Clermont, FL 
Lake Hiawatha Preserve Share
Uploaded By: jasonandsharon Hole #3 (Taken 2/2017)
5 / 745ft.   5 / 845ft.   5 / 826ft.   5 / 926ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Top Tier Orlando Area Course

2-4    2/17/2019   4/25/2019
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 407  Reviewed: 377  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.970 Rating) A sprawling championship style course with a great mix of shots.
- DESIGN - To date, my favorite designed (not highest rated) Greg Hosfeld course. I think I've played 10 of his; Including Alpha, Picnic and T2. I first played this course early in 2017 and I was impressed despite its slightly unfinished nature. Well the course is finished now and the results are even more impressive. The best natural landscape features in this park were gracefully intertwined into the layout. The course challenges the entire game. Some shots need to be frozen roped down a 6 foot wide line while other holes require two 450 foot bombs with a touch of accuracy to leave a look for an eagle look. Complete game pros with bury the one trick pony pros. There are a lot of courses that claim to be a championship style course, but few, IMO, really are. I think this course has the right pedigree.
- DUEL PINS AND TEES - I have just about always enjoyed courses that offer multiple formats. Lake Hiawatha has duel tees and baskets on almost every hole. Blue tees to Gold baskets offer Advanced level challenges while the shorter white tees to shorter red baskets offer up recreational challenges. Blue to Red and White to Gold are probably both Intermediate level. There are also Green tees on a handful of the longer holes to appeal to Novice level players.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This course appeals to a large swath of players. Other than those under an 800 rating and those above 1000 rating, everyone should be able to find a challenge that fits them here.
- CHARACTER - Excellent. In addition to multi-tees and duel pins noted above, there's a community board with course map. Nearby there's a nice practice area with practice basket. There are shelters with picnic tables and benches at nearly every tee. Tees are a touch larger than normal measuring 5 feet by 12 feet and they are concrete. Lots of tee shading as well. High quality DISCatcher baskets color coded for the front and back positions. I didn't see where, but there is no doubt a restroom area in the park.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - High caliber. The course plays mostly through a moderately wooded area away from developed properties. Lots of massive live oaks with Spanish moss, some tropical vegetation and views of marshy open flatlands. I saw a ton a bird species out here from cranes to hawks to ducks to songbirds to herons, etc. Overall I'd put the beauty in my top 10 to 15 for Florida out of 109.
- CHALLENGING - Upper Advanced level challenges when playing the longest configuration. At a recent tourney in 2018, a 4 under 61 drew a 999 rated round. As noted above, this course challenges your entire game. I threw every shot I had and still came away humbled on a few holes. Visions of greatness were often soon followed by muttered expletives.
- NAVIGATION - Mostly good. As noted above, course map at the community board. Adequate tee signage showing all the appropriate info including next tee direction. The course is very cart friendly.
- UNIQUENESS - The second longest 18 hole course in Florida I've played after Forrest Hills Country Club. Numerous par 4s and a couple +800 foot par 5s. Bomber shots and magician lines. Water elements play a major role on (16) and in fringe situations on a couple other holes. The only thing lacking is elevation, see cons.

Cons: I had to dig down deep to find some ticky tack issues.
- FINISH - Hole (17) and (18) are a pair of average holes to finish the round. I like it when a course finishes strong and these two holes are probably the weakest back to back holes on the layout. In addition, (18) finishes a good 500 feet from the parking area.
- SIGNAGE - Better than normal, but outdated on many of the tees. Corrections have been made to many of the tee signs with the use of a sharpie. Could use a complete overhaul if funds are available.
- DISCONTINUITY - There's a several hundred foot transition gap between (9) and (10) that will require a peek at a map to seamlessly proceed.
- ELEVATION - Like almost nada. If it weren't for hole (5), I would have thought this was a Florida course. Oh wait, it is.
- TIME PLAY - From a course baggers perspective who's goal is to rack up courses, not a good choice. Way out of the way and figure a 90 minute solo round. Figure 2 1/2 to 3 hours for a four-some depending on the layout choice.

Other Thoughts: As of this review, I've put this course as my sixth highest rated Florida courses out of 109, after New World - Green, Tom Brown, T2, Oldsmar and River City Alpha. River City Alpha would now fall behind Lake Hiawatha if I went back and updated that course with my revised formula. The other four listed courses offer the complete package and Lake Hiawatha measures up well to them. I think there are a few more finishing touches that can be done here, like a signage overhaul, but honestly its rating is just about maxed out in my books at a solid 4. It's not like this course can suddenly find an alien landscape of eroding sand dunes like that of New World, or grow some 40 foot elevation changes like that of Tom Brown. This is however, no doubt an excellent course and if you find yourself in the area, I highly recommend checking it out for just about every skill level, other than beginners.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

"A" for Presentation

1    12/19/2018   12/21/2018
Review By: JLethal2
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Layout: Parking, Entrance, Signage are all top notch. Very easy to navigate each hole (The trail leading to hole 1 with the fork in the road leading to White or Blue Tee Pads is a nice touch)

- Options: Having multiple tee pads and pins on each hole offers welcomed variety on this course. Different ways to play each hole is awesome. You can come and play this 18 hole course 4 different times and have a slightly different look at the hole each time.

- Size: This is a pretty monstrous course with several 500 - 800 ft holes which allowed for some versatility to be shown within the bag. You can definitely flex the muscles here. This is a great way to get your exercise in for the day is a round at this place.

- Scenic: The course itself is very well maintained and you can see the people around here take pride in the upkeep of this park. The Signature Oaks of the Lake County area are plentiful here and bring a lot of character in shot shaping to this course. Very Beautiful area overall.
Cons: - Lack of Elevation: This course is relatively flat which is not a huge surprise for a Central FL course but it is always nice to have a few holes with some slight change in elevation to mix things up a little.

- Repetitive: While every hole on the course is very pleasing to play...toward the middle & end of the round we felt as many of the holes were too similar (Huge bomb drives traversing the Oaks is the main theme of each hole).

- Difficulty: It looked well for our score card, but the course definitely plays a little on the easy side when it came to many of the par 4's. A few holes we questioned if they should be a par 4 since they were fairly easy to get to the pin in a couple of shots.

- Hazards: Not much in the way of hazards other than the trees and one very small pond near the end. Some either natural OB or some added water hazards would boost my favor of my overall rating for the course.

- Walking: I found the huge distances between some of the holes as far as walking from Pin to next tee were a detriment to the flow of the course.
Other Thoughts: Another quality course in the Lake County Disc Golf Trail...Immediately after pulling in seeing the level of detail put into this place we knew it was going to be a great place to play some golf.

This is my 3rd course played in this area and have nothing but good things to say about each. This course appeals to the grip and rip crew for sure and certainly gives the feeling of a championship course.

We made the 1.5 hour drive over from Daytona to play it and afterwards were both glad we did. This is a must play course for this area... Well maintained and a quality piece of land for a Disc Golf Course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Course

5+    12/3/2018   12/3/2018
Review By: edwardnaylon
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Multiple pins, multiple pads, tough but very fair, plays for all skill levels, beautiful trees, bathrooms, great signs
Cons: Lack of elevation and risk reward keeps it from being a 5.
Other Thoughts: Each hole can be played at least 4 different ways. top level course design

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Course Designers version of porn.

5+    10/26/2018   11/5/2018
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 355  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 43.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Each fairway features dual roughly textured concrete tees (White & Blue sign posts) and dual baskets (Red & Gold/Yellow DISCatcher 28s). Thus, providing 4 fairway options at ANY given time. All fairway variations are intended to play to the same par (for the intended demographic/skill level.
Most Blue & White tees have a different look at the baskets.
Holes #2,3,5,7,9,12 & 16 also have shorter green pads (rubber).
Plenty of directional arrows hanging on baskets and some Blue & White arrows on posts and/or trees. (The Gold arrows are for the running trail ONLY)
Ample parking. Playground, pavilions, bike racks, water fountains and well-maintained restrooms near holes #01 & 10.
As of 10-18, 18 new concrete benches were added.
Decent temp tee signage as we await Lake County to complete the artwork for the permanent signage. Perm signs will be durable & graffiti resistant.
Long (Blue) to Long (Gold) = 9K+ feet and is a solid challenge for a Pro player. Shorter White to Red is fairly forgiving.
The course was designed to take advantage of the shade wherever possible. If you like playing through live oaks... THIS is your course.
Cons: The running trail, which was designed and installed after the disc golf course, created several safety issues. Several of which were addressed and corrected. Some minor issues still remain. Including holes 1, 3 & 4 being bunched together and some prime areas that we simply couldn't use for safety reasons.
Practice basket area can collect water. Requested fill dirt. No response from city.
Mosquitos and Horse Flies can get bad. Def bring bug spray.
Since the course is a preserve, the mowing schedule is a bit farther apart than a 'normal' park. Contractors will cut for tourneys, but it may be a bit higher in between.
A few Red baskets can easily be "Gray-ACEd". (#1,15,18)
Long-ish walk around dog park to #02, just trust the arrows.
The oak trees tend to drop a lot of branches, especially around hurricane season.
Other Thoughts: This is a course review from the designer/builder of Champions Pointe disc golf course at Lake Hiawatha Preserve.
The par 65 (35/30) course traverses approximately 30 acres of live oaks, in a 219 acre park/preserve on the west side of Lake Minneola in Clermont, FL on N highway 561.
The par 35 front 9 is stacked with SIX par 4s and a par 5. The par 30 back 9 provides several opportunities to score, if you still have the energy.
#01: Short but low options from White tee. Tunnel shots from Blue.
#02: Very tough B-G par 4. W-R plays much easier.
#03: Solid par 5. Nice canopy from White. Tough alley-out from Blue.
#04: Tough straight & low B-G. Various options W-R.
#05: Signature par 4 fairway. B low uphill to LZ. White allows good penetration over crest & down fairway. Cool Red pin position in oaks. Gold in grassy opening with lake view behind.
#06: Slightly downhill tee into oak canopy. Gratifying birdie 3 fr B-G
#07: Blue tee offers 3 options to grassy LZ. White offers wide tunnel shot to LZ. Approach R & G through different tunnels.
#08: Blue thru gap into opening. May replant trees on right.
R pin tucked left. G pin through gap.
#09: Low drive into field. Approach under oak to R. Between oaks for G. Tough par 4.
#10: Medium length par 3. Wind & slight elevation can be tricky.
#11: Fun oaken angles B-R. G requires solid shot.
#12: Tough par 4 through tight tunnel (Left & Right options) designed to favor a power-lefty. Finish a bit right to set up approach.
#13: Tight par 3. B-G has scary pin location near water. R on mound.
#14: Shortest fairway on the course (And tightest) + water. You may not want to throw your prized plastic on this fairway.
#15: B&W offer RBH hyzer to Red & other LHBH lines to R & G pins.
#16: Signature par 5. B & W thru trees to opening LZ. R pin short of water. G pin has water on left & right.
#17: 4 very different par 3 fairways through oaks.
#18: Low ceiling throws to R & G. Gold may require roller to all but those with big arms. Finish a few hundred feet from pavilion & restrooms.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful walk in the park!

5+    4/20/2018   10/28/2018
Review By: erik c
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Champion level course requires every throw in the bag. great mix of par 3s, 4s, and 5s
multiple pads, baskets, lines, opportunities. and nices.
beautiful land, features, and variety!

Challenging, well thought out, disc golfers course.

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Nice long course with multiple tees and baskets

1    10/24/2018   10/27/2018
Review By: rcys
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long Tee pads, 2 baskets per hole. Good for any skill level. You would benefit from being able to drive >300 as there are some wide open holes where you can choose any line you'd like. Beautiful park to walk around and well groomed for the most part.
Cons: Lots of bugs, tough to concentrate when tees were under trees and had to wave off mozzies before prepping to throw.
Other Thoughts: Good good signage basically follow all arrows they will lead you to the next hole. Just have a little faith (ie it's a long walk to #2 tee) but the signs are true.

White to Gold was a challenging course for me (eternal beginner with some natural talent) especially hole 2,3,4 which I managed to double bogie. The back 9 was much nicer as I was able to make up 2 strokes.

Watch for invisible water on 16 left of pins. Some the grossest slimy green water that you do not want to dig your disc out of

The blue tees on 18 are actually easier than the white tees.

Bathroom is chock-full of mosquitoes, but nice facilities.




2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Accidental Ace

1    4/12/2018   5/2/2018
Review By: seniorsmooth
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: nice space for disc course. Back nine even more attractive than front.
Mature trees , beautiful park.
Multiple baskets - good, long holes
Cons: need better signage. Difficult to locate baskets and next holes.
Need to space baskets away from each other.
I mistakenly aced # 15 red. Was going for yellow basket and did not see red basket. Threw a nice shot and heard CHING too early.
Spacing between holes too long.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great design, Challenging Course

5+    4/15/2018   4/21/2018
Review By: blueblur
Played: 152  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 31.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great design, dual installed baskets, multiple, quality tee pads and rest room.
Cons: Signs and seating. New signage and seating are in the works but not yet ready.
Other Thoughts: With 2 true par 5 holes and multiple par 4 holes, this is a challenging but fair course. The course is gorgeous to boot with hundreds of moss covered grand-daddy oaks. There are 2 generous (512) concrete tee pads on each hole. The longer holes have a 3rd, easier tee pad. There is a red and a yellow basket installed on every hole. There are so many ways to play this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ok, maybe I'm a bit biased

5+    4/20/2018   4/20/2018
Review By: RadarChef
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The crown jewel in what will eventually be the Lake County Disc Golf Trail. Features 2 true par 5's (850+) with 16 coming in as the signature hole with a beautiful peninsula cathedral green. The new short pin location on hole 5 has the potential to be just as nice when it seasons in. Gregg Hosfeld outdid himself with this design but of course all the credit should go to the guy who dragged all the cut limbs out of the fairways (ahem, me.)
Cons: Yellow flies. Do you know what those are? If no, you're probably not from Florida. Every once in a while the kids go off their Ritalin and run out in the #10 and #18 fairways but a Destroyer to the back of the head fixes them right up. Just kidding, don't hit kids.
Signage is getting better daily and with the LCDGC's first A Tier coming up Memorial Day, caddy book, course map and next tee signs will be coming your way shortly.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to see what #18 pin locations turn out like. Right now (4/20/18) 18 only has one basket but that is about to change and it will be a pretty rare treat. No spoilers.

Follow the Lake County Disc Golf Course on Facebook for course guides and cool people to play a round with if you're from OOT.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A true golfers course

1    4/14/2018   4/14/2018
Review By: The Drake
Played: 108  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is situated in a very clean park but away from most of the non-disc golf traffic so you don't have to worry too much about other pedestrians. It is obviously very well maintained with nice clean bathrooms just next to a shaded practice basket. I can't speak enough about the presentation of the course as clearly there's a lot of love that went into it. There are clean bathrooms in the building just to the left of the practice basket.

From a golf standpoint there are currently at least 2 sets of cemented tee pads on every hole (the longer ones actually have three) with 2 sets of pins on every hole. Utilizing the red and yellow bands makes basket identification quite easy even on the more wooded holes. With the exception of holes 1 and 2 every long pad at least has a tee sign with the hole distances.

The holes themselves are very well designed. You're not going to get bored playing this course. A "semi-wooded" course, fairways are clear and fair (for the most part) and you're really forced to play specific shots in most cases. There's not a lot of man made "mando's" as the natural fairways will force you to throw the shot the designers intended. Often times you're really trying to figure out the best landing zone to set you up for the second shot as opposed to just "throw disc far".

This course is pretty easy to navigate. There are small arrows on some of the trees to help direct you to the next hole in most cases, but even without them you could find your way around relatively easily.

Most importantly for a central Florida course it is well shaded so you won't get too beat down by the heat.
Cons: There is obviously the standard Florida golf problem of limited elevation. There are a few holes that use some undulations quite nicely (hole 5 in particular) but otherwise there's no major elevation to work with.

One minor complaint is the size of the tee pads. For the most part they aren't a problem for flat ground holes but there are a few holes that are slightly elevated which can make footing tricky if you take long or wide run ups. Speaking of tee pads as the course was recently redesigned I don't know how accurate all of the tee signs are. At least from the longs most of them only denote one distance and it doesn't specify if that distance is to the long or short pin. Even a few of the online distances are off as it currently lists hole 2 as a 260 ft par 3. It's more like a 600+ ft par 4.

There are only two "bad" holes in my opinion that I think could/should be redesigned as I don't think they flow with the rest of the course. 13 and 14 are all basically short tunnel shots with water to the right. They take more luck than skill to play well.

There are hiking trails that run through the course so be aware of other patrons utilizing the course, especially on the back 9.

There are a few long walks between holes (1 to 2, 5 to 6, 9 to 10) and you have to track back from 16s pin to 17s tee but for that hole (easily the best and most difficult on the course) it's worth it.
Other Thoughts: I had no idea this course existed until I stumbled across it on DGCR about a month ago. Obviously I never played the original layout but I can't say enough positives about this course overall. This was a truly well designed course with only a few minor issues. It has easily become my favorite course in the Orlando/Central Florida area. There are a few minor things outlined above which prevent me from rating it as a 5/5 but this course is 100% worth going to play for anyone in the central florida area and for out of towners put this one on your list to play when you're in town. With a few more tweaks this par 65 course could easily be made into a par 72 course with a perfect rating.

This is definitely not a course for the faint hearted. While I played long tees to long pins from what I could tell even short tees to short pins is not a gimme and may leave less experienced players frustrated. Be ready for a tough round with lots of long drives off the tee that aren't just about distance and actually put an emphasis on placement to have a good look on your second shot. You will likely use a good portion of your bag during your round. I drew legit driver off the tee on 8 holes with a mix of sidearms, backhands, turnovers, hyzers and straight shots. The only shot I didn't throw was a roller and that's mainly because I don't throw them often but the ground is such that on the front 9 at least it could be a viable option. The "rough" is truly rough in spots with high grass and briars so watch your footing when searching for discs.

If you travel with your family there is a nice playground at the front of the park with picnic tables. There is also a nice little dog park to the right of the walk between holes 1 and 2

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.