Carolina Beach, NC 
Trinity DGC Share
Uploaded By: takman Hole #7
3 / 125ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Discing And Drinking At Good Hops

1    10/8/2020   10/23/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 714  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 27.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Trinity 9 hole Disc Golf is a Course that sits directly behind Good Hops Brewing . The parking lot is smallish . You can always use the bathroom inside the bar during business hours . Even though the bar hours are 1-8pm on Mon-Sat and 1-7pm on Sundays , they still welcome the disc golfers from dawn to dusk . ( Thank You ) .
The Equipment - There is a kiosk with map close to the ground near hole #1 . There are 2 types of tee pads . cement tee pads are at the original spots , and wood tee pads were added to make it an 18 hole course ( really 9 with alternate pads , but ,,, okay ) . A wood elevated tee pad is used for #2 . The tee signs are prevalent on both sets of tee pads . The 9 baskets are yellow banded Discatchers .
The Landscape - The course was in good shape when I played . Maybe a few small trees could be cut back , but maybe it adds to the challenge . The course goes mostly back and forth with smaller trees making most holes tight , technical and tunnel shots .There are going to be some cool twisted trees that you will have to throw around . The fairways are sandy , so you might want to empty your shoes after coming off the course .
Course Appearance/Atmosphere - The course is confined , but almost every other shot has the bar in your peripheral vision . Lots of tunnels , this is a novelty that looks to be enjoyed by the patrons wanting to get out and move around a little . Since they allow you to bring beer onto the course , I saw no less than 2 couples having fun drinking their beer while throwing the holes .Fun Factor is alive and present here.
The Highlights - This is a pitch and putt course . There are no epic holes , just fun little ones .#1 is a fade to the right , #2 is a throw from a wood elevated platform and #9 ( &18 ) is a 186' narrow shot to a hanging basket .
Disc Risk - Pretty much zero . If you lose a disc here , then you were too drunk to take it out of the basket .
The Time - it will take you 15-18 minutes to play 9 holes here depending on how much beer you want to spill during your round .
The course is not to be taken too seriously , but it's good fun and draws people out to socialize and even have disc golf in common .
Cons: #1 Challenge - Challenging ? I don't think it's supposed to be . Because of the low ceilings on most of these holes , it's a tough ace run , but an easy birdie fest .
#2 Sand - it will get in your shoes , but you are near a beach ! Can you imagine that I said it was Crabs , instead ?
Other Thoughts: Another bar setting itself apart from local establishments by adding a disc golf course on it's grounds . Since the course opened in 2015 , the idea and costs have been covered 10 times over since then . They will get travelers/vacationers like me to come in and buy a couple of beers that would have passed this establishment by , not knowing it even existed . Free advertisement through disc golf review is a beacon for local players to create a buzz , and promote the Wilmington/Carolina Beach area and keep money in the economy . I kind of wish there was a hole or 2 of any length or challenge that would have made me work a little harder , but it was still a fun run .
Be aware that they have something going on Tuesday nights on the course and avoid that evening . ( can't remember if Doubles or League ) .
My Recommendation - An easy fun play that gives tourists and locals alike to have an excuse to drink beer and throw the disc around . An easy course for the curious - and a deuce fest or ace run for the seasoned . This is a great place to meet people , sit on the patio and relax . In the area , play the course and have a drink !!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beer and Golf

1    8/1/2020   8/1/2020
Review By: dabvt13
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Short, fun course right beside a brewery. Course has 9 holes, but two separate tee boxes on each hole, one for the front 9 one for the back. Very short, makes for a quick round anytime. Course is all sand, so wear proper footwear.
Cons: Short course, not necessarily a con, just keep that in mind when going. Course is all sand, again not a con per say, but keep that in mind and wear proper footwear.
Other Thoughts: Great short course with the added benefit of grabbing a beer for the course.

Beer + Disc Golf = Awesome!

1    2/27/2020   2/28/2020
Review By: scrowl92
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is attached to a brew pub and they provide to-go cups to take craft beer on the course. Multiple tee positions to change up the play.
Cons: It is a small course. No real driver throws here if that's a bad thing. Great for practicing short game though!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best of both worlds

5+    11/27/2018   6/5/2019
Review By: takman
Played: 103  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 19.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Course on the property of a micro brewery.
-Solar light under every basket and nearby streetlight allow night golf here year round.
-Concrete pads and signage.
-Did I mention it's at a brewery?
Cons: -Only 9 holes and quite short, low ceilings make the holes difficult to ace.
Other Thoughts: Great way to spend an afternoon/evening if you don't want to play Joe Eakes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Beach Course

1    11/10/2017   11/10/2017
Review By: Pymm
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tees, signage, baskets
Good mix of shot types required
Cons: None really; it's a 9 holer in a small wooded area bordered by a brewery and two roads. As long as you know that, then it's just about as good as you could expect.
Other Thoughts: Had fun here. Great mix of hyzer/anny/forehands required. One mando on 7 (I think), mostly to stop a spike hyzer out over the road I believe. Lots of tight lines to hit, so even though it's a short course, birdies aren't super easy to come by. Lots of low ceiling shots too and pretty ugly rough. Originally planned to just bring a Judge but decided at the last minute to bring my small bag. Glad I did. Some of the low ceiling shots are better executed with a mid I believe than a putter. Still, threw putter most of the round. Had donuts at Wake and Bake (world famous), got through all 9 holes in just over 30 minutes, saw a couple of hawks looking for breakfast and then visited the aquarium down the road. Great little course in a great area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice time-killer

1    10/1/2016   10/4/2016
Review By: RedHeadedStepChild
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 27.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice short course that's good for ironing out the kinks in your short-game.
Tee signs are a plus.
Any tees that are close to the previous basket are protected by an obstacle or shrubbery.
Cons: Highly susceptible to flooding. I played after a rainstorm and there was significant standing water on hole 1, 2, and 9. I suspect that the Hole 2's tee is on a platform for that very reason.
Other Thoughts: Not worth a trip if you're going to play it and not one of the neighboring courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Brewery with DG, at the Beach!

1    7/17/2016   8/6/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 205  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 17.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Literally, in the backyard of a brewery (Good Hops). Need I say more? Ok a few more things...
Brand new DISCatchers, cement tee pads, a few benches also on the course.
All holes are about 150 - 180', shouldn't need more than putters.
Had a couple of left and right holes, but most are straight.
Cons: If anyone thinks of any Cons, see my first Pro above!
Other Thoughts: Fun little course to use as a warm up or cool down after playing Joe Eakes. In fact, Dow Rd is a great "bypass" from the normal beach traffic. Heading south on Dow, the speed limit is 55, the road makes one turn and you are at Joe Eakes. Like a DG Highway!!
It would be fun to play this, have a beer, play again, have another and see how your game is affected. Just remember that DD for the ride home.
Most of the holes have ample lines to hit, but 8 and 9 get real tight, you will earn birdies on these two.
I ran this course on a Sunday morning after playing Joe Eakes, so I didn't get to sample the product, but that Topless Amber Ale is definitely on my list to try!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice pitch & putt at a brewery

1    7/11/2016   7/13/2016
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 170  Reviewed: 165  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Trinity DGC is a nice little pitch and putt course at a brewery, Good Hops, at Carolina Beach. It's only 5 minutes from what I would describe as a white level (intermediate) course in Kure Beach, Joe Eakes Park. Trinity is perfect for a warm-up round before Joe Eakes or it its own right if you're checking out the brewery, want to play a putter-only round, or introduce a newby to the game.

+ Designed to be a beginner-friendly and/or putting practice course. For these objectives, Trinity hits the mark.

+ For a short 9-holer, there's a good mix of anhyzer holes (2, maybe 3 for RHBH), 1 hyzer hole, and a lot of dead straight holes. This course will make you work on putter drives. The fairways are tight.

+ Located at a brewery.

+ Brand new baskets.

+ Good signage and easy navigation.
Cons: For what this course is intended to be, Trinity is really strong. Don't misinterpret my 2.0 rating as a knock on this course. It's simply a short, beginner-in-mind course.

- Not particularly challenging. Nothing over 200 feet.

- Some of the beachy underbrush isn't fun.
Other Thoughts: If you're visiting Kure, Carolina, or any of the southern New Hanover beaches, definite check out Good Hops and Trinity DGC.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 james norton from shallotte,nc

1    4/8/2016   4/10/2016
Review By: jgnf61e5
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: behind a bar; bring the friends and have a drink to celebrate if u get a hole in one! Cool nine holes like a mini Kure beach. a good chance to score your first ace. safe environment.
Cons: No signage.
Other Thoughts: Sure wish it had nine more!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.