Niceville, FL 
Boggy Bayou DGC Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #2 (Taken 2/2017)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

2-4    6/20/2017   6/25/2017
Review By: MikeK
Played: 265  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 22.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent amount of trees which make good obstacles and provide some shade. Two tees for the 9 baskets out there. Baskets catch well.
Cons: Flat, all par 3s, dirt/grass tee pads. No course map, although it is easy to navigate. No benches.
Other Thoughts: This is about as average a course as I can possibly imagine. It's not bad at all, but none of the holes really stand out or capture the imagination. I'm really struggling to come up with the words to describe this course! Just not much that stands out. It's fun enough, but I sure wouldn't go out of my way to play here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best Area Course

1    6/10/2017   6/10/2017
Review By: RayRay
Played: 118  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Only area course with normal disc golf length / difficulty
- Mostly ceiling shots that require players to hit a window
- No actual bog / swamp
- Holes are not easy ( I would describe only one as a "par2" ) but you won't lose any discs or waste any time looking for them
Cons: - Natural tee pads
- Only 9 baskets (2 tees for each). I was worried about this at first but all the holes played very different on second lap around so I was pleasantly surprised.
Other Thoughts: Of all the courses in an hour drive, this is the only one worth playing. The others are just too short / strange while this one would be playable in any city.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not too bad.

5+    5/14/2017   5/14/2017
Review By: YouGotXRAYd
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great holes for those looking for technical shots as well as some that you can really rip into.
- Front 9 is super easy to navigate with signs for distances.
- Very close to other park complexes and easy restroom locations.

Cons: - Back 9 is a little tricky to navigate, and it does not have distance signs.
- Par for the holes is not listed anywhere on the course, but all holes are Par 3.
- This course is located on the Mullet Festival fairgrounds so is shut down during events. Bummer :/
- Sandy tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is not bad. I feel like if they could just add some better signage and some better tee pads this course could be truly amazing. I feel like beginners as well as more experienced players can have an equally great experience here at Boggy Bayou DGC.

Update: I still stand by my original review; HOWEVER, I think this course should be strictly 9 holes and that is it. And please be careful on those sandy tee boxes. I almost twisted my ankle today (11/11/17) on Hole 3.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bogged Down By Navigational Issues

1    5/13/2017   5/13/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 154  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- free to play, free to park
- cart friendly course
- big arm friendly course, but has some technical holes mixed in
- high quality baskets
- front 9 easy to follow
- low traffic course
- most holes have enough tall tress to shelter players from the sun
- few ace runs
- portable toilets in general area
- bright colored baskets are easy to spot from a distance.
Cons:
- some basket placements were a too close to the next hole tee off
- fast greens
- not much fairway shaping
- not much punishment for errant throws
- a couple holes run the chance of losing drives over a fence
- not really any designated parking spots, parking shared with other park activities
- not exclusively a disc golf area, fair grounds supersede course activities
- flat course
- sand tee pads
- tee signs on the "back 9" are very small, don't list distances, and are difficult to find.
- poor signage between holes made navigation difficult on hole 10-18
- I could not find 13 or 18
- no alternate pins
Other Thoughts:
Boggey B. is a fairly wide open, flat, park style course with no underbrush. Fairways feature scattered trees that help influence particular lines a player should take without being overly punitive. Distance is used to create most of the difficulty and scoring separation throughout the course. Smaller arms will take a leisurely par on most holes, average to advanced players will likely power up for a chance to birdie. Due to the general openness of the course location, wind may play a major factor in disc selection. I found myself choosing between throwing something OS to fight through surprise gusts and play the skip, or attempting straighter lines and hope the breeze didn't blow my throw off a chosen line.

The elephant in the room is that Boggey B. is not an 18 hole course as much as it's a 9 hole course with dual tees. My guess is that the designer wants this to be listed as an 18 course to attract more foot traffic. Calling this an 18 hole course is like pretending my you're not bald because you have a combover.

Another annoying thing about holes 10-18 was that they were hard to find. Each natural tee is marked by a single cell phone sized placard low to the ground. Tee 10, throws to basket 10. Most back 9 tees are reasonably close to their front 9 counterparts, yet I never did find the tee sign for 13 or 18. Searching around for tees 10-18 can be tedious, especially in the heat. Bring lots of water, sunscreen, and try to stay in the shade.

Boggey B. and Post'l Point are basically the same courses; however, Boggey B fails to get the little details right. The "back 9" did offer different looks at the basket, which I appreciated, but more work on the course is needed. Improved tee quality, tee sign quality, and improved navigational aids would bump my rating up higher.

UPDATE: the first 9 holes now have tee signs on a posts, the back 9 have a full set ground markers. This makes navigation much easier.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not bad, but simple

1    1/13/2017   1/23/2017
Review By: Cylemmulo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun little course next to a nice dog park. No huge hazards or terribly confusing holes. Seems pretty quiet aside from the cars. Not much walking needed
Cons: Next to the highway
Course is really simple. Most of the hazards are poles in the ground. Wish it had more pins or something to run an easy 18 with.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice, Clean, Very Playable Hometown Course.

5+    9/19/2016   10/26/2016
Review By: Majshark
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 10/27/2016
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 9-basket course with nice variety of open and wooded shots.
This is a clean, family-friendly, well-kept course. Would take effort to lose a disc.
Signage is plain but does clearly mark the tees. Course layout is easy to follow.
Cons: Closed Saturdays and when an events are scheduled (i.e. Mullet Festival).
No solid tee boxes.
No benches.
Initially had a pair of water jug stations complete with cups, but have since been removed. This was a nice touch that would be nice to have back.
Other Thoughts: Great, clean, accessible hometown course that even those who are casual to the sport will enjoy.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love the alternate tees

5+    1/28/2017   8/17/2016
Review By: HumDyn
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 10/8/2017
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The trees and distances to the baskets make pars a challenge on every hole. If you throw hyzers, you will be in trouble. Alternate tee locations have been installed which gives a true 18 basket feel to the course.
Cons: Since this is a multi-use area, it does not have concrete tees. City officials have removed the two igloo coolers at #4 and #8 which used to provide water to discers. I think red clay could be compacted on the tees to provide better and safer footing.
Other Thoughts: I have been contacted by the city's Parks and Recreation director. He has assured me that the coolers will return very soon.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Forgiving

2-4    2/5/2017   8/8/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 200  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.008 Rating) A forgiving course that's great for beginners and recreational players.
- HOLE LENGTH - At 5,680 feet, Boggy is surprisingly the longest 18 hole course in a 50 mile radius. (Gator Links in Milton FL, is at 5,800 ft). Nearby courses Ferry, ChainDragon, Anderson and Morgan all play under the 5,400 foot range. Boggy should be a welcome treat to throwers wanting to throw holes in the 300 - 400 foot range.
- NAVIGATION - Despite the lack of a course map and lack directional ques, the course is very easy to navigate on first attempt. If the course were a clock, hole (1) would be at 6 o'clock and the remaining 8 holes would run clockwise back to tee (1/10). The second loop (10-18) plays the same way but from slightly different angles. For additional reference, I created a map and uploaded it to the links/files tab.
- LAYOUT FLOW - Works really well. There aren't any spots along the layout that will cause much of a back-up, but with one exception. Hole (16) tee is in the path of fire of holes (6) and (15)
- CHAINS - All the baskets are brand spanking new and with solid chains.
- QUICK PLAY - Playing 18 holes can easily be done in under 60 minutes.
- MAINTENANCE - Course seems to be well kept and clean despite a lack of garbage cans. Grass had been recently mowed on both my visits. In addition, there is really no overgrowth or rough areas. Errant shots are not punished further. There will be no searching and the odds of losing a disc is really low. These aspects are all great pluses for beginners.
- NIGHT GOLF - If open, this would be an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways, few trees, no overgrowth and no water hazards in play.
Cons: By no means is Boggy a destination must play course.
- FINDING COURSE - It can be tricky finding the parking area nearby the first hole. I have never seen any ques signaling where the course is. Regardless, the course is on the North end of the Park.
- SHOT SELECTION - I found the shot selection to be average to perhaps be slightly below average. Most shots need to stay low and straight. There are a few slight angles to hit to avoid the trees which should challenge intermediate players. I like the shot selection on Hole (14) as it is a sweeping shot to the left or to the right, as a center play is blocked by a dozen or so live oaks. The distances do vary a little, 250 to 400 feet, so most players will need to bring a driver.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves are lacking the uniqueness that you'd see on your average 18 hole course. There are no water elements in play (some may consider this a blessing.) There are no dog legs. The most that any one hole veers is perhaps 20 degrees. Nearly are the holes weave threw a live oak and pine canopy and are with marginal tight lines (#7 an #16 are exceptions and are a mostly open plays.) There are no overhead plays. None of the holes are gimmes and none are that exceedingly hard. There are no par 4s or 5s. There are no blind baskets. The longest holes will however challenge intermediate players and some advanced players, being at close to 400 feet.
- CHARACTER - The course is really just baskets and tees and is void of all course character items. No seating, no course map, no community board, no trash cans, no tables, no practice basket, no extra pin placements, etc. There is however 9 tee signs on the front with distances and also hole number tee pegs on 17 of the 18 holes. (Missing on hole 18)
- TEES - The tees are natural and sub-par. The front nine has several tees that are starting to look like a sand pit. (#7) tee is especially bad. I had to tee from the side to get footing. The back nine is much better but I fear it will get worst with time.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. Less than 10 feet of elevation change throughout the entire course layout.
Other Thoughts: Boggy Bayou recently upgraded to 18 tees and has a growing club. For this reason I bumped the rating up a bit from 1.783. The new tees all play from different angles and varying distances (shorter and longer) If I lived close-by, (within 5-10 miles) I'm sure I'd play Boggy often. Great for beginners thru intermediate but not challenging enough for advanced and pro players. If you've checked out all the other area courses its worth a look see. If you're from out of town looking to play the best in the region, this isn't it. I find that nearby courses Ferry, ChainDragon and Anderson Pond to all be more interesting and entertaining plays.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice 9 hole course

2-4    6/11/2016   6/12/2016
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 35  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice new course that anyone can enjoy. Easy to get to and restroom facilities nearby. Next to dog park for family pet to play in and next to sporting complex for other family functions. Course lightly wooded and getting around is very easy...no confusion finding next hole. Well manicured grounds and very clean course.
Cons: On Mullet Festival Grounds...I hope the park stays intact after every function. Course will be unusable during those functions. Do not throw disc over the fences....interstate 85 next to one fence and dog park next to another.
Other Thoughts: Nice new course that is fun to play.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.