Council Bluffs, IA 
Treasure Cove DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #1 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 287ft.   3 / 287ft.   3 / 387ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
New large cement tee pads with rounded front.

1    11/23/2021   11/24/2021
Review By: wlbkr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: New cement tee pads, 7 ft wide at back and 5 ft wide at rounded front and 13 ft long. Hole 2 tee pad covered with football turf. And hole 7 circle tee pad you must see. New tee pads compliment a well designed course with 2 signature holes. (Hole 7 throw off levee and Hole 12 - the hanging basket hole.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Lincoln Discer

1    11/16/2021   11/22/2021
Review By: Dizcer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course! Newly poured cement tee pads. Extra long and wide for all skill levels. Long and short pads on all holes with permanent gold length baskets on 6 holes. We'll maintained with groomed fairways. Very clean!
Cons: Maybe one more bridge needed on hole 12.
Other Thoughts: Signature hanging basket on hole 12. Love it!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Concrete T-Pads

5+    11/16/2021   11/16/2021
Review By: Sushi
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course just received new concrete t-pads and not just 1 per hole but 2! Some holes have 2 baskets to add more challenge. Great upgrade from the rubber mats and the course is very well maintained. Course is challenging playing amongst the trees, elevation, and playing in the Midwest, some wind at times.
Other Thoughts: This course ranks amongst the tops in the area and definitely one of the cleanest and safest courses. Hardly ever a backup on the course so if you looking to get a round in on a course that's not congested, this is it.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Surprise in Iowa

1    6/8/2020   6/8/2020
Review By: shai
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 22.5 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent signage and design. Even without a map, the signs at each tee clearly indicate correct distances and the direction to the next tee. The course is on the grounds of a large community college, with plenty of shot variety, and no interference with walkers. It is almost impossible to lose a disc. There are almost always two routes on each fairway. The rough is not death but a reasonable penalty.
Cons: Some of the holes have artificial mandos which I do not like. And a few holes are so long that the drive is a blind shot. Tough for a first timer.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Well designed, lots of challenge

5+    5/22/2020   5/22/2020
Review By: MDfly
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course from the long tees is awesome! Not many birdie opportunities, plenty of challenges. Most of the fairways are well kept, with some great shapes through wooded holes. Plenty of elevation changes. Usually not busy.
Cons: Can get windy.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Educated

1    8/10/2018   12/27/2018
Review By: PumaPaws
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 15.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very enjoyable course to play.
Nice scenery
Baskets enjoyably placed.
Requires different throws.
Saw some deer watching us while playing.
Cons: We had issues finding #18 from the #17 basket.
Not crazy about #18 as the right side is heavily wooded and you can easily lose a disc in there.
Other Thoughts: We had fun playing the course. Would play it again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A gem just east of Omaha

5+    8/1/2018   9/20/2018
Review By: aphilso1
Played: 49  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2019
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course with no two holes alike. It has wooded tunnel shots, downhill bomber holes, a couple ace runs, a hanging basket, and holes that require you to be able to work the disc both right and left. Typically not very busy, even in good weather and on weekends.
Cons: I really don't like the rubber teepads; many are uneven and they can get slick. Navigating is a little challenging. $1 donation to play (honor sytem), which is fine by me but can be a turn off to some. The least fun hole just happens to be 18, so it's not a great way to finish.
Other Thoughts: My personal favorite course in the Omaha metro. Hummel is also great, and it seems common opinion is that it's the best in town. But for me personally I love the variety of holes that Treasure Cove offers.
Updated 5/27/2019: Downgraded a 1/2 star now that I've had a chance to play more courses for comparison. While the course design itself is still one of my favorites, the teepads really are a major detriment and Hole 18 is truly a poorly designed hole. With permanent teepads, regularly rotated baskets, and a redesign of Hole 18, this could be a 4.5* or even a 5* course. As is, it's still a lot of fun but more fitting of a 4* rating.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best in the Omaha Area

1    6/11/2018   6/13/2018
Review By: hammerhead300
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Decent elevation change and a good mix of challenging holes with easier ones. Multiple tee pad/basket locations with different line choices depending on which tee pad you play from. If you make accurate shots you'll be rewarded with well-maintained fairways. The tee pads are well-marked, with good signage showing the general direction of the next tee from the baskets as well.
Cons: Flow could be better; there are some holes where there's a long walk from the basket of one hole to the tee pad of the next. Concrete tee pads would be preferable, but the pads they have are about the next best thing. There are some holes that will punish you for a bad shot, though not to the degree that some other courses in the area (one in particular) will. Holes 5 and 6 have a cornfield along the left side, so it'd be easy to lose a disc in there later in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing if you're in the Omaha area and haven't been there yet. Difficult enough that it won't be too easy for experienced players, but not too difficult for beginners.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Big Arm U

1    11/2/2017   12/25/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 501  Reviewed: 389  Exp: 18.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Treasure Cove DGC has nearly everything you could ask for on a disc golf course. There are massive drives on long fairways, woods, great elevation change, a bit of water in play, and versatility of multiple tee pads and pin locations. It is pretty long, even from the short tee pads. Skill and consistent shot making will be a must if you want to score well here.

The campus is pretty and well taken care of. Most of the holes are an grass, and there are mature trees on many of the holes. Even the more open holes have interesting terrain that can make things tough if you are off line and land in the wrong zone.

Hole 2 is the first wooded hole and gives a nice test early on. Wish I would have played 3 from the long tee, but didn't notice it until after finishing 12. I really liked throwing across the Moon Crater on hole 5. The Amen Corner stretch on holes 7-9 are all great holes. My top hole is probably the Hanging Basket hole on 12. Have to love the downhill bomber at 13. The Forrest area has some fun drives on holes 15-17, with an amusing short downhill putter run giving you a birdie opportunity on 17. Climbing up Adrenaline Hill on 18 takes a strong finish.
Cons: I wouldn't change the rating, but it would be nice if the tees had better marking, and I prefer concrete to rubber mats. A few signs to navigate transitions could also be helpful. There are a few long walks between holes, and figuring out which tee is which can be tough.

Pay to play, but is one dollar more than you're willing to pay for a chance to find treasure? The layout crosses parking lots, roads, and loops around in kind of a figure eight. Printing a map may be useful.
Other Thoughts: I tried to play the middle tee on every hole, but I may have been out of place on a couple of holes. There are signs, but not for every tee, and I may have overlooked one or two somewhere.

The DGCR app listed this at par 56, and I was at 65 by the time I sank the last putt at the top of Adrenaline Hill. My only birdie came with a nice putt to make 3 on the Moon Crater. I had chances for birdies on 4, 12, and 17 but the putter was not finding the chains. The wind was fairly stiff on the afternoon I was in town, and my driving also left something to be desired. I would very much like to take another crack at this one.

This course is pretty interesting, and offers very nice variety. I would definitely recommend giving it a try. There is a bit of room for improvement, but it is still great as is.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Campus Course

2-4    5/27/2018   8/11/2017
Review By: Bilisent
Played: 89  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 21.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2018
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course with good layout. A sign on many but not every hole, generally next to the middle tee pad, shows hole layout and multiple tee pad and basket positions. Variety of shots required from very open to tight wooded.
Cons: Multiple tee pads on every hole but generally only the center pad has distances to basket positions. While multiple basket positions are shown and poles are visible, there was only one basket per hole, usually on the "B" or Gold position. No idea what distances are from other Tee pads. Some of the Tee pads are very slick, have gaps between sections or have become very unlevel.
Other Thoughts: College maintenance staff do a good job with the grass cutting and debris removal but don't know/understand DG equipment needs. Could still use some TLC on tee boxes and signage.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.