Roseburg, OR 
Whistler's Bend Share
Uploaded By: mike2020disc Hole #25 (Taken 10/2017)
3 / 480ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #25 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Epic

1    8/10/2018   8/18/2018
Review By: lucasap
Played: 140  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery. Overthrows near river will be penalized with loss of disc. Long bombs and technical lines combine to make a formidable challenge. One of the sweetest courses I have ever played. Nice campgrounds. Wonderful signage. Pushes you to step up your game.
Cons: Super long hike and punishing on the feet. It's a stay and play course and really should be done with a full day of camping, paddling and disc.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

In a Van down by the River

1    8/8/2018   8/15/2018
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 87  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2018
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Right along the beautiful Umpqua river in a state park.
- Camping nearby
- Starts off in the Woods but opens up later in the round.
- Some wonderful elevation changes where you can throw 500+ feet.
Cons: The signage.
Freaking Hole 14 really pissed me off. its up the hill. No sign. DONT THROW DOWN THE HILL LIKE WE DID. Nothing worse than realizing you are throwing to 17 and have to walk back up that mountain. Just about killed me. BE AWARE. This will greatly improve your experience there and wont leave you cursing the course designers. Have to take a full point off for poor signage at such a prominent course where I had to pay $4 to park.
Other Thoughts: Day 8 of 12 was Whistlers Bend.

Ill admit that I played badly at Whistlers Bend near Roseburg, OR. It was just too hot and the grass was dead. I was PISSED after hole 14 when I threw my disc down the mountain instead of up. Yes, I should have checked my map but a course of this level should be fairly navigable. The signage was poor overall and that was the feeling I had at a lot of West Coast courses. Good signage is part of the experience, much like a quality server is important at a good restaurant. They guide you through the meal. At Whistlers its like the best steakhouse in the world but you have to find your own table and get your own cutlery. It was nearly 100 that day and we started at 9:15am. Finished after 1. River afterward is a MUST if you go when its warm.

All was instantly forgiven as we threw on our swim shorts & river shoes and hopped into the Umpqua after the round. It seriously made my day and set the tone for the rest of our trip north. Might even give a half point back for the river...


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Magic on the North Umpqua

2-4    6/8/2018   7/2/2018
Review By: brentjacobs
Played: 248  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 permanent baskets with a level mounting, in good repair
-27 well poured cement tee pads. They telescope toward the targets which I really like
-Wonderful use of a lot of elevation. This is a factor that I hold very dearly when playing or rating a course and they nailed it. Lots of risk reward and some astoundingly scenic greens and tees.
-Great variety in the length and style of holes. The course ranges from open to wooded with everything in between and there is a nice blend of distances even though I'd say it's favors the longer thrower on the overall.
-Solid mix of shot shaping requirements. Many holes offer multiple lines, some more demanding than others with a mix of open bomber that allow you to cut loose.
-Arrows on the baskets help in finding the next tee.
-The atmosphere at Whistler's is absolutely magical. One of the most enjoyable disc golf experiences I've had with breathtaking views of the surrounding area and the North Umpqua flowing along with you as you play.
-Well maintained. Was shaggy the first day we got in but had been completely mowed by the following afternoon and was immaculate.
-Camping on site with practice baskets at both camp locations. One area is right along the North Umpqua. BEAUTIFUL and soothing for a foot soak after a long round or two.
-Pay to play at only $4.
Cons: -Some of the older Mach baskets could be updated to match the DISCatchers making spotting the baskets easier.
-A few long walks between some of the holes. Its already a bit of a haul with 27 holes and LOTS of elevation so wandering a bit between holes isn't great.
-Next tee arrows are nice but overall navigation isn't great. Not terrible either but was certainly helpful to have somebody along who had played it for my first round.
-Tee signs need to be updated for the new layout. Not dinging the rating here, particularly since they had nice temporary signs up, but would be nice to have complete and up to date info on every hole.
-There are a few lackluster holes. Nothing terrible but when so many holes are awesome the average to meh holes kind of stick out. Some of the open bombers were just kind of plain.
-Rough is rough. Couple that with abundant OR rain and you get some soggy searching when off the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This now rivals Milo for my favorite course is OR. Such a unique and naturally beautiful place to throw frisbees. So many cool holes that I cant begin to make a list of favorites but it's like a treat every time you walk to a tee box. Challenging golf with an awesome mix of terrain and all the elevation my mountain dwelling heart could ever desire. I'll be heading back as soon as I can and suggest you make the trip to soak in the magic that is Whistler's Bend. And, pro tip, read ODRB's review for the alternate tee location on hole 15, AMAZING!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites anywhere.

1    6/11/2018   7/2/2018
Review By: ODRB
Played: 138  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm just going to second the good review done below by PierParkNut. The pros and the cons, with the very few caveats herein.

I will add that the Edge of the World tee on 15 is probably my favorite teepad in all of my disc golf experience. When you go to the regular teepad for 15, turn around and look up on the cliff, then walk behind you up the road, and up a pretty steep little path to get up there. The view and the shot will not disappoint. ProTip: Bring sangria.

The navigation has gotten better as the new layout wears in, and it is mostly pretty obvious where to go now. And the teesigns seem to all be renumbered to the new layout. And I don't find any of it "grueling" -- there are a few hills to climb and a few long walkouts. And a few holes that require some full pulls. But none of it is all that long.
Cons: The rain sucks. Hole 25 is pretty meh.
Other Thoughts: Really might be my favorite place play disc golf. Not my favorite course -- that stays with Milo. But just the vibe, variation, scenery, everything -- as good as I could want out of any course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Mike2020

5+    1/2/2018   1/22/2018
Review By: mike2020disc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 42 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The 200 acre Whistlers Bend property is just magnificent. Surrounded by the great N. Umpqua River. 27 - 980 rated holes.(even Par is a pro score) Course was recently converted from 18 to 27 holes.
All custom cement tees. It has a huge variety of hole designs, from long tunnels in the Douglas Fir's to wide open river front bombs and some of the most challenging short down hill par 3s. One of the feature holes is a 600'+ huge down hill. 2 campgrounds (55 sites total), 3 group camps and 3 yurts (military style tent w/power) are right next to the course. Discs sold at front gate and in town. Steelhead and trout fishing year around. Swimming, floating and kayaking June - Sept. Lots of tournaments to choose from. 2828 Whistlers Park Rd. Roseburg OR 97470 541-440-6037 or 562-665-9094
New tee signs are planned for 2018
Cons: 15 miles of the 5 frwy near Roseburg. Additional benches and new tee signs coming in 2018. some steep terrain so be ready for a 4+ hour round (foursome) Tent camping $19 - $23 or day use $4 per vehicle.
Other Thoughts: Lots of big box shopping (Costco Walmart etc.. and hotels in Roseburg `15 miles away but come and camp for the full experience. For reservations go to Douglas county parks, Oregon

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Course in Roseburg

1    7/26/2017   8/29/2017
Review By: Nate32
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Whistlers Bend is an awesome course in Roseburg, OR. This course has spectacular views and an awesome 27 hole course that you should play.

- This course is really worth playing with a lot of different shots and a views.

-This course starts out with a open/wooded hole and then the next 3 play in the woods. After that there is a hole right next to the right by a water fall and a 50 ft drop so you don't want to lose your disc on that hole.

The rest of the holes are just open for a while.

-Hole 17 is Whistler's bend's top of the world hole. There are two holes that play up to it and then you throw down on to this spectacular view. Although you could lose a disc if you thew to far to the left. This is a course you should come to play for because of this hole and there is nothing like letting your disc sail for 15 seconds!

-This is a course you should go early in the morning and bring a ton of water. I went in the middle of the day and I almost ended up with a sore throat at the end.

- There is nice signage and two practice baskets + an info board.

The rest of the holes are in the open with not enough shade and a lot of brown grass.

A lot of different shots with wooded holes and open holes.
Cons: A few of the holes have nice tee signs but some of them are bad so you have to walk halfway up to see the basket.

-There is a long walk down to the basket on the top of the world hole and its not fun you have to be a serious climber. Or you have to have good traction on your shoes or boots.

- There is a fee to get in.
Other Thoughts: As I said before you want to come in the morning and play fast before the heat starts to pick up.

Also I would love to come back soon because of its awesome views and course!

- You should make the trip out here for this course because it has al these great things with Views and more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A+ for Shot Variety

1    7/26/2017   8/8/2017
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 55  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2017
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Whistler's Bend Park is a large park along a bend of the North Umpqua River about 15 miles -east of Roseburg, Oregon. The park features dozens of campsites, river access, and picnic areas. But the majority of the park is used for the grueling, 27 hole disc golf course.

-Never before have I played on a course with such shot variety. The course starts with four shorter technical shots in the woods. Hole #5 is where the teeth of Whistler's start to show. It's a long, downhill, very tricky anhyzer shot with the basket perched 25 feet from the river's edge. Hole 7 is one of the signature holes. It is a gentle downhill slope, a similar cliffs-edge basket placement, and a great view. The next three holes play in and out of woods. At this point, you should be close to even par. But you won't be for long. The next several holes wind their way to the top of an enormous hill. Rollaway opportunities abound. Holes 11 and 16 are especially grueling. But this stretch of holes are well worth it once you reach the panoramic view from the tee of Hole #17.

-Hole 17 puts the Top of the World hole at DeLa to shame. This hole measures at 660 feet, with twice the elevation drop. This hole is what you come for, and it is nothing less than an exhilarating experience to throw. Your disc will stay in the air for at least 15 seconds. Beware of a the wind, however. My most stable disc flipped over and finished 250 feet right of the basket!

-The rest of the course is exhausting, with 5 holes over 400 feet. Hole 18 is also a fun, downhill throw. Holes 19-21 are all long holes playing through the large field at the bottom of the park. Holes 22 and 23 are fun, technical shots, #23 a beautiful hole on the bluffs overlooking the river. Hole 25 is a longer hole, also on the river's edge. Without question you will use every disc in your bag, probably more than once.

-There is an excellent signage board near the first tee with a nice course map and other information. Make sure to take a picture of the map, you'll need it.

-Two practice baskets near the first tee in a grove of mature trees. It's a great place to practice your upshots and putting on a hot day.

-The tees are nice and large concrete pads.

-The natural beauty. I've mentioned it once, but it's worth mentioning again. The views from the top of the hill are absolutely spectacular.

-Most of the holes have two or three basket locations.
Cons: -Navigating this course is not easy with a map. Without one would be a nightmare. There is nothing indicating the way to the next tee, and the average walk between holes is about 150 feet with several over 200 feet.

-A few holes have nice, full color tee signs but most of them have the wrong hole number. I assume this course was renovated at some point. All new tee signs for every hole would be very welcome.

-Several of the walks between holes are very steep and treacherous. Hole 22 to 23 especially comes to mind. The walk down the Top of the World Hole is a dangerous, steep dirt path too. I couldn't imagine what it would be like after a rainstorm.

-Hole 25 needs some blackberries cleared in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: -This is possibly the most exhausting course I have ever played. It is very long, very hilly, and very challenging. But it was completely worth it and a ton of fun.

-This is a difficult course to rate. Natural Beauty: A. Shot Variety: A+. Layout/Navigation: C. With some improvements to the layout, additional signage and some steps in place of the steep dirt paths, this would, without question be a 5-star course.

-I would not recommend this course if you are out of shape or cannot throw over 300 feet. Or if you like to feel good about your game. I racked up bogeys at an alarming rate. But if you're looking for a beautiful, challenging course with all the shots, Whistler's Bend delivers 100%.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 new whistler's

2-4    3/11/2017   4/8/2017
Review By: porchmike
Played: 33  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2017
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: i did a long review of the original course, which has always been a favorite of mine- secluded, usually uncrowded, super scenic, a great campground with full bathroom facilities, hot/cold water, showers, and with mostly great disc golf holes. it has recently been expanded to 27 holes, and some of the first few original holes (2,3,4 i think?) have been moved for an expansion of the RV camping area.
Cons: the new layout is absolutely ridiculous. i doubt the designers will find any fans of the navigation to all the new holes, since it's about a hole's walk to get to each new hole(except 24-to-25, 25-26) and many times you're backtracking or going some other such totally non-intuitive direction. barely any signage, despite very nice concrete teepads for all 27 holes. the original course involved some walking to get to some of the holes, but it made way more sense in general.

to be fair, almost all the new holes are great holes, except 25. and 19. and 27 is the old 18, which just isn't a very good looking hole or a good way to finish a good course. and it's another ridiculous walk there from 26. if you've never played here, you'll be doing a lot of adventuring to find all the new holes. if you've played the old layout, you'll at least have an idea where to look for the new holes, but the new layout will leave you wondering, like, "what?" helpful hint- #1 is in the same place, behind the kiosk in the parking area at the group campground, then to get to new # 2 from #1's pin, look backwards over your right shoulder, turn your body to that direction and walk diagonally left and up into the woods on the path about 300-ish feet to get to hole 2, then do another 180 and throw back in the direction you walked from. kind of a good primer for the navigation to the rest of the new holes. to describe the navigation to just the rest of the new holes would require writing a novel, so no thanks. suffice it to say that it will be much easier on your constitution to play here for the first time with someone who's familiar with the course.

i'm still gonna come here every time i pass through and camp and throw my arm off, but the new layout is bizarre.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful course

2-4    3/26/2016   3/27/2016
Review By: sparred4life
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Many challenging holes
* Beautiful scenery
* Takes advantage of the elevation
* Quiet, there are other people, but it's not busy by any means
Cons: * A couple of the new pads are still being finished, but with one exception are still usable and look to be close to finishing soon.
* A couple places where losing a disc is a very real possibility. I view it as a part of disc golf, but I know some may shy away from that.
* New signage is yet to be completed, so navigation can be a little tricky right now.
Other Thoughts: Wonderful course that I fully enjoyed. It properly kicked my butt, but I enjoyed every hole of it. You'll want to plan for several hours of play. 27 holes takes a long time on a course like this one. A must play for a serious disc golfer!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Present versus The Potential

5+    9/6/2015   9/8/2015
Review By: pdx-disc
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 26 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

NOTE: Course is currently in the middle of a redesign from 18 holes to 27 holes. All 27 are playable but navigation is difficult.

* Beautiful location on the Umpqua River, oak groves, rolling hills, scenic viewpoints, wildlife, etc.

* Amenities are good - concrete tee pads on most holes, good signage, a few benches, and usually three basket locations for each hole. Good quality baskets.

* Lots of variety to the holes. You will use most of the discs in your bag and most of the types of shots you are able to throw.

* Very challenging course - even with the baskets in their short positions, this is a tough course. Lots of gamble-and-lose-your-disc shots. Variety of challenges - difficult tree holes, long brutal drives, windy shots, cliff hazards, deep rough, etc. (note, this is a "con" for beginners)

* Camping is available within walking distance (small campground with showers, reservable online) and there is also a day use area. Plenty of activities in the summer.

* The new holes add a lot to the course. The new course now has two impressive "top of the world" shots with different views (#16 and #17), and some new along-the-river shots. The challenge level went up quite a bit.
Cons:

* Due to the redesign, all of the tee signs need to be redone. The ones that are there are mostly accurate, but sometimes the numbering of the signs is off. Quite a few of the new holes do not have adequate signs. Players familiar with the old course will be *extremely* confused. Ask locals ahead of time if you can find them, or play with someone who's played the new layout.

* There is no current course map available online, or at the beginning of the course (not even stapled to the signboard), or from the park host. You'll probably get lost several times and play things out of order without a guide.

* Poison oak on a few holes. Rare except along the river edges (deep rough) and then quite a lot in the middle of #17 in the hillside (most players will throw well past it and over it, but still).

* A few steep hikes between holes, especially on the new holes. Once the trails are worn in a bit, these will be better, but I would dread a couple of them in the winter (particularly the walk from #16 -> 17).
Other Thoughts:

* Good Course For: experienced disc golfers looking to challenge themselves, backwoods trackers (for figuring out where the next hole is), hikers and nature enthusiasts, and people who've got all day to play disc golf.

* Bad Course For: beginners and casual players, people who aren't able to hike steep terrain, people without good trail shoes, people with vertigo or fear of heights.

* King for a Day: new signs on every hole that needs one, and "next tee" arrows on every basket. Crosswalks painted on the road and real stairs on the side of the road for when you move from 14 -> 15 and 15 -> 16. A current map posted on the signboard at the beginning (easy to take a picture of it with your phone - all we need is *one map*). Eradicate poison oak from fairways and trails.

* Other Thoughts: Do you rate a course on how it IS, or it's POTENTIAL if it's finished? As is, three stars. If it's finished as planned, to the quality level of the old course (concrete tees, excellent signage, three possible basket positions on every hole), then it will be an easy five stars and probably one of the best courses on the west coast. So I split the difference at four stars... for now.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.