Carolina Beach, NC 
Trinity DGC Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Best of both worlds

5+    11/27/2018   6/5/2019
Review By: takman
Played: 95  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Course on the property of a micro brewery.
-Solar light under every basket and nearby streetlight allow night golf here year round.
-Concrete pads and signage.
-Did I mention it's at a brewery?
Cons: -Only 9 holes and quite short, low ceilings make the holes difficult to ace.
Other Thoughts: Great way to spend an afternoon/evening if you don't want to play Joe Eakes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun Little Beach Course

1    11/10/2017   11/10/2017
Review By: Pymm
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tees, signage, baskets
Good mix of shot types required
Cons: None really; it's a 9 holer in a small wooded area bordered by a brewery and two roads. As long as you know that, then it's just about as good as you could expect.
Other Thoughts: Had fun here. Great mix of hyzer/anny/forehands required. One mando on 7 (I think), mostly to stop a spike hyzer out over the road I believe. Lots of tight lines to hit, so even though it's a short course, birdies aren't super easy to come by. Lots of low ceiling shots too and pretty ugly rough. Originally planned to just bring a Judge but decided at the last minute to bring my small bag. Glad I did. Some of the low ceiling shots are better executed with a mid I believe than a putter. Still, threw putter most of the round. Had donuts at Wake and Bake (world famous), got through all 9 holes in just over 30 minutes, saw a couple of hawks looking for breakfast and then visited the aquarium down the road. Great little course in a great area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice time-killer

1    10/1/2016   10/4/2016
Review By: RedHeadedStepChild
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice short course that's good for ironing out the kinks in your short-game.
Tee signs are a plus.
Any tees that are close to the previous basket are protected by an obstacle or shrubbery.
Cons: Highly susceptible to flooding. I played after a rainstorm and there was significant standing water on hole 1, 2, and 9. I suspect that the Hole 2's tee is on a platform for that very reason.
Other Thoughts: Not worth a trip if you're going to play it and not one of the neighboring courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Brewery with DG, at the Beach!

1    7/17/2016   8/6/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 142  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 16.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Literally, in the backyard of a brewery (Good Hops). Need I say more? Ok a few more things...
Brand new DISCatchers, cement tee pads, a few benches also on the course.
All holes are about 150 - 180', shouldn't need more than putters.
Had a couple of left and right holes, but most are straight.
Cons: If anyone thinks of any Cons, see my first Pro above!
Other Thoughts: Fun little course to use as a warm up or cool down after playing Joe Eakes. In fact, Dow Rd is a great "bypass" from the normal beach traffic. Heading south on Dow, the speed limit is 55, the road makes one turn and you are at Joe Eakes. Like a DG Highway!!
It would be fun to play this, have a beer, play again, have another and see how your game is affected. Just remember that DD for the ride home.
Most of the holes have ample lines to hit, but 8 and 9 get real tight, you will earn birdies on these two.
I ran this course on a Sunday morning after playing Joe Eakes, so I didn't get to sample the product, but that Topless Amber Ale is definitely on my list to try!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice pitch & putt at a brewery

1    7/11/2016   7/13/2016
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 139  Reviewed: 135  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Trinity DGC is a nice little pitch and putt course at a brewery, Good Hops, at Carolina Beach. It's only 5 minutes from what I would describe as a white level (intermediate) course in Kure Beach, Joe Eakes Park. Trinity is perfect for a warm-up round before Joe Eakes or it its own right if you're checking out the brewery, want to play a putter-only round, or introduce a newby to the game.

+ Designed to be a beginner-friendly and/or putting practice course. For these objectives, Trinity hits the mark.

+ For a short 9-holer, there's a good mix of anhyzer holes (2, maybe 3 for RHBH), 1 hyzer hole, and a lot of dead straight holes. This course will make you work on putter drives. The fairways are tight.

+ Located at a brewery.

+ Brand new baskets.

+ Good signage and easy navigation.
Cons: For what this course is intended to be, Trinity is really strong. Don't misinterpret my 2.0 rating as a knock on this course. It's simply a short, beginner-in-mind course.

- Not particularly challenging. Nothing over 200 feet.

- Some of the beachy underbrush isn't fun.
Other Thoughts: If you're visiting Kure, Carolina, or any of the southern New Hanover beaches, definite check out Good Hops and Trinity DGC.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 james norton from shallotte,nc

1    4/8/2016   4/10/2016
Review By: jgnf61e5
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: behind a bar; bring the friends and have a drink to celebrate if u get a hole in one! Cool nine holes like a mini Kure beach. a good chance to score your first ace. safe environment.
Cons: No signage.
Other Thoughts: Sure wish it had nine more!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.