Nashville, TN 
The Chain Links @ Nashboro Share
Uploaded By: ambroze Hole #12
4 / 540ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Golf Carts!

1    4/6/2021   4/6/2021
Review By: TRoss886
Played: 205  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Golf Carts: You can walk the course or rent a golf cart. Renting the cart makes this a truly unique and fun disc golf experience. Your bag is in the back; you have a built in cooler; and the breeze in your face on hot days between holes is great. However, I would only play this course and rent a cart when it is not "cart path only" due to rain. This would make for a very significant amount of walking.
- Bar/Grill: Many of the pros of this course involve the amenities that come with "ball" golf. You can buy food and drinks to take with you on your round, or stop in for those afterwards.
- Groomed: As well groomed as an average golf course which is high in disc golf standards. Throwing second shots off of the fairway feels better than plenty of tee pads of thrown off of at other courses. However, when it dips in the woods on a few greens, you can tell the grooming is at a minimum. This is rare though.
- Challenge: Even the best of the best will stretch their arm out on a few holes here. For the amateur, this just means more fun time riding around in the cart.
- Beauty: Great use of creeks, woods, and ball golf fairways. Makes for some really stunning shots
Cons:
- Ball Golfers: Bringing two worlds together can create tensions. I did not have any problems with this, but I could certainly see where it could arise. I went above and beyond to get out of the way and give them the right of way. This was stressful at times and affected my experience, but I felt it was the right thing to do to shine a good light on our sport.
- Tee Pads: Concrete is almost always preferred, but the turf was in ok condition. More effort could have been put into putting something under the turf to level the tees as this was an issue at times.
- Tee Signs: Only the hole number and a QR code are labeled on each tee sign. I think a little more description without having to use your phone would be a big improvement.
Other Thoughts:
Not pros or cons:
- Baskets: The new 1/2 diameter StrikeZone baskets are nice but thoroughly challenging.

This course was a little hard to rate. Where it lacks in some of the basic disc golf amenities, it shines in others. When it comes to lacking tee pad and signage, I frequently found myself thinking "who cares, I'm in a golf cart!" But with the golf course perks, comes the stress of lots of different types of users especially when it's busy. At the end of the day, a very unique experience that I would highly recommend everyone give a shot and see if it is for them.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Redesign

1    6/16/2020   6/16/2020
Review By: RayRay
Played: 139  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 16.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2020
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - entire course has StrikeZone (marksmen) 1/2 diameter baskets. Probably most difficult course in TN with these bad boys.
- big distances with lots of elevation change. Par 62 in my book. 3 pro par 3s (3,6,8) and 6 true 2 shot par 4s (1,4,9,12,13,17)
- some technical holes cut into the woods to keep you honest
- they removed the big water carry shots
- affordable cart golf
Cons: - tee signs are a QR code / there is no tee sign so you have to use UDisc. This baffles me. How hard is it to put a distance and brief sketch of a hole?
- rough is still very rough here on the new pin placements. They need to thin it out.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely worth checking out the new layout. It might tread on repetitive but unloading distance drivers down massive elevation drop shots never gets old to me and each hole is distinct. For every annoying ball golfer there's at least 2 chill ones and most of the staff are friendly.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long roller heaven!

2-4    3/10/2018   3/14/2018
Review By: PlasticMotif
Played: 59  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Map of course on Nashboro's Facebook page.
Course is easy to navigate as each tee pad has a 3-4' orange pole beside it.
Nice mixture of uphill downhill. Most holes you're either throwing through the woods into an open fairway or from an open pad to a slightly guarded pin.
Each hole is picturesque. It is honestly a beautiful disc golf course.
Cons: Can't play on the weekends until 2:00 PM.
Have to wait on ball golfers to play through. This is honestly the biggest con with the course overall. It's closed several days of the week and they obviously prioritize ball golfers. However, whenever I've been out some of the pro-staff is out throwing discs.
Other Thoughts: If it's wet, the course will likely be cart path only for the golf carts. If this the case, it's easily 5.5 miles of walking to play this course. I have really enjoyed it each time I've played it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not a good course

1    10/1/2017   10/1/2017
Review By: tfcdawg
Played: 78  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Used some of the features of the golf course well. Pretty neat that you can play disc golf with a cart. Some of the holes are interesting.
Cons: Course was extremely confusing. I spent the majority of my time wondering around looking for holes and waiting for ball golfers. Sadly I was not the only disc golfer out there having this same experience. Not a great design in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: The pro in the club house was very rude. This could be a neat partnership with a better design and kinder staff.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This course ROCKED!

1    7/1/2016   7/1/2016
Review By: AZDG69298
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Like others have posted, it is so cool to play a round of golf while playing on a great ball course and riding in a cart! I read on the FB page that they where playing league on an afternoon that I was in town so I made it a point to make it there. First off, Jesse the course designer is awesome! A great representative of the course and the cool vibe there. I ended up on a card with Shawn, Bobby & Thomas. Great guys that made me feel at home. There a few 700'-plus par 5 holes, a couple of holes that you throw over water and a bunch of holes if you threw out of the fairway there was severe penalty of going into briar bushes! This wasn't the first time I played on a ball course but I gotta say it flowed nicely. Great job on the designers and the course it self for taking the chance on allowing DG'rs play on the same course.
Cons: There was a map on the courses FB page, printed maps and better signage on the course would be great for newbies.
Other Thoughts: This will hopefully serve as an example for other ball courses to consider adding disc golf to they're course for additional revenue stream.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A welcome addition to the Nashville discgolf scene

5+    4/25/2016   4/26/2016
Review By: Deuces
Played: 326  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It really is hard to beat the feeling you get while playing discgolf on a piece of property this beautiful while cruising around in a golf cart. This par 63 course is very challenging at over 8,200' and has a surprising mixture of wooded holes to go along with the long openness I originally thought of when I heard that they were installing a discgolf course on this golf course. OB's are everywhere in the form of water, roads, golf greens, and bunkers. Advanced and professional golfers are encouraged to also play all cart paths and beyond as OB. In my opinion, it's a lot more fun to play the tougher version of this course. The course staff are incredibly friendly and the head groundskeeper is a avid discgolfer. At $10 a round with cart included, I can't really think of a better way to spend 3 hours after work than playing on manicured fairways while their staff drive up and ask me if I need any frosty beverages(adult or otherwise).

Great overall experience!
Cons: The course is new. Several teepads are woodchips as the course staff are still experimenting with placements. I have been told that they are looking into better long term options but for now the woodchips are what they've got. Navigation the first time through the course was difficult in a couple of spots. Be sure to pick up a map at the clubhouse before you set out because while the tee markers do give you footages for the hole, they do not currently point you towards the next tee. Course is only available for discgolf during select hours and is completely closed on Tuesdays. Be sure to check the hours of operation on the course info page before setting out.
Other Thoughts: Starting off hole 1 with a long downhill bomb par 5 lets you immediately know that this course aims to be taken seriously.

Hole 2 is a short uphill shot that asks you to either thread the needle down the middle or play it wide over OB cart path the entire way and fade back inbounds for the putt.

Hole 3 is another long open hole with the only real trouble being the treeline to the left.

Hole 4 is a low skip shot around the corner that can be birdied with 350' of power.

To me the water shots on holes 5 and 6 alone are worth your time to go see. Both require power and precision to hit the designated landing zones.

Hole 7 plays along an OB creek that requires a 325' turnover shot all the while avoiding the low ceiling.

Hole 8 asks can you throw 400' and make an uphill putt as the basket is placed along a ridge that is capable of giving punishing rollouts.

Hole 9 is the shortest hole on the course at just over 200' but is rarely birdied with it's tight fairway.

Hole 10 is another downhill bomber par 4 that is currently birdied with regularity. We asked the course creator if he intended to change the par on the hole and he informed us that they are in the process of carving out a deeper pin position to give everyone the challenge they intended.

Hole 11 is a low tunnel that encourages a skip off the hard pan for your birdie.

Hole 12 tees off a ridge and has you throwing 400' back down towards the creek on hole 7.

Hole 13 comes out of a wooded tunnel and crosses over top of a deep bunker.

Hole 14 is very similar to hole 2 in that there are multiple options to allow you to birdie the hole but all require perfect execution.

Hole 15 is my favorite hole on the course with it being the last of the long downhill open holes with trees to each side and a pair of bunkers within 50' of the pin.

Hole 16 is the last downhill hole on the course and offers a tunnel shot off the tee that opens up towards a golf green with several strategic trees punishing errant shots.

Hole 17 is a massive uphill par 5 that will give the biggest of arms a legitimate eagle opportunity. For us mere mortals, the secret is to maximize your straight distance on your first 3 shots to have a chance at a birdie putt.

Hole 18 finishes with a short uphill low ceiling shot with the pin positioned on a hillside. To me the potential for rollouts here is more dangerous than the distance so you really need to stick the landing if you want to finish with a birdie.

Overall I loved playing this course and would encourage any of you traveling through middle TN to take 4 hours to check it out while you are in town.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.