Pinson, AL 
Pinson Bicentennial Park Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #7 (Taken 3/2018)
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Nice course with improvements continuing

1    6/8/2019   6/12/2019
Review By: Shutrbug
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As a beginner, I was looking to find a course with some open fairways and some Par 3 holes. Pinson did not disappoint! The blooming daylilies at the park entrance were a nice precursor of great things to come. There is a nice splash pad with a snack bar for those that want to hang out and visit while everyone else goes to play.

The tee signs were smaller than other courses, but were very clear as to the location of the basket. The grass was very well maintained.

The DG Course Review app only pulled in information for 12 holes, but 6 holes have been added in the middle of the back 9 - making for a full 18-hole experience. The scenery alternates between open fairways in full sun, to creekside treks through lightly wooded areas. It was a great mixture.

A few of the holes had drop offs or creek beds just beyond the basket - these made for great putting challenges even for beginners.

There were several spots where our non-playing member could sit down and watch us play. I have seen "No benches" mentioned in other reviews, but I did not realize how helpful they could be until playing this course. That was a nice touch.
Cons: There was no map at the beginning of the course, but that may be due to the new holes being added.

It was confusing to find the tee boxes for a couple of the holes on the front 9.

It rained on us, and there were no places to seek shelter once we got going. We knew this going in, so that doesn't detract from my score.

Make sure the kids use the restrooms and get water before you start - the 9th hole is not close to the parking lot. Once you depart, you have to hold it until you get done with all 18!
Other Thoughts: We had 6 beginners playing this course for the first time, and we had a ball. We would gather after each round of putting and compare our scores on the DG Course Review app. We had to start a new round to put in our score on the last 6 holes, but once DG Course Review updates the holes and yardage, this will be a non-issue.

The new holes do not yet have concrete poured on the tee pads (as of June 2019), but they have been outlined in red spray paint, so they appear to be coming soon. There was no doubt where the tee location was, so this isn't a Con - just an observation.

Now that we know how far the course goes into the neighborhood, we can all carry water bottles to accommodate the time it takes to walk all 18 holes. It was worth the drive to Pinson to play here, and we will definitely go back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Easy Breezy

1    3/3/2018   4/27/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 367  Reviewed: 347  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2019
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (1.788 Rating) (RE-EVALUATED) A short beginner's course with 6 new holes.
- UPGRADES - I re-evaluated this review because I read on a recent review that more benches were added and that there are now 18 holes. I had the course just shy of the 1.75 threshold and these new upgrades bumped it to a 2. Hence this revision.
- ACEABILITY - A bucket full of ace potential. Veteran players throwing this course will throw them in chains quite routinely. There are numerous sub 200 light obstacle plays. There are a couple obstacle free shots at around 260 feet. A rec player running thirty to fifty rounds out here should and a notch.
- CHAINS - Not my favorite type, Mach 3s, but they're in great shape.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is low with one exception. In the event that a player throws 30 feet deep on (1), then it's possible that Beaver Creek will take the disc away.
- TEES - Really nice 4 foot by 12 foot concrete tees for the original 12 holes. Nothing yet poured for the newer six holes.
- NAVIGATION - Despite no course map on site or online and no directional cues, I had little to no trouble navigating the old twelve hole layout. The tee markers were the standard three foot high 4x4 wood posts. I would stand at the basket and turn until I saw a marker. The only tricky spot IMO was between (3) and (4), were (4) tee was a bit of a double back. The tee signs only show number, distance and par, but for this shorty, its adequate.
- QUICK PLAY - With revised 18 hole layout, I estimate that a single could easily complete a full round in under 45 minutes. Groups of 4 should probably finish in under an hour and a half.
- MAINTENANCE - The grass was about eight inches high in the woods portion. The rest of grounds appear to be mowed weekly. The park is very clean despite just the one garbage can I saw along the layout at tee (1). There are no areas of overgrowth along the layout.

Cons: No major issues with Pinson, it just doesn't scream excellence in any key course aspects
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - The hole length at Pinson almost exactly matches that of nearby Magnolia Links at an average of 240 feet. However with this course being even more open than Magnolia, all rec players will be able to be under par on a routine basis.
- CHARACTER - Other than nice baskets and tees, the comfort items and extras are mostly absent. No multi tees or alternate basket placements. As noted in my new upgrades pro, more seating appear to have been installed. Tee shading was light on the original 12. There is however a shelter, practice basket and from what I read, restrooms as well.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I've played every Birmingham area courses as of this revision and this is the second flattest. No more than 10 feet of elevation change throughout the entire course layout.
- UNIQUENESS - In addition to no elevation, the overall hole variety here is very much sub-par. Every hole here is sub 350. A handful are without any obstacles. The woodsy portion is not going to please veteran players. The wooded holes are on the short side and often have throwing lanes of twenty feet or more. Water is in fridge play once on hole (1). None of the holes twist more than a couple degree.
- SPACING - Slightly below average. If the course were full, there would be a few tees that could be reached by an errant throw because of little tree protection. Also, a few fairways feel fringe shared.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Typical city park looks. It's nice but it won't have anyone reaching for a camera. Basically just flat meadows and a moderately spaced wooded area with a few building in the backdrop. I scored the course a bit below average.
- TIME WAITING - A walking path kind of circles the entire course layout. The path is generally only in fringe play, but its close enough that the correct option will be to wait a few extra moments for the walkers to clear.
- WIND - Due to the lack of trees in many areas on this layout, wind will likely be a moderate issue. I played moderately wooded Civitan just prior to this one and it was noticeably windier at Pinson.
- VANDELISM - Minor damage to several of the tee signs.
- NO NIGHT GOLF - This would have been an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways, few trees, no overgrowth and only one fringe water hazard in play. A sign at the gate says the park closes at dusk.

Other Thoughts: I liked it. After not scoring one frigg'n birdie at Civitan, I walked away with 8 birdies over 12 holes at Pinson. So it put a smile on my face. I had the course grading out as a high 1.5 during my play. With the new upgrades I decided up it to a low 2. This course should definitely be very appealing to beginners, novice level players and families. There really isn't enough here to warrant a return visit from myself but I could see recreational players living within a twenty minutes driving over here from time to time as they may really like this welcoming layout.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 very nice pitch and putt

2-4    6/1/2017   6/1/2017
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 137  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 19.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice concrete tee pads and nice new baskets. Course flows very well and is easy to navigate. Beginner friendly. Family friendly with playground, splashpad and restrooms on site. Located in a very nice well maintained park. No real possibility of losing a disc. Mix of open and wooded holes with a little elevation. Signs on each tee.
Cons: distance on tee signs is off in some cases. only 12 holes. Not a huge variety of holes.multi use ie watch out for others. The biggest con for most people would be that it is not all that challenging.
Other Thoughts: This a very nice course in a very nice park. It is very well designed and nice for what it is. It would be great to take the family for a picnic. kids could play on playground or splash pad while you throw a bit. Great for kids to learn on as most of the holes are very short. Great for a quick round or 2 ie doesn't take long to play. Could be played with a putter although 2 or 3 holes are over 300 feet. I used the putter off the tee a lot. It is NOT a course that will challenge you if you are an experienced player. I am not a long thrower and tend to enjoy nice short courses. Not a course I would want to play every day but I would go back there. There are a couple of nearby courses that have 18 and 20 holes respectively Greg Carter Memorial and Clay DGC. You could pair Bicentennial with one or both of those. warmup at Bicentennial and then go play one or both of the others.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.