Simi Valley, CA 
Sycamore Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #10 (Taken 12/2016)
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
fun elevation

1    6/10/2018   6/23/2018
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 314  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great elevation used to good effect
-cool rock formations on holes 5-10
-nice layout, flows well and avoids high use areas
-lots of fun and reachable shots for the experienced am player
-good discatchers and concrete tees
-yellow posts marking tees and large numbers on the baskets
-awesome, friendly locals
Cons: -a couple holes are pretty vanilla, especially compared to the middle portion of the course. but hey, what can you do?
-could really use proper tee signs and a course map near the first tee. navigation is not easy without a map
-hole 9's tee has moved from the top of the hill down to the bottom next to the sidewalk
-pedestrian path in play around the first and last holes, pedestrians may be sitting on the grass around holes 1-4 & 11-12
Other Thoughts: The course at Sycamore Park is actually a lot of fun. It's a fairly quick round at only 12 holes (so long as you know where you're going) but there are some fun downhill tee shots and a lot of reachable birdies if you can drive a controlled 250'. The course makes good use of the land available and does a good job mostly avoiding the pedestrian areas of the park.

There are a bunch of really cool rock formations at the base of the hill at the back of the park. There are a couple downhill tee shots toward these rocks and they are fun shots onto unique greens. Hole 3 has a mando to avoid the road and there are some OBs near the pedestrian paths on holes 4, 11, and 12 and there are island greens on 9 and 10.

Only the first few holes and hole 12 have any trees in play. The elevation and rocks really make up for what is an otherwise short and simple course. It makes the best use of the land available and I think it's easily the best course in the Conejo Valley. I'll definitely play here again when I'm in the area and it's worth checking out if you're somewhat close. Course baggers can easily grab this one, Sequoia Park, Rabbit Flats, and Chaparral Park in a day if you're trying to knock out the whole area.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/7/2018   3/8/2018
Review By: omnesilere
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well thought out course, they used the park in an excellent way - avoiding crossover of the baseball diamond, basketball court and kids play area so it should be safe to play most the time beside pedestrians. Nice yellow pro baskets installed. They have one hard uphill shot but a couple really nice downhills, well done. The place is very well maintained like most Simi Valley parks. It'll be difficult to lose a disc in most places. Free parking, free to play. Where to throw is nicely marked at each hole with a yellow flex-post. Definitely worth going to if you can but at 12 holes don't expect a full pro course. If I lived in Simi still I'd be here every day. every. single. day.
Cons: I feel it's almost too left hand friendly, 9/10s the population is right handed after all - a challenge is good though. There will be other people still not used to disc golfers being around them - other sports and park goers. Would be nice to have distance and number basket on the t-off markers just to know, a couple do have the number so I don't get the inconsistency there.
Other Thoughts: Makes me wish I lived in Simi Valley still.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jarvis & Danny's 13-18 revealed

2-4    8/11/2017   8/12/2017
Review By: The Katana Kid
Played: 94  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 2.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well designed with basket placements to maximize the space given. This park isn't big enough for 18 baskets, unless you force baskets around a corner of the park where more people are. It's good the designer didn't force in 18 and make it too crowded and around people or limit himself to nine. The locals have added 6 more difficult holes within the flow of the course to round out 18 utilizing the existing 12 baskets and tees.

Here is 13 - 18 according to Jarvis who I met there and played a round with. He's local and been playing here since it's inception: He calls this "J&D's Back Six" since his friend Danny and he spend a lot of time there leveling and maintaining clean tees...etc.

13. Throw from 1st tee to 2nd basket. Mando around the obvious tree line to keep away from the street. 294'

14. Throw from 3rd tee to 4th basket. 435'

15. Throw from 2nd tee to 5th basket, which is on top of the hill. This is a par 4. 427'

16. Throw from 6th tee to 7th basket. This is a par 4. 620'

17. Throw from 8th tee to 11th basket. This is a par 4 with 11's OB. 710'

18. Throw from 12th tee to 1st basket. 342'

Nearly every hole has elevation, some are special (e.g. 5-10). It is worth your time to walk through the pictures of each hole on this site. A picture is worth a 1,000 words. The video linked here, which is nice, has an old tee position for 9 that was moved since the neighbors complained you could see into their yards from the old tee location. The scorecard reflects the old distance of 180' but the course map reflects the new tee location. The current 9 is longer than 180 ft.

The baskets are Innova Discatchers and in good shape with hole numbers on them. They are well situated throughout the park utilizing trees, rocks, fenced area on 1, and elevations to challenge every level of user.

The park is well maintained grass with mature trees where holes 1-4 and 11-12 reside.

There are tee markers on all holes except 10, which is located on top of a rock formation so a pin would be hard to stay there.
Cons: Stickers! Wear boots or gaiters, unless you don't mind stickers in your socks. Holes 5-10 are sticker rich.

The rough on 5-10 is surprisingly sneaky at hiding discs. This is more of a warning than a negative.

The tee pads are dirt. Although they are well maintained and I had no problem, the course would be better with concrete or pavers.

The tee signage is also not up to the quality of the course. All that's there now is a fragile post with the hole number on it. It'd be nice if there were concrete tees, similar to Riverwalk in Corona, that includes the distance, hole number, and par.

The first time I came the #1 tee marker was gone and it was frustrating to find the tee location from the map. The biggest complaint in other reviews was not locating the 10th tee. Concrete tees would be a big upgrade and make it more playable after rain.
Other Thoughts: You need the course map to navigate this place. With it you should not have a problem following the course, including the hard to find #10. If you look at the pictures beforehand it'll also enhance your experience here.

This is not a huge park. The designer, Mike Byrne, did a good job. It is worth a visit for SoCal disc golfers.

If you have the energy left after the standard 12 then the safari back 6 flows well and allows for a big arm in a nice city park where I have not seen a problem with people in the way and that's a nice and hard to find combination.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course with Beautiful Landscape

2-4    7/18/2017   7/18/2017
Review By: camboslice
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well organized. All Tee Pads had markers in the direction of the baskets
- Beautiful park
-Varied length and difficulty of shots between holes
-Lots of street parking
Cons: -No tee pads, just dirt
-No tee sign for Hole 10
-Typical California brush from holes 4-9
-No bathrooms
Other Thoughts: Great course for all skill levels. For beginners I'd say stick to Holes 1-4, 10-12. 5-9 aren't "difficult" as much as annoying if you throw it off course. Lots can go wrong on those holes. The park is very pretty and I'm lucky to have researched for DGCs nearby using this site!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lovely little course in Simi Valley

1    12/28/2016   12/28/2016
Review By: snoho
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Beautiful use of the terrain, lots of fun holes up into the hills and over/around the big rock formations
* Generally well-marked tee locations (we did have trouble with hole 10)
Cons: * Windy!
Other Thoughts: We played this after stopping at the presidential library and it was way more fun than the library. It's a lovely course tucked into a park in a residential neighbourhood, and we were the only people playing when we stopped in.

The first few holes are in grassy areas, but the real fun starts with hole 5. We looked from the tee pad for the basket, then realized it was UP. Like way up. From hole 5 through hole 10 you meander up and down the hills with all sorts of fun downhill shots that make excellent use of the rocks. I almost birdied a hole by bouncing off a rock wall into the basket!

The only downsides we encountered were quite a bit of wind, and we never did find the tee location for hole #10.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    7/14/2016   7/15/2016
Review By: Adooley
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new disc catchers
Clean, well maintained park
Pretty good flow from hole to hole. After #12 you're back near #1
Good lines for beginners and advanced players
Over all a fun course
Cons: No signage but still easy enough to figure out. Tee signs are always nice though.
No concrete tee pads
Super windy!
Throwing #12 you'll have to watch out for people. The basket is kinda closer to some picnic tables.
Super windy!
Other Thoughts: I played here mid week and there was almost no one here except for a couple of people walking their dogs and some kids playing Pokemon Go. No other DGers. Great course for a couple of practice rounds. Not sure if I'd drive out there again coming from Hollywood but it is a must if you're in the area. First "half" is a grassy park like setting with some trees. Second "half" is more like a desert setting with some cool holes around some awesome rock formations.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

5+    5/24/2016   5/26/2016
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 24.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- F2P (free to play)
- Ample parking
- Hole diversity
- Terrain change throughout the course
- Balanced RH LH throwing lines
- Several top of the world shots
- Wind (see Cons)
- Park setting
- Large warm up field
- Mixed distances w/ plenty of ace runs
Cons:
- Foxtails
- Wind can be oppressively strong at times
- Mixed use area
- Dirt tees (concrete soon)
Other Thoughts:
Overall I really enjoyed this course. Great views and amazing rock formations throughout the back half of the course really make this place pretty.

A great addition to the Simi Valley DG scene.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.