Haverhill, MA 
Clement Farm DGC Share
Uploaded By: philvil Hole #12 (Taken 6/2016)
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A few tweaks

5+    5/15/2017   5/19/2017
Review By: Robocop
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/8/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Watching this course grow up from its creation last summer has been awesome. Seeing the teepads get installed and the jungle around the holes get slowly beat down is a true testament to the builders' passion for this course.

1) Well marked course, hard to get lost except finding the tee for 8 at first
2) Great Mach X baskets
3) Long teepads w/concrete tiles
4) The front and back 9 have two completely different personalities. Front 9 shorter, more technical. Back 9 lets you air out shots.
5) It's gorgeous and uses the elevation of the land beautifully on almost every hole in one way or another
6) Makes you bring out every shot you have
Cons: So I've rated this course a 4 because for this area of New England, this is a top tier layout compared to courses like Amesbury, Topsfield, Burlington, & Pelham (great course as well).

But there are some fundamental flaws in this course that simply must be addressed to make this an Elite Course. So, from the perspective of a scratch golfer here is my problem with this course: The ENTIRE course is full of very, very easy par 3's yet many of them are nearly impossible to birdie. Even with a perfect nuke of a drive you will hit the landing zone and STILL have a 75 foot upshot. Holes 1-6 are birdie holes. I can throw 430' and holes 7, 8, & 16 are like the adopted step-children this course could stand to lose.

I understand the idea of making a hole a "3.5" in that it's a difficult par 3 and 50% will par and 50% will bogey. However, on these par 3's 80% will par, 18% will bogey and 2% will birdie. Either push these holes back and make them "3.5's" or move them in and make them possible birdies, because at the moment they are simple, simple, par 3's and offer no score separation at all if in a tournament.
Other Thoughts: LOVE the course, it's beautiful, clean, has great fairways and lines to hit and has grown so, so quickly. If 5 or 6 of the pin locations were adjusted, this course could be 5 stars.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/18/2017   3/1/2017
Review By: Tippie4
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I live in the close (~10 mins) from this or Amesbury Pines. I am glad to see a new course close that I can play regularly.
1. This course has a lot of potential and upside to it once it's more established.
2. It's the best course layout in the area, Merrimac Valley.
3. It has great use of elevation.
4. Brand new Mach-X baskets from DGA
5. It's a disc golf course not a something else with a disc golf course.
6. The public facebook group is active and open to posting unlike other nearby course that are private. I often have gone to play courses unaware of a tournament, leagues, or team matches that treat it as private course. With the openness I am able to play somewhere else and not have to find out when I get there.
Cons: That being said this course is far in need of some improvements to be one of the higher rated but has potential to get there.
1. POSION IVY is everywhere
2. Tee boxes (improving and having work day to complete see facebook)
3. Parking in a field winter (unplowed) and spring (mud pit) useable have to park down the road. (summer and fall is fine)
4. I guess the neighborhood is not welcome of the foot traffic as there are signs to be quiet while playing.
5. Course is not finished (brush piles, paths not beat in aka rough is rough, steep grades without steps/path,)
6. These woods have been cut several times and there are large stumps thought
7. Lastly not to be understated POSION IVY, I have a small play group of friends and some will not play this course cause of it. I often end up with rashes from the course after doing all I can not to.
Other Thoughts: It's great the city is using the land for rec and what a better way then disc golf course with a motivated community to help use the land and keep it clean. I hope the course will blossom to meet its potential. Irradiation of the poison ivy will be sure to bring more people back, I fear if its not taken care of people will not be willing to come back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course with lots of variety

5+    11/26/2016   1/9/2017
Review By: ragebikes
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy course to get to, not far off the main roads (Rt.125 and I-495) on the border of Paistow, NH and Haverhill, MA. Bright orange Mach-X baskets are very easy to see and can take hard hits without spitting the disc out. Great signage will guide you from the tee to the basket, then from the basket to the next tee. A nice 2-basket practice area between #18 and #1 is there to warm up. Along with the varying terrain, the mostly open fairways make for a fun and exciting round.
Cons: Summer time can bring LOTS of poison ivy, I know that it's trying to be resolved, this is a course that's only a few months old. Not all of the tee pads are complete, leaving some rough footing on some of the holes. Again, this is being worked on and I would imagine that they would be completed in the spring.
Other Thoughts: Parking is found in the big field where the orange Innova Wahoo is hanging from a tree. This is a carry-in carry-out course, bring a bag to carry out your trash. Some of the holes are in ear shot of the course, try to respect the noise level in these areas.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    1/1/2017   1/1/2017
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 182  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The property is conservation land on the Massachusetts/New Hampshire border. I can't think of any other course on conservation land in this area.

The course is not very old but already is in great shape. Tee signs are on every hole and navigation was pretty easy with "next tee" signs on every hole. Baskets are excellent Mach X's in bright orange, and seeing the basket was never an issue.

The course is pretty hilly and makes for a lot of fun shots. Baskets are frequently on natural mounds with opportunities for rollaways. Several holes have thrilling downhill shots (6 and 11). The fairways are clean, the trees are tall, and there aren't many annoying thin branches. I can't tell if they were already gone or if a ton of work was put in to remove them, but the result is pleasing to the eye and fun to play.

This is mostly an intermediate's paradise. The course starts and ends with the two legit par 4 holes, but over half the holes are under 320'. All the holes except #1 are wooded, but many of the fairways are more generous than you'll get on a typical New England course. You need to hit your line, but the gap isn't some ridiculous hallway-sized tunnel.
Cons: Only a few tee pads are finished, but they are nice brick pads.

Most holes had one obvious path to the basket with a few exceptions (#13 and #18 being the counter examples).

Several holes had piles of dead branches, which can be annoying if they are close to the fairway and you end up in it.
Other Thoughts: The address on this site is for hall or club or bar or whatever it is that is next to the course. I can't tell where the grassy lot is supposed to be since there was snow and ice on the ground. Not sure if you're supposed to park where I did, but if you do, walk past the building, over the brick bridge, and walk past the practice basket on your left to get to hole 1.

It's great to see another course in the eastern part of Massachusetts. I'm impressed with how far along this place is. The conditions were icy the day I played, and I still had a nice round. I can't wait to come back in the spring.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Layout

2-4    11/19/2016   12/4/2016
Review By: Bradimous1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - great group supporting the course
- design is one of the best I've ever played
- tee pads are installed on several holes and they are great
Cons: - can be tricky for new people to find the next tee. That is being addressed as they have added more and more signage.
Other Thoughts: This course has room to grow and they are growing it every day. They have some really great holes... in fact most of th holes are great. It will get more and more difficult as it matures and as they keep adding new things. They put in a new mando on hole 8, which may be my favorite hole on the course. The mando takes away a spike hyper on a dog leg right. They also continue to move pins as they think of new spots that will help improve holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great new course!

1    7/25/2016   7/25/2016
Review By: busta93
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/22/2016
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Brand new course on the NH/MA border. I live 40 mins away from the next closest course so this 10 minute drive is very nice

Excellent layout. Can tell there was a lot of thought that went into each hole.

Tee box signs have just been put in place which makes the course a lot easier to navigate for newcomers.

Cons: No real teebox yet just dirt. But they will be putting in pavers shortly.

Other Thoughts: I can see they will be improving as the year goes on with new paver tee boxes and signage.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great new course!

2-4    7/10/2016   7/12/2016
Review By: windowwatcher69
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful new course on the border of MA/NH. The designers made great use of the land - while the first 9 holes wind through the same patch of woods, each hole is different enough to keep things unique. Holes 10-18 are a bit more spread and are long enough to air it out. Really enjoyed this layout.
Cons: As noted by some other reviewers, this course is brand new, and at the moment, there are no tee pads and no signage. That said, this is to be expected for such a new course - and I believe there are plans to install these in the future. For now, the dirt is definitely playable, and pink flags mark the trail to each new tee. The only potential area for confusion is hole 9 to hole 10 - you need to walk past the tee for hole 5 to get to 10.
Other Thoughts: Awesome new addition to northern MA/southern NH! Huzzah to the organizers/designers of this course - a job well done, and much appreciated by many (judging by the number of players who are already out there tossing!)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Watch what this one turns into!

5+    7/10/2016   7/9/2016
Review By: Dishymike
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/10/2016
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes. Wide fairways. Unforgiving rough encourages thoughtful lines. The baskets are awesome (Mach X). Hole distances are very fair and really fit the par 3 framework of disc golf perfectly.
Cons: The rough is really hard to free yourself from at times which can make par feel out of reach on a few holes. The bugs in the woods are always a downer. The tee boxes are hard to throw from in their current condition but should improve with use and TLC.
Other Thoughts: Having a course of this caliber materialize in just a couple months time is really impressive. The dedication and work that has made this course so playable so quickly really does help "grow the sport". Big thanks to the people that took the lead here and the many others that donated time and resources.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful rugged course, but a work in progress still

1    7/2/2016   7/3/2016
Review By: JeffSwartz
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a brand new, unfinished (but still very playable) course, thus this review is a work in progress as well.

-Amazing use of elevation. Almost every single hole on the course uses this elevation to provide unique shot opportunities. This is also the primary factor which makes the 18-hole course not feel repetitive at all.

-Huge variety of shots. Winding wooded fairways create various lines for both Pro's and Am's. I can't remember throwing the same line/disc on back to back holes. Some holes have low ceilings, others have wide open space above the fairway to allow for huge banking throws. This course will make you reconsider that line you are so used to throwing on another course because when you notice the high risk/reward line, you might just be tempted to throw it.

-Brand new Mach-X baskets from DGA. These are the best baskets on the market IMO- the same as they use at Maple Hill in Leicester, MA.

-Rugged, beautiful terrain. This course is in a beautiful, roughly ~50 acre Pine/Maple forest. Since the course is brand-new, there is a lot of debris on the ground from the wood cutting/chipping that took place that gives it this great rugged feel and makes the fairways unpredictable. Maybe not a positive for some people, but after playing dozens of boring grass fairways, I loved having to contend (only occasionally) with bits of wooden sticks, fallen logs, and other natural debris. While most of this will decompose over the next few years, the fairways are currently some of the roughest I've seen.

-IT WILL ONLY GET BETTER! Since this course just opened this week, it can only go up from here. If you live nearby and play it often, look into playing Thursday nights which I heard is the proposed day for the weekly league. Also, look into volunteering. They will undoubtly need help building tees, clearing brush, marking paths, etc.
Cons: The biggest, most obvious Con is that the course isn't fully finished. There is still a lot of work to be done (one of the reasons I'll be looking to volunteer and help get it up to standards).

- Tee pads are natural. Most are dirt, a few are grass, and a couple are wood-chips. I wear Merrills when I play so it didn't affect me, but if you wear sneakers you might find that they aren't sturdy enough for the rough tee pads. Some are sloping, might have divots or logs stuck in them, or sandy dirt that's tough to get full traction in, etc. I've heard there will be rubber tee pads coming in this year, with hopefully concrete pads sometime next year. This is the first thing that will push it above 3 stars.

-VERY overgrown rough surrounding the course. If you miss your fairways, you might be in for a hunt for your disc. The brush around the holes will get trampled back as it gets played more, but currently it's difficult to find discs if throw too wide.
Other Thoughts: Once the tee pads are done and the fairways are more beaten in, it will be the best courses north of Boston. Pye Brook and Amesbury Pines are nice courses, but this will be better given it is exclusively a DCG and you are pretty remote out in the woods. It felt a lot like Muldoon, but with better shot variety due to the great use of elevation. Thanks to Stu and all of the volunteers for putting this together.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.