Council Bluffs, IA 
Treasure Cove DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #9 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 480ft.   3 / 480ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
A gem just east of Omaha

5+    8/1/2018   9/20/2018
Review By: aphilso1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course with no two holes alike. It has wooded tunnel shots, downhill bomber holes, a couple ace runs, a hanging basket, and holes that require you to be able to work the disc both right and left. Typically not very busy, even in good weather and on weekends.
Cons: I really don't like the rubber teepads; many are uneven and they can get slick. Navigating is a little challenging. $1 donation to play (honor sytem), which is fine by me but can be a turn off to some. The least fun hole just happens to be 18, so it's not a great way to finish.
Other Thoughts: My personal favorite course in the Omaha metro. Hummel is also great, and it seems common opinion is that it's the best in town. But for me personally I love the variety of holes that Treasure Cove offers.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best in the Omaha Area

1    6/11/2018   6/13/2018
Review By: hammerhead300
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Decent elevation change and a good mix of challenging holes with easier ones. Multiple tee pad/basket locations with different line choices depending on which tee pad you play from. If you make accurate shots you'll be rewarded with well-maintained fairways. The tee pads are well-marked, with good signage showing the general direction of the next tee from the baskets as well.
Cons: Flow could be better; there are some holes where there's a long walk from the basket of one hole to the tee pad of the next. Concrete tee pads would be preferable, but the pads they have are about the next best thing. There are some holes that will punish you for a bad shot, though not to the degree that some other courses in the area (one in particular) will. Holes 5 and 6 have a cornfield along the left side, so it'd be easy to lose a disc in there later in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing if you're in the Omaha area and haven't been there yet. Difficult enough that it won't be too easy for experienced players, but not too difficult for beginners.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Big Arm U

1    11/2/2017   12/25/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 410  Reviewed: 289  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Treasure Cove DGC has nearly everything you could ask for on a disc golf course. There are massive drives on long fairways, woods, great elevation change, a bit of water in play, and versatility of multiple tee pads and pin locations. It is pretty long, even from the short tee pads. Skill and consistent shot making will be a must if you want to score well here.

The campus is pretty and well taken care of. Most of the holes are an grass, and there are mature trees on many of the holes. Even the more open holes have interesting terrain that can make things tough if you are off line and land in the wrong zone.

Hole 2 is the first wooded hole and gives a nice test early on. Wish I would have played 3 from the long tee, but didn't notice it until after finishing 12. I really liked throwing across the Moon Crater on hole 5. The Amen Corner stretch on holes 7-9 are all great holes. My top hole is probably the Hanging Basket hole on 12. Have to love the downhill bomber at 13. The Forrest area has some fun drives on holes 15-17, with an amusing short downhill putter run giving you a birdie opportunity on 17. Climbing up Adrenaline Hill on 18 takes a strong finish.
Cons: I wouldn't change the rating, but it would be nice if the tees had better marking, and I prefer concrete to rubber mats. A few signs to navigate transitions could also be helpful. There are a few long walks between holes, and figuring out which tee is which can be tough.

Pay to play, but is one dollar more than you're willing to pay for a chance to find treasure? The layout crosses parking lots, roads, and loops around in kind of a figure eight. Printing a map may be useful.
Other Thoughts: I tried to play the middle tee on every hole, but I may have been out of place on a couple of holes. There are signs, but not for every tee, and I may have overlooked one or two somewhere.

The DGCR app listed this at par 56, and I was at 65 by the time I sank the last putt at the top of Adrenaline Hill. My only birdie came with a nice putt to make 3 on the Moon Crater. I had chances for birdies on 4, 12, and 17 but the putter was not finding the chains. The wind was fairly stiff on the afternoon I was in town, and my driving also left something to be desired. I would very much like to take another crack at this one.

This course is pretty interesting, and offers very nice variety. I would definitely recommend giving it a try. There is a bit of room for improvement, but it is still great as is.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Campus Course

2-4    5/27/2018   8/11/2017
Review By: Bilisent
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2018
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course with good layout. A sign on many but not every hole, generally next to the middle tee pad, shows hole layout and multiple tee pad and basket positions. Variety of shots required from very open to tight wooded.
Cons: Multiple tee pads on every hole but generally only the center pad has distances to basket positions. While multiple basket positions are shown and poles are visible, there was only one basket per hole, usually on the "B" or Gold position. No idea what distances are from other Tee pads. Some of the Tee pads are very slick, have gaps between sections or have become very unlevel.
Other Thoughts: College maintenance staff do a good job with the grass cutting and debris removal but don't know/understand DG equipment needs. Could still use some TLC on tee boxes and signage.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course

5+    10/17/2015   10/19/2015
Review By: KingDonko
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful scenery
-Lots of variety in the holes
-Well maintained
-Pretty accurate signs at each hole
-Challenging holes
Cons: -No concrete tees
-Parking
-Lots of walking. Unless you are into that sort of thing like me. then this is a pro.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. The scenery is amazing. The holes are challenging. The parking is an issue though. You can't technically park next to hole #1 without a permit. You can usually get away with it, but it is best to park next to hole #10 where there is long term guest parking. Start your round there and end at #9 right behind where you parked.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Didn't work out so well.

1    2/15/2015   2/16/2015
Review By: Zedrijan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A lot of potential. Lightly wooded, idyllic park on a small college campus.
Cons: Broken and missing signs at the tee posts. Course map faded, less than accurate. Unmarked tee pads everywhere. Makes for an excellent game of "where's the next hole?" Spent more time wandering around than playing. Some considerable wash out around the cement culvert on hole 3, enough to be a bit of a safety concern, you could loose a small vehicle in there, let a lone a disc. Foot paths crisscross the course, rendering them useless for helping you navigate.
Other Thoughts: With the guidance of a local, this is probably a great place to play. I found it frustrating being on my own and unfamiliar. For a pay to play course, I expect better maintenance of the signs at least, if not the course on the whole. If they're going to charge, they should charge enough to pay for repairs. Perhaps I should be more forgiving because I attempted (yet not completed) this course in the off season.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Let's take a walk

2-4    7/20/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: ZMesenbrink
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained college campus. You probably aren't going to spend too much time looking for lost discs. The baskets are usually in plain sight with obstacles allowing for a good challenge. They really try to make three different places to tee from for different levels of player.
Cons: They kind of went "mat happy" as there are throwing mats all over the place.
Also, I think the course could have been designed a little better. A friend told me the guy that designed the course lost weight playing frisbee golf so he purposely made it quite a walk for no reason other than to walk. After hole 11 you basically walk back to the tee pad for 11 and 10 feet to the right is the tee for 12. Other than that it's not too bad.
Other Thoughts: They say the hanging basket on 12 is the funnest and really, I say that's just dumb. Novelty at best.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great fun

5+    11/7/2012   11/7/2012
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: If you read all the previous reviews I have nothing new to add. It is laid out great, long holes with terrain and woods, many available tee positions, and three tee boxes at most holes. Some holes have a walk from the basket to the next tee box, but nothing hard and the signs point you in the right direction.
Cons: The Par distances are long. I am by no means a seasoned player, but they seem to be really long Par 3's through out the course.
Other Thoughts: The only thing I would like to see is trash picked up off the course. Every hole has a 55 gal trash can, but the trash makes it through out the course. It may be because it is on the college campus. I paid my dollar donation, but would think they could have the college grounds keepers do a trash walk.

Update: Played last week and the college had grounds keepers cleaning up broken tree limbs that have fallen. The trash is still littering the course. Don't get me wrong it is a GREAT course but people need to use the trash can or "Carry in, Carry out".

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice campus course

1    9/17/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 16.6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I would have loved to have a course like this on my college campus. It's a great exposure for the sport, and a nice activity to have available for the students. The course plays mostly through a park style area with grassy fairways and mature trees. A few holes play a little more technical with woods and brush in play to add some punishment for errant shots.

Elevation is a major factor here on most of the shots. There are a few tough uphill shots, and plenty of interesting rolling terrain that adds challenge and variety. The creek area creates a couple valley shots and a great pin position hanging from underneath a bridge with lurking ob water.
Cons: The signage and navigation are mediocre here, there are some long transitions that aren't obvious and some places where you walk back the length of the hole to get to the next tee. A little work on tee signs to make it a little clearer where to throw and a few next tee signs would go a long way.

Overall the course is a little open for my tastes, lots of places where there just isn't much punishment for throwing a bad shot off the tee nor are there a whole lot of tight gaps you have to hit. I prefer more technical challenges where specific lines are required.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course approachable if a bit long. There is lots of fun elevation and plenty of room for error. More experienced players won't find this to be too much of a test, but it has some fun places to rip some drives and some very cool and unique shots. If you're in the area, this course is definitely worth a stop.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/21/2012   9/21/2012
Review By: T-Manz420
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well marked. Not too hard to find next tee. Love the elevation changes. Trash can on every tee is nice, the course is clean. Low pressure,no body else was playing on a nice Fri. afternoon. Multiple tee's,and Baskets. This course will challenge all takers.
Cons: Keep thinking..... None yet. Oh yeah, if these are all par 3 I'll kiss your a**!
Other Thoughts: get your group together,set your own par, Have a good round! Don't forget to donate your $, money well spent.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.