Boyertown, PA 
Earl Township Community Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #1 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Only as a practice field.

1    9/21/2017   9/24/2017
Review By: itsRudy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First Tee is located at 40.363095, -75.707836 on Google Maps, near Longview road. If you are coming from route 73, ignore the first park entrance and go in the second entrance and park on the lower level parking lot.

The park was nice, clean, and rather empty. I doubt you'll ever find the disc course occupied at all, so it can be okay for local sport newcomers to practice their throwing. The course itself is alright and would merit a 1.5 if it were not for the lengthy walk.
Cons: As of September 2017, there is ZERO indication there is a disc golf course here anywhere on the parking lots. I seen only a single directional sign already deep in the trails.

This is a long walk and STEEPLY downhill either way you reach it by the walking course.

If you go the long way trail, the one that is rightmost and dotted brown/blue on the billboard map located at the end of lower level parking, you will think you are descending into the Blair Witch Woods and it will be LONG, dark walk. And a STEEP decline, so much it hurts.

The disc course itself is very simplistic, hugging the trail, where basket 9 is near tee 1 because the course doubles back onto itself -- making for very straight and narrow holes. A few of the middle tees offer a bit more variation going down the hillside -- but when I went there only a few meters of grass on the sides of the asphalt was mowed, and a small fairway for the middle numbered holes, so be prepared for bushwacking if discs go awry.
Other Thoughts: I took the trails throughout this whole park before playing and for a community park, this place is just massive and mostly unused by park regulars. Together with the elevation changes in the forest, this park really has great potential to be revamped and turned a top regional disc golf course. I would gladly throw some dough into that effort.

Right now the straightforward and repetitive layout is barely a practice course for locals. Definitely won't be coming back as it is right now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Missed Opportunity?

1    7/17/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 528  Reviewed: 369  Exp: 9.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Safari and/or glow possibilities. Room to expand/re-design.
Cons:
Many tee signs missing - posts still remain to identify tee location. Natural tees, although nearby paved walking path could be used for some of them. Many tees too close to baskets. Some cross-fire problems.
Other Thoughts:
Caveat: I have no idea what design and/or budget constraints were in force when this course was installed. That said, the course does not utilize the landscape as much as it might have. This course is on a huge hill, I'm guessing maybe 1/4 mile long and about equally wide, with woods at the top, bottom, and right side. Scattered about the hillsides are hedgerows, some running cross-slope, some running up-n-down. One can easily imagine an exhausting (think up-n-down the hill twice) 18=hole course, going up, down, and across the hill, in-and-out of the woods, up-n-over/along hedges, etc. Instead, you have a 9=hole course, where holes 1-2, 8-9 play along the flat top of the hill, best hole #3 down the hill and over a hedge, 4-6 a wide-open, |_|-shaped field combination, to #7, wide-open, back up the hill.

Five minute downhill walk (at the fork, bear left) to the course, so obviously a bit tougher return. Basket-3 is just behind the large tree on the left side of the hedge about 300' away down the hill.

I actually liked the course, but oh, what might have been (could be) ...

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Hillside

1    1/18/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A really sweet park on the side of a small mountain. The disc golf course (they label it frisbee golf here) is far away from other park activities...so feel free to grip and rip. Open hills with elevation. Nice baskets and tee signs...Easy to navigate. Well maintained mowed fairways. Open so it is relaxing disc golf. Fun to throw up and down hill at open baskets. Great place to work on shots and teach the game. The views here are really pretty.
Cons: Looong walk from car to hole #1. Takes about as long to walk to course as it does to play course. It is not real challenging, except for chances at aces, experts will get bored here. Baskets are literally next to tee pads of next hole. Just 9 holes. holes 1 and 9 literally face one another, like a game of chicken almost. A tough to see road is very close to hole 2 and 7 baskets. I did not notice it until a car roared by. woooah! Tee pads are not great, but you don't need much here. Seems like this land has a lot more potential. Trees everywhere but none on the course.
Other Thoughts: Along the long beautiful walk I observed a few open fields a lot of old growth forrest with natural lanes. Amazing elevation. This could be a destination course if someone gives some love. I keep getting pleasantly surprised by some of these 9 holers. I would suggest other disc golfers make a point to at least check some of them out. Some of them are really fun.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/4/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Good place to work on approach shots. In a really nice park.
Cons: No variety, no distance. Every hole is a couple hundred feet (117' to 339') to a wide open basket. The course is set up on the side of a hill. Only about 5 trees come into play during the whole course and they are all on hole 3. The tees are about 15 feet from the previous basket (literally). There isn't much to this course at all.
Other Thoughts: The only reason you would want to take more than one disc out is for practice on shots. I took my overstable Roc out and played the entire course. Whoever put in this course obviously never played the sport before. It gets one disc because the baskets were nice and the course seemed to be in very good condition.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.