Justin, TX 
Justin DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #8 (Taken 5/2017)
3 / 318ft.   3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Justin DGC

5+    6/27/2020   6/15/2018
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2020
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Two sets of tee pads per hole (except No. 9, which is missing) give you some options. You can easily see the longer tees (concrete) and the shorter tees, which are natural and have circular wooden markers about a foot off the ground.
-- Makes decent use of the land available.
-- Restrooms (and I assume water) are available at the baseball fields next to the course.
-- Water is in play on a few holes (mostly 1 and 9).
-- The dry pond on No. 7 described by someone else as an easy carry was not an easy carry for me (I was short and left), but I still liked the hole.
-- Suspended basket on No. 5 offers some challenge/interest on what is otherwise a 350-foot throw in an open field.
Cons: -- The baskets are not numbered and some are close together, so navigation was an issue. We overlooked a small marker on the ground pointing toward No. 1, which tees off near the picnic tables several hundred feet away from the parking area. If you start with No. 5 (the closest tee to the parking lot), you will start AND end closer to the parkng lot than if you play 1-9.
-- Speaking of parking, it is very limited.
-- Hole 3's tee is very close to people's backyards, which brings the barking and aggressive-looking dogs into play.
-- Holes 2 and 3 are so close together and on several of my second shots on No. 2, I would have been in danger of being hit by a drive from No. 3 had anyone else been playing. And I had not missed the mando.
-- In the long position, the No. 3 basket has no real path to it for the final 50-75 feet. Just get close, then throw and hope.
Other Thoughts: -- Good to see a course in an area not well served, but this is not close to being a destination course. If I lived in this neighborhood, I would walk over and play. If I'm already in my car, I'm probably driving elsewhere.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Typical City Course with Unique Features

1    11/15/2017   12/2/2017
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 287  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits on a very small piece of land, but makes the most of the land that it does sit on. The course is easy to navigate. You can easily see the longer tees with the concrete and the shorter tees that are natural.

It is not a super long course, but there is water that is in play on the back few holes and a few of the baskets are in the group of trees that is in the middle of the course.

Hole 7 was a pretty cool hole as it plays to a peninsula surrounded by water, but it is short enough for anyone to easily reach.

I think the pyramid on Hole 5 is a pro in this situation. I usually feel baskets that are suspended that high are a bit gimmicky, but with literally no other obstacles it adds a bit of challenge.
Cons: Parking is pretty non existent. The course is not near the main parking lot of the park, but you'll have to enter the park through the neighborhood to get to the course. The course notes here on DGCR have good directions on how to find the course.

Holes 3-4 play so close to people's backyard. I am talking like the tee pad was literally five feet from their fence line. I would not be particularly happy if I were the homeowner. Like Dreadlock mentioned, the dogs in the backyard are mean and constantly bark.

The course is a little bit too open with four or so holes having no trees to speak of.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course to play. It is a bit out of the way, but it is a quick enjoyable course. I hear that a lot of the Denton players play a league here, so the course is taken care of well.

Follow the directions on DGCR to find the course. There is a course map at the start of the course, but navigation is not too difficult.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 nice small-town course

5+    4/8/2017   4/22/2017
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -makes good use of the limited space in the park
-concrete long tees, natural short tees
-dual pin positions on most holes
-decent variety of distances but mostly on the shorter side
-creek in play on holes 1, 2, 9
-some groups of trees on hole 1-3, 8
-pyramid hole 5, basket is suspended 8' up in the air
-OB dry moat on hole 6
-mando and OB dry lake on hole 7
-great local group, weekly minis, regular events
Cons: -some very wide open holes, particularly 5, 6, 9
-the creek is in a ravine and is difficult to access, the other side of the creek is even harder to access
-limited parking
-backyards next to hole 3, in play on holes 2 or 3
-dogs in the backyard of one home are hellions, and they will bite
-walking path in play in holes 8 & 9
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, small town course with a lot of little extras. Two sets of tees, two pin locations, 2 practice baskets (one in the open, one in the trees), and a cool group of locals.

The space in the park is limited and there is not too much to work with on most of the land. The present trees are used well and the creek will make you think twice about your line on those holes.

The holes are all reachable off the tee for the experienced player but the trees can smack down your disc or leave you with no putt if you're off your line. The wind is also a big factor on the open holes, which are generally longer as well. The pyramid on hole 5, the OB moat on hole 6, and the dry pond on hole 7 add something to otherwise wide open holes.

Not a destination course but a worthy place for a round for locals looking for something new. Lots of Denton folks play here regularly and run the weekly mini. Lots of work continues to be done on the course so come check it out.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Five Players' Thoughts

2-4    3/19/2017   3/19/2017
Review By: Jimbotten
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Two tees & 2 pins
- Some water holes
- Assortment of difficulty
- Assortment of sidearm-favored holes and backhand-favored holes
- Rough areas are mostly retrievable
- Mando clearly marked.
- Signage is minimalistic, but acceptable (shows distances).
- Assortment of North/South/East/West to ease the strong summer headwinds out of the south.
- Long tees are concrete
Cons: - OB not clearly marked yet.
- Many fairways touch; drives can land near the tees on the next hole.
- Parking is very limited.
- Short tees are natural.
- Lots of hazards to consider:
- throwing over park walkways
- touching fairways
- thorny rough in the wooded edges of some fairways
- steep drop-off on creek makes retrieving discs very hard
- some backyard fences with barking dogs and no trespassing signs means if you throw a disc there, it's gone.
- hole 8 throws over an active soccer field
- Not a summer course (very open, little shade, rough)
- Nothing on the billboard sign except a google earth of the course.
- Tee 4 is around the corner of #3 and blind to your throw.
Other Thoughts: - Skeptical at first of the basket on hole 5, but pretty cool feat.
- Needs better signs in my opinion, but fairly tolerable.
- The barking dogs are annoying.
- Watch out for ants.
- Watch out for bees and wasps in the woods and open fields.
- Don't kill the cat that walks through the fairway on Hole 3.
- Yell HEADS UP!!!! when your throw goes right on Hole 3.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 better than expected

1    7/14/2016   7/15/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 993  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent flow
easy to navigate (as long as the tee signs stay in place)
some really good holes
Cons: Some really boring holes
one hole is really too close to peoples back yards
Temp tee signs, hopefully some better ones are in the works.
Other Thoughts: I was expecting a very flat course with no trees.

You start off with hole one, the signature hole, not because it is a good disc golf hole, it is a 300ft shot with zero trees or elevation change, but because it is the Pyramid hole. The basket is suspended from the top of a pyramid. There is a ladder if you are height challenged.

Next hole is another 300+ hole that is very wide open, unless you turn it over into a small row of trees to the right.

Hole 3 is semi wide open, but you are throwing over a drainage area that does have a small pond in it.

Now you get to the better holes, hole 4 thrown slighting downhill, it does cross a sidewalk so watch out for other park users. This is the first hole that the alternate pin placements do actually change up the hole, the long position looks like it make the hole a blind shot with a hill blocking the baskets view, the shorter position is on top of that hill. While there is not much between you and the basket, this is still a decent fun hole to play.

Hole 5 is a shorter forced turnover shot. It is forced because there is a fence on the right hand side of the fairway. You can throw over this fence, but the risk reward may not be worth it.

Hole 6 is a hard left dogleg, specially from the short tee. Decent hole and is reachable by most advance players.

Hole 7 is a long turnover shot with the creek on the right and a hill/houses/8 tee pad on the left.

Hole 8 throws along the fence line of peoples houses with the basket in a stand of trees.

Hole 9 is an old school type of shot, from the long it was an old fashion s curve hole. Not real long, but there is no hyzer or anhyzer shot, you need to throw and s curve to get the bird. (in the far left position)

In General, there is not much to work with. While I do not like "gimmick holes", the pyramid hole does make hole 1 interesting. The more open the hole was, the longer the hole was, that is a good thing.

My only issue with this course is hole 8. it is TOO easy to throw over into those backyards for my comfort. To be honest, both my shots from the Gold and Red tee's went over the fences but were high enough to come back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Pyramid

1    5/22/2016   6/12/2016
Review By: Pyramiddiscgolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2016
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice holes not to long or short. Small creek in play on 2 holes. Pyramid hole 1 plays great really cool I think
Cons: Baskets are set permanent and Tee signs are out. Hope for them soon.
Other Thoughts: Go play disc golf,

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.