Columbia, TN 
Woodland Park Share
Uploaded By: Taylor510ce Hole #3 (Taken 6/2016)
4 / 340ft.   4 / 560ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Tee Pad Fail

1    6/30/2018   9/6/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: (2.932 Rating) A nice city park course with a decent mix of hole types
- UNIQUENESS - An above average blend of hole variety. A nice distance variation, everything from a 150 foot chip shot at the short tees, to a 672 footer from the back tees. Six par 4s with two of them being dogleg rights. Several shots to really air them out, yet also a couple tight technical holes. Elevation is mild, but constant. Only a handful of holes have less than 10 feet of play in them and a few approach the 30 foot change mark. I really like the fairway design of (7) and (13) but there are a few too many similar looking moderately wooded modest elevation plays that will blend together in memory after one play. Unfortunately no water elements in play, although I guess some would consider this a blessing. Also no par 5s or dogleg lefts.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Due to the two tee set-up this course works well for Novice players through Intermediate. Not long enough to be advanced level difficult and also probably not the best place for beginners. Although, both of these skill levels may still enjoy a round here due to all the other aspects of the course.
- CHALLENGING - A hair more difficult than normal. The long tees are not Advanced level difficultly despite the blue color. The longs to me read as a tweener between Recreational or lower Intermediate. The front tees using a red color, read as a tweener between Novice and Recreational. I'm glad the course didn't make the mistake of labeling the tees Pros and Ams, as that set-up gives a false impression on what Pro level really is.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Above average. As stated, lots of rolling elevation in play. Hole (1) right out the gates is a pleasing open downhill shot. Hole (15) is nice looking valley play. There are also some good sized towering oak trees to weave around as well. The drawbacks are just a few. Park building are often in view along with park roads, playgrounds and parking areas.
- NAVIGATION - I had no problems. I did not see a course map on site but the one on DGCR is mostly accurate. There are few longer hikes or possibly confusing transitions between holes, but each occurrence had arrows below the basket. Bringing a cart out here isn't easy peasy, but close.
- MAINTENANCE - The park was in great shape and mowed throughout. Trash was mostly in check. It would be nice if they added a couple garbage cans at the tees.
- CHAINS - Nice custom blue DISCatchers. A bit harder to pick up in the woods buy still a pretty looking basket.

Cons: Overall not too shabby. My only major concern was the tees.
- TEES - What in world happened? The most uneven turf pads I've ever stepped foot on. There are yellow and white lines on them and the placement of it varies. Is it suppose to be a foul line? I have no idea. It makes no sense since sometimes it's at the front of the pad and other times it's at the back. A couple were so uneven that I decided to tee to the side.
- SAFETY HAZARDS - Park roads are in play on several shots, however I only saw one car on these park roads on my round, so really only a minor concern.
- TIME PLAY - Perhaps my daughter slowed me up, but I spent almost 100 minutes on the course as a solo playing the long tees. Figure 2 1/2 hours for a foursome on the long tees and 2 hours for the short tees.

Other Thoughts: A solid course that probably has a great local following. It won't blow players away like a few courses in the Nashville area will, but it offers enough to keep the area players entertained. If I lived in town I'd happily claim Woodland Park as home course. Currently I've rated the course as a solid 3. If the course shored up the tee situation, added some benches, cut in a few more heavily wooded holes and lengthened a few of the short par 3s, I think the course could approach the 3.25 threshold.
- CHARACTER - Hit and miss. I'll start with the good. Nice looking large color coded tee signs. They should have had next tee direction on them however. There's a practice basket near tee (1) and there are two tees on 16 of the 18 holes. There are also numerous shelters and restrooms in the park. As for missing items, no alternate baskets, no community board and only one seating area. Also as stated above, poor tee surfaces and no course map.
- FUTURE - Soon after posting this review, I was notified that a tee pad upgrade is in the works. Please notify me when/if this occurs and I will update my score and modify my review title to say "TEErrific"

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Woodland Park

1    6/23/2018   6/25/2018
Review By: craigd
Played: 120  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woodland Park is a great city park course that seemed tailored for disc golf. The first thing you may notice is the great landscape. The course arguably took full advantage of the grassy rolling hills and mature trees. Save for a time or two that you'll dip in the woods, you'll play along what seems to me to be ideal city park style golf. It's a sprawling course, ringing up at nearly 6600' from the long pads, and should satisfy golfers of all skill levels. For those looking to dial it back for a little less challenge or wanting to give the shoulder a break, short pads are available as well. Look to shave off about 1600' if you chose to play the latter. Beyond some of the fairways you find some out of bounds roads to keep you honest. They are well placed in the design and weren't used to force challenge on parts of the property that couldn't support a hole. Overall, a longer than average arm will give you an advantage out here. There are lots of big shots throughout the course and plenty of generous lines. Three "woods" holes will whet the appetite of the wooded hole lovers, while the big trees on the main course shape some lines and offer enough obstacles to keep it interesting, fun, and challenging.

Overall, this is straightforward par 60 course. There's lots of options off the tees and when the more heavily tree peppered fairways come into play, there's always a couple of lines of attack. Clean up-shots and solid putting will ultimately get you the best score or will help you keep up with a distance throwing opponent. Ultimately this is a forgiving course that doesn't necessarily reward sharp shooters or punish slightly offline drives from the tee.

Turf tee pads, of varied shapes and sizes, are here and will get the job done for most. Innova DISCatcher's with unusual blue bands are here and are unique. You'll find a practice basket with ample room to throw some pre-round upshots and putts. There are some of the biggest tee signs you've probably ever seen with all the important info. Couple them with the "next tee" arrows hanging from the bottom of the baskets and navigation is a cinch! The course is topped off with plenty of convenient parking and bathroom facilities as well.

June found the vast grassy areas perfectly mown and overall maintenance couldn't be better. This hinted to me that it's probably the normal condition.

Cons: The better than average tee signs were aggravating in that the fairways are printed upside down. It's a shame that all that time, effort, and capitol went into something so nice, yet such a detail was missed. You may find yourself crooking your neck to read the signs a time or two.

The turf/virtually natural tee pads will annoy the concrete tee fans. None were terrible but we all know a few guys who will blame every bad drive on them. Especially on the long holes asking for full drives/run-ups.

I typically love wooded courses much more than this type course. That meant that while I also really liked this park, the golf, and the overall vibe, I did find some of the holes boring. Some were better than others but a sense of "let's make a long hole for the sake of making a long hole" on a few stood out. Meanwhile, a wasted woods shot, hole number 7, which I viewed as a bad hole altogether, filled in a gap but had a circus tree in front of the pad. I think there was plenty of room to break up some distance elsewhere on the course and skip this hole altogether in the design. Without this hole, I might not have mentioned the other times, like hole one long for example, where there are obstacles too close to the tee. In my opinion, there is no need for it in on a multi-shot hole like hole one. This is pure preference and really should be taken with a grain of salt. Overall it didn't affect my rating or the enjoyment of the course. Some folks may not even notice.

Other Thoughts: I think this is a unique course to the Metro Nashville area and worth a stop to play. I'd give it a strong 3.25 rating but will go ahead and ring it up a 3.5 for the fun factor.

With my brother recently moved to the Springhill area from downtown Nashville, this will probably be my "visiting my brother home course" and I'm looking forward to playing it again soon.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/22/2018   5/22/2018
Review By: wericsson
Played: 48  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2018
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some of the nicest, sturdiest-looking tee signs I've seen (not the cheap political ad kind pictured), and fancy blue-banded Discatchers that stand out nicely even at the longer distances involved on some holes. Two tees on every hole except 2 and 15; the tee signs clearly indicate which is which (and that there's only one on the holes that only have one). The blue tees add more distance, and sometimes also make the angle harder or add a tighter early gap. This allows the course to cater to a reasonably wide range of skill levels.

Some big par 4s; the only one that felt like a "three and a half" from the back tees was hole 4 - wish the pin was further back from the joint of the dogleg. All the others were red-blooded true par 4s; 18 could have passed for a short 5, especially given the odd tee gap.

Decent variety of hole shapes, without overt BH/FH favoritism. Only a few holes were truly open; most had some light tree guarding, typical of the city park style. What was atypical of city park courses was the elevation. Lots of that, including some big uphills. No really crazy fun downhill shots, but the hills are used so much that it hardly seems like a loss.
Cons: Only three holes were truly wooded - 4, 5, and 7. So much for Woodland. None of these was a particularly remarkable technical play, either, although 7 has a silly tee gap that strongly encourages an overhand shot. 4, as mentioned above, played as a shot and a half kind of hole from the long tees (and a two half shot kind of hole from the shorts - 150 foot putter, 150 foot putter, with no way to really attack unless you have the power to go way over the top, in which case you probably shouldn't be playing the shorts).

Although the par 4s run up some distance, there were no long par 3s - hole 6 is the longest on paper, at 355', but plays closer to 300 effective feet due to the slope.

I hate to list turf tees under cons, but (a) it's turf over bare ground, so they're not all very level, and (b) concrete really is nicer on this bomby a course. They're also kinda short, though most have flat ground behind.
Other Thoughts: Although the tees are labelled red and blue, they seem to correspond to upper novice to lower rec and intermediate, respectively, at least against the stated pars. Since par was marked the same for the shorts and the longs, there are a few par "4" holes from the shorts that just aren't: 3, 10, and 14 could all be long par 3s at the rec level or above, at least in my book.

Tee signs are oriented with north (I think) up instead of forward up - not a con, but odd.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant Surprise

1    3/6/2018   3/6/2018
Review By: njgrosser
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course Design and Flow: The course is very easy to follow and has good balance and flow. There is an excellent balance between short holes and long holes on this course, and the course is designed to only have a couple true "open" holes. There are only three holes that could be classified as "wooden," but the majority of the holes do have a few large trees that force the thrower to be accurate.

Short and Long Tees: I want to specifically give props to this aspect of the course. All holes (besides #2 and #15) have an option for short and long tees. Both tees are very easy to find from the previous hole and very clearly labeled. Both the short and long tees have the same par, meaning that two players of fairly different skill levels can play on a more level playing field. I played on the long tees today and thought the listed pars were fair; the long tees either added a decent amount of distance (70+ feet, up to nearly 200 feet in a couple instances) or created a significantly more difficult drive than the short tees.

Baskets and Signs: The tee baskets are easy to see, with the hole number listed on the top. Each tee (both long and short) has a new sign that gives an accurate hole distance, par, etc. In situations where the next hole direction isn't completely obvious, there is a little arrow hung under the basket pointing in the right direction.
Cons: Tee Pads: This is the only true negative of this course, in my opinion. At the moment, the tee pads are turf, and for the most part they are in good condition. However, they are usually way too short and in the wooded holes, they are starting to wear down a little bit. I heard from a local that the signs were just installed, so maybe concrete tee pads are coming in the near future. At the moment, though, they are not.

Tee Pad Signs: The signs are very informative. However, when showing the hole on the sign, they show it oriented directional north, instead of orienting it with the tee pad at the bottom. This is not necessary a "con," but it is unconventional (I've never seen it before) and it can be confusing as a first-time player.

Park Signage: I did not see any signage in the park itself saying where the disc golf course actually was. Hole #1 starts right next to the bridge entering the park, across the street from the visitor parking and just downhill from the house (I don't know the name).
Other Thoughts: I made the drive from downtown Nashville to play this course, and was impressed with the quality. Having said that, it is an extremely long drive from downtown Nashville, and there are other courses of the same quality much closer. However, if you are within 30 minutes of this course (i.e. Franklin, Murfreesboro, maybe even Brentwood or Antioch), then this course is well worth the drive to play. If the tee pads get upgraded, it will establish itself as one of the premier courses in Middle Tennessee, if it is not already there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/21/2017   6/21/2017
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 303  Reviewed: 293  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2018
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty city park setting for disc golf. Grassy mowed fairways, lots of tall mature trees, gentle elevation changes. This kind of land is suited perfectly for a city park course. Interesting design as each hole has its own personality. The park land was used just about to the fullest and feels spacious. It even has a couple of tighter wooded holes woven into what is primarily more open park-style.

Most holes are forgiving if your drive is not placed exactly where you want it. Good for newer players to learn, to be able to find discs, to recover more easily, and to not get frustrated. However, there is still plenty of challenge for the more experienced player with several longer holes (400'+) and many birdie chances (<200') that will leave you scratching your head if you fail to capitalize.

One big positive is the two sets of tees which always helps courses appeal to a wider range of players. I personally always play a round from each if I can. Of course the distances of the two tees are different, but on many the angle is also different, and then some other Blue tees have an extra narrow gap to hit.

I really enjoy playing here as the rounds are fun and relaxing (and a nice contrast to the tighter courses in the Nashville area I usually play.)

Ample parking, restrooms, practice basket. Very safe and family friendly park.

*UPDATE* When I first reviewed this course it had temp signs that had started to fall down or even become missing... BUT I am told the course now has permanent tee signs! A great improvement that will primarily help with navigation. Always nice to see a course get better. ****finally saw the new signs (on 5/1/18) and they are fantastic, highly visible, good maps, as sturdy as you will see.
Cons: Tees are green turf. Looks to be a recycled cut up turf soccer field, so they are not solid green, but will have random field lines on them and each one looks different- fine for throwing but just doesn't give the best overall look. The big con is they are the same color as the grass, and are flush with the grass,. (Finding them used to be much tougher, but with permanent tee signs now, that should minimize or eliminate the issue of finding them.)

Maybe in the future some permanent framed raised turf or concrete tees can be installed.

I think the hole design and course flow is excellent, except for hole 17 and 18- I feel there are some cooler tree features that were not utilized, but instead the two final holes are a bit bland, with little trouble other than a hill (17) and some long distance (18). There is a tree line between the two that could have more play. #18's basket could have been placed more the right in a grove of trees rather than being out in the open.

Most of the other park activities do not interfere with the course, however the winding round through the park borders many holes, so just be cautious of vehicles and pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: There are 3 entrances to the park. Tee 1/Basket 18 are near the parking lot by the park office (enter off Woldwidge/9th St.) Park is not too far off I-65 exit #46 (15 minutes).

Not a top tier course in mid-TN, but I would put it in the 2nd level. The enjoyment/fun factor, hole variety, and the two sets of tees are what keeps bringing me back. I rate it 3.0 [Good] with the chance to +0.5 with better tees.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful New Course! Challenging and fun!

2-4    6/2/2016   6/2/2016
Review By: Taylor510ce
Played: 15  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent hole designs. New players will appreciate the shorter tee box positions and more experienced players will like the challenge of the longer positions! It's a great combination of needing some bigger longer shots but also needing to be able to control your fairway drivers and upshots.
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: This is a great example of what can be done if I city will really take pride in what disc golf can do for the community, and how it draws people to their parks. It's a course that will encourage beginners to try the sport and will draw all the rest for a very fun round.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun variety!

1    4/24/2016   4/24/2016
Review By: Lewboo
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well groomed

Great variety of elevation, distance and wooded.

Beautiful scenery

Cons: Lack of signage, but it's a new course.

Hole 6 (I think) was laughably short. Fun ace run though!
Other Thoughts: Kudos to the designers. I look forward to returning soon!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great course with a lot of variety

2-4    4/17/2016   4/17/2016
Review By: UhhNegative
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety
-Uphill shots, woods shots, left and right finishing shots, wide open bomber shots, this course really has it all.

Fairness
-This course is on the easier side of things if you've got the distance. I really enjoyed how all the holes had very fair lines you need to hit. There were none that felt "chuck and pray" which is huge for me.

Distance
-I like longer courses and this delivers with 6 par 4's. The pro tees are very difficult, but I played from mostly amateur tee's.
Cons: Signage isn't quite in yet, but that's okay as it just opened up.

Some holes are a little easy, but none were really "boring" easy.
Other Thoughts: Tee's were good turf tee's at the time I played, but concrete will be poured when the tee locations are locked in.

Course was designed really well to avoid throwing toward places where other park-goers would be.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.