I wanted to jump right back onto that first tee and go another round.

The course eases you into a false sense of security straight off with a traditional 250ft(ish) left to right shot protected by a tree, followed by a decently long field shot. From there, the course pulls no punches at it introduces you to a surgical tunnel shot, out-of-bounds penalties, beautiful vistas, eloquent uphill and downhill holes, memorable pine groves, and plenty of challenge for beginners of the sport and great fun for more experienced players.

The local club (LAFS) has quite a few course installations under their belt, and experience in course design reflects that fact.

No two holes are the same. Each hole will feature a theme, whether it be elevation change, obstacles, grip-and-rip, or placement shots.

For the exception of Hole 16, the course doesn't require an advanced knowledge of disc flight to get off the tees on the perfect flight path. This is a perfect course to take a player who has never thrown a disc. The course permeates a sense of recreation while maintaining challenge.

During my visits, there were scorecards stocked with par and distances on the bulletin board.
Cons: As of March 2016:

No tee-pads. No "next hole" indicators. No "lost disc" depository. No benches. No map.

However, if we're speaking historically about the other courses the club has planted - I expect these items to be resolved.

A walking path around the perimeter of the property comes into play on most holes. This is not a disc golf exclusive property, and time has yet to show how many "sunbathers" will throw their picnic blankets on the ground and casually stroll through the course. Be aware of the walkers, and please be kind and courteous.

Some tee pads are in very close proximity. It's not necessarily a safety issue, but more of a "sound" issue if you have a group teeing off behind you as you are running up to drive. This is a minor observation for those who need the Earth to be still to maintain focus on a drive.

From the parking lots to the first tee is a bit of a walk. Again, it's a minor point - but the walk is probably several hundred feet - so do not wear yourself out running to the first tee in excitement.



Other Thoughts: Once the teepads and basket markers are installed, this will only continue to polish this delightful course. This will undoubtedly become a staple for the local disc golf community. The course will be held in the same regard to the other local courses such as Roland Park, and Buchmiller. Not as long and enduring as Ship Rock, and not as challenging or niche like Boulder Woods or Quakers Challenge.

This is a community course that was well designed and plays great. You never get the feeling that a community planner, or boy scout troop sunk baskets randomly on the property and opened shop. Herr Park is a course that will keep you coming back, and is certainly worth the visit.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.