Clinton, MT 
Sky Ranch DGC Share
Uploaded By: chevis Hole #2 (Taken 5/2017)
3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Great Missoula addition

2-4    5/29/2017   6/7/2017
Review By: Dadio
Played: 142  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 34.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This well laid out 18 hole course plays through thinned pine forest on a private ranch about 25 miles east of Missoula just off I90. The turn into the course is well marked and there is a great,distance marked driving range with practice basket right by the parking area. When I saw the grass field I was concerned about cheat grass(a bane to shoes and socks in much of the West) but didn't see any on the whole course, a very pleasant surprise.

Unlike the other main Missoula course, this one doesn't have very many long holes or huge elevation changes. The challenge here comes from the tighter woods and, especially in the alt layout, good use of OB and Mandos. 11 in the alt position is a reachable downhill keyhole shot but mandos punish errant shots to either side. A good putt from the drop zone can still reach for an OB3.

There is a good variety of up and down hill shots, only a couple of which are very steep. Just enough to make it interesting.

My favorite hole was 16, a long open downhill shot of either 500' or up to 800' depending on pin position. Deceptively easy shot as long as wind isn't up.

One of the best points of this course is the shade. The woods have been cleared enough to have good throwing lanes but will remain nicely shady during the summer months. A big plus as this area can get very hot in the summer.
Cons: There are only a couple. While there is a good course map that is kept up to date, it is by the tee for 4 and holes 1 and 3 are changed in alt layout with no indication at tee.

For Alt layout pads are not always in well built boxes but laid out in roughly prepped areas.

While baskets are good ones, since they are on portable bases they get moved by owners, and can be a ways off from where tee signs indicate.

18 throws across driving range, will have to be careful if course is busy.

No water, bring extra on a hot day.
Other Thoughts: It is good that there is another full time course near Missoula, and a good one at that. While $5 is a good price for a day, I am unlikely to play more than one round in a day. Course is worth it, and you can get a year pass for $60, well worth it if you are local. It looks like the money is being spent to maintain and improve course.
Torn on rating, I like the alt layout but didn't like that pads were rougher and not as well marked. This is an excellent start on a potentially great course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course in a beautiful setting

1    6/2/2017   6/2/2017
Review By: snoho
Played: 40  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Stunning setting
* Fresh new tee pads, signs, and baskets
* Amazing warm-up area with putting basket and marked out distances for drives (with distances marked in both directions!)
* The cleanest porta-potties I've ever seen
Cons: * Lots of holes are straight uphill
* Hella hard for noobs
* Holes 1 and 2 were in some sort of different layout
* Hole 8 isn't played, but doesn't say so at the tee (only says so on the map)
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful setting for a course, winding through forest and up and down slopes. Be warned though: it's a hike (bring water) and it's hard. If, like me, your max distance is about 250 you will be severely challenged on many of the holes as they go straight uphill.

When we played, hole 1 was in some far off position more than 200' farther than stated on the tee sign. Hole 2 was about 30' away from the hole 2 tee pad, with no indication of why or where the real tee location was supposed to be.

Definitely worth a stop on your way by!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely amazing

2-4    8/8/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: RCdiscs406
Played: 57  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful property, great teepads, and new DISCatcher baskets. A good mix of holes between the forest and the open field where hole 14 is.
Cons: Would love to see some more holes utilizing that meadow.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to see just how great this course becomes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Super fun course to play!

5+    8/13/2016   8/17/2016
Review By: Faulkner
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course has all brand new rubber tee pads. For a first year course, this one is maintained just as well if not better than some of the top tier courses in the state. Most holes are pretty self explanatory with distance signs as well as nicknames for the particular hole. Not too far of a drive and for a small greens fee it is worth a trip!
Cons: Only cons I could have with the course is that it is RHBH favored (which is to be expected).
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to see how this course progresses in the following years. 10/10 would play again!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Private Ranch Close To I-90 And The Testical Festival!

1    8/6/2016   8/7/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1409  Reviewed: 1356  Exp: 41.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sky Ranch is just a couple of months old. This new private course has more undulations than a Kardashian sweater. The only flat area you'll find here is the parking area at the bottom and the very cool driving range. Walk up the drive to get to the first hole. The course is built on a hillside of Montana forest with just the right amount of trees.

The owners are off to a wonderful start making this a first class facility. There are signs pointing you to the first tee pad. The pads are nice sized rubber mats and they're very level. The tee signs are made with a router and then varnished. Each give you the basic info and each has a clever forest themed name such as Hobbit Hill, Fox Hole and Bear Crossing. The owner has placed little animal skulls and bones around the course. The baskets are brand new Discatchers with the yellow bands. They are the the temporary models.

As the course plays on a hillside, every hole features it's ups and downs. Some are technical, others more open.

Favorite Holes:

# 16, a very steep downhill toss but long enough at 285' that it's not just a feathery touch shot. And you have to keep it low enough to avoid branches. A possible ACE but not an easy birdie.

# 18. You gotta love a 411' Top of the World type throw. I would like to see one branch in particular taken out. It sits directly in line where I want to throw (As a RHBH).

Least favorite hole:

# 17 which uses the entrance drive as it's fairway.

I think this course is going to continue to evolve for the good. The owner seems committed to making this a first class disc golf course. Things like stairs built on # 18 help you get to the bottom without scrambling down a hillside.
Cons: The course is a workout as you are constantly climbing up and down the hillside.

I got a little lost after 10. Of course, the Montana summer thunder storm wasn't helping matters much. Attempting to escape getting electrocuted I proceded to walkout. By the time I reached # 16, the storm had subsided and I played the final three holes. So this is like a partial review.
Other Thoughts: Sky Ranch is a undiscovered gem currently. I played with three young men in Missoula and they unaware of a course in Clinton, just 14 miles up the freeway. And as I was trying to locate the course, I inadvertently turned down the street to the entrance of the Testical Festival. The disc playing security guard is a local and wasn't aware of the 4 star course just a 1/4 mile up the street.

And speaking of the famous Testical Festival. It's a Montana annual event where folks ( and bikers) gather to celebrate the gastronomical delights of eating the gonads of the unlucky Montana Male cows. A certain amount of wild and sometimes illegal activity is tolerated here.

I think Sky Ranch would make for a wonderful tournament course. The owner should team up with the annual Testical Festival and offer a golf tournament the same weekend. How cool would it be to play in the Testical Festival Disc Golf Tournament?

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice addition to Missoula area

2-4    7/2/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: aklenard
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/9/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting technical course with numerous birdie opportunities for a skilled player. Easy to follow and provides a decent amount of up and down walking. Hole fourteen is a classic long drive with great western Montana views. Sweet baskets (not sure what model they are but they're the deluxe ones). Numerous opportunities for both forehand and backhand drive. Diverse approaches to many holes.
Cons: The course is occasionally very tight, maybe a little too much at times so that it intrudes on the fun factor.Hole 10 needs to have a couple of trees removed to make it more fun. Right now, its a steep uphill hole with really no reliable flight path to the basket: out of character with the rest of the course which is remarkably well-thought out with exciting and makeable flight paths to each basket.
Other Thoughts: As with many of our heavily wooded courses, I hope the owners of this land keep up with the tree trimming necessary to keep the original design concepts intact. Often as courses get overgrown in our neck of the wood. This course requires a deft touch with good range and direction control. Twos are possible on a majority of holes if you got the skills.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New Course (June 2016) with a great layout!

1    6/15/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: MountainMan
Played: 76  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 39.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sky Ranch features a nice variety of holes with most of the front nine being fairly tight in the trees while the back features a few open long-distance drives. Several holes have multiple lines so it will suit forehand and backhand throwers equally well.

There are a number of signature holes to my mind, with #14 & #18 being the elevated, open bombers long throwers dream of and #16 featuring about the steepest downhill tee shot I've come across.

The course is clean and well-maintained and as trails are worn in it will become an excellent walking course. The driving range and practice green make for an excellent way to warm up.
Cons: Pro to some, con to others, this is a pay-to-play course with a $5 daily fee per person.

#14 and #18 can be disc eaters when the grass is long.
Other Thoughts: Sky Ranch is only about a minute off of I-90, so it is easy to reach once you get on the highway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/12/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: holotone
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Gorgeous well maintained property with very little undergrowth and well trimmed trees, awesome facilities, great teepads / tee signs, pro baskets, phenomenal course design, lots of well-used elevation, multiple pin placements, measured driving range + practice baskets.
Cons: The arrows between holes could be more visible in a couple places, baskets aren't permanently anchored. Only open Wed-Sun.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fantastic mid size course, lots of tight and interesting lines - It's obvious that a lot of thought went into the design of each and every hole. Easy bathroom access from a good portion of the course. Mountain golf at its best!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Super fun and technical course!

2-4    6/12/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: bobd
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: BRAND NEW everything, very pristine and beautiful course with amazing views. Bathroom, Practice Basket, Measured Driving Range (!!)
Cons: Brand new course so there aren't really any trails established, follow arrows on trees to find the next hole. Pretty easy to follow so not really a 'con'.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.