Boyertown, PA 
Earl Township Community Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #5 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Thatís A Long Hard Walk For Nine Holes!

1    5/3/2018   5/3/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1313  Reviewed: 1243  Exp: 40.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Earl Township Community Park DGC Consists Of A Long Downhill Walk a An Even Longer Walk Back Up That Hill! After walking down the 1/2 mile to reach the course, I just couldn't concentrate on the disc golf. I could only think about trudging up that hill after my fifth course today and with the temperature about 85 degrees.

So I finally reached the actual disc golf course. The course has these great heavy duty tee signs. They are constructed out of the same gage metal as street signs. Vandals are going to have a hard time trashing these puppies. There are no tee pads, just worn areas next to the signs. The baskets are Discatchers with the yellow band and numbers.

# 1 & 2 are kinda basic pedestrian holes playing across the open area. Then you get to the # 3 tee pad. There is a bench here and the panoramic views of the valley before you are incredible. You want to sit here and just it all in. I watched a hawk soaring overhead looking for his dinner.

# 3 is 319' downhill to a basket sitting behind this row of small trees. # 4 is a 200' throw uphill. 5 & 6 play across the hillside. Then # 7 is a 249' hole going up a steep hill. I still had to walk back to my car so I passed on this beastie hole. I had to walk up the hill anyway.

When I reached the top of the hill and saw cars driving by I was struck with an ingenious idea. I don't have to walk back up that gigantic hill, I'll just hitch a ride with some local. First I had to complete my round by playing 8 & 9. Now inspired by my creative idea, I played like a man possessed. Finished these two holes in no time and camped out by road.

The story continues. No, I did not get picked up by a Ashley Judd lookalike nor did an chainsaw wielding maniac come by. But the first vehicle coming up the hill was an plumber in his work van who laughed at my plight but was glad to take me the 1/2 mile up to the parking lot. Thanks Mr. Plumber guy!
Cons: I don't know many players who will make the arduous trek down and back up that hill to play "The Earl." Notice how I just renamed the course.

Natural tee pads aren't the best.
Other Thoughts: As I write this review"The Earl" sits here with a rating of 1.29. Granted, there is a small sample size with only seven players contributing reviews but I've played some Pennsylvania courses that I thought were below average that had ratings in the 3.00 to 3.50 range. There is no way the actual course here deserves a 1.29 rating. My thought is the course is about a 2.5 and the punishing walk is about a 0.50. When you average them out, you come up with the 1.29. Mystery solved! Case closed.

All I know is I somehow escaped that walk back up the hill. I know I will never have to walk it and that makes me smile.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long Walk Back Uphill After Underwhelming Round

2-4    9/21/2017   9/24/2017
Review By: itsRudy
Played: 30  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2018
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Scenic view from hillside down into valley.
-Entire park is likely empty, no crowds.
-Can practice drives in one of the baseball fields or somewhere on course.
Cons:
-No parking lot signs indicating DG or where to go. It takes a full 10 minutes to walk to the first tee with some routes being very steep.
-250' elevation change from the parking lot to the bottom hole, but the course itself only makes use of about 60'.
-Seven straight-shot holes without obstacles or curves. Rinse and repeat.
-Narrow fairways mowed into the field during summer.
-No teepads, just posts.
-Automatic park gates might trap your car after dusk?
-Grounds have much greater potential than even Boyertown but almost completely unused.
-The 10+ minute walk back uphill after an underwhelming round :/
Other Thoughts:
tldr; It's a very long walk to and from the course where 7 out of 9 holes are just outright straight shots of varying distances. It only earns an entire star for being a rather nice park as the course itself has nearly zero replay value. It needs a redesign.

In my 4-5 hours there, on several separate visits, I did not see a single soul here other than the odd maintenance worker, despite 3 massive parking lots. The main park area is generally well-kept, though.

First Tee is located at 40.363095, -75.707836 (google maps). If someone is dropping you off, about 550 feet NW, 40.364366, -75.708905, by Tee 3 is closest to Longview Road without all the border brush in the way.

Coming from Route 73, you'll want to ignore the initial park entrance and go 300' feet further into the lower level parking lot. At the end of this parking lot, on the left side, will be a trail by the flagpole 40.360651, -75.704291. Take that until you get to a 3-way intersection with a park bench, turn right. At the end of that will finally be a sign for disc golf. Turn left and in 5 minutes you'll arrive at tee#1.

Going other walkway routes will generally deposit you at the bottom of the course. They're extremely steep and dark and it felt like I was descending into the Blair Witch's territory.

There are no teepads, just posts. The nearby grass is immaculate, so not enough people play here to really necessitate it.

Tees, Fairways, and Baskets for #1 & #2 hug the trail and are basically the same straight shot other than distance. #8 & #9 are longer but nearly identical, just on the other side of the walkway. #3 is the star hole on the course, downhill, with the basket being behind the row of trees on the right side of the path. #4, 5, 6 are more straight shots almost in a baseball diamond-like formation on the grass. #7 is back up the hill with the basket being near tee#3.

The grass was tolerable in the late fall/winter, but in the summer the fairways were mowed straight and too narrow, with the rest of the field left overgrown.

Currently, the course is more frustrating for what it clearly could be rather than what it is, since other crappy 9-hole DG courses are a dime-a-dozen, often being crammed by designers into small parks as best they could. There was no need for that here, the park itself easily has twice the square acreage of Boyertown, consisting of largely unused and unfrequented forest. There's great scenery and a superb asphalt path that winds through the entire grounds that few walk.

If the DG course were to be redone, it would be of absolutely no loss if everything were razed and relocated into the woods. It already has all the ingredients to be an amazing star regional course and still be far away enough from the park proper.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A quite secluded course with a great view

1    6/18/2015   7/29/2015
Review By: SmurfItchy
Played: 62  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.6 Years
Pros: Its a small course so I will give it a small review: If you are looking for a nice walk, a great view, and something that is secluded and quite, then this is a fun quick and non stressful course for you.
Cons: Don't go to this course if your looking for a challenge, different shots, different kind of holes. Yes, the 1/4 mile walk to the first hole isn't fun especially going back to your car because its all uphill, but just relax and enjoy nature.
Other Thoughts: Overall, go to this course with low expectations and an open mind, and enjoy this course for what it is; A quite secluded course with a great view. I cant wait to go back when I just want to get away for an hour or 2.

 

1    5/25/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: wmjar
Played: 98  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice park with nice paved path for walking.
Cons: I will try to make this short as my goal is to keep players informed of how bad this course is. First off, you have to walk about a mile to get to the first tee. Every shot is filled with high grass that you will likely loss a disc or 2 in.
Other Thoughts: This might be the worst place I've ever played. The best part about it is that it is located 5 mins from Boyertown Park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not That Bad

1    11/14/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: Crooow
Played: 206  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 31.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets in a well-maintained park. Course is separate from the other park activities so no interference. Has some elevation change. Locals were very friendly. Navigation is obvious (no map needed). Sign
at parking lot direct you to correct path to course. Easy to get to off Route 73.
Cons: No obstacles; no hole over 319 feet; no tee pads; teeing area is close to previous basket. One tee position, one pin position per hole.
Other Thoughts: Nothing special but certainly not a bad place to get a few throws in. Good for the locals to practice. Not crowded so proximity of baskets and tees not really a problem. I am probably biased because I nearly aced #6 in my only round here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Missed Opportunity?

1    7/17/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 563  Reviewed: 373  Exp: 10.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Safari and/or glow possibilities. Room to expand/re-design.
Cons:
Many tee signs missing - posts still remain to identify tee location. Natural tees, although nearby paved walking path could be used for some of them. Many tees too close to baskets. Some cross-fire problems.
Other Thoughts:
Caveat: I have no idea what design and/or budget constraints were in force when this course was installed. That said, the course does not utilize the landscape as much as it might have. This course is on a huge hill, I'm guessing maybe 1/4 mile long and about equally wide, with woods at the top, bottom, and right side. Scattered about the hillsides are hedgerows, some running cross-slope, some running up-n-down. One can easily imagine an exhausting (think up-n-down the hill twice) 18=hole course, going up, down, and across the hill, in-and-out of the woods, up-n-over/along hedges, etc. Instead, you have a 9=hole course, where holes 1-2, 8-9 play along the flat top of the hill, best hole #3 down the hill and over a hedge, 4-6 a wide-open, |_|-shaped field combination, to #7, wide-open, back up the hill.

Five minute downhill walk (at the fork, bear left) to the course, so obviously a bit tougher return. Basket-3 is just behind the large tree on the left side of the hedge about 300' away down the hill.

I actually liked the course, but oh, what might have been (could be) ...

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Hillside

1    1/18/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A really sweet park on the side of a small mountain. The disc golf course (they label it frisbee golf here) is far away from other park activities...so feel free to grip and rip. Open hills with elevation. Nice baskets and tee signs...Easy to navigate. Well maintained mowed fairways. Open so it is relaxing disc golf. Fun to throw up and down hill at open baskets. Great place to work on shots and teach the game. The views here are really pretty.
Cons: Looong walk from car to hole #1. Takes about as long to walk to course as it does to play course. It is not real challenging, except for chances at aces, experts will get bored here. Baskets are literally next to tee pads of next hole. Just 9 holes. holes 1 and 9 literally face one another, like a game of chicken almost. A tough to see road is very close to hole 2 and 7 baskets. I did not notice it until a car roared by. woooah! Tee pads are not great, but you don't need much here. Seems like this land has a lot more potential. Trees everywhere but none on the course.
Other Thoughts: Along the long beautiful walk I observed a few open fields a lot of old growth forrest with natural lanes. Amazing elevation. This could be a destination course if someone gives some love. I keep getting pleasantly surprised by some of these 9 holers. I would suggest other disc golfers make a point to at least check some of them out. Some of them are really fun.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/4/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Good place to work on approach shots. In a really nice park.
Cons: No variety, no distance. Every hole is a couple hundred feet (117' to 339') to a wide open basket. The course is set up on the side of a hill. Only about 5 trees come into play during the whole course and they are all on hole 3. The tees are about 15 feet from the previous basket (literally). There isn't much to this course at all.
Other Thoughts: The only reason you would want to take more than one disc out is for practice on shots. I took my overstable Roc out and played the entire course. Whoever put in this course obviously never played the sport before. It gets one disc because the baskets were nice and the course seemed to be in very good condition.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.