Post Falls, ID 
Corbin Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Odedge Hole #6 (Taken 3/2019)
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Fun shorter course, awesome views.

5+    2/11/2021   2/16/2021
Review By: Froth
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful scenery along the Spokane River with Holes #1, #2, #5, #8 and #9 all playing along the water with excellent scenery and wildlife.
- Clearly marked tee pads have informative signs with arrows on them indicating the direction of the next tee pad and the concrete tee pads on every hole are flat and in good shape.
- The look of the course in fall/winter is exceptional and there are some great individual holes here.
- Lots of areas to start a round from if it's busy, can Park near hole #1 and start from holes #1, #2 and #4 easily. Can also park near hole #8 and start from #8 or #12, a few parking spaces near hole #5/#6 as well.
Cons: Layout issues:
- Hole #5 isn't intuitive to find for first timers, it's the number one question I get asked especially if I'm near hole #4 or #6 by someone new to the course. Some locals skip hole #5 entirely because of the lost disc possibility and hole #6 tee pad is right near #4 basket.
- The walk from hole #7 to #8 is another less intuitive design, as you walk across the back of a baseball field and across the road.
- There are crossed paths on some holes, you walk in front of the basket of #12 to get to #11 tee pad. Hole #14 basket is in a blind over-throw spot for hole #7 drives so keep your head on a swivel and pay attention.

Congestion issues:
- Public park with limited parking, in summer hole #1 has had people park directly in the middle of the fairway thinking it's "overflow" area but it is not.
- Many people oblivious to disc golf at times, photographers and fishermen will occasionally show up on holes near the river and not know they're in the playing line.

Some people complain the old layout was better and dislike the current layout, don't listen to them, it had to be done. Old hole #1 could be entirely under water in the spring if the river got high enough.
Other Thoughts: I've played hundreds of rounds here on the "updated layout" which has changed a few times over the years, I believe the current layout has been in place since 2017, it's a great mid/putter practice course and course for players of every skill level. Bring a retriever if the river water level is up, discs going in the water is very possible on holes #1, #2, #5, #8 and #9. The park lost hundreds of trees to bark beetles in 2017 and you can still see remnants of a lot of the stumps, especially near #8 and #9.

Note: For the reviews that mention that hole #5 should always be in place, I'd love that too since hole #5 is a wonderful hole but the beach area there gets so many recreational people and swimmers at certain times in the summer it would be unsafe to throw there, and #18b is an awesome little hole IMO, it is similar to the old layout of hole #13. For #18b go up the hill past the practice basket and play from the pad up there down to the practice basket.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Corbin Redesign Is A Hit In My Book!

1    8/24/2020   8/30/2020
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1507  Reviewed: 1452  Exp: 43.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since my previous review of Corbin was from 2008, I'm not sure if I would be a good source to comment about the redesign of the course. Seeing that was 1000 courses ago, I really don't remember the previous layout. What I do know is (1) this is one of the prettiest courses anywhere and (2) Corbin DGC is great fun.

On a lovely August day the course was filled with players enjoying the great weather, the course and the beauty of the place. I'm disappointed in Corbin's current rating of 2.63 as I like it it a lot more than that.

Everything is done right. The signs are great, they're pretty and they provide you with all the information you need. The concrete tee pads are more than adequate. The course is a little bit convoluted as it snakes around the park, crossing streets. But between just following the hordes and Udisc, no problem. The Discatchers aren't new but they catch everything they are supposed to catch. The terrain is so very cool with lots of elevation to throw off, the inviting nearby and all the majestic rock formations.

Among my favorite holes here are # 3 seriously cool tee pad area, the # 9 hole with the river next to you and 13 and 14 which are both great little downhills.

I'm sure that I wasn't the first player to discover energy saving feature but throwing both 13 and 14 at the same time on makes sense. That way, you don't have to trudge back up the hill again. I did the same thing on 15 & 17 as there was no one ahead of me. Saves time, too.
Cons: Did I miss something or is there no way to distinguish which position the basket is in, A or B?

# 5 is closed for the summer. Too bad.

Having to wait for players to walk back after playing # 9.

No place to air out those big arms. Plays as a lovely recreational level.
Other Thoughts: I would absolutely love to have this course as my home course. It's so scenic and the Spokane River is so inviting. Although the distances are short, the technical nature of the course adds to the challenge. It's fairly hard to lose a disc here. Corbin is much better than it's 2.63 rating. And could I import this summer weather, too.

3.5 all day.

On the bad news front. A couple of locals informed me that this course will closing it's door sometime as a RV campground is forthcoming. According to their intell, the course will be moved to another location close by. It sounds like it will have the same natural beauty but that's still a lot of planning to work to do.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    6/24/2020   6/24/2020
Review By: Breh
Played: 181  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some really fun and scenic shots by the river. Great course for most skill levels..open players will find it pretty easy however. Good elevation changes making some cool holes, and the water risk on a few make it fun. Baskets our in good shape, and has nice tee signs with distances for A and B pin positions. Honestly there's not a bad hole out here however....
Cons: The layout!!! Whoever laid this park out did a horrible job I'm sorry. First complaint hole 5 the signature hole is unplayable basically 4 months a year. They added an 18b hole to practice basket but dosent make the course better. From hole 11 you literally walk through 12s fairway directly infront of the pin. Most people throw two drives on 13 and 14 so you don't throw and walk back up...seems like they could have removed a hole from 10-12 and played one uphill to flow better. 15 and 17 do the same.... it's a very short course but honestly they had more room then they're utilizing and the layout could be so much better...specially since there's old tee pads and it's been changed before
Other Thoughts: All in all great course to try to bag an ace or have a feel good round. There really is a lot of good holes out here and this course could be very nice with some minor changes. Hole 5 needs to stay at all time. Worth checking out, and is a fun place to throw

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great short course

1    8/28/2019   10/30/2019
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 93  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-This course has excellent tee areas, with nicely sized concrete tee pads and excellent tee signs
-Baskets are decent DISCatchers, they've definitely seen a lot of action, but they get their job done very well
-This is a Woods course, and in woods courses it is very important to have a distinct fairway and rough. One of Corbin's features is short holes, which make this clear definition a challenge. however, it is done very well. Each hole has a clear route, which can be achieved with a few different shots, and if you miss that route, you may end up in a bad spot.
-Another one of the key features of Corbin park is Elevation. In my opinion, the best holes out here are the ones that play downhill, there are two steep downhill holes, and several others that play on a hill in some way. My favorite Elevation is a boulder which is used for holes 2&3. Hole 2 is located partway up the boulder on a ledge, making for one of the coolest greens I've seen. Hole 3 plays a massive down hill shot into a tight straight gap, which happens to be the most instagram worthy hole of the entire course.
-Water: I think this course has the coolest backdrop ever, there is an epic river next to half the holes, and it is very pretty. Yet, it doesn't come into play ever, which is sort of sad.
-This course is a great place to come with family or non disc golf friends, because holes are short, but still have lots of challenge. The wow factor of this course is that you could play a whole round with just mids and putters and you would still come out having enjoyed a rigorous disc golf experience.
-Because of the above point, the people at this course are awesome. Everyone I saw was having a good time, and let me play though and were generally nice.
Cons:
-The biggest issue I have with this course is Navigation. This is the type of course that you can tell was a public park for many years, before a DGC was established. Without uDisc, the way this course snakes around the park would be a complete mystery. Also, there is a gravel road that comes into play on several holes, some hole score near the road, which is fairly typical and not a huge deal. However, there is a hole or two where you have to go over the road to play the hole. This isn't a giant problem when there aren't cars, but, it is never a good thing to play over a road.
-Another issue is the variety of shots, you can't really fit in much else other than typical midrange or putter type throws.
-Hole 18b? uDisc has an 18 hole layout that skipped hole 6 I believe and added in hole 18b. I at first thought 18b was the practice basket (I still think it is) but that was in fact the basket location. But then, I couldn't find the tee. I do believe this is a particular layout that is subject to change, but it was confusing.
Other Thoughts: I came to this course because I was in Spokane and thought it would be cool to bag an Idaho course. Turns out, this course is way better than just "a course to bag" if you've got the time, come try this one out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 new but unimproved

2-4    6/20/2018   6/23/2018
Review By: Dadio
Played: 145  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 36.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course in Post Falls plays around a pretty and popular park next to the Spokane river. Drive all the way around to park by the 1st tee(old 14).
The course plays around the edge of the park, skirting the baseball field with a fairly tight cluster of holes (8-12) in the west end of the park.
This is a short course, even more so since the redesign, with enough trees to make it somewhat challenging. The course retained a couple good holes, with 3 probably being the best. It throws from a large rock down into a tight clearing.
With the new layout they have done a good job making sure all tees are well laid concrete.
Cons: Unfortunately, the list of cons is long. The course redesign was forced due to concerns about erosion and safety and have turned this from a great little course to an ok one at best. Gone are my 3 favorite holes (3, 8 and 13), 2 because of erosion and one due to safety. Current 6 used to throw from on top of the big rock behind the current tee. 13 was talked about in previous review, and 8 was a long downhill corridor shot along the back hill.
Because so much space was lost in this already small park the designers struggled to fit 18 holes in and it really shows. Holes have been placed close together, like pins 7 and 14 are fairly close and 14 is in blind overthrow area for 7. 13 and 14 throw from next to each other, have to walk back up 13 fairway(and hill) to drive from 14. The 5 holes in the west corner are a big crossing mess. A bad shot on any of these will put you on another fairway or green, some of them blind.
There ar a few places where you have to cross a fairway to get to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I have a hard time here because the old course was one of my favorites. The park is still great, bathrooms, picnic areas, all that, but the new layout is so poorly done, even considering the restrictions. I wish they had done a good 9 hole instead of a bad 18.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New Layout

5+    6/16/2016   7/14/2016
Review By: Troyister
Played: 57  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation shots
The natural beauty of the park (compared to flat Indiana)
Numerous Birdie/Ace shots
Good use of Trees to make course more challenging.
Cons: Baskets crisscross each other (12/13 and 8/14) When you finish #7 and walk to #8 you walk right up the path where #14 throws their tee-shot. If you don't know the course that is not good.
Basket #5 is not in play during the summer, they take the basket out. Why put in a basket that is only playable during part of the year?
The new layout..... Less challenging and took away a all time great tee-shot.
Other Thoughts: I really liked the old layout better. My favorite tee-shot in all of disc golf is gone. Throwing 50-60 feet above the Spokane river, on a rockslide down into a little clearing of trees was AWESOME... I live in Indiana and when I visit my relatives in Post Falls I always look forward to playing this course and that tee-shot. I was very bummed...

This course is still fun

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.