Heber Springs, AR 
Mossy Bluff DGC Share
Uploaded By: jphodges Hole #14 (Taken 4/2016)
3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Good Stuff from the Bluff

1    4/24/2017   7/23/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.5 Years
Pros: Mossy Bluff DGC is a a solid course, that is very well equipped and maintained. Great tee signs with hole distance and map. Concrete boxes and Discatcher baskets that are all in very good shape. Grass was nicely cut when I played there.

There are some long holes, and there are several really short holes. The longer holes are in the first few holes and the last few holes. These feature fewer trees, less elevation change, and nice grass fairways. The shorter holes (5 of them under 200') are in the middle portion of the layout. They climb up and down some steep terrain, and have less airspace due to pine forrest and wooded canopy. The ratio of trees and elevation is altered nicely through the course. Some of the open holes still have strategic landing zones and shot shaping, and many of the wooded holes still have a reasonable fairway to use.

Hole 4 is long, and at the end you breach the edge of the woods and start climbing. The rest of the front nine is mostly short holes, and climbing steadily up the side of the mountain. Hole 14 plays over a small pond, but unless you bonk a tree out of the box, it is pretty easy to clear the water.
Cons: As nice as the park and equipment are, and the good diversity of elements, I feel like I have seen other disc golf courses that do more with less. It is a really nice course worth visiting for sure, but it didn't blow me away.

I don't know if it was just because I had played 27 holes in Jonesboro earlier, and the sun was getting to me. Or being weary on the return trip after a music festival and playing several other courses in the week prior. Or being pessimistic because my score wasn't what I wanted it to be at the end of the round. I just wasn't feeling it that much.
Other Thoughts: I did get birdies on holes 8 and 10, but they were the delicious bread on each side of a nasty double bogey sandwich thanks to some bad bounces on hole 9. Also, I bogeyed on holes 2 and 11, leaving me at +2 over the par of 56.

I thought this course is good, taken care of very well, and surrounded by nice scenery. A good addition to a road trip. The layout did do well utilizing the area that was allowed. I wanted it to be a four star rating, but I just couldn't quite get there. I would still recommend it if you happen to be nearby, and would happily play it again.

 Greatest Course in the Disc Golf Universe

5+    2/21/2017   2/21/2017
Review By: gospelincontext
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ok. So, maybe I'm a little biased since it's my home course. But I have played plenty of courses in Arkansas and none come close to the beauty, variety, cleanliness, and challenge of this course. By the way, I'm not the only one. This course was rated in the top 50 of courses across the United States in 2016.

- The is a dedicated course. No other traffic here. Only throwers.
- Wide open shots and tunnel shots. Bring your bazooka and your scalpel.
- Tee pads are on point. So are the tables.
- Variety of altitudes.
- Variety of angles and
Cons: . . .

Like I said, I'm biased.
Other Thoughts: Please don't leave your trash and cigarette butts on our course.
Please. We take great pride in MSBDGC and want to keep it clean and pristine for all the visitors. Take out what you take in.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A little disappointing

1    11/24/2016   11/27/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 398  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 29.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement Tee boxes on every hole
Sweet mini table on every hole so I could rest my bag on it and save my back.
nice tee signs on every hole marking the distance and map of the hole.
there are polls on many of the holes pointing to the next tee.
Nice use of the land, specially the more wide open holes.
Nice group of short tight holes, although I think I would have made some of them longer.
Cons: Short holes in the wood are really short
LONG walk between 12 and 13, then when you get to 13 your like WHAT, I just walked 5 times longer than this from the last hole.
Other Thoughts: I will be back, this is a fun course to play. You have several short technical holes for birdies, and some longer open holes that would be considered par 4's.

the first 3 holes are pretty open, then you get to hole 4 that you have to line up your tee shot to set yourself up for an upshot to save a 3.

Signature hole 14 over the pond and down the hill. Both a lefty and righty shot here.

Hole 16 is another true part 4 where you need to shoot though a set of tree's to set up your upshot to get a 3.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course

1    8/6/2016   8/9/2016
Review By: Joshwest
Played: 77  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- The area is stunning. Beautiful young pines everywhere, the grass is perfectly kept, it's really what you would think of if you tried to picture a perfect place to put a course.

- Tee pads, signs, and baskets are all great. Other reviews and the hole info page note that the hole distances are off, but the real distances have been put on the back of the signs (I think), so just look there for the number.

- The layout is pretty good. There are several holes that stand out (#14 a beautiful water hole, #15 a massive hyzer bomb into a group of trees, & #16 an uphill 500ft monster, that right now you can go over the young trees, but in a few years, this hole will be crazy). There is a good balance of left, right, and straight holes. About half the holes are wooded tunnels and the other is relatively open, with trees framing the lines. You can following the line of the trees or if you have the arm for it, a lot of the holes you can go over the trees. They clearly used the area extremely well.

- There are posts near each basket that point to the next tee, they are just wood with black lettering, so they don't really stand out, but they are easy to find if you look for them.

- There are little round tables at each tee, it's obviously nice and they look good, but I'm not sure they are great enough to validate the amount of work it would've taken to install all those. I still found myself instinctively putting my bag on the ground like I do anywhere else.
Cons:
- The biggest con is the mud in the wooded holes. It had rained for a few minutes before we played and the mud was pretty much unbearable. Every few minutes I had to find a rock to scrap the bottom of my shoes off. My feet were slipping when I would throw/putt. Obviously, it's impossible to change the type of mud, but it's something everyone should know going in and be ready for it.

- The lack of trash cans is noticeable. Since it being on park land, I figured there would've been some, but there isn't anything, not even near the parking lot. Because of this, there are places in the woods that have clearly become places to dumb trash. One tee had a barbed-wire fence behind it and on the other side of the fence was dozens of bottles. There needs to be some trash cans, there is clearly enough room in the woods for a truck come and empty the cans.

- This one is really minor, especially if you are playing all 18 holes, but if you needed to leave around hole 10 or 11, you're toast. You could just follow the holes to get out, but there are so many intersecting paths, it would be impossible to find your way out if you tried to just walk straight out.

- There could be a few more places to sit at the beginning of the course. There is only one picnic table and a few big rocks at the first tee. When I played in a small tournament, everyone was having to stand around since there was so little seating. (Super minor con)
Other Thoughts:
- If the biggest issue with the course is that the course is muddy on some holes, then it's obvious it is a top tier course.

- I am excited to play the course again as the trees grow. There are a lot of holes that make you want to go over the young trees, and those lines will soon be gone.

- The parking isn't as bad as other reviews say, there are 8 or so spots next to the first hole, but if you follow the road past #1, there are more spots just around the corner.

- There are several great courses in central Arkansas, and I'm not sure that driving all the way to Heber would be worth it if you are just going to be in Little Rock for a few days, but if you live in the area, it would definitely be worth a trip out every-so-often.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A lot of fun

1    8/5/2016   8/5/2016
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 164  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free- Not pay to play
Beautiful park
Easy to follow tee signs and layout
Signage directing to next hole- good flow
Concrete tee pads that are big enough for your run up
The elevation that's available is incorporated in the design of the course- uphill and downhill holes, sloping greens, etc
A pretty good mix of open and wooded shots varying from hyzers, anhyzers and straight shots
Brand new baskets and easy to find pin locations
Little stands on every tee pad to set your stuff on
Cons: No trash or recycling cans on the course (I'm sure there will be eventually)
Other Thoughts: The organizations who installed and created this course did a great job. The course is clean, mowed, landscaped, and a great start to incorporating disc golf in the community. I hope to see more courses sprout up throughout the area because this is a beautiful part of the state. Cheers

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Stil8oh-chaser

5+    4/20/2016   4/21/2016
Review By: Xpher96
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 32.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really nice course, in my opinon the... first tee is right next to the parking lot and easy to find. Pads are well done, signage is really nice. The first 3 baskets have generous fairways, #4 is an open distance shot that quickly becomes a challenging woods shot as you dogleg to the right.
Baskets 5-13 are pretty much all woods, with less than tight to generous fairways. However made up by the fact that there are a few short distance baskets as well.
Number 14 will be a signature hole for the course as previously stated, Staged just above a pond through the last of the woody, up and down landscape.
15 opens up with a down hill hyzer that really lets you rip some rubber!
and last but not least 16-18 allow you really put some grit in your drives to get it to a basket.
Just a great mix of shots, sure to be a top course in Arkansas. Loved it! Great opportunity and challenge for all skill levels!
Cons: 1. Parking. For now its all good, not many players from Heber Springs. a few years from now. Chaos is coming.
2. Some measurements may be a little bit off.
3. Corp of Engineers owned, no disc sales for the petty cash maker.
4. Baskets 8 and 10 may be a little close.
5. Drop a Deuce before you come...or hold it to the visitor center!
Other Thoughts: Grip N Rip'em!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting new course

1    4/16/2016   4/18/2016
Review By: Phule77
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Challenging course and Terrain
- Creative use of the landscape to require expertise in technical shots
- Wide range of necessary shots of techniques needed
- Full 18 holes with tee pads and quality baskets
Cons: - Many of the signs for the holes bear no relation to the actual distances of the holes
- Signs are also misleading in some cases as to where a throw might wind up.
- Single water hole is also an excellent breeding ground for mosquitos
Other Thoughts: It was a challenging course, and definitely a lot of fun, though we kept remarking on how little the distances given on the signs related to what we were throwing. Definitely a lot of challenging shots, and not necessarily what you'd expect. Also a lot of blind spots where you need to check on what the party ahead of you is doing...we had one group start throwing while we were finishing the putt, and they got upset when we called them on it. Worth the drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great New Course With Tons of Potential

1    4/16/2016   4/17/2016
Review By: AriusAneid
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging, but not frustrating
-Varied shots that require a lot of different throws/skills
-Open holes often had multiple ways to get to the basket
-Wooded holes do not devolve into pinball disc golf (for the most part)
-Signature holes over the pond and down the hill just after
-Good for beginners and experienced players alike
-Hilly, but not overly tiring
Cons: -The distances on the signs are INCREDIBLY off
-Very few benches
-A few holes get pinball-like
-Some open areas have rough terrain, including rocks, picker plants, and holes to be aware of
-Thick thorns and poison ivy in the woods at parts (very few)
-Slightly confusing as to where the actual course starts
-MANY uphill throws with FEW downhill throws (read other thoughts for more info)
Other Thoughts: My first impression of this course began before I even got to the course. The area surrounding it is gorgeous, making it a very enjoyable drive up there. This continued at the park. The course is located by the town visitor's center, which I was told is usually open and has bathrooms available. We had a little trouble finding the actual start of the course; we first circled around the two parking lots up top, before heading down the hill (through an open gate with a sign that says it closes automatically at 7PM). We did notice a basket in the back area of the visitors center, so we weren't exactly sure if we were going the right way or not.

The road back is small, so go slow. If someone else comes down the road, be ready to pull over and try to let people squeeze through. Eventually you come up to a small parking lot with maybe 10 spots (it was part full when we arrived). The first hole goes alongside that parking lot, so I opted to park closest to the teepad as possible to avoid a wayward throw.

Walking up to the first hole, I was happy to see good quality concrete pads. They ended up all being great, some even with run off areas or even ground after, which I certainly appreciated. The trees in this first area are much younger than the forest around it; some are even freshly planted (probably this year or last) that could be troublesome trees in 15 or 20 years. Most of the holes are open lane shots, but the low trees offers the chances for hyzer bombs and a little creativity.

It was during these first few holes that I noticed the distances seemed quite off. I believe it was hole 3 that it said was much farther than I believe it actually was. I used a Teebird off the pad and sailed past the basket (I use that disc mainly for fairway approaches or controlled, shorter drives, and I still overshot it easily). This continued through the entire course; there was even one hole that said it was 110 or so, and the next one said 150 or so, despite the fact that the 2nd hole was painfully shorter.

Entering the woods brings you to a series of holes that require extremely tight S-curve shots, or small drives to each bend. The trees are pretty thick here, so slipping one through that's off that line is pretty unlikely and pretty reliant on luck. I felt like it could have been better thought out, in order to create a challenging hole without making it feel impossible or frustrating, even for skilled players.

The fairways become much more standard after that; wide throwing lanes with woods on either side. Some allow you to take one route or another, while others may force you into a right or left curving shot. I needed all of my throws through the woods, which is a good thing, as they all felt very interesting. This portion ends in a hole that is about 100 feet (at most, probably closer to 80), that offers even beginning players a chance at ace run.

I'll take this time to note something my wife says about the course. She has played on and off for a few years, only recently taking it more seriously. She enjoyed this course for a number of reasons, but one was that there are shorter holes that are beginner friendly (while not being too easy, in my opinion). They were common enough for her to keep interested and to keep her feeling good (getting pars and even a birdie), while I barely noticed too much of a difference. This makes it VERY good for all skill levels, in my opinion.

After the wooded portion, there are my two favorite holes, which are certainly signature holes: the pond hole and the downhill throw. The pond hill is extremely scenic, throwing from above and between trees, over the pond, and between more trees to the clearing (surrounded by smaller pines) where the basket is. It's a relatively easy shot to avoid the water, but the risk of clipping a tree and bouncing back is still there. If you don't feel like throwing it, there is a marked area using a blue pole, near the next teepad, that we believe was the drop zone. Last thing to note is the pond doesn't look too deep and it looks clean enough, though I would rather avoid it if possible.

The next downhill shot was a beauty, perfect for big hyzers. I enjoyed it largely because it's one of the only downhill throws, despite the MANY uphill throws. For me, the downhill throw was a lot of fun to get some big air, some big distance, in a long bomb format that is lacking in this very technical course. Not that it needs to be all long shots, but the variation is very welcome by then. I noted this as a negative because I did feel the uphill throwing and walking should have been rewarded with another downhill throw or two to even it out, but that's personal preference.

The final holes are reminiscent of the first, given it circles back into the parking lot. There's not a lot of variation by that point, though one basket is up on a mound that makes longer putts pretty dangerous if you're needing to keep the score low. After the signature holes, these last ones are pretty lackluster, even a little "plinky" thanks to the pine trees located there. Kind of takes some wind out of the sails to end, but it is what it is.

Throughout the course, there are a few tables/benches, but only 1 or 2. If I had realized this, I definitely would have brought a stool or chair. I would love to see more being put in, even every other or every third hole. The terrain in a few areas can be rough, with it being uphill, having loose rocks, and persistent thorny plants in the woods. Also be on the lookout for poison ivy near the top of the hills; I ran into some and stopped just in time before really getting into it.



In conclusion, I really enjoyed this course. It really gets going after the first few wooded holes and has a very good pace to it. The layout is well thought out and forces you to use your entire bag of discs or your entire lineup of throws. It looks similar by the end, but it tends to stay fresh throughout the entire round. It was clearly designed by a disc golfer who wants to have a high quality course for other disc golfers. The distances on the signs were consistently and obviously wrong, so for someone like me who has a basic idea of what discs work for what distances, it can be a little annoying, but certainly not a deal breaker. Overall, I loved this course. It was not the best I've ever played, but it's definitely up there. It's a bit of a hike for me, but I will gladly return on any day of the week that I am able to. I think it could use a few changes and additions, and the trees growing in the first area will cause some changes to be needed in 10-15 years or so, but it is a great course, off to a great start, with tons of potential to be a star course in Arkansas.







3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great addition to central Arkansas DG.

1    4/14/2016   4/14/2016
Review By: LookIhitAtREE
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's easy to tell that this course had some thought go into it. The feel of the course is very fluid from hole to hole, with almost all shots being pretty fun, yet challenging throws. I could see this course accommodating all skill levels, yet still challenging a seasoned player.

The walk through the course was not overly steep or tiresome, the ground has been cleared very nicely. While there are not benches, select boulders/rocks were left that do offer a chance for a quick respite for your legs. The distances were nicely varied throughout this course, alleviating repetition for the most part. There is a signature throw over a pond that we all had to throw multiple discs at, this feels like the "signature" hole of the course.

Cons: There was limited parking available, maybe 8-10 spots. Some of the hole fairways were repetitive, no trees or obstacles in the center of fairways for the most part. Benches would be nice as mentioned in the other review. There was a long walk between two holes in the wooded bit where you can tell something had to be changed or modified, as well as a very short, awkward hole that looked like filler. A couple of the distances in the wooded area seemed off like signs were switched?
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a great course and I highly recommend playing it. I can see it being as go to course in the area, as it's close enough to other courses to make it part of your all day DG fun. The designer is obviously a disc golfer and really put some thought into this one, very enjoyable with only a few negatives that are easily overlooked by the fun factor of the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

great course

1    4/10/2016   4/10/2016
Review By: cheese dog
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads, challenging holes, beautiful landscape.
Cons: No benches, ;)
Other Thoughts: This course has a good flow, a good mix of wooded and open holes, moderate elevation, and finishes back at the car. the hard work of the course designer really shows throughout the course. The wooded holes are tight yet fair and the open holes left you bomb. The wooded fairways and trails are very well maintained which made for an easy hike. The signage is very good and basket to tee pad distances are mostly short. course was in great shape and very clean, the drainage ditches and bridges really help keep your feet dry in the wet areas. This disc golf course has a great mix of shots and really makes you shape a disc. Be sure to throw a disc off the JFK overlook before you leave town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.