Carrollton, GA 
Hobbs Farm Park Share
Uploaded By: lazrman778 Hole #7 (Taken 5/2016)
4 / 300ft.   4 / 424ft.   4 / 575ft.   4 / 575ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Flying 1st Class!

1    12/23/2017   1/4/2018
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 265  Reviewed: 155  Exp: 13.8 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Superbly executed on a wonderful piece of property - simply a complete joy to play.

Variety: Excellent. Plenty of variation in fairway shapes and distances, with a nice balance between wooded/open holes. In typical Houck fashion, many holes don't necessarily impose a specific line, but present a few possible lines, and force you to execute off the tee to set up your next shot. Miss your line, fade early, or go long... you'll likely end up with tough next shot.

Challenge: Excellent. Not the most challenging course I've played, but the red, white, blue (and occasional gold) level tees do an excellent job of allowing you to match the challenge to your skill level. The optional longer pins allow you to tweak to better suite your game. There are a few tight gaps, but nothing stupid or pinball's all quite fair.

Elevation: Excellent. Plenty of it, ranging from major to subtle, used in lots of ways; downhills, uphills, rollaways.

Use of Natural Elements: Phenomenal. Creek, marsh, pond, hills, trees, wind... all are brought nicely into play. High marks for routing fairways near (but responsibly away from) the paved trail, so others can appreciate our game without becoming part of it.

Aesthetics: Beautiful piece of land that would be a great hike without plastic. Plus they really did a lot to dress the course up and make it look nice.

Equipment/Maintenance: Best I've ever seen, hands down. Top notch EVERYTHING. Concrete tees are generous and level. Color coded Prodigy baskets (green on all holes, with several having a longer orange basket) catch very well, are easy to spot, have the hole # clearly marked, and are flagged where appropriate. Some of the very best signage anywhere shows all tee locations for that hole, and tee posts are color coded to indicate which tee you're at. They even tell you the add'l distance from the green to the orange basket on holes so equipped. Next tee signs keep you moving along. Bridges and catwalks are more than well built. Nice benches are present all along the course, placed so they aren't in the way of other tees. Fairways were well-groomed.

Routing & Navigation: Phenomenal. Hobbs is a long, sprawling course, with groups of holes playing in different sections around this wonderful property, so expect some long walks between holes. That said, the signage is so good and everything is so well laid out, that if you just look around and pay attention, you'll probably never need the map... but snap a selfie with map at the kiosk as a memento.

Memorable Holes: Take your pick. #2 - long downhill tee shot followed by a long approach over the creek into the woods. #4 - starts in the woods and opens up a bit toward the end, crossing the other way over the creek, with enough of an uphill finish that some approaches and missed putts could roll into the creek. #13's - water carry Ace Run. #17's bridge shot playing over the marsh is truly unique.

Drainage: Fair. It rained the night before I played, and 13 of the holes were fine. The low-lying holes across the street (#2 - #6) were somewhat swampy, but not all that bad considering.

Free to play. They could charge here and only a fool would complain
Cons: Listing cons here is like looking for blemishes on a supermodel.
I thought some of the open holes seemed a bit too open, but a few of the have some well-guarded pins.

Given that the bathrooms and sign are posted at the trail head at the back of the park, it feels awkward starting with hole 1 by the church.

Crossing 2's fairway to get to # 7... but it's so out in the open, it really shouldn't matter.

So well executed, you shouldn't take a newb here... honestly. This course will spoil them so badly they'll think ordinary courses seem like dumps in comparsion, and lose interest. You really need a course bagger's perspective to fully appreciate this gem.

Other Thoughts: The most polished and refined course I've ever played, Hobbs is the Rolls Royce of DG courses. It's what you'd expect if country clubs offered disc golf. Nothing rough around the edges here. No corners cut due to lack of funds. They spent beaucoup $$$$ here and it shows. Everything was done about as 1st class as I've ever seen (including the IDGC). Hobbs is destination disc golf with that epic feel. A must play that's worth a trip.

Maybe it's just getting tougher to move my needle, but there just wasn't quite enough "Wow Factor" to get me all the way to 5.0. As nice as all the touches are (and this place is nice), they don't actually affect discplay. It comes close, but not quite. That said, this Houck fella's getting pretty good at this.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Top notch

1    12/20/2017   12/20/2017
Review By: Bflinn
Played: 64  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 33.2 Years
5 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 3-4 tee pads per hole, all with great signs, benches, and brooms. I played all long tees (except for the few that had puddles around them), to long baskets. I started playing this course 20 minutes after a massive downpour. Very playable. Huge but fair holes. Cart friendly bridges and steps, beautifullly groomed fairways, and directional markers where needed. I didn't have a map, and didn't need one. I will go out of my way to play here whenever I'm heading south.
Cons: 12 hours from home, can't play it every day.

5 of 13 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best

1    12/17/2017   12/17/2017
Review By: sjberry2017
Played: 49  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (A note: I played all blue tees to green baskets)

Great baskets which catch very well

Most holes have two baskets, green and orange.

Multiple tees on all holes, most have three but some have two or four tees. Tees also have brooms for clearing them.

Practice basket with cool brick ring around the base.

Great mix of holes, lots of placement golf, a few grip and rip holes, some technical short shots, and many holes where you need to link multiple good shots together.

Fantastic mix of types of golf; no holes feel like a repeat at all.

Great ground play; lots of holes play into or with a hill side, so you need to plan for where your discs land.

Most holes in the woods have tight but fair lines, really fun.

Several unique greens. The wooden structure for hole 3 orange, hole 4's placement on the side of the creek, hole 8 down the hill, hole 9 surrounded by mulch and a wooden barrier, and most greens have some mature trees which help define where to land for a good putt.

Gorgeous and varied land; field holes, wooded holes, play out of the woods to open and from the open into the woods.

Well manicured and taken care of; not much litter and nothing overgrown.

Benches on most, if not all, tees.

Great infrastructure: awesome bridges and plenty of next tee signs.

Tee signs are super helpful; blue, white, and red signs have distances and pars for all three tees listed on each sign. I didn't check the gold ones.

Tees, signs, and benches are out of the way of each other. Not once during the round did I step up to a tee and find that the white or red tee was in my way.

Baskets have flags to help with visibility.

Mandos are well marked.

Hole 18 finished maybe 100 feet from hole 1's tee. Also, hole 18 can be easily reached from hole 8's pin, so it's easy to play a nine hole loop. Holes 2-6 can also be easily bypassed, so any amount of time can be accounted for in a round.

Hole 13 has a pole on it to help with retrieving discs from the water.

Heated restrooms and a map and info board between hole 15 and 16. A weird spot to put it rather than by hole 1 but still nice to have them.
Cons: A couple of the transitions between holes are long. Specifically 1-2, 6-7, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16, 16-17.

Hole 1is by the church at the first entrance, but the map and info board is by the bathrooms between holes 15 and 16. Really weird spot to have the map.

I played while it was raining (mostly drizzle and light rain) and after the course had been soaked, so it was super muddy in spots, but overall did hold water well.

Some holes have the possibility of losing a disc; I actually managed to lose one on hole 13 in the water.

Some tees on the longer holes are a bit short, but there's plenty of room to run up to them.

I was the only golfer on the course, but many of the fairways are close to each other, as well as pins and tees, so I imagine there are opportunities for some holes to interfere with each other. Mandos and design should minimize this, but we all know some folks love to ignore mandos and errant throws do occur. This is throughout the course.

Some will have a problem with a few of the holes being in the fields, but there are enough trees on these holes combined with elevation change and enough woods holes to where the chance to really lean into a disc and let it fly is super fun. Also, these holes have greens which are well defined by trees and elevation so there is still some placement involved.

This course is not in my backyard.
Other Thoughts: Hobbs Farm disc golf course was a fantastic way to take break in the middle of a long interstate drive, playing around and through a large open park with a wonderful walking and biking trail. From the first hole to the final putt it was raining, but every tee shot was fun and every hole challenging. Many holes on the course require linking several shots together to get the birdie, with several tough but fun par 3's. Trees and elevation abound throughout Hobbs Farm, defining fairways and making it an extremely fun course to play. There is a lot of great infrastructure here, with fantastic tee signs, tees, bridges, directional signs to the next tees, and other various course equipment. Each hole presents a unique challenge and none of them feel like a repeat of a previous hole on the course. Some of my favorite holes from the round were:

Hole 1: a long par 4 to start off, hole 1 plays up a hill along mature trees, with a dogleg right at the top of the hill back down to a guarded basket. Slight elevation changes and a few big trees around the pin make the upshot an exercise in placement golf, a theme of the course.

Hole 2: The tee shot is a booming throw down a hill from trees into a wide open field. However, placement is key because the next shot crosses a creek thorough a tree line to a small meadow, then through another stand of trees to the pin.

Hole 4: following a short and tight hole 3, hole 4 has three lines off the blue tee to a fairway down a hillside. The pin is perched on the other side of the creek, maybe about twenty feet from it. The creek bank is uniquely carved out and really fun to play from.

Hole 7: following a couple fun woods holes, hole 7 is across the road and plays up the same hillside as hole one. Several mature trees to the left and a swampy area to the right define the narrow fairway. Throwing along this fairway and playing into the side of the hill, the upshot plays up the rest of the hill and among trees to the pin perched on the side of the hill.

Hole 9 plays up a tight wooded fairway to a dogleg left, with the green placed at the bottom of an elevation drop. A small wood frame filled with mulch surrounds the pin.

Hole 11: The blue tee plays from a somewhat sheltered area beneath a tree with a lower ceiling down an open fairway. The landing zone is a pick your own adventure area, with several different ways to play down to a pin surrounded by somewhat lower to the ground trees.

Hole 16: Plays down a tight wooded corridor, just a fun shot.

Hole 17: One of the signature holes on the course, Hole 17 tees from the boardwalk which connects holes 1-8 and 18 to the other holes. A short midrange shot, there's also a forehand flex line (right handed thrower). Reaching the other side isn't that difficult and it's also easy to retrieve a disc. Not the most difficult hole but really pretty and a super fun shot.

Hole 18: One final grip and rip hole. It plays up a hill and then back down. It's mostly open until the green, where several large trees define where the upshot needs to land. The orange basket is up a little mini cliff, making the upshot to that pin even more crucial.

There really isn't a whole lot more to say about this course, it's an extremely well taken care of and gorgeous course with a variety of fun shots and great baskets which catch well. The cons I could find are mostly nitpicky and if you have a chance to play this course, you definitely need to take it! I played with a steady rain and still had a blast!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Best Course In Georgia? Yeah, Could Be!

1    9/2/2017   9/4/2017
Review By: thrembo
Played: 161  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 42.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2017
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing course with tons of elevation changes, water hazards and mature trees. Possibly the best designed course that I have played on. Generally three sets of tees per hole, each with its own tee sign, bench and broom. Looks like some new baskets have been added giving a few holes two baskets to throw at. A wide variety of hole types and lengths. Scenic signature holes including 13 (elevated tee to cool water feature) and 17 (elevated tee on a fricken bridge!). Navigation is a breeze and this course features the most next tee signs that I have ever seen. The course is very well maintained. And of course the main pro: This course is FUN to play. I could go on, but trust me, PLAY THIS COURSE!
Cons: The only con that I can even think of is that there is some longish walks between some holes.
Other Thoughts: I had a hard time deciding what adjectives to use to describe this course. Amazing spectacular etc. I heard that they spent $100,000 to build this course, $25,000 of it on just the bridge/tee feature. The course also caters to all skill levels and should be enjoyable to all except the most feeble. This is the first 5 that I have awarded a course, and it is certainly one of my favorites.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Hobbs Farm

5+    7/13/2017   7/13/2017
Review By: craigd
Played: 114  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 9.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was excited and curious to play my first John Houch designed course. Who wouldn't be? After all, we've all read a lot of buzz about his designs in the past. When I learned a course of his would be coming just outside of Atlanta, I was stoked. Turns out so were the locals. After much pregnant anticipation, the course finally went in and for the most part, no one was disappointed. This is a challenging course on some beautiful property and it is well stocked with all the bells and whistles.

As far as this par 66 course goes, expect a steady diet of challenging holes with a mix of longer open and technical holes. There's generous amounts of elevation change throughout the layout. There's a great mix of everything ranging from rolling grassy landscapes, to fairways peppered with large mature trees, to heavily wooded holes. There's a great mix of left and right turning shots. There's plenty of holes that demand accurate placement shots, sometimes multiple times per hole. Most of the longer holes offer (if not entice you to take) different lines off the tee. Some of the tougher lines can offer a reward if well executed but can make your lunch taste bad if not. You will find some tough par 3's, 4's and even two par 5's. Look out for a few must make birdie's sprinkled in that are necessary to erase some trouble you are sure to find throughout your round. If all that's not enough, you'll find water in play on several holes keeping you on your toes. They're highlighted by the scenic swamp hole 13 which is a beauty. Really, there is a little bit of everything out here!

As far as the before mentioned bells and whistles, there's plenty to talk about. The green Prodigy baskets will be the first thing you notice as you pull in the park and start spotting them scattered around. Next, there are three thoughtfully placed concrete pads on nearly every hole (4 holes share pads on the mid and long tees). The longest tees will have you playing almost 8600' while the shortest one's tone it down to 5900'. Each pad has its own tee sign with all the info you can shake a stick at including a map of the hole. Next tee signs point the way around the course making navigation pretty easy. There is generous parking near hole one at the church or alternatively, you can park near the back of the course and start the round on your choice of a few different nearby holes. You'll find a bathroom and water near this lot as well. There are nice bridges where needed with an awesome board walk/tee pad deck on seventeen that you just need to see for yourself. Benches are everywhere and do the job nicely. A practice basket and enough room for some upshots is available near hole one.
Cons: I would have to get unreasonably critical for the most part to find any major cons. Most of the complaints you hear are going to be minor criticisms you'll always seem to hear on a golf course. Mostly just random personal preferences.

I must say, I was surprised to find myself crossing two's fairway to get to seven. Not a huge deal really (probably not even in a tourney given the way its laid out), but I was just surprised by this as there is such stigma about the notion of having to walk across a fairway going from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: This course is well worth even a lengthy drive to play. If coming from the Atlanta area there is an opportunity to mark a few more courses off the "played list" by checking out the Douglasville courses as well. The Westside of Atlanta disc golf is really growing but this is the jewel of them all.

This is a nice park with a trail head to a green belt and a loop good for walking or biking. Even if the family isn't into golf, they can still be occupied while you play your round if you are just passing through. There is a pollinator's garden and plenty of places for some good photography.


12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    4/18/2017   4/19/2017
Review By: hcrebel34
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome well designed course, John Houck design.
Offers something for many different skill levels with three different pads (Red, White, Blue).
We are able to have competitive matches with friends of different skill levels because of the different levels.
Nice open fairways that can be forgiving for entry level players.
The Blue Pads (Pro) tighten those fairways up a bit.
Hole 13 throws over water onto a peninsula. One of the coolest holes I've ever played.
Very nice signs on EVERY hole.
Directions to next pad are clearly marked and the course flows nicely. A first timer could easily find their way to the next basket.
Cons: The course is still filling out. Some trees are still growing into place to complete the design of the course. Once these trees (dogwoods I believe) fill out it will make holes 11 and 15 more challenging and fun by creating some lanes rather than having a wide open fairway.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Commendable choice in Carrollton

1    2/24/2017   3/7/2017
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 111  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 9.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: : The city of Carrollton is blessed with a beautiful and challenging disc golf course. Hobbs Farm offers tons of variety and the three teepads per hole make the course accessible for all skill levels. Hole diversity is paramount to excellent course design, and the assortment of short versus long holes, flat versus hilly holes, and tightly wooded versus wide open holes demonstrates why Hobbs Farm is currently the highest-rated course in Georgia.

The signage is top-notch and the navigation is the best I've seen. Navigational instructions are near each basket to indicate the location of the next teepad.

There are no bad or ridiculous holes, in my opinion, as each fairway seemed reasonable. At least half of the holes bring elevation into play. I don't recall any mandos either (which are normally a result of poor design).

The course allows a bit of warm-up, as Hole #1 is hilly but open, and then a downhill bomber drive is required on Hole #2 before reaching the woods.

As several previous reviewers mentioned, shot selection and placement is vital to scoring well at Hobbs Farm. The mental challenge presented is a great attribute of this course. Choose your disc wisely - selecting a mid-range might be a wise option on several of the holes.
Cons: For first-timers, the basket location might not be clear from some of the teepads. (Which means you need to play this course multiple times.)

A recent rain could result in plenty of mud and standing water on a few holes.

The "traverseability" on this course might be challenging for some disc golfers considering all the elevation and wooded terrain.

Holes #11 and #15 are fairly flat, straight-ahead "filler" holes, but I'm being nit-picky.
Other Thoughts: The best disc golf courses feature physical AND mental challenges. With that standard, Hobbs Farm doesn't disappoint. The diversity of hole elevation and lengths is proof that this course offers something for everyone, from the amateur to the professional.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Another Houck Masterpiece - MUST PLAY!

1    2/22/2017   2/23/2017
Review By: Noahlearner
Played: 61  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Superbly laid out with multiple tee pads with multiple lines to the basket.
-- Excellent Signage
-- Excellent wide cement teepads
-- Course is Hard AND ALSO fair. I never found myself feeling like there were any tweener holes or any luck box holes. All the fairways were fair ways.
-- Tight lines through woods demand midrange accuracy. Discs like rocs, buzzes, truths, cores, warships, compasses come to mind as weapons of choice.
-- whilere there are hyzer line (righty backhand) holes, there are also lefty or forehand holes too (10,13)
-- There are some surprising rollaway opportunities. Hole 8 was an easy putter downhill anny drive followed by a little fluffer upshot, that you can easily roll away down to the pond just below. This was especially hard to take when my drive was only 45 feet from the pin.Bird was lost.
-- Same scenario on the challenging hole 12. I laced my drive into the left gap and had a nice little forhand approach that landed 10 feet fom the basket but hit too much on edge and rolled 100 feet away. Bird was gonzo.
-- I especially enjoyed holes 1, 2, 4, 6, 12(sick),13, 14(sick), 16, 17 (the crosswalk and teepads are wow), and 18 was a great finishing hole.
-- Other holes allow you to bomb without fear. Think 2, 11, 15, hole 13
Cons: -- Wish there was a bathroom by Hole 1.
-- The course isn't located near where I live!
Other Thoughts: -- My original home course was his Nantucket disc golf course and when I travel, I always play Houck courses if I can(Selah Ranch, Harry Myers in Texas, Tall firs in Washington and now Hobbs Farm in Carrolton, GA).
-- This course feels like the Pinnacle of Houck Course design and it epitomizes a lot of the methods that he writes about in discgolfer magazine. It feels like this is what the future of disc golf should be like. Forget about just blasting drive after drive on a ball golf course. This course requires you to shoot for landing zones, sometimes with putters or midranges in order to score well.
-- You also have to stay inside your game and play patiently. On hole 5, I saw the line and when I threw hard I inevitably smashed into a tree and had a two stroke swing, but when I just saw the line and hit the line (and let the disc do the work, it all worked out great).
-- Other folk had mentioned that there were a number of blind drives. It wasn't as difficult as I expected based on their reviews, but I definitely suggest walking down the fairway on some holes when in doubt.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    2/16/2017   2/16/2017
Review By: Taylor510ce
Played: 15  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Uphill, downhill, open, wooded, tunnels, shorties, long shots; Hobbs Farm has got it all! I played from the whites since it was my first time out. You must make your shots count. For blue tees the par 4 and 5s are true--from whites, if you're an advanced player, you can shoot under par easily. FANTASTIC COURSE.

Great local guy, Mr. Heine, was out working on the course--thanks for the warm welcome!
Other Thoughts: You'll find that the pars for the white tees, and possibly reds, could change from 4 to 3 or 5 to 4... though if you don't have a big arm (I don't have a big arm) your upshots have to count to get a birdie on the par 4 and 5s.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

5+    10/31/2016   11/1/2016
Review By: cappysnax
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The best course in Georgia and one of the premier courses in the country..The PDGA should look at this for a big tourny.. Not gonna spend time with descriptions of the course because its been covered by others and the descriptions they have provided are dead accurate. This is more of an emotional appeal to get people out here..This is my "home course" and I feel unbelievably lucky to play it multiple times a week. I have been sucking at disc golf since 1991..I have played all over the country and I am hard pressed to think of a better course..This place truly stacks up with the very best and is an absolute blast to play
Cons: only 18 holes..seriously there needs to be will not want to quit
not enough trash cans
only 1 water fountain and its between 15 and 16

Other Thoughts: if you love the game you cannot get here fast enough

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.