Decatur, TX 
Eagle Summit DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #1 (Taken 1/2018)
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Eagle Summit

1    6/20/2020   9/19/2020
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 193  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 13.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eagle Summit is fun course on a school campus that good teesigns, teepads and quality baskets. Makes good use of the provided elevation right from the beginning. Holes 2 and 3 make good use of the hill that is near the athletic fields with Hole 2 shooting up the hill and 3 coming back down near 2's teepad. Holes 7 and 8 are challenging with OB on the right hand side. Be cautious going OB on 7 as I believe that is private property. Hole 10 is a fun shot as you have elevation in play as well as OB behind the basket as well. It is a fun risk/ reward shot. 13 an uphill shot and 14 is a semi blind shot as well. 18 also makes use of the elevation. The course is easy to follow as it is counter clock wise.

Overall I like the OB throughout the course for the added difficult that is need through the round.
Cons: Finding hole 1 is difficult for first timers. I ended up getting luck and parking near 18s basket so had a short walk after the round. They make good use of the provided elevation but there is a lack of obstacles with limited trees. I played in the middle of the summer and definitely wish their were more trees for some added shade. Hole one is right by the building so any shot that goes array or a windy day could hit the school. As stated in other reviews Hole 11s sign was on the ground and 12 was missing completely. I ended up teeing off on "12" where I thought it would have been. The grass was in better shape when I played in comparison to the other reviews as well.
Other Thoughts: As always with courses on school properties be courteous and play after school hours or on the weekends.

Great course to introduce players to the game and for students to get in a round after class. Wish my high school growing up had a course on campus!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Eagle Summit

5+    6/15/2020   6/19/2020
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 36.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Nice tee signs (although one is missing and one is lying on the ground) that provide elevation changes in addition to all of the usual info.
-- Cement tee pads. Three of them use existing cement (driveway or parking lot).
-- Blue Innova DiscCatchers.
-- Elevation is in play on 16 of 18 holes.
-- For a mostly short course (7 holes are less than 250 feet), there is decent variation in hole length. Three holes are longer than 350 feet, and one is longer than 550 feet.
-- Excellent use of OB (fence line and road, sometimes both on the same hole) to add challenge.
-- Practice basket.
Cons: -- Not a lot of trees, so very little shade. That also means the wind can be really bad.
-- Long walk between a few of the holes, most notably from 18 back to 1.
-- Fence is barbed wire. Getting over to retrieve discs is difficult but not impossible.
-- Maintenance is not good. About half of the course had knee-high grass/weeds. This was early summer after being shut down for almost three months due to COVID, so this might be a temporary situation.
-- Tee signs are showing wear. No. 12 is missing altogether (meaning on site there is NO way to figure out where you should tee from), and No. 11 is lying on the ground. A couple of others had some readability issues.
-- No. 1 plays WAY to close to the building. Out of six throws from three of us in two rounds, two throws hit the building and could have broken windows.
-- No restrooms available for disc golfers. Also, I did not see any water available.
-- Finding your way is fairly simple, but twice you have parallel holes that play in the same direction instead of back and forth. This creates longer walks and can create safety issues.
Other Thoughts: -- Course starts near the back of the school near the ag barn and athletic fields and works its way counter clockwise around the property. The best parking is back and right of the first tee, between the practice basket and the 18 basket.
-- No. 7 is the best hole on the course. It's longer than 550 feet downhill with OB fence right and OB road left. The basket is at the bottom of the hill guarded by a clump of trees next to the OB barbed wire fence.
-- Don't even consider trying to play during the school day (or when any kind of significant event is happening).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice clean course for the area

1    1/14/2018   1/19/2018
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 164  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Set on a nice clean high school campus
-Nice concrete teepads
-Nice hole signage
-Great elevation change
-Nice mix of up, down, left, right
-Very nice blue discatcher baskets
-Discs are easily retrieved if go OB
Cons: -Small amount of trash on the course
-Set on a high school campus, best times to play would be weekend or during summer
-Wish the tee signs had arrows for the next teepad
-Flow of course could be better, not ideal
Other Thoughts: Pros out weight the cons in my opinion. If your in the area, it's worth playing. Not the most difficult course, but well maintained and clean.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 School Course

1    9/3/2017   9/14/2017
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 380  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I want to congratulate the school and students on this course. Its really a great course and some good holes

Great signs best In a long time. Even list elevation.

Once you are playing easy to see each hole

Great distance on some holes
Cons: I dont want to sound harsh.

Very odd to play during school hole 1 is right past open class windows. You are playing feet away from students

Plus you feel weird on campus during school

Stickers i know texas but i had hundreds in my shoes. and legs
Other Thoughts: Wish they would have made more holes along road entry and less right up on the school. Also needed to end 18 near one not on reverse side

Wish the school would post some rules about is it okay to play during school etc. make me feel less awkward about being there.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good course for a school yard

1    7/26/2017   7/26/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee signs for all the holes
Cement Tee pads
Nice BLUE Innova DiscCatchers
Decent use of elevation (also marked on tee signs)
Cons: Not a lot of tree's, very little shade
Long walk between a few of the holes, specially 18 back to 1
A few holes next to barbed wire fences
Other Thoughts: Nice little course starting behind the school near the ag barn.

Hole 1 short little warm up hole with the school to the left and OB road on the right.

Hole 2 shoots off that OB road up on the side of the hill.

Hole 3, highest point on the course, down around some trees with OB road to the left.

This is a little confusing, hole 4 and 5 both throw down the hill, both tee's are pretty much even with each other.
#4 tees off from the road with road to the left.

Then walk back up to the left of #3 basket to shoot down the hill again with an OB Fence line to the right of the basket.

#6 tee is up by the street, nice medium range shot with OB road on the left.

#7, might be the best hole on the course, 500+ ft old over a small hill and down to the bottom of the hill in a clump of trees next to the OB barbed wire fence. Yes, my drive was OB over the fence. Look for wide gaps between wires to get your disc. Still got my 4 on the hole.

#8 walk across the street and back way up the hill to the fence line. This hole is over the edge of the fence with OB street all the way down the right and past the basket. Don't hyzer out.

#9 nice little birdie shot with OB parking lot to the left.

#10, from parking lot over to the fence line under a tree.

#11 longer shot back up the hill (plays longer than it is)

#12 Double mando shortest hole on the course. (of course I missed my birdie putt) The tee is actually on the road. The Mando's are attached to the fence/gate you throw over.

#13 back and too the LEFT of basket 12, little up hill shot with OB road on the right of the basket. (yea, I was OB, but made my 3)

#14 blind shot over the edge of the hill with the road to the right.

#15 Big downhill shot

#16 another little uphill shot that is longer than it looks

#17 tee is back down the hill and shoots up towards the back parking lot of the school.

#18 to the right of the parking lot with the road to the right. Yea, OB next to the basket again.

Then a long walk back to hole one.

If you play here, park near basket 18 and walk around the back of the school to the practice basket and tee one. You will thank me later.

Would I play here again?

Yea, even though there are almost NO trees, the course was not all that bad. It had some interesting shots. Wind is a factor here and this would be a good course to work on distance.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.