Albia, IA 
Albia City Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #7 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
One to skip

1    4/23/2021   5/4/2021
Review By: knobby325
Played: 305  Reviewed: 219  Exp: 7.7 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Baskets OK
-Makes OK use of small city park
-Layout ends close to beginning
Cons: -Only 2 holes (7 and 8) don't have a road or path in play
-New path through south end of park makes 4-7 strange
-#6 basket is really sad
-Small tee pads
-#2 pad is washing out on left side, dangerous
-#7 pad is severely tilted, almost unusable
-Very faded map barely gets you around
-No real pad for #6 anymore (with new path, used that)
-No tee signage
Other Thoughts: Albia City Park DGC is located on the north side of Albia, IA. At one time, I'm sure this was an OK course. There are some good variations in length and open / wooded. A small stream comes into play on 2 holes (#5 and #7). It appears that no one cares for the course any longer. The long faded map on a piece of plywood on the tennis court fence (near tee #1) is a necessity for first timers. #1, 2, 3, and 9 all have the park road in play. The #2 tee pad is being washed away on its left side and dangerous. #3 tee is back up the hill (which you wouldn't know without the map) #4 starts along a newly paved path to a basket up and on the other side, #5 plays across the path and #6 plays along the path again. #7 tee pad (and I use that lightly as I wouldn't tee off it) is just off the path and into the woods and over the stream. #8 is fairly open with a small slot to get through to the basket on the other side of a tree line. While I played on a Friday, there was only one lone truck to come through the park on my round, but the interaction with the road and the path would make this unplayable at times. These hazards really knocked it down for me. Just seems the disc golf is a forgotten relic of this park. If you're looking to bag it, maybe, but otherwise I'd skip it until someone looks at it as a course once again. I won't be playing here again.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 A 9 hole course, with moxie! ...as long as you know where you are going

2-4    1/19/2017   1/2/2017
Review By: RussMB
Played: 131  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2018
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located in a Rec Park.
Play is for all skill levels
Concrete Tees, Discatcher Baskets (1 older discatcher sport)
Navigates the perimeter of the park, back to the parking lot
Variety of Terrain and a nice mix of wooded to open fairways
Long distant runs,
Has a good fun factor and has a decent challenge
Most of the course is segregated from the rest of the park traffic. Minimizing pedestrian interference
Has a good fun factor! (*There is a caveat to this, see cons)
Good layout, that is well thought out. Given the area with which they had to work with.
Cons: Navigation: Remember the asterisk? If you don't know where you are going, you could have an issue. (First time issue only. Once you know, it's easy to remember)
They need to put a course map on tennis court fence.
No signage. This doesn't help the navigation issue. Once you hole out on 2, you won't know that the teepad is back and up the hill near the tennis court. 4's basket is up the hill tucked in the woods. To get to 5, Go up the hill behind 4's basket, to the water parks fence and 5 plays back down the stairs through the woods. 6's basket is hidden way down the fairway and hard to see.
Small tee boxes
If it's rained, there are areas that could get real sloppy!
Some baskets are older and could use an update. (I realize that's a trivial issue, but I'm just addressing it)
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, once I figured out where I was going. This course offers up a good mix of challenges. It really surprised me, cause I prejudged it because it was a small park. I was pleasantly surprised. There's open shots and technical shots, yet it still plays fairly quick. Yet you'll still get a challenge when you play here.

The secret to your first time, look at the pictures on this website. That will help you find out where you need to go. There's also a faded map in the files and maps. Once you've played here, it's easy to remember. If you are heading over to Centerville to play, or just driving through Albia, it's worth a stop.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 park course with woods

1    7/9/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: iblanchard
Played: 243  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 19.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-4-7 play through the woods with a mowed fairway
-Wasn't busy
-Wasn't too bad to navigate, only time we looked was for 3 which you had to walk up the hill and 9 was closer to the woods
-Drinking fountains
Cons: -Small tee pads
-No signs and tee pads had faded painted markings
-Have to throw next to the highway, but it isn't too much in play unless you shank it
-Brush/weeds thick in some areas
-Have to throw over park road a couple of times so watch for traffic
Other Thoughts: All in all it wasn't a bad course. I won't go out of my way to play it again but if you want something different with a couple of challenging holes, and you're in the area, go for it. Everywhere it said there was water it was dry or a think trickle of water in the creek.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Albia City Park

1    4/5/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: Berryiowa
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a 9 hole course that flows faily nicely.
* Concrete tee pads on all holes(small but there)
* Course flows in a nice circle
* End near start Start
* Good use of elavation
* diffrent variaty of shots needed
* bathrooms at start and finish
* Shelters and playgrounds for family members who are not playing.
Cons: * Only 9 holes could use more of park and make 18 holes.
* Concrete tee pads are very small
* No Tee sighns at tee pads
* no course map at begining ( noted on previus review that they said it was on the tennis court fence but i did not see one)
* Hard to find the next tee pad
* I can see if there is alot of rain that some of the holes would be unplayable
* Not very challanging course
* Course looks like it could be over grown easly in summer months
Other Thoughts: I played this course after work when we where in Albia. This course is a nice quick play if you know where to find the holes. It is not one of my favorite courses but will play when in Albia.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Decent Small Town Course

5+    6/5/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: jreed
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mature trees in a fairly established park.
Some elevation change up, and down.
3, 5, and 8 are the best of the nine.
Gives some locals a place to play, with decent variety of shots, short, long, open, tight, and a little water.
Not much traffic.
Moderate parking.
Very near to the city athletic complex, where you can find concessions about every night in the summer, or some open hucking area other times!
Cons: Small teepads! 3x6, if I recall.
Needs manicured throughout the summer, gets very overgrown, as mentioned. Play in the early spring before, or late fall after the trees and bushes get thick.
Not partucularly challenging with the exception of the ridiculous overgrown brush during the summer, and that is more annoying than challenging.
Abundant ivy on the wooded holes.
The traffic that is there is generally kids, some of which are prone to grabbing discs.
People tend to drag picnic tables into the best shade...number 9's fairway.
Other Thoughts: Discatcher baskets, not my personal favorite, but they all match anyway. All in all this is a track I still hit a few times a year for nostalgic purposes...before April and after September to avoid the uber-brush. If this is the closest course to you, by all means go play it, but it is not worth more than a 30 minute drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rain, Rain, Stay Away

1    6/25/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 267  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 36 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good balance of hole lengths and the par setting is not too bad. There is a map hanging on the Tennis Court fence by hole #1. There are cement tee pads on almost every hole. There is water, elevation, OB, woods, risk/reward, and open holes here. It will take a variety of shots to play this course well. Some of these holes are quite inventive actually. #5 is kind of a blind, downhill, no seeing the basket (because of the foliage over-growth) shot, however it was a fun hole to play! This place had some tough holes that required well-placed shots to make par on.
Cons: If it rains much, stay away. Some of this course is swampy & messy to get to the baskets and tees. Some of the holes are close to kids' playground areas. Some of the foliage needs to be trimmed back some so the holes can be played as they were designed. #5, if being played as shown on the map, has no cement tee pad. This course does have a little bit of everything, but it doe need to be better maintained. There is an extra tee pad on #1 that throws you off the trail, but even besides that, you will need a map to navigate this place. There were no tee signs. I did not see a bathroom here either.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was not that good as it was tough to get around in all the mud, but this comes with a major footnote. If they took the time needed to get this course cleaned up, updated, and in better playing shape, it could be well worth the trip. This place has some real potential as the layout was very interesting and some of the holes were quite inventive. Crossing my fingers for park department to clean this place up.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.