Olympia, WA 
Evergreen DGC Share
Uploaded By: sillybizz Hole #1 (Taken 9/2016)
4 / 452ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Temperate Rainforest Golf

5+    3/10/2019   3/13/2019
Review By: Alexplz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Per my title, have to love throwing plastic around a lush locale like the Evergreen campus
-Course has been fleshed out in recent years/months to include a full 18 I believe
-Work parties have been doing an amazing job clearing fairways into the majority of holes
-includes some true pro par 4s, maybe even a true par 5
-couple of holes even in the wooded portion midway through the course allow you to air out a distance driver with some control
-good mix of BH/FH righty/lefty holes and plays depending on power and skill level
-Free parking on weekends, haven't seen it crowded assuming the club's not playing
Cons: -a good number of fairways have been plowed, HOWEVER, there remains a few fairways that are essentially an undeveloped forest floor. Careful you don't turn an ankle
-Couple of holes involve fairly absurd/unfair natural mandos split between trees or down tunnels, the latter including one of the unfortunate forest floor fairways
-non existent teepads for the most part - a few concrete, mostly gravel or dirt on the newer holes
-gets pretty muddy out there with marshy fields to walk through
Other Thoughts: Really nice to have a quality course closer to Oly proper than Shelton Springs. I'd call this course a mini Shelton Springs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Up and coming great course

1    5/20/2018   5/22/2018
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 51  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course appears to be still in a change mode. Changing from a 9 hole to a 18 hole course AND I believe still changing as the club tries to settle in to what layout they think would be the best.
Old wood forest for the majority of the baskets which makes it very enjoyable if you like being in the woods.I personally thought the baskets chained to trees could be a new concept for a club in moving the baskets for different type of events. First throws varied enough to make a person choice wisely on what disk to throw ( I used 8 different drivers and mid's).
Cons: Holes were number with the old signs when it was a 9 hole course and someone has put red tape and inked new numbers here and there. Then there is the Number 5 hole series...5, 5.1,5.2 etc until you get to 5.6...with ink on tape putting some other number on it. Hole #1 we thought we played...a long par 4 in the field but a couple locals told us that was now 18 or something. They pointed us to another place for the #1 pad which we never found. Never did find hole #6, well maybe never...after the 5 series somewhere we ran into old 9 hole course sign that said #6 but also had tape with number 13 on it. We played 17 holes that we found.
Like this course needs to settle into a design and stick with it for a few years/months or something.
--need maps
--some arrows point the way to the next hole but with all the changes could need more.
--pads are gravel, deep holes...changes, changes, changes affecting the course.
Other Thoughts: I am looking forward to playing this course a lot! Will keep checking back hoping to see a finished product.
Even with all the change going on it was still a fun and good 2 hours playing disk...and...isn't that what it's all about!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Stunning forest course!

1    3/31/2018   4/2/2018
Review By: wolfey
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The number one pro for our group was the beautiful old growth forest! An absolutely stunning location for a disc golf course. The land is used well and it is apparent how much work has been put in to clear fairways and manage under growth. The tee signs, benches, framed gravel tee pads and navigation aids on the fully completed sections of the course were excellent.

Great mix of longer forest holes where a 300+' controlled line is required and short, technical line shapers.

The "fun factor". This place has plenty of it!
Cons: Some of the holes still feel like they are in development. The tee pads on these holes were rutted and poorly defined.

I can imagine that errant throws will be hard to find in the summer months when everything is filled in.
Other Thoughts: The navigation was a bit of a mixed bag, being a pro when the neon pink arrows were used and later a minor con on the "5._" holes. Our group never had to look for more than a few moments to find the basket or next tee though.

I am scoring this as a 3.5 today but this will be a solid 4 when the course is completed.

Overall, our group really enjoyed this course and will definitely include it in our plans when next in the area. Evergreen paired very well with Shelton (less than 30 minute drive between courses) which we played on the same day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/8/2017   10/8/2017
Review By: Joshua1507
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course where mid range accuracy is key. Definitly some par 4s and 5s cause it's just trees and you can't see the baskets from most tees. Pink arrows helped a lot. Tons of fun tho
Cons: Not very well labeled and confusing at times.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Challenging, heavily wooded and picturesque

5+    5/28/2017   5/29/2017
Review By: Cheyney
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big arms with limited accuracy will be severely punished on this course. Straight, precise drives are a must at the Evergreen course.

Stunning forest sculpting fairways & greens draped with heavy moss will prompt many snapshots by all but the most jaded and perpetually negative players.

A wide variety of "lefty/righty" holes will make this course feel fair to players despite greens being well-guarded and blind in several (8?) cases. Ingenious signage will guide even the most directionally-challenged player from green to tee after every hole. Unless you cannot see the color hot pink.

Any bogey free round at this course is a major accomplishment. A round without a 4 is surely 1000-rated as long as a deuce or 3 happens.

Free parking on weekends allows miserly golfers 2 free days/week.

Seldom crowded, this course can usually be played in under an hour by decent players barring lost discs.

Copious shade keeps players cool even during the blazing hot hours of the day as we had during the major high pressure front we had late May 2017.
Cons: Perhaps 3 holes total might count as "easy" (1, 3 & 6). But none of them are silly or boring.

Tee pads still need lots of work. Wettest winter on record made a few of them so soggy that they were barely functional for a few days.

Detritus from trees and limbs removed recently still clusters areas not far from flight paths, greens. Months of regular volunteering will remedy much of the clutter that often gobbles up drives that aren't far off line.

Signs are varied and confusing as of May 2017. Some new signs will alleviate any confusion for 1st-time visitors.
Other Thoughts: Updated course info should reflect 17 distinct holes/baskets in 2017. Original hole 1 can be played before new #1 or after current #17 to achieve the canonized 18-hole milestone.

Par is at least 56 for this 18 hole format. Two holes are obvious par 4s, measuring 450+' through heavily wooded areas. No one will ever ace either hole, making it an obvious par 4 for those stuck in the 70s "everything's a par 3" mindset.

"New" Hole 7 is a brutal dog leg right that will see at least 10 times as many 4s, 5s, and 6s as deuces, so it's a borderline par 4. "Bonus hole #18" is 450' ish with hills, OB which plays to basket #2 and is also a borderline par 4.

New hole 14 (old 8?) is listed at 325 or so on the sign but easily measures 370 and plays 400 due to slightly uphill fairway. Easily 5 times as many 4s as deuces would be carded by top pros on this hole.

The remaining 13 holes can be reached with long, accurate drives.

Increase in play will help clear some of the underbrush on the 8 new holes.

Weekly random doubles starting around 9AM Sundays.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic and more to come!

1    9/4/2016   9/5/2016
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 241  Reviewed: 230  Exp: 15.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Usually on school and church grounds you don't always get the best designed course on the piece of property given, and on top of the land the designer(s) has to work with is frequently bad, this course being an exception. Not only is the piece of property good but the design is excellent but first let's start at the beginning...

There is a sign that says there is a $3 parking fee (weekdays only) in the gravel lot. There was campus police within view of this parking lot on a Sunday early in the morning just an FYI. Go across the street, using the crosswalk and follow the path. On the lamp posts to your left you will see blue homemade signs pointing you to the first tee pad near the back of the soccer field near the honey bucket. Hole one starts with the only all open throw across the field but slightly hilly with out of bounds on the left and the basket on the side of a hill. This is a short par four hole to start you out but then shifts from this very open hole to tight lines and trees the rest of the way.

What I really like was that there is an excellent mix of shots needed here (righty/lefty) that change from one hole to the next; hole one is a bomber, hole two is a straight and short tunnel shot, then later a double fairway, hyzer hole, etc. all one right after another so that you never fully feel comfortable. The switch between longer and shorter par three holes is also an impressive feat especially considering there are only currently nine holes but more on that in "Other Thoughts" section.
Cons: There really isn't a ton to be upset about here in my person opinion. The only issue (minor or major depending on your view) I really had was that the tee pads were gravel which aren't inherently bad but these are dug out so bad that throwing drives is extremely frustrating and could possibly cause injury. Rumor has it concrete is on the way. Although I'm not normally a huge fan of concrete pads (yes I know I am in the minority on that) it would be a vast improvement to what is currently here.
Other Thoughts: While I was playing they were having an early morning doubles round and I wound up speaking with members of the club. They said that they are approved for nine more holes in the back and concrete tee pads which they will start working on soon and hopefully have done by the Summer next year which would be great. I live a long way away but would come back for sure to play the new nine holes, especially if done as well as the first nine.

This is an excellent nine hole course, one of the best that I have personally played right up there with Parque De La Raza in California.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Go Geoducks!

1    7/10/2016   7/10/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1384  Reviewed: 1316  Exp: 40.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays mostly through a quintessential, Pacific Northwest Rain Forest. The forest here is filled with large cedar trees, both Sword Ferns and Pacific Northwest Native Ferns, everywhere are moss draped trees and branches and players will enjoy walking on this lovely, soft, forest floor.

The Evergreen College DGC starts out behind the school's soccer field. The Geoducks don't field a football team. The course utilizes this lovely forest for 7 1/2 holes. # 1 plays up a small hill to a basket out in the open. And # 9 tees off in the forest, across the open field and then finishes back in the woods.

There are two small blue signs pointing you towards the course from the parking lot. The tee signs are homemade wooden ones giving you the hole #, par, distance and on a couple of holes, an amateur par, as well. The tee pads are gravel, enclosed by a wooden border. They might be the weak link at this course.

I wouldn't call this a technical course but it's absolutely a course in which you need to hit your lines. Both holes 7 & 9 force you to hit a 20-25' window approximately 75-100' out. Hit it and you're in good shape, miss and things get tougher. I liked # 2. It's just 207' but with another window that you need to hit leading into the forest. The course has more than decent length with # 8 being a 485' throw through the trees. The last four holes all play 348' or longer. Combine the length with all the trees, and I would think this course plays at a challenging recreational level.

There are benches at # 3,# 7 and # 9. There is also a little box filled with bottles at # 5 asking players to please pack out their litter. A large net has been strung behind the # 3 and # 9 tee pad (they're right beside each other) to keep players from being hit by the drives/second shots on # 8.
Cons: The gravel tee pads aren't good. The gravel is being spilled out over the front of the tee pad frame. They're already a little rough and little treacherous and will only get worse with play and winter coming. They can remain adequate only with constant maintenance.

I don't have much faith in these tee signs wearing well. The rain and weather will quickly damage them as well as the vandals.

# 9 has you possibly throwing over the walking path right before reaching the basket. It's a pretty severe safety hazard here as it's blind off the tee and many players will not get through the small window, and thus, will have to throw their second shot blindly over the smallish grassy knoll.
Other Thoughts: This lovely Northwest Forest rates an easy 4. Unfortunately the golf doesn't quite measure up. There isn't a 9 hole course in America that rates a 4.0. This is a solid little throw. It's challenging and tight but always fair. The rough is actually not too punishing. Patio block tee pads would be a huge upgrade here. And some kind of metal or vandal proof tee signs would be nice, too.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 GEM best 9 hole I've played

1    7/5/2016   7/7/2016
Review By: tangerinewarehouse
Played: 89  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2016
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pristine beauty
Challenging fairways
Well manicured
Super fun
Cons: When I'm playing a course like this, no negative thoughts were going through my head so no complaints here.
Other Thoughts: I played Shelton Springs a couple days earlier which was the highest rated in the area but I actually had more fun at this course. If this course had elevation and water somewhere it would be epic. Just a great overall disc golf experience. One of a kind!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Evergreen June 2016

2-4    6/21/2016   6/22/2016
Review By: JStang678
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of tree obsticles, quiet, netting in spots, laid out well
Cons: no map at the tees to show where you are throwing (can't see a lot of the chains from the tee), tree and bush brush isn't cleared out in spots...could be easy to lose a disc as time goes on.
Other Thoughts: one of my favorites in the area.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.