Carrollton, GA 
Hobbs Farm Park Share
Uploaded By: lazrman778 Hole #9 (Taken 5/2016)
4 / 404ft.   4 / 471ft.   4 / 549ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great Course

5+    4/18/2017   4/19/2017
Review By: hcrebel34
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome well designed course, John Houck design.
Offers something for many different skill levels with three different pads (Red, White, Blue).
We are able to have competitive matches with friends of different skill levels because of the different levels.
Nice open fairways that can be forgiving for entry level players.
The Blue Pads (Pro) tighten those fairways up a bit.
Hole 13 throws over water onto a peninsula. One of the coolest holes I've ever played.
Very nice signs on EVERY hole.
Directions to next pad are clearly marked and the course flows nicely. A first timer could easily find their way to the next basket.
Cons: The course is still filling out. Some trees are still growing into place to complete the design of the course. Once these trees (dogwoods I believe) fill out it will make holes 11 and 15 more challenging and fun by creating some lanes rather than having a wide open fairway.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Commendable choice in Carrollton

1    2/24/2017   3/7/2017
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 82  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: : The city of Carrollton is blessed with a beautiful and challenging disc golf course. Hobbs Farm offers tons of variety and the three teepads per hole make the course accessible for all skill levels. Hole diversity is paramount to excellent course design, and the assortment of short versus long holes, flat versus hilly holes, and tightly wooded versus wide open holes demonstrates why Hobbs Farm is currently the highest-rated course in Georgia.

The signage is top-notch and the navigation is the best I've seen. Navigational instructions are near each basket to indicate the location of the next teepad.

There are no bad or ridiculous holes, in my opinion, as each fairway seemed reasonable. At least half of the holes bring elevation into play. I don't recall any mandos either (which are normally a result of poor design).

The course allows a bit of warm-up, as Hole #1 is hilly but open, and then a downhill bomber drive is required on Hole #2 before reaching the woods.

As several previous reviewers mentioned, shot selection and placement is vital to scoring well at Hobbs Farm. The mental challenge presented is a great attribute of this course. Choose your disc wisely - selecting a mid-range might be a wise option on several of the holes.
Cons: For first-timers, the basket location might not be clear from some of the teepads. (Which means you need to play this course multiple times.)

A recent rain could result in plenty of mud and standing water on a few holes.

The "traverseability" on this course might be challenging for some disc golfers considering all the elevation and wooded terrain.

Holes #11 and #15 are fairly flat, straight-ahead "filler" holes, but I'm being nit-picky.
Other Thoughts: The best disc golf courses feature physical AND mental challenges. With that standard, Hobbs Farm doesn't disappoint. The diversity of hole elevation and lengths is proof that this course offers something for everyone, from the amateur to the professional.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Another Houck Masterpiece - MUST PLAY!

1    2/22/2017   2/23/2017
Review By: Noahlearner
Played: 61  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Superbly laid out with multiple tee pads with multiple lines to the basket.
-- Excellent Signage
-- Excellent wide cement teepads
-- Course is Hard AND ALSO fair. I never found myself feeling like there were any tweener holes or any luck box holes. All the fairways were fair ways.
-- Tight lines through woods demand midrange accuracy. Discs like rocs, buzzes, truths, cores, warships, compasses come to mind as weapons of choice.
-- whilere there are hyzer line (righty backhand) holes, there are also lefty or forehand holes too (10,13)
-- There are some surprising rollaway opportunities. Hole 8 was an easy putter downhill anny drive followed by a little fluffer upshot, that you can easily roll away down to the pond just below. This was especially hard to take when my drive was only 45 feet from the pin.Bird was lost.
-- Same scenario on the challenging hole 12. I laced my drive into the left gap and had a nice little forhand approach that landed 10 feet fom the basket but hit too much on edge and rolled 100 feet away. Bird was gonzo.
-- I especially enjoyed holes 1, 2, 4, 6, 12(sick),13, 14(sick), 16, 17 (the crosswalk and teepads are wow), and 18 was a great finishing hole.
-- Other holes allow you to bomb without fear. Think 2, 11, 15, hole 13
Cons: -- Wish there was a bathroom by Hole 1.
-- The course isn't located near where I live!
Other Thoughts: -- My original home course was his Nantucket disc golf course and when I travel, I always play Houck courses if I can(Selah Ranch, Harry Myers in Texas, Tall firs in Washington and now Hobbs Farm in Carrolton, GA).
-- This course feels like the Pinnacle of Houck Course design and it epitomizes a lot of the methods that he writes about in discgolfer magazine. It feels like this is what the future of disc golf should be like. Forget about just blasting drive after drive on a ball golf course. This course requires you to shoot for landing zones, sometimes with putters or midranges in order to score well.
-- You also have to stay inside your game and play patiently. On hole 5, I saw the line and when I threw hard I inevitably smashed into a tree and had a two stroke swing, but when I just saw the line and hit the line (and let the disc do the work, it all worked out great).
-- Other folk had mentioned that there were a number of blind drives. It wasn't as difficult as I expected based on their reviews, but I definitely suggest walking down the fairway on some holes when in doubt.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

MUST PLAY

1    2/16/2017   2/16/2017
Review By: Taylor510ce
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Uphill, downhill, open, wooded, tunnels, shorties, long shots; Hobbs Farm has got it all! I played from the whites since it was my first time out. You must make your shots count. For blue tees the par 4 and 5s are true--from whites, if you're an advanced player, you can shoot under par easily. FANTASTIC COURSE.

Great local guy, Mr. Heine, was out working on the course--thanks for the warm welcome!
Other Thoughts: You'll find that the pars for the white tees, and possibly reds, could change from 4 to 3 or 5 to 4... though if you don't have a big arm (I don't have a big arm) your upshots have to count to get a birdie on the par 4 and 5s.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/31/2016   11/1/2016
Review By: cappysnax
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The best course in Georgia and one of the premier courses in the country..The PDGA should look at this for a big tourny.. Not gonna spend time with descriptions of the course because its been covered by others and the descriptions they have provided are dead accurate. This is more of an emotional appeal to get people out here..This is my "home course" and I feel unbelievably lucky to play it multiple times a week. I have been sucking at disc golf since 1991..I have played all over the country and I am hard pressed to think of a better course..This place truly stacks up with the very best and is an absolute blast to play
Cons: only 18 holes..seriously there needs to be more..you will not want to quit
not enough trash cans
only 1 water fountain and its between 15 and 16







Other Thoughts: if you love the game you cannot get here fast enough

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Another Houck Gem

1    10/15/2016   10/15/2016
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 128  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 17 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Huge fun factor at this course!
-Multiple tees and benches on every hole (usually 3) with wide-back pads.
-Excellent signage at every tee pad and next tee markers directing the way to each tee for the next hole.
-Plenty of hole variety and elevation changes. Most of the holes are wooded with defined fairways and there a couple of open holes with new trees planted to help shape them up as the years go by. Several water hazards come in to play, although when I played the course most of the creek beds were dried up. There are flags defining the OB for these spots as well.
-Multiple options off the tee with a lot of thought put in to the risk/reward factor.
-Brooms at every hole to help keep the pads clear.
-Legit par 4 and 5 holes.
-This course is suitable for all skill levels.
-The course is nicely manicured and the wooded holes are mostly free of ground cover, so losing a disc shouldn't be much of an issue.

Cons: -Most baskets are blind off the tee.
-No garbage cans on the course except near hole 1 and the restrooms near hole 16.
-No alternate pin placements.
-Prodigy baskets, but that is just a personal opinion.
-The pads for some of the tees feel a little short for some of the long bomber holes
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the funnest courses I have played in the southeast. Other than having to find the baskets on most of the holes, I had no trouble navigating the course with all of the next tee signs. The residents of Carrollton should be very proud of having this as their home course. I can't wait to play here again the next time I am in Georgia!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Hooray for Hobbs

1    8/8/2016   8/20/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 319  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 13.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hobbs Farm Park is an absolute blast to play. The course offers multiple tees on each hole (usually 3, at least 2), all concrete except for hole 17's interesting wooded decks with rubber pads. The bright green Prodigy baskets are topped with red flags, and will not be visible from the box on many holes. Starting with hole 1, the elevation changes are a big factor. A big grassy hill sits in front of the tees, and from the top it is a long way down the other side through several groups of mature trees. Great way to begin. Across the street, hole 2 is another long hole that crosses a gentle slope down a grassy field before entering a beautiful stand of woods on the other side of the creek dividing the two. I guess it could be the signature hole, as it really has most of the best elements of the course, all mashed up into one hole. The morning I played my disc knocking the trees next to the bridge scared off a group of deer in the trees. Hole 3 is a shorter one, with a couple of avenues to get there. It's uphill a little, I reached with a mid range and missed my birdie putt. Number 4 is another big one, similar to the first hole. Rising up a bit of a hill to a dogleg right at the crest, followed by a long descent. This time there are more trees creating a nice alley to the basket on the other side of another stream. Holes 5 and 6 are not as long or hilly, but still dealing with heavy woods. After crossing the street again, hole 7 works back up the hill the opposite direction of hole 1. It is very long with a handful of big trees, getting a lot more steep at the pin. There is also some thick rough and water along the right side that you should try to avoid. 8 is back down the mostly open backside of the hill, only a few trees stand to the right side in front of the basket, but the pin is on very fast approach and it is easy to overshoot or take a nasty roll to the bottom. A very nice deck bridges a marsh area to the 9th hole, and you will see the unusual situation that is hole 17 on the way. Hole 9 is another lengthy fairway crowded with woods, with a bit of a dogleg right and some tricky elevation change before offering split approaches left or right in front of the basket. 10 is a par three out of the trees and into open grass field. 11 is the same kind of open space covering a much longer distance, with large trees gathered near the basket. 12 is another crazy woodsy hole on the other side of the walking trail that is long and has a couple of routes to the green area. 13 is over water, from an elevated tee, and again my mid range got me with in 25 feet of the target but I choked on the birdie attempt. 14 will take you through another tough set of trails meandering over contoured and heavily wooded terrain, before opening up at the top a bit near the basket. 15 is kind of like 11, very long and open, few trees scattered over mostly flat grassy area. 16 is a par three, and the last heavily wooded hole. Hole 17 has two pads that jut out from the side of the deck that crosses the marsh. The rubber mats are good even when wet, with plenty of room. There it a short patch of water to get over, and a few trees on the other side that create windows approaching the pin. 18 will march steeply uphill for quite a way, and then drop slightly back down to the final basket surrounded by a few trees and shrubs.

I loved the variety of this course. Several water crossings. The elevation changes are great. Forrest sections are very challenging, but offer well defined flight paths. Equipment is new and the signs are wonderful. Overall the park is very scenic and layout utilizes all aspects equally well.
Cons: Moving between holes 6 and 7 you have to cross the fairway on hole 2. Also the path from 8 to 9 is right next to the 17th hole and kind of close to the action. Not the easiest course, could be frustrating for new players.
Other Thoughts: I played early after a night of rain, and the course was still reasonably dry and mud free. This is a really well designed course, with great fun factor and risk reward plays. I shot 6 over par from the long blue tees on my only round. I'm not a pro caliber disc golfer, but feel like I could eventually shoot a round at par here given a few opportunities to play the course. Very versatile with all of the tee box options, and consistently high quality from hole to hole. Worth checking out for sure if you have the chance to visit.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Premium GA course easily state top 5

1    8/6/2016   8/7/2016
Review By: Moose33
Played: 55  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the best in the state, the rolling hills, swamps, creeks, and tight trees make for a widely varied and interesting day of golf.

The fairways are maintained quite well and accented by 3 teepads per hole, some of the longs and mediums are shared but most are not.

The teepads themselves are all concrete and very wide. Tapering from back to front and at each teepad there is a nice sturdy wood and metal bench.

I want you to think of a shot, almost any shot. You will want to be able to throw it here. Rollers, thumbers, jump putts; if you have tricks bring them here. That's a huge plus to me, And unlike some of the Houk designed courses there isn't just a ton of poke and pray long holes. There are clearly some lines that are more intended than others but you can bend pars of the course to your aim as long as you respect the fact that much of it is wooded. And those trees have eyes sometimes.

The neon green Prodigy baskets are easy to see and brand new.

I can't say enough about the signage. The teesigns are on EVERY TEE not every hole, EVERY TEE. And they are beautiful signs with accurate scale of the course.

The next tee posts are plentiful and helpful too. The color of the arrow lets you know where you will be shooting next.

It's just a great course that you can't say enough good things about.

Cons: I didn't like some of the angles of the long tees, they aren't just longer they are a completely different shot on some holes in relation to the medium and shorts. I didn't knock it for that though, it's a valid design choice.

The only thing that here that I don't love is the Prodigy baskets. I just feel like you have to throw harder to make it stick than anything else I've putted on.

Overall not much to say here.
Other Thoughts: Is a well done piece of land with a class course on it. Having played the IDGC I think that the PDGA would be best served using those course Boundary Waters and Perkerson for 2017 worlds over the IDGC/Hippodrome courses.

It's that good.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Beginner or Pro, You'll have fun

1    7/22/2016   7/22/2016
Review By: jaredbrumbelow
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple tees on every hole. I particularly liked their system of handling or and multiple tees. From my experience, the longest tees will have the highest par and vice verse. But, at Hobbs Farm Park, every tee pad is the same par. This really benefits every experience of player because for newer players who don't have the distance or control, it doesn't take away strokes for choosing a shorter tee. Also, the par is appropriate for the farther tees for more experienced players.

-The navigation is excellent on this course. Every tee box has a sign with the par, distance, and hole map. The only possible place that you could get lost is from 1 to 2 because the tee for 7 is in a area that looks like it could be the 2nd tee. However, Hobbs has navigation poles in between every walk that needs navigation. If you ever feel lost, look around and you will likely see one of these leading you in the right direction. Flags on top of each pristine basket make spotting the target very easy.

-There is a very nice balance of wooded and open play. There are nice elevation changes both throwing up and down. There are challenging dog leg lefts and rights.

-This course offers some very unique holes as well such as 13 which throws around the picturesque marshlands and 17 which has you throw from tees on a boardwalk above the marsh. However, the marsh can be avoided easily for beginners if you play from the red tees and lay up on these two marsh holes.

-Every tee pad is concrete. There are benches at many/most tees. Water fountains and nice restrooms are available at hole 16 or a very short walk from 9 or 10. Parking easily allows you to start at the front or back 9 if the course was ever busy.

-This is a very nice John Houck Design that could be a championship course in my opinion if played from the blues.
Cons: -Very, very few in my opinion. Parking might be an issue for a Sunday morning player as the first tee starts at a church parking lot, but I've never played it on a Sunday (anyone could easily start at the back 9 though).

-You have to walk back across the fairway for 2 to get to 7's tee so just be cautious.

-14's fairway is very tight with a steep hill also greedy to snatch a rolling disc. A shorter hole or clearing a few trees could open it up, but it could be my own skill level.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. I think the thing I like about it the most is that it can accommodate every skill level. At the blue tees, I believe it is difficult enough to be a championship course. But at the Reds, it offers some fun challenges, but it doesn't punish you like it would if a beginner plays from the blues. Fun for everyone.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

2-4    6/25/2016   6/26/2016
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 115  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 16.9 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 3 sets of tees. all tees are concrete, great tee signs at each tee. signs pointing to the next tee. Restrooms on site, Par 3's 4's and 5's. Great new baskets with flags on top-easy to spot. Nice use of terrain, water in play at times, many elevation changes, wooded and open shots and holes, left turns right turns. benches at every tee, trashcans
Cons: horsefly kept buzzing my head lol
Other Thoughts: when taking everything into account this is the best course I've played and I've played 109. Navigation is the best I've ever seen. The tee signs are great and there is one at every tee not just the 1st tee on each hole. I've reviewed close to 40 courses and this is the 1st time I've given a 4.5 out. The course was a blast to play. The 3 tees give groups with different ability levels some nice options. I really wish this course was closer to where I live. I have nothing bad to say about this course.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.