Council Bluffs, IA 
Treasure Cove DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #18 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 336ft.   3 / 336ft.   3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Reconfigured and better for it

5+    6/16/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 348  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 14.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderfully hilly course in the loess hills on the IWCC campus. More woodsy than its ever been. Excellent use of elevation and trees with some cleverly tucked pins. Multiple tees available on most holes which provide for varying levels of challenge. Trash receptacles at every teebox with the hole number on them. The hanging basket is unique. Not a lot of crowds here, and most of the players you do run into are serious golfers. Lots of parking available by the arts center, particularly if school is not in session.
Cons: Parts of the course are scattered throughout the campus and there are some long walks between holes. These create some flow issues and you may scratch your head wondering where the next hole is (although this is better than it used to be). Course has been reconfigured, but there are still parts of the old configuration hardware in place, leading to more confusion. Flypads are starting to show some wear and some of them are off kilter. While I like the new layout, I miss the cliff shots on old holes 13 and 14. The loess hills might make great terrain, but man do they get muddy and slick after a hard rain. Nettles in some of the woodsier areas.
Other Thoughts: This course has been a moving target for much of its existence. If you last played the Cove more than a year ago, you may not recognize parts of it. A new football practice field now sits where Hole 15 once did, and because of that, a good chunk of the back nine had to be reconfigured (note: the current pics have the old layout displayed, some of these holes still exist, but there numbers may have changed). The front nine has had new holes added to the wooded perimeter area of the campus and is now the front twelve. The remaining six holes are now old 10-12, two new wooded holes, and old 18 backwards. This is probably my favorite arrangement since the course has been installed. Just a hop off of I-80 and well worth the stop.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Could be a great course

5+    6/21/2008   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 97  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is located on campus with lots of room. The land is great for disc golf. The rubber tee pads aren't exactly a plus, but at least there are tee pads. Good baskets and good amenities. The course has some very aesthetically pleasing holes. It also requires you to have some power to score well. Definitely has some bomber holes out there.
Cons: If the course designer/maintainer would stop messing with the course and stick with one layout, this course would be a top notch course.
Other Thoughts: Worth a play if you are cruising along I-80.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Council doesn’t Bluff...This course ROCKS!

2-4    3/27/2010   10/4/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 31 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The permanent 18 holes are finished and the course is amazing! I posted the 2010 pictures also. This is the home to one of the hanging baskets we hear about (under a walk bridge along a creek, on #12). It was no different that any other basket as far as putting, but it was rather cool to see a very small creek (3 feet wide) running under it. Loved that hole! The layout and design was really good using much of the land at this college. There was a very long dog leg around the corner of a corn field that no longer has a fence. It was really fun to hyzer (RHBH) around and I loved playing right out on the college's front lawn of #10. #3 from the longs literally throws over a wide creek into a nice sized opening. This course has water, great elevation, open and wooded holes, tunnel shots, simple basket locations, and GREAT scenery. There are tons of trashcans and a great message board. The tee pads are in good shape using the non-slip rubber. There doesn't seem to be too many people walking where you play, so it is a fairly safe area.
Cons: The tee signs were not completed the day I was there, but half of them were done. They are laminated paper signs, so nothing fancy, put they hade great info including pin placements and next tee. No public bathrooms, but I mean who is not going to let you in a building to go? ;o) Navigation on this course is bit crazy, but more and more signs are being put up every day to give you directions. They usually have maps where you put your $1 donation, however, they were out when I was there.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor on this course is Crazy Cool. I love playing here. I will play here each time I am in the area and have so far. If I were to consider a college as a younger guy again, this course would be a big factor for me! BTW, for those who care about this, it is worth every bit of a dollar.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.


7/14/2008   7/14/2008
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Break out your distance drivers for this one. Lots of long open shots, many with good elevation changes. I love the long rubber tees.

Each hole is marked by a big blue barrel with a number on it, with colored flags on the tees (red for the easy ones, yellow for the hard ones).

Some unique shots too, like 9 which sits suspended from a bridge in a ravine with a little stream under it.
Cons: This can be exhausting. The fairways are long, and the walks between them can be even longer, particularly on the back 9.

On the front 9, some shots are in fairly close proximity to buildings.
Other Thoughts: Just outside Council Bluffs, IA, on a beautiful college campus (Western Iowa Community College). Just a few miles from downtown Omaha.

Definitely worth the drive out, and the $1 donation.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.