Columbia, MO 
Harmony Bends DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brokensaint Hole #10 (Taken 11/2016)
5 / 904ft.   5 / 936ft.   5 / 996ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Public course with private feel.

5+    5/18/2017   5/28/2017
Review By: csmgolf
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent signage. There is an overall map at the park entrance, and detailed maps at each tee box on each hole.

Spacious concrete tee pads. 3 at most holes, at least 2 at every hole.

Course is plenty long, and has lots of wonderful elevation changes. (4 holes where you launch your disc off good sized hills, always fun)

2 creeks on course well integrated into course design. Adds plenty of challenge especially on holes 1, 13, and definitely 18.

Multiple legitimate lines to the basket as marked on tee box signs. Fun to experiment playing a number of the holes a different way, keeps course fresh.

Course plays fair. accurate shots almost invariably rewarded, mediocre to poor shots punished accordingly.

Picturesque course, encompasses much of what makes Missouri scenic, (woods, winding creeks, variety of trees etc.)

Wonderful construction on course. a lot of resources put into course, ( i.e. steps on 18, benches on each hole made from re-purposed wood, tiered landing areas on hillside on hole 5, large boulders brought in to create 'natural creek crossings' (great money saving idea over more expensive bridges) etc.

Public course that has private feel. Park is on edge of town. walking paths rarely used. Can play a full round without seeing another non-disc golf person.

Simply a brilliant course design on a wonderful piece of land.
Cons: Course flooding. Heavy sustained rains results in course flooding. measurable rains results in soggy conditions, especially on low part of back 9 and fairway leading to basket on hole 2 which is basically then a pond.

Mowing challenges. course wetness and sheer scope of course make this part of upkeep a challenge. Can be hard to find your disc in middle of fairway on hole 13 when not mowed regularly.

Parking lot is too small, (believe plans are in place to expand parking lot)

Holes 10 and 15 could use some steps for the steep hills.

Erosion challenges.

No trash cans on course. Although I understand why, makeshift trash areas pop up on course anyway, might as well at consider placing a few receptacles in strategic locations.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 could be considered either a pro or a con depending on how you view it. It encompasses everything you could ask for in a hole: a launch off an elevated position. length, water that comes into play, eagle opportunity (not for me), scenic etc
At the same time, the hole can be ruthless. Can lose multiple discs on the same hole, end up with a huge score. Many seem frustrated that you can't play down the left side of the creek. I wonder if this is because of walking path to the left (hardly used by anyone) . At any rate, I still like the hole, and the course was intended to test the best (not me). I simply make it a point to throw a disc I don't mind losing.

Incredible that so much time and resources were put into a public course. Don't get me wrong, I have no problem with pay to play. Played my first one in Minnesota and thoroughly enjoyed it. But there is something to be said for being able to pop over to this course any day and time to play a quick round. I like to play holes 1 though 8 and then come back to parking lot on 18 when I don't have much time.

Great fall course. Bugs disappear, less rainy part of year so course tends to be dry, hike not so exhausting when air is cool.

Brilliant course designer + great piece of land + commitment of necessary resources = True Destination Course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Harmony Bend's 1st timeer

1    5/21/2017   5/26/2017
Review By: RDM459
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful lay out, land is dedicated to DG only
-Wasn't crowded on my visit
-Legitimate Par 4's and 5's
-Great elevation change
-Forces a variety of lines/throws
-Makes you think about your shots and place them accordingly
-Well Manicured
-Multiple concrete tee pads
Cons: -Long course, rough terrain, maybe a couple more bridges. Not necessarily a con, but could be quite strenuous to some.
-Water Hazards; really fun to play, but if a disc goes in, a lot of the time you're never seeing it again. Course can/will flood
-Backups can occur if there is a group of weaker players
Other Thoughts: I played after the river had flooded, subsequently it was very soggy and water was extremely high so it was pretty sloppy out. I really would like to get back out there when it is dry, as it was still extremely fun to play. Practice basket at the start. Parking lot right at #1. Tons of signage and maps at the start. Challenging course, but not impossible. No "lucky" holes, lines are there, you just need to nail them. Many water hazards in play on a large, quiet chunk of land, much different than the city parks im used to in STL. Rock bridges over streams and long course over varying terrain which could possibly be tiring for some players. Fantastic course Overall, i haven't played many courses outside of St. Louis, but i would bet this is one of the best in Missouri. It lives up to its claim of being a championship caliber course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully crafted

5+    5/23/2017   5/23/2017
Review By: Jjburleson
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2017
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is by far the prettiest and most fun in Columbia, MO. There is a lot of tree coverage throughout the course and lots of elevations changes. It keeps you honest when throwing every throw since there are hazards right around the corner if you miss your mark by a few feet. By no means is it an extremely difficult course but if you make a bad throw or two, the course will make you pay. The baskets have bright yellow tops and are easy to see even at dusk. Also, this park is made for disc golf only and there isn't many random people wandering the course in the way.

UPDATE - The city has built stairs on hole 10 with the really steep hill. This is really helpful with getting down to the fairway. Hopefully they will be building a set of stairs on hole 15 as well when you go back up the hill.


The creator of this course really took time to think out how this course should flow and it couldn't be better. The back 9 is definitely harder than the front 9... which makes it sort of difficult to keep making great shots all through 18 but continues to challenge you on each throw.

I love that there are multiple tee pads at every hole, and multiple basket placements. There are also very detailed signs showing what is up ahead and also directions to the next hole at every basket.

Recently In Columbia, MO news there has been talk of the creator of harmony bends (John Houck) is going to return and create another 18 hole disc golf course with the remaining unused land. The city of Columbia will also be building a much larger parking lot (as it is needed badly) and legit bathrooms with drinking fountains. Course expansion is set for 2020.
Cons: THE BACK 9 FLOODS ALL THE TIME!!! This is definitely the worst part about this course. Since it is so close to Perche Creek (large creek/small river) around hole 11-14, if Columbia gets more than an inch of rain the back 9 is pretty much unplayable. Unless it hasn't rained for 1 week most of those holes will be swampy.

The mowing maintenence on this course is crazy and super demanding. Usually the back 9 doesn't get mowed often due to flooding/wetness issues during the spring time. Once summer hits, things start to get maintained weekly. The swampy problem gets solved somewhat during the middle of summer when it rarely rains. Hole 2 and hole 7 also have swamp problems when it rains because of their lack of grass in the fairways. The city has been working on growing grass in these areas to create less mud pits.
Other Thoughts: I love the amount of water hazards there are on this course and yet most of the water hazards allow easy disc retrieval (besides Perche Creek, never getting that one back...) Also, beware of hole 18 as I see people attempting to retrieve discs from that water hazard all the time (myself included, I've lost 3 discs there).

This isn't a course that you're going to fly through with friends, so block out a decent chunk of time to play all 18. If you play by yourself at a good pace you can get through all 18 in a little more than an hour.

This is by far the most enjoyable disc golf course that I've ever played and I'm beyond excited for the expansion to come in 2020.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Destination course

2-4    3/13/2017   5/1/2017
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 314  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 11.2 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -amazing property, beautiful scenery, great topography
-pronounced elevation features, woods, wide and narrow alleys, 2 creeks
-3 layouts, at least 2 concrete tees on each hole, signs at each tee
-very detailed tee signs plus directional signage throughout the course
-new discatchers in great condition
-great design, course flows well, legit par 4 and 5 holes
-the multi-shot holes are well-designed with fair landing zones and multiple routes to the basket
-great greens that incorporate the creeks and elevation
-a great challenge for any player at the appropriate tee
Cons: -the path from hole 12 to hole 13 crosses by the green for hole 14 but if you take the proper path from hole 12 you should be beyond the basket for 14
-on hole 18 the fairway on the right side of the creek is super tight, i felt like you have to go across the water. is it overly punitive for the left side of the creek to be OB?
-the parking lot is too small
-this long course can be a workout with all the steep hillsides and a round can take awhile to finish, especially if you find yourself off the fairway
-i was only here for a weekend and played the course twice after recent rain and snow. i didn't find it to be too muddy but there were lots of leaves on the ground to soak it up. the grass had been mowed fairly recently throughout the course, though other reviewers have noted long grass as an issue. maybe a local reviewer can comment.
Other Thoughts: This course is something special. I'm a big fan of John Houck's courses in general but this one is probably my favorite of the ones I've played. The piece of land the course occupies is full of all the features you want on a great disc golf course: winding creeks, steep elevation, tight woods, open meadows, and long, wide alleys. Houck crafts an exciting disc golf experience that exploits all these areas and the challenges they present, with all the usual finishing touches you would expect from a HouckDesign course.

The course features three layouts and there are at least two concrete tees on each hole. Five holes have a shared white and blue tee. Thirteen of the eighteen holes have a gold pin position for tournaments. There are detailed HouckDesign signs at each tee and there are navigational signs throughout the course as well. The discatchers are in great condition and there is a great course map at the kiosk next to the parking lot. Unfortunately, that parking lot is too small. The only other thing this course is missing is steps of some kind down the hill after the tee on hole 10 and perhaps on hole 15 going up the hill to the green. The creek crossings are manageable so long as the water level doesn't dramatically rise.

Each tee provides an appropriate challenge for its intended level. I played the red tees and the white tees (AM2 player) and enjoyed but was challenged both rounds. The par 4's and par 5's have clear and fair landing zones and usually multiple routes to the basket. They also have fair chances at birdie or even eagle on the par 5's. The design utilizes the creeks winding through fairways or next to greens, elevation off the tee and on the green, tight woods with well-defined tunnels, and long, wide tunnels (holes 11 and 12 remind me of Roy G in Austin). Hole 9 is a beast with long narrow tunnels through the woods and big elevation changes up and down along the way. Holes 3, 4, 7, and 8 are fun, shorter shots with pronounced elevation. The monster hole 18 combines the elevation, the creek, tight woods, and 870' from the blue tee for an arduous finish to the course. The tight woods on the right of the creek on the second shot really tempts you to go over the creek but it's OB on the left side of the creek so you've got to finish to the right. Makes for a really tough hole and I was just happy to finish with all my plastic.

I would drive a long way to play this course again. I drove a long way to play it the first time since I had a good friend temporarily living in Columbia but I could justify a trip back to central Missouri to come here and also hit Ozark Mountain. This course is a complete challenge and a true destination course. It has what I consider the perfect combination of my favorite elements on a disc golf course and deserves the 5 rating.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


1    4/25/2017   4/25/2017
Review By: david W
Played: 243  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Harmony Bends was never on my radar of must plays until I researched some of the courses on my travel route for a work trip. After researching the course and after talking to some locals in St. Louis, I was excited to see if the course lived up to the hype.

This is hands down one of the top 5 best courses I have ever played. I played the long tees and was incredibly impressed with the fair but challenging nature of every hole. Not a single hole was easy or a gimme but every hole was birdieable with precise throws.

The tee pads and tee sigs are probably the best I have ever seen. Between 2 and 5 per hole which gave a lot of options for players of various skill levels.

The fairways were well cut and didn't have too much or too little underbrush off the fairway...it really was manicured perfectly minus a few limbs I would like to have seen taken out (20 to 35 feet off the ground which makes them hard to remove).

Baskets were all level and in great shape. Greens were fair but treacherous on a few holes to add some pucker factor.

The use of rocks along holes like 1 and 18 was masterfully done. I have never seen a course that brought in so much rock for the use of transitions and aesthetics. Fantastic!

I really can't say enough about the pros of this course.
Cons: This course demands A TON of upkeep. Grass and trimming is a major undertaking. That being said, the front 9 was almost perfect. The back 9 however desperately needed mowing and trimming in several places. I threw a great tee shot on 15 that was in the middle of the fairway in 2 feet of grass that took me 20 minutes to find. Im sure the course crew has it in their schedule to get things cleaned up but it was pretty bad on several holes.

The transition that connects hole 12s basket to 13s tee pad crosses 14's fairway which is a design flaw. Holes 13 and 14 play too close to each other but they are both very pretty and solid par 3's. Its unfortunate that they basically fall on top of each other. Directional signage and yardage markers would be very helpful. Some of the par 4's and 5's are pretty long and markers every 100 feet or so would be an easy and helpful addition. The transition to hole 18 was a little confusing to a first time player.

The parking lot is very small but it looks like they can use the field for overflow/tournament parking which is great. I had to park my RV a few miles away because there was not enough room on site.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play. It is obvious how much hard work, planning, and money went into this course to make it what it is. My hats off to the course designer and crew who designed this beast.

If you want a true measure of skill this course will challenge darn near everything you have.

This is a long course with a high par but is playable fairly quickly. I finished in under 1.5 hours playing by myself and spent over 20 minutes looking for a disc. Just over an hour for a par 68 is not too bad.


12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not for Leisure Disc Golfer

1    3/23/2017   3/25/2017
Review By: ChadNewman
Played: 41  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging course with multiple tee pads and multiple pin placements.

Seating at the long tee of every hole. Signage was absolutely amazing, couldn't have been better. Each pad had its own sign with ideal routes to the basket. After each hole signage was placed to direct you to the next pad you want to play.

Very clean park, even though there weren't trash cans.
Cons: Be ready to hike through the course. There are multiple HUGE holes and lots of elevation change, which is fantastic for someone who loves to disc golf.

You won't be able to get a quick round in if that is something your looking for.
Other Thoughts: Course was absolutely fantastic and if you are in Columbia its a must play if you are driving through.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

WOW!

1    2/24/2017   2/28/2017
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 130  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 12.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course was thought out very well. First time through and it seems well played for years.
Multiple Tee pads lets anyone challenge the course. Well defined and fair fairways that ups the ante with risk reward. Pin placements that gut check you every time. and not to mention you have to cross the creeks several times.
Cons: On 18 one of the few marked OB. I think the hole would play better if both sides of the creek are considered in bounds especially since you finish on the left side of the creek. Trash cans.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must if you are in the Mid-Missouri area. It is gorgeous. You will be mentally and physically challenged as this is a very tough terrain par 68

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The new gold standard

5+    1/5/2017   1/5/2017
Review By: Unexpected
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 3+ years of design and build are complete, this course is already near perfect. The length and elevation change make this course unique, all while playing through, around and over two creeks and two hills. There are 3 downhill tee shots that make you want to empty your bag. The par four's are legitimate, there are birdies available but the risk/reward has serious consequences, but even with the difficulty the course plays fair.
Cons: The only cons are the somewhat unfinished areas and projects. 2 sets of stairs that need to be put in, one after the tee on hole 10, and back up the hill on 15. There are a few areas that need some drainage ditches, and fairways that need reseeding, but when considering the amount of work that has been completed the finishing touches will make this course a guaranteed destination for disc golfers everywhere.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Harmonious Blend

1    11/7/2016   12/27/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 383  Reviewed: 281  Exp: 15.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Harmony Bend is stellar. It had been recommended to me while playing with a local at Indian Hills South in Marshall, and I am so glad I heeded this advice.

18 holes with 2 or 3 concrete tee pads on each. All tees have terrific new signs, giving you a great picture of what to expect and strategies showing best lines and landing zones. There are also long pin placements at every hole for the gold layout. I played the blue tees, but even from the shortest red tees it is lengthy and still pretty difficult.

The land Strawn Park sits on is really scenic and has a lot to offer with diverse, challenging terrain. Harmony Creek is in play on several holes, including 1 and 18. They would be long and technical with no water in play, but the stakes are raised by crossing the creek multiple times on each. On the back 9 you will also encounter Perche Creek, featured most prominently on hole 13.

Elevation changes are also fairly common, and can be drastic. There are places that are steep and sort of rocky sometimes. I love to see this on any course, and it is masterfully utilized here. Most of the holes on the front nine have this element, usually with significant rises or drops, and sometimes both.

I would have a very hard time selecting a favorite hole, there are so many great ones. The first and last holes are both pretty epic. The shortest holes 8 and 3 are very cool, with interesting contours and many trees. 4, 5, 7, and 10 have great elevation features, along with a few others. 9 is just a roller coaster ride.

Not repetitive from one hole to the next, and even the simpler holes are pretty good. If there are one or two average holes, I would say they are 6 and 14, but even they are pretty decent.
Cons: There were a few muddy patches when I made my trip to Columbia, but nothing too bad. Still very playable, just a little squishy here or there.

I would not take any newbies here to play. While it is not hard to appreciate the natural beauty, it is very long and easy to lose a disc or two if you have lack control. The water and trees could lead to a lot of frustration, even for more experienced players.

I lost my favorite driver on hole 7. I think it ricocheted to the right and nestled in the trees under leaves, but I didn't get a good spot on it. It is a champion Orc, neon yellow with a worn blue stamp, and my number was in the rim. I gave a reward to get it back once and would do it again.
Other Thoughts: I liked the way this course was set up. It did have a few narrow lanes at times, but usually the fairways were cut wide enough to at least offer a fair chance at a good drive or approach. Technical, but not do or die if you are slightly off line once in a while.

It is a par 68, nearly 9000' from the blue boxes. I ended the round at 72, with 5 birdies. I took penalties on two holes after losing discs, but I was able to find one of them after the round. Took a couple of double bogeys, as well as one triple bogey. Could have been under par if I were able to clean up those errors. I did shoot par on the back nine, which is a bit flatter and more open.

Mr. Houck has become very good at what he does, and I look forward to playing more of his designs in the near future. I would say Harmony Bends is my favorite of his so far, and also the best in Missouri out of the dozen or so I've been to.

If you have played WR Jackson at the IDGC, or Hobbs Farm Park in Carrolton GA, they compare nicely to this course. Par in the upper sixties, well thought out and fun to play, and generally awesome.

Of nearly 300 courses I have played, this one is probably top 5. Definitely top 5%. Truly worth a trip if you're way into disc golf. A must play.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Mammoth Missouri course measures up

1    12/22/2016   12/23/2016
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 128  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 10 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course design that includes challenging elevation, enjoyable lines and tricky approaches.

The variety of holes is befitting of a championship-level course. Each hole features demanding challenges - each hole is not only different, but on many holes, there are multiple options of lines to choose en route to the basket. Choose wisely as accuracy is paramount to scoring well.

In addition, the amenities are incredible - each hole features beautiful signage at each of three enormous teepads. A detailed "Next Tee" sign is near each basket. A practice basket in a wide open area is available near the parking lot.

The attractive menagerie of streams, rocks and trees means the course is eye-catching regardless of the season.
Cons: Extremely muddy in spots. If rain or snow has fallen recently, you'll likely find your shoes caked with slippery, sticky mud as you traverse the course.

Hole 18 is a threat to ruin your round with its proximity to the creek. While I can appreciate a challenging hole, one stray branch can result in dunking your disc into the water, and with the slippery and steep banks, retrieving your disc will require some effort.

No trash cans on the course, but there are several at the parking lot, so be considerate and don't litter.
Other Thoughts: Harmony Bends features many qualities of a top-rated disc golf course in addition to many of the amenities that give disc golf courses that extra special quality.

I could tell immediately this course was brilliantly-designed. As I traveled the course, I searched for reasons to downgrade its impeccable ranking - but I couldn't find any.

Of the 70-plus courses I had played to date, only one merited a perfect rating - Idlewild in northern Kentucky.

I now add a second course to that list.

Harmony Bends is an incredible physical and mental challenge, and this Missouri mammoth of a course delivers on its "destination" description and deserves a 5.0 rating.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.