Barto, PA 
Butter Valley Golf Port DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 6/2017)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
  

1    2/24/2019   2/28/2019
Review By: MichelleWraith
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good scenery. Good exercise.
Cons: Hole 1 is basically unplayable. Not very well marked. It was not worth being charged to have the threat of being hit by a golf ball.
If we did actually rent a cart, there is NO way you could get around to half the holes.
Some holes were not even passable on foot, had to find ways around creeks and excessive mud.
Other Thoughts: Disc golf is not ball golf. They are similar but they are not meant to be together. They are not even meant to be similar in design. It is not a good idea at all.
Charging for disc golf is a violation, especially if you are not really offering something really special.
There are also some great courses in the area for FREE!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not your average disc golf on a ball golf course

1    6/14/2018   6/15/2018
Review By: PRC90
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2018
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Picturesque scenery, every hole feels like it frames up in a way that looks and feels epic.

Excellent facilities (clubhouse, bathrooms, cart rentals)

Beautifully maintained, every fairway was cut to the perfect length not a blade of grass out of place.

Reasonably Priced ($7 to play $5 for the cart at the time I played)

Excellent shot variety, plenty of elevation, never felt "samey".

Despite being on a golf course there was very little interaction with the ball golfers which was nice.

While holes were generally of the longer variety it never felt like a wide open shot, it retained a very disc golf feel to it and was very technical. (great use of low ceilings)
Cons: Course isn't properly beat in yet. (some of the rough is gnarly but staying on the fairway avoids this issue) and the ground is very much a bog in a lot of areas, waterproofs and pants are a must unless you don't mind getting muddy/scuffed up.

Layout isn't very well marked and even with a map it's a little confusing to navigate on your first time out.

Course layout exacerbates the wind conditions significantly.

Tee pads although were of adequate length/width were not level in any way shape or form often times you were walking down hill to throw an uphill shot which to be fair is just a pet peeve of mine but nonetheless was very annoying.
Other Thoughts: If you were looking at Butter Valley and thinking it would be your chance to throw 500ft+ bombs down a rolling golf fairway then you might be (un)pleasantly surprised when you see how technical and not wide open this course really is. This course without a doubt is built to be difficult and feels very much like a disc golf course that happens to reside on the same property as a golf course rather than disc golf on ball golf. The course is very balanced in general mixing short and long holes together in a way that breaks up your rhythm and I would say 90% of the time the fairway is fair. The course is still reasonably new and really just needs to be beat in as the rough in some spots is definitely a little thick. The course layout is reasonably long but the distance of the course is even longer and I would venture to say it probably wouldn't be worth playing it without the cart because of the longer gaps in some of the holes.That being said it is amazing how much easier a course is on the body when having the carts and the novelty is worth it for sure.As far as gripes go I think that proper signage and a better map/diirectional markers would be very helpful because even the desk attendant told us there might be a couple spots where we feel lost and we did spend a good amount of time driving around trying to find holes we totally missed. The lack of tee signs really hinders the playability on the longer holes because you feel like you just throw into the abyss and then suddenly a basket appears, with the cart we mitigated this by driving the fairways on most holes to get an idea then go back to tee off but some holes (the monster par 5) we didn't get that luxury.

Overall the layout is great, the course facilities are nice but it's the little things that hold this course back from a better score, I definitely see myself making a few trips to this course a year and knowing the layout more I think it will probably play even better that it did for me before.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Interrupted by Weather

1    5/12/2018   6/3/2018
Review By: itsRudy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2018
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Some holes were long distances, and would be more enjoyable for someone that can realistically throw 350'-400' semi-accurately and doesn't want to go all the way to Nockamixon or be amongst crowds.
-#5, especially, should be fun for canon arms.
-On the map, the DG course resides on the outer perimeter of the ball golf course, with sections in the woods, but a fair amount was shared among the fairways.
-Fairly hilly, with lots of downhill to uphill or vice-versa on the same hole.
Cons:
-Disc loss potential at #1.
-No rain checks? Check the weather before going.
-With our noodle arms, I and my friend were always getting off the carts again before they even started moving. Given that we also often chasing errant discs on decidedly cart unfriendly ground, not sure renting them really made sense or saved us much walking. I consider walking the course just part of the fun.
Other Thoughts:
tldr; It's okay, but not astounding with the other courses around. If you don't throw over 300', I simply wouldn't recommend going here.

This is a pretty cool area, definitely off the beaten path. In the driveway, there's a stop sign because you're crossing a landing strip (!) with small planes parked nearby and it's a golf course to boot.

Prices didn't exactly match on the online description when I went, although that has been fixed in the meantime. For two people the cost, with cart, was $24. As I understood it at the counter, unlike previously stated in the description, it's not unlimited rounds that day. Each new round requires an additional cart rental fee.

Gotta say upfront that this is an incomplete review, I just didn't get to play the entire course. It was a perfect sunny day all day on some Tuesday (iirc) in May, which forecast a vague warning of rain coming, but I play, rain or shine. At basket#10 (which we somehow ended up at from tee 8, map misread); the sky darkened within minutes and we, and everyone else, were hastily shooed off the course because of a tornado warning. Super heavy rain came 10 minutes later, and even small hail. Weather in the area has been pretty sketchy this year.

We were just told to park the cart up front and wern't offered a raincheck or anything. I would have liked to finish up later that week, but I doubt I will come back until I can toss over 350'; and finishing a single round just for a review, in the meantime, to the tune of nearly $50 is too rich for my blood. But that didn't affect the star rating I gave the course.

#1. This is quite a ways from buildings, we were shown to the tees, driving the carts thre for a good minute or so. Throw downhill, with a sizable and deceptively grass stream ending in a big lake. Basket is uphill again. My partner, a beginner, lost 2 discs (Midrange Sharks - keep 'em) in the stream here, submerged in the swampy grass somewhere. The grass on the other side of the stream was treacherous to carts.

#2-4. This took us into the woods. #2 was a lengthy shot, mostly flat, before dropping into a ravine and back up again, basket on right. #3 and #4 got progressively shorter. At the time, the cart got nearly stuck on the path midway through 4 because of exposed drainage pipe blocking the way and needed a good amount of speed to bypass.

#5. A really long downhill shot, around 900' iirc from the farthest back tee. On the left, there's a deep trench on the course and somewhat swampy ground that made errant discs a pain to get. 2/3s way through, it started uphill again and basket was located past a patch of trees.

#6. Another downhill and uphill ravine with the basket fairly, short distance, with a line of trees at the streamline (?) offering an opening. #7 was a backtrack, with the downhill/uphill offering the same tree curtain, but much longer towards the basket, with a line of trees in the backhalf.

#8 was a ways away and was another lengthy one, slightly downhill. I went by the tee direction and shot through a big break in the treeline, only to find out we hit basket 10. A well-known phone app didn't have a map to this course yet. Basket#8 would have been in the woods and basket#10 was slightly uphill, nearly paralell to it.

Going by the map, #9, #10, #13, #14 look pretty short. #11, #12, #15 look medium distance. And the last three, #16-18 are long.

Based on another reviewer, I would have liked to shoot #18 for scenic value alone. Out of the ones I played, I enjoyed #1, #2, #5, and #6 the most. I might retry this course in a couple years when my distance improves. But it's nothing I'm raring to go again right now given the other options around.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Thumbs down, two stars because you can rent a cart!

1    6/12/2016   6/12/2016
Review By: Cpatire
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Hole #18 is the most scenic and playable hole on the course. You can rent a golf cart. Well maintained grass being this is a ball golf course as well, however only a few holes play on the grass.
Cons: Terrible layout. You need to be able to throw 300 feet at only 6-8 feet off the ground. Most holes have very small and low fairways. Very poor signage showing you where the holes are. There are no next tee signs on the whole course. Several blind shots, most of which you can not see the basket, hoping you are going in the right direction. Lots of poison ivy be careful. Very poor tee pads, no form and not flat. Course needs lots and lots of pruning of trees and shrubs.
Other Thoughts: First and last time playing this course, Villa Crossings is much better!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Butter Valley

1    6/2/2016   6/2/2016
Review By: Hustle
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful land groomed to perfection
Well designed course with many "signature" esq holes
Challenging to say the least with all types of shots needed
Longer holes (I like to air out)
Food, drinks, and a pro shop
One of the best courses around the area.
Cons: Certain teepads are not very good.. It's almost better to tee off the grass from the side where it isn't dusty or slippery gravel rocks.
Some holes are not completely worn in yet so there are some tee shots that you might get a little irritated when you hit the line but hit an overgrown branch yet to be handled.
I do not mind paying, but for some the cost for each round might be a con.
Other Thoughts: Course is top notch design with a professional vibe to it. Both from the technical aspects of the required shots and the sheer aesthetics of the incredibly well maintained land. Many local pros helped with the design and it's definitely one of the higher quality courses in the area. Not just 18 holes tossed on a piece of property. Well thought out. The teepads are being swapped with better ones soon and after that happens this will remain a 4.5 rating from me. Too good to only be a 4, but not quite a 4.5 yet with the lackluster tee pads. If you come to PA, you need to play this place!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 too new to be awesome

2-4    5/29/2016   6/1/2016
Review By: blazerico
Played: 312  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: for a very small group of people, the onsite airstrip will be a big plus; but, for the rest of us, it's just kinda neat to see planes landing as you play 18, being mindful to check both ways before you cross the anywhere near the landing strip. The major pros are golf carts, onsite restaurant, booze, bathrooms, drink service while on the course and a small pro shop. Overall , the course is laid out well, with almost every hole being a new and fun challenge.
You need the map, it's basic but points you in the right direction. what you'll really want to do it look for the white flags with the hole number on them. It's a must another must play course for locals and will be a great country club-ish experience for anyone traveling through PA.
Cons: -Bad rough on the wooded holes and low ceiling tunnel shots on a number of holes drove me crazy the first time here, but I got over it and had a much better second round a few days later.
-The teepads are not complete and currently are just concrete poured on the ground without any structure. I hear they are getting flymats or something to cover the pads, but for now they can be uneven and falling apart.
-Playing alongside and or near the ball golfers wasn't too much of a problem, but THEY are the priority and disc golfers must wait for them, so that can lead to long wait times if the ball course is busy. Most of the ball golfers we saw were pretty cool and offered to let us go first, but we explained that they had the right of way. You can check the BV website for their tee times to try to avoid ball golfers.
Other Thoughts: As with any new course, BV will get better over time. A little trimming here and there and actual teepads will do wonders for this place. But for now, you have food, beer, golf carts and a challenging course to keep you happy.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 butter valley

2-4    5/27/2016   5/31/2016
Review By: dave greene
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great course....on golf course property,but for the most part does not play on ball golf course....golf cart are available,i would recommend...very challenging...long holes ,low ceilings,elevation,water(over a pond on hole one)woods....a must play!
Cons: if your looking for easy,you came to the wrong place...not for beginners...
Other Thoughts: there is a kitchen,beer,proshop an a airport...lol

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.