Boyertown, PA 
Earl Township Community Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #2 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 174ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Disc golf for mountain goats

1    12/21/2019   1/13/2020
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 84  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 2.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ 9 baskets, good signage

+ The opening and closing holes are relatively flat - they're along a ridge above the middle five holes which require a lot of hiking down and back up the steep hillside several times

+ Hole #3 is the first that brings the park's elevation into play: it's a short downhill, with the basket to the right, behind a stand of trees

+ For a wide open location, Hole #8 plays very narrow. You have the road on the right, and the paved walking path on the left, with a slight drop as you approach the green. The hole rewards control (a very straight shot) or guts (a RHFH/LHBH out over the path that fades back in)

+ Hole #9 is a nice closing hole, especially if you play the walking path and everything to the left of it as OB. The basket is slightly downhill, but you need maybe 280' to go straight at it - or shorter if you want to play safe to the right



Cons:
- A long walk down to the course, and a VERY long walk back up to the parking area

- No teepads, just posts with signs indicating the distances

- Holes #4 and #5 are the most compromised by the hillside location. The first of them is only 171' but it's almost straight up.Hole #5 covers the same elevation, only down this time. You're in an open field, so you can aim your throw very wide (like, almost perpendicular to the line of play) in order to accommodate the fade


Other Thoughts:
~ Elevation, elevation, elevation: much of this course involves throwing up or down holes that are perched on a steeply pitched hillside. There are no trees to consider on most of the holes: you have a wide open shot of a reasonable distance, but it's at a target that's 100+ above or below you

~ By sheer luck, we played this course offseason (late December) when the fields hadn't grown back from the previous mowing. If you end up playing here when the growth is knee-deep or worse, you're going to spend a lot of time looking for your discs

~ I admire any township that puts in a course (even just 9 baskets and signs, with no tees), but the choice of this location seems to be a compromise at best. There were no trees to remove, and no construction: they just put in 9 baskets and 9 tee signs. The upper part of the course plays along a nicely paved walking path. But I can't believe that the course was designed with the player's experience in mind: a lot of walking, covering a lot of elevation, to play nine baskets in open fields on a steep hillside



6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Thatís A Long Hard Walk For Nine Holes!

1    5/3/2018   5/3/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1419  Reviewed: 1366  Exp: 41.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Earl Township Community Park DGC Consists Of A Long Downhill Walk a An Even Longer Walk Back Up That Hill! After walking down the 1/2 mile to reach the course, I just couldn't concentrate on the disc golf. I could only think about trudging up that hill after my fifth course today and with the temperature about 85 degrees.

So I finally reached the actual disc golf course. The course has these great heavy duty tee signs. They are constructed out of the same gage metal as street signs. Vandals are going to have a hard time trashing these puppies. There are no tee pads, just worn areas next to the signs. The baskets are Discatchers with the yellow band and numbers.

# 1 & 2 are kinda basic pedestrian holes playing across the open area. Then you get to the # 3 tee pad. There is a bench here and the panoramic views of the valley before you are incredible. You want to sit here and just it all in. I watched a hawk soaring overhead looking for his dinner.

# 3 is 319' downhill to a basket sitting behind this row of small trees. # 4 is a 200' throw uphill. 5 & 6 play across the hillside. Then # 7 is a 249' hole going up a steep hill. I still had to walk back to my car so I passed on this beastie hole. I had to walk up the hill anyway.

When I reached the top of the hill and saw cars driving by I was struck with an ingenious idea. I don't have to walk back up that gigantic hill, I'll just hitch a ride with some local. First I had to complete my round by playing 8 & 9. Now inspired by my creative idea, I played like a man possessed. Finished these two holes in no time and camped out by road.

The story continues. No, I did not get picked up by a Ashley Judd lookalike nor did an chainsaw wielding maniac come by. But the first vehicle coming up the hill was an plumber in his work van who laughed at my plight but was glad to take me the 1/2 mile up to the parking lot. Thanks Mr. Plumber guy!
Cons: I don't know many players who will make the arduous trek down and back up that hill to play "The Earl." Notice how I just renamed the course.

Natural tee pads aren't the best.
Other Thoughts: As I write this review"The Earl" sits here with a rating of 1.29. Granted, there is a small sample size with only seven players contributing reviews but I've played some Pennsylvania courses that I thought were below average that had ratings in the 3.00 to 3.50 range. There is no way the actual course here deserves a 1.29 rating. My thought is the course is about a 2.5 and the punishing walk is about a 0.50. When you average them out, you come up with the 1.29. Mystery solved! Case closed.

All I know is I somehow escaped that walk back up the hill. I know I will never have to walk it and that makes me smile.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long Walk Back Uphill After Underwhelming Round

2-4    9/21/2017   9/24/2017
Review By: itsRudy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2019
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This is an open course with a scenic view down into the valley. It consists mostly of straight holes with almost no obstructions, and a median distance of 253', rather high for an otherwise beginner level course. Elevation is a factor on two holes, a downhill and a return uphill. It's okay for local DG newcomers in autumn but any appeal wears thin quickly.

+Downhill #3.
+Can practice drives in one of the baseball fields.
+I've only seen the odd maintenance man in my hours here during several visits on weekdays in the early afternoon. The course will be empty 99% of the time.

Cons:
There's major problems with this course and only the nice park earns it an entire star.

After parking, there's no indication that a course even exists. The first tee is 10 minutes' walk away and there's about 250' of elevation change from the parking lots to the bottom hole, while the course itself only makes use of 60'.

The holes are almost all straight shots hampered by narrow fairways. The only variety consists of distances plus an uphill and downhill hole. It's not well mowed in the summer and beginners face disc loss because of narrow fairways in middle of tall grass. Wait for autumn.

Most damning of all, this place is frustrating because the property has the potential to be an amazing regional level course. Most lousy 9ers are often being crammed into small parks as best the designer can manage. This expansive park easily has twice the square acreage of Boyertown, mostly unfrequented forest with lots of elevation and interesting features. There's a superb asphalt path that winds throughout few walk. If redone, the old course should be razed and forgotten.

-No replay value, I just didn't want to come back here.
-The 10+ minute walk back uphill after an underwhelming round.
Other Thoughts:
Starting Point: Coming from Route 73, ignore the initial park entrance and go three hundred feet further into the lower level parking lot. There's two trails by the flagpole, located at 40.360651, -75.704291 in Google Maps. Choose the one going downhill between the two baseball diamonds. When you hit a T-intersection with a park bench, turn right. At the end of that path will be a sign for disc golf. Turn left and keep going downhill, in five minutes you'll arrive at the first Tee, located at 40.363095, -75.707836. There are only tee posts, no teepads.

Going other walkway routes will generally deposit you at the bottom of the course. Some are extremely steep and were dark even in midday. It felt like I was descending into the Blair Witch's territory.

Layout: Almost all holes are straight shots. Tees, Fairways, and Baskets for #1 & 2 hug the asphalt trail. #8 & 9 are just on the other side of the walkway here. #3 is the star hole on the course, downhill, with the basket being behind the row of trees on the right side of the path. #4, 5, 6 are straight shots almost in a baseball diamond-like formation out on the grass field. #7 is a steep upshot with the basket being near the third tee.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A quite secluded course with a great view

1    6/18/2015   7/29/2015
Review By: SmurfItchy
Played: 62  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a small course so I will give it a small review: If you are looking for a nice walk, a great view, and something that is secluded and quite, then this is a fun quick and non stressful course for you.
Cons: Don't go to this course if your looking for a challenge, different shots, different kind of holes. Yes, the 1/4 mile walk to the first hole isn't fun especially going back to your car because its all uphill, but just relax and enjoy nature.
Other Thoughts: Overall, go to this course with low expectations and an open mind, and enjoy this course for what it is; A quite secluded course with a great view. I cant wait to go back when I just want to get away for an hour or 2.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/25/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: wmjar
Played: 100  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice park with nice paved path for walking.
Cons: I will try to make this short as my goal is to keep players informed of how bad this course is. First off, you have to walk about a mile to get to the first tee. Every shot is filled with high grass that you will likely loss a disc or 2 in.
Other Thoughts: This might be the worst place I've ever played. The best part about it is that it is located 5 mins from Boyertown Park.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not That Bad

1    11/14/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: Crooow
Played: 222  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 32.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets in a well-maintained park. Course is separate from the other park activities so no interference. Has some elevation change. Locals were very friendly. Navigation is obvious (no map needed). Sign
at parking lot direct you to correct path to course. Easy to get to off Route 73.
Cons: No obstacles; no hole over 319 feet; no tee pads; teeing area is close to previous basket. One tee position, one pin position per hole.
Other Thoughts: Nothing special but certainly not a bad place to get a few throws in. Good for the locals to practice. Not crowded so proximity of baskets and tees not really a problem. I am probably biased because I nearly aced #6 in my only round here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Missed Opportunity?

1    7/17/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 625  Reviewed: 388  Exp: 11.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Safari and/or glow possibilities. Room to expand/re-design.
Cons:
Many tee signs missing - posts still remain to identify tee location. Natural tees, although nearby paved walking path could be used for some of them. Many tees too close to baskets. Some cross-fire problems.
Other Thoughts:
Caveat: I have no idea what design and/or budget constraints were in force when this course was installed. That said, the course does not utilize the landscape as much as it might have. This course is on a huge hill, I'm guessing maybe 1/4 mile long and about equally wide, with woods at the top, bottom, and right side. Scattered about the hillsides are hedgerows, some running cross-slope, some running up-n-down. One can easily imagine an exhausting (think up-n-down the hill twice) 18=hole course, going up, down, and across the hill, in-and-out of the woods, up-n-over/along hedges, etc. Instead, you have a 9=hole course, where holes 1-2, 8-9 play along the flat top of the hill, best hole #3 down the hill and over a hedge, 4-6 a wide-open, |_|-shaped field combination, to #7, wide-open, back up the hill.

Five minute downhill walk (at the fork, bear left) to the course, so obviously a bit tougher return. Basket-3 is just behind the large tree on the left side of the hedge about 300' away down the hill.

I actually liked the course, but oh, what might have been (could be) ...

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Hillside

1    1/18/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 17.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A really sweet park on the side of a small mountain. The disc golf course (they label it frisbee golf here) is far away from other park activities...so feel free to grip and rip. Open hills with elevation. Nice baskets and tee signs...Easy to navigate. Well maintained mowed fairways. Open so it is relaxing disc golf. Fun to throw up and down hill at open baskets. Great place to work on shots and teach the game. The views here are really pretty.
Cons: Looong walk from car to hole #1. Takes about as long to walk to course as it does to play course. It is not real challenging, except for chances at aces, experts will get bored here. Baskets are literally next to tee pads of next hole. Just 9 holes. holes 1 and 9 literally face one another, like a game of chicken almost. A tough to see road is very close to hole 2 and 7 baskets. I did not notice it until a car roared by. woooah! Tee pads are not great, but you don't need much here. Seems like this land has a lot more potential. Trees everywhere but none on the course.
Other Thoughts: Along the long beautiful walk I observed a few open fields a lot of old growth forrest with natural lanes. Amazing elevation. This could be a destination course if someone gives some love. I keep getting pleasantly surprised by some of these 9 holers. I would suggest other disc golfers make a point to at least check some of them out. Some of them are really fun.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/4/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 18.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2008
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Good place to work on approach shots. In a really nice park.
Cons: No variety, no distance. Every hole is a couple hundred feet (117' to 339') to a wide open basket. The course is set up on the side of a hill. Only about 5 trees come into play during the whole course and they are all on hole 3. The tees are about 15 feet from the previous basket (literally). There isn't much to this course at all.
Other Thoughts: The only reason you would want to take more than one disc out is for practice on shots. I took my overstable Roc out and played the entire course. Whoever put in this course obviously never played the sport before. It gets one disc because the baskets were nice and the course seemed to be in very good condition.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.