Ventura, CA 
Coyote Point DGC @ Lake Casitas Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1 (Taken 2/2016)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 381ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Tough and scenic course

2-4    5/18/2008   5/4/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.4 Years
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes fantastic use of the terrain and foliage on the land here. Holes play up and down hills that range from easy slopes to very steep shots. The course was designed with a great variety of shots, and will make you pull out every shot in your bag. There is a nice mix of holes where accuracy is key, and holes where you pull out a driver and rip it, and this keeps the round interesting throughout.

The tees are nice concrete and seemed well maintained. The signs are well-kept, and easy to follow to the variety of pin positions. The various placements seemed designed to really change up the holes, rather than simply adding length to a very similar shot.

This course is very tough, but very enjoyable. It is clear that there is a significant amount of maintenance done, but that care is taken to preserve the wild vegetation and the natural beauty. Many holes have excellent views of the lake and the surrounding hills.
Cons: This course can get hot and dusty, make sure to bring lots of water. There are a few places where losing discs was a strong possibility, especially near the water (no swimming allowed). A couple holes play too near a campsite, and sometimes campers wander onto the fairways. The cost is a little high if playing solo, but not too bad if you split it up with a group (all in one car).
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course with myriad challenges. One of the most scenic courses I've played, and also one that really made me think about every shot. The variety of different types of holes and different pin positions make this a course that will present new challenges every time you play. Make sure to wear sturdy walking shoes, and you'll definitely enjoy this course!

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch Course

5+    4/22/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: LHSharpie5
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation changes and natural obstacles create a very challenging course that forces the player to utilize many different types of shots. Located on the banks of beautiful Lake Casitas, there are picturesque views on just about every hole. An underrated quality of the course is how quiet it usually is (especially Monday through Friday) as compared to courses in some city parks where you have traffic noise or other distractions. All holes have signage with different pin positions and measurements and for the most part I have found the course easy to navigate. Beautiful oak trees are found throughout the course providing challenging obstacles and a very cool through the tree mandy on #4. On the road to the course there is a nice store where you can buy discs or refreshments.
Cons: Pay to play. Fees to enter the park are $10 on weekdays, $15 on weekends, or $100 for an annual pass. While this might seem a little steep, I find it a small price to pay for a great day of disc golf. Course is very hilly at some parts and may be a bit of a hike for some players. Springtime brings lots of tall grass on many of the holes and finding a disc can be challenging (definitely speaking from experience on this one). Beware of rattlesnakes during the hotter months.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/28/2011   4/21/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 95  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2011
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The only course in Southern California that combines stunning views and exotic terrain with excellent signs, longer holes and cement tee pads.

Mostly wide open with some wooded holes, with varied amounts of elevation changes ranging from flat to extreme.

Some flatter and shorter wooded holes that reward precision on the back nine, such as Holes 10,11, 13 and 14.

Hole 16 is exceptional with a tee overlooking a 600' hill. Hole 5 is similar, with an elevated tee over several large trees (candidate for 'best thumber hole'). Hole 7 is a slightly elevated tee through a small opening, leading 500+ feet to Lake Casitas that is also a favorite. Also has multiple basket placement.

Probably the best overall course in SoCal, with several unforgettable epic holes (1, 5, 7, 12, 16).
Cons: Not many cons here. With a $10-15 fee, it's one of the more expensive places to play.

Very hot on 4/19/09 (100+ degrees F). A couple of crossing fairways and mandatories (no need for mandys in this space), such as Holes 3 and 4.

Lots of thick brush to lose discs in (this was less of an issue when played in 2010).

Isolated location with little shade, lots of water a must.
Other Thoughts: A fabulous all-around course, with elevation (both up and down), tech and plenty of grip-and-rip holes. Increased precipitation and grass growth in the last couple of years (along with improved maintenance) has improved the course, making it far and away the best in the area.

Hiking boots or other rugged footware is recommended.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 good course, not to difficult

2-4    12/4/2008   12/5/2008
Review By: kelso829
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: easy to follow, change tees often, and good map. changes of elevation, and wonderful view. can by some over priced disc at store. nice practice tee
Cons: out of the way, and 8 bucks for parking, besides that, not much
Other Thoughts: good for pros and ppl with some experience. first time place when about 7 over which was average for a first round for me

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Updating Review

5+    9/20/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: flash86
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2009
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course plays right next to Lake Casitas and eventhough the water level is down a bit, this is some of the best scenery you will find playing disc golf. The course is quite challenging and offers a lot of variety. There is a good mix of wide open holes, tight fairways, righty holes, lefty holes, uphill holes and downhill holes. When the baskets are in their long placements, you better hope you brought your "man arm" because the length adds another challenging dimension. Overall, there are a lot of fun and interesting holes you don't see at most park courses. They also do a good job of moving around basket placements with great new tee signs showing all of the possible locations. The local club is very active and takes great care of the course. You get the feel that they are constantly trying to improve this course (i.e. adding new basket placements, tee signs, tournaments).
Cons: Better bring your hiking boots and water! The course is very long and rugged. Given high summer temperatures and little shade, exhaustion could be a factor. Beware of poison oak and rattlesnakes as you look for your discs. The day use fee for the park is $15 now.
Other Thoughts: I recently re-read my original review for this course and realized I did not do it justice with my rating and review. The more I play Coyote Point, the greater appreciation I get for this wonderful course. This course presents a new challenge every time I come out. As my game has improved over this past year, it has been fun to see if I can rise to those challenges. This is a definite must play if you are in the area.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Coyote HOWLS!

5+    9/6/2008   10/2/2008
Review By: thrownow
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 42.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
5 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: On a stunning piece of land alongside Lake Casitas is the most attractive course in So Cal. They did a good job meeting the design challenge. Did they make the best use of the beautiful area available for the course? Go play and you be the judge. Good camping right alongside the course. Love this course!
Cons: Crossing fairways (7 and 8). Drives on #7 are too close to one camping spot. $10/car/day entry.
Other Thoughts: When I last played this super fine course, it mainly lacked only sophisticated tees to be a 4.5 rated course.

5 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Fun and Challending

4/26/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: kwartz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.7 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging with a good variety of holes. Some wide open, some narrow through the trees, a couple across water. Friendly locals. Beautiful surroundings with awesome views of the lake, especially in the morning. Pretty well maintained and clean from trash I thought. Baskets and tees were in good shape. Great camping options for a day or two of disc golf.
Cons: The first few times it was a little difficult to find my way around the course, the signs to the hole can be hard to decipher, and finding the next tee involved a lot of guesswork. Also having to pay the day use fee ($8 going up to $10 in September 2008). But it's definitely worth the money.
Other Thoughts: Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I don't really consider hills a con so I didn't put it in that section, but if you don't like hills this isn't the course for you. Reminded me somewhat of DeLaveaga in Santa Cruz, but less crowded and less garbage. And less poison oak. Very much recommend it.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good stuff.

1    6/4/2008   6/7/2008
Review By: zenbot
Played: 31  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2009
23 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coyote Point is the catalyst for my obsession with disc golf. As an outdoorsman Lake Casitas could offer nothing more in terms of beauty and diversity. The terrain changes from stark open field to oaken shelter to reeded water side in a matter of a few holes. I learned the game here and feel confident that the diversity of the lake has prepared me for any shot at any course.

Coyote Point offers some good technical holes mixed among wide open drives. There are some great elevation changes that the course designers used effectively to maintain variety throughout the round. Each hole offers, at least, 3 pin placements (up to 5) so be sure you're sure of where you're throwing.
Cons: Keep your Technu and water on hand. In the summer the plants can be scratchy and a menace to to your socks. Gaiters help with the foxtails and thistles. There is plenty of Poison Oak. The club does try to get rid of most of it but be sure you know what it looks like.
Other Thoughts: This is truly a destination course. There is camping right next to the course. Once a year, in October, the bordering campsite turns into Tournament Central for the Coyote Classic. If you only play one tournament a year this is it.

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

2/20/2007   8/16/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 366  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just $8 to play what I think is one of the most challenging and fun courses around!
Cons: Very exposed, not too much tree cover so bring some water.
Other Thoughts: Some "great" courses can be difficult to find satisfying as a beginner. I found this course to be open-enough to make sure beginners don't get too frustrated with both elev changes AND trees. The placement of all the trees are just perfect. Is it hole #3 you're teeing off from essentially inside the tree? So many unique holes and in a beautiful setting. Makes me consider moving to the area.

Massive elevation changes and beautiful holes. Great tee pads and signage. I can't say enough great things about the course. I played with 2 locals who were great guys

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Mini DeLa

7/2/2007   7/9/2007
Review By: OrangePeanutButter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course. Well designed and maintained. Lots of different pin positions that can change the course from par to bogey real fast, but always fun.

Great holes with lots of elevation change and trees to keep you digging through your bag for just the right disc.
Cons: $8 entry fee, but if you think you'll play it enough you can get a year pass for $80...10 times and it pays for itself.
Other Thoughts: Get out for the monthly on the second Saturday of each month and get to learn how to throw the course from some of the locals as well as making some great friends.

Check out:

www.venturadiscgolf.com

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.