Rockland, MA 
Hartsuff Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: TchuBon Hole #3
4 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Hard Stuff

1    4/7/2018   4/12/2018
Review By: shai
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 22 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a short 9 hole local course with a little challenge from the water hazards on 3 holes.
Cons: It is impossible to play safely as many holes are directly up walking paths or through playgrounds. The water hazards are somewhat random, without good reward/risk options.
Other Thoughts: I would never go here for a practice round unless it was the only course within a 15 minute drive which is sometimes can be for me. If it was safer and had no water hazards, it would be a great place to bring beginners.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Does the Job

5+    11/26/2016   12/5/2016
Review By: sharkey
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Close to where I live.
Wooded shots
Fantastic Signage that shows where other holes are, and where to look for the next hole.
Water Hazard for 3 holes.
My kids can play at the playground while I play on the course.
Short holes, but challenging.
Cons: The park is typically deserted which is good, if it were busy with people, most of the holes wouldn't be playable.
Water hazard eats discs.
Poison Ivy everywhere, beware.
Other Thoughts: It's not the prettiest park by a long shot, but I love this course because it's close. Typically though I'll still drive the extra half hour to Borderland for a more enjoyable round. This place feels more like a good place to practice. I wish we had more 9 hole courses like this around, I'm so glad they put this in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Go on a rainy day

1    10/22/2016   10/25/2016
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 221  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 29 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a tiny (multi-user) park, this course has a bit of variety for being an 8 holer. You will have some tight lines on 3 holes, and more open shots on the remainder. You will also experience water on 3 holes (but only two of them pose much danger of losing your disc. There are 5 holes that present a reasonable challenge (1, 3, 5, 6, 7) and the other 3 - not so much. There are actually a several holes that would be considered decent design - if you are all alone without any park users.
Cons: As the designer himself mentioned, they designed this course before the park had any other users (perhaps the park was brand new??), and this place is too small to accommodate both. Hole #1 goes right up a walking path and over a bridge and apparently the OB water is nasty when it's full. Hole #2 literally has bbq stands ON the green with picnic tables in the line of any body who shanks their drive. Holes 3-5 go over beach area. Forget about hole 8 - again the fairway is on a pathway and the pin is right at the park entrance (with converging pathways). Just plain dangerous if there are any park users anywhere.

The baskets are a bit wonky and some were positioned too low to the ground, but they did catch discs quite well.
Other Thoughts: I went on a rainy day and my buddy and I were the only ones in the park. We actually had a really nice time until the rain chased us away. I wouldn't even bother to go on a nice day when there's a chance there would be people. I've never admitted, but I really think that this place should be either a regular park, or just a disc golf course - not both. Some discers think they have the right of way and I can see non-discers getting hit by discs (by even the best intentioned disc golfers). There are a few truly nice holes here and thank the course designer for the efforts, but should reconsider a re-design if there can be any type of symbiosis (and safety) for everyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointed

1    8/14/2016   8/16/2016
Review By: 3Raider4
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee boxes
Cons: The baskets on hole 2 and 5 were removed.
Holes 3, 4, and 5 are unplayable if people are on the beach
Hole 8 is a pedestrian shooting gallery
Other Thoughts: What a disappointment. Hole 3, 4, and 5 are all built around the pond and beach but if you go in the summer during the day there is a high chance you won't be able to play. Looks like the basket on hole 2 was removed due to the summer camp. Hole 8 is possibly the worst hole design I've ever played. Besides the fact that there is a children's playground just off to the right of the initial stretch of fairway, the actual fairway is also the park's main access path from the main enterence. If you like the idea of throwing your drive into oncoming pedestrians then throw away, but if not I'd recommend skipping the hole entirely.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Update

5+    7/26/2016   7/26/2016
Review By: Markewell97
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: New Updates! New turf tee pads look and feel great! Unfortunately for the course, when it was designed the park was unused, however, due to recent development the park is used during summer to swim. During fall, winter and spring is the best time to play for minimal conflict. However, during summer the course is playable and the park users are becoming more and more aware of the sport so they will frequently move when you are teeing off so users share the park. However, you must play it after 5pm for best results. The bridge on one we would love to fix, but is under the towns jurisdiction, so unfortunately there is nothing South Shore Disc Golf's staff can do at the moment, however, just walk under the bridge, its dry. Still one of my favorite courses to play in all of New England due to the variety of shots, fun lines, and quick play-ness to get many rounds in.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 the crossing fairway course

1    6/17/2016   7/6/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 1004  Reviewed: 367  Exp: 33.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee signs
A few Good holes
Throwing over water shots
Tunnel shots
Cons: Hole one's bridge is closed, I would not ignore the warnings, it looks like it you could fall through pretty easy.
Well, I hope you play here when no one else is at the course or pond.
There are 3 holes over the same pond, Hole 3 throws across the "fairways" of holes 4 and 5.
Hole 8 fairway throws down a road/walking path, it is a blind shot to make it even worse
Other Thoughts: I was lucky, I played this course right at dusk, there was no one else on the course.

The course starts out with a shot down a tunnel with a broken bridge in the fairway and the basket in a very nice little green area after the bridge. If you come up short, your in the pond.

Then your basic uphill shot into a grove of large tall tree's. This is an area for day campers, if anyone is here, you can't play this hole.

Holes 3, 4 and 5 all throw over the edge of a swimming pond surrounded by sand. There is NO way you could play these holes if anyone is there.

Holes 6 throws down that path

Hole 7 is the only hole I remember that did not throw on a walking path or over where people would be. It is also a pretty good little hole.

Hole 8 is a longer hyzer shot down a road/path, you can't see around the corner, this is a dangerous hole.

Hole 9 is another hyzer hole taking you away from hole 1 and your car. This means you have to walk back the distance of the hole back to where you started.

Don't get me wrong, other than holes 3 4 and 5 that are just simple over the pond holes with no tree's in the way, the other holes are pretty good. However if there is anyone else at this course, specially in the day camp area or pond, this course will be impossible to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hartsuff Park Disc Golf

5+    5/25/2016   5/25/2016
Review By: TchuBon
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/17/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Great to have a course in the area
•Good variety of wooded and open shots
•A few easy ace runs
•Great use of the paths that were already in place
•Set up on a summer camp for kids (teaching them to Dg early!)
•Free to play
Cons: •Teepads need some work
•Hole one's swamp is black so if a disc goes in its gone (watch for snappers)
•Wooded holes have very tight fairways
•Baskets seem to spit discs out more than usual
•Bridge on hole one is a bit sketchy
•Lots of bugs
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great course to have in the area. I play it almost daily since it's so close to me. Teepads didn't seem to work out as planned, the gravel that was laid down has dug up causing some bad footing. Teeing off next to the gravel seems to be the best option. Otherwise the course is great. Big props to Mark Ewell and everyone else that helped to put this course together! Cant wait for the tournament in June.
Side note, if you lose a disc in the big pond I suggest retrieving it asap if it's one you want back.. Seems to be someone is taking the discs out and keeping them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.